Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisements

Reviews of Stanwix Park Holiday Centre

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Silloth > Stanwix Park Holiday Centre Reviews

Stanwix Park Holiday Centre
Greenrow
Silloth
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA7 4HH
Tel: 016973 32666
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 126
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 101 Reviews
                8/10 from 101 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf <1 mile   Tennis On Site 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  101 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilet / shower facilities will be open. Some communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ribbed Tickler 7 reviews from this member

 Nice site which is well looked after and maintained, with good friendly staff. Toilet & shower block were fine - I've seen better, but nothing really to moan about.

A few rowdy groups of young teenagers hanging around the park at night, but never seen any trouble.

Pool, cafe & shop all good. Shame about the town of silloth - it's another ran down & empty seaside town, which was very quiet.

Enjoyed a trip to the car boot sale / market stalls at the weekend, which was enough to fill half a day.

All in all a nice break - we would go back - and much more preferable to a Haven site! 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ragamuffin 9 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a four day trip, I have to echo everything said about this place weather was horrendous but still the kids were entertained, pools spotless and well maintained and full of fun, entertainment spot on, we will visit again. One thing I would like to add choose your pitch wisely if going on skidaw as the outer pitches do have constant daytime traffic noise and the area can become quite soggy 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: D Wilkinson 1 review from this member

 We stayed in the apartments at the complex so can't comment on the pitches etc. But I would say that in and around that area the caravans and the pitches weren't as cramped as some are saying. We had 4 nights there and never witnessed any anti-social behaviour at all. The main building is excellent with plenty of things to do for all the family. The entertainment is a little childish for 11 y.O + so it would be an idea if management could let older kids into the adult bars. Swimming pools are clean as are the steam room and sauna. The shop is ok and sells quite a good range of stuff. The town of Silloth is lovely but a little quiet but we dropped lucky on the Thurs when there was a little market on. We had a drive down to Wigton which offered a few more shops and was only 25 mins away. I'd definitely recommend Stanwix and would go again. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Wbp1 3 reviews from this member

 Smashing friendly site, great kids play park. The kids loved the swimming pool / leisure centre. Entertainment and club house is excellent, good kids disco. A very well kept site with friendly staff. Great to relax in a nice sauna (included in the site fee) after a hard days touring. Super value for money ,will be visiting again very soon.

Very well kept park. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Youngsters 3 reviews from this member

 Second visit to this site and would gladly visit again. Wiser second time round and brought hard ground steel pegs. Toilets/showers were cleaned every morning so were a pleasure to use. Great having sockets etc for using straighteners etc. Would like to see mirrors in multi use toilets though for both male and female.

Swimming pool fantastic indoor and out.

Entertainment at night was great for younger kids, although as night progressed in Sunset bar (families bar) the music choice by the DJ became very teen orientated, Scooter etc which might not suit everyone, although I do agree teens need entertainment too, would have liked more varied music choice.

Never tried the Garden cafe as felt it was a bit expensive for meals approx £7.50 Scampi/chips, when you could travel into Silloth to Silloth Cafe and get a lovely fish tea for just over a fiver, all freshly cooked to order. Will definitely be back. Handy hint.Take a small piece of garden hose attached to a screw in garden hose adapter (same as one used for connecting your home garden hose) this helps when using the water outlet as they can spray quite a bit when turned on and allows it to pour easily. Well done to stanwix staff very professional. 

Advertisements

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Steve.nick 5 reviews from this member

 Just spent 10 days there. I have to agree with comments below about cleanliness, kid friendly and great facilities. But Iím afraid there were (for me) a few things I was unhappy about. Firstly and probably most importantly the toilet/shower block. Yes, cleaned regularly and well sized. But in the private cubicles where it was like your own private bathroom, you had a bath with a shower over the top, a toilet and a sink. The layout is pretty much a wet room layout so, if your little boy wants to use the loo and someone before you had used the shower, everything was soaked wet through, as there was no shower curtain. I bathed my two little ones (aged 4 and 2) and it was not possible to put her nappy on afterwards, as there is nowhere to lay her down. In fact, no nappy changing facilities at all as far as we could see. I ended up taking a folding chair with me. Also in this day and age of trying to teach our kids good hygiene practices, there is no liquid soap at all in the toilets! Loads of hand dryers but nothing to wash with. Secondly while hard standings are great for caravanners, I was somewhat annoyed when a very sharp stone poked its head through my brand new tent floor. I had a footprint and also a carpet. 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Darren501 1 review from this member

 What a fantastic site,

We normally travel to Scarborough sites and stay at the usual Haven's.

Travelling with a 2 and 4 year old we needed a site with great children's facilities, this delivered. Great indoor pool, outdoor pool, loved the little soft play area and bowling alley, outdoor play area.

From my wife's point of view, it was so very clean.

Location isn't the best but then 1/2 hour and you are in Keswick.

We were blessed with 26 degree sunshine but even in the wet this would still be a great site. Would I go back - in a flash.

Word of advice though - take some tough pegs, the ground is hard. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JazzyJaz 5 reviews from this member

 Our fist visit here but it will not be our last.

The facilities and site is great for kids. Ours used bike every day around the site without annoying anybody and found plenty of kids to play with during our stay.

I agree that there is not much room between the pitches but at least you make new friends that way!

Swimming Pool was excellent and was used everyday more than once. This was also included in the price.

The toilet facilities could have been cleaner but as the site was almost full with campers I suppose it is to be expected. That said we never had to wait for a shower.

Only complaint there should have been more sinks for washing up. 2 for all those people is no where near enough.

Fresh water supply on each pitch however was brilliant, especially as we were there in a heatwave with two thirsty dogs!

You can walk from the site into Silloth either through the Rugby Club or via the beach. The town had a nice park in the centre which was clearly where everybody went in the day. Can recommend the chippy on the corner and the homemade ice cream shop which was absolutely fab!

Would definitely recommend and will be visiting again. No end of facilities for the kids and a reasonable price too! 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: K.murphy 10 reviews from this member

 I would agree with all the positive comments below, We visited during the half term week and pitched in the caravan /camping field a short walk away from the leisure club. We thought it would be a little quieter but were wrong. We were around the outer edge of the field adjoining the road only 8 feet away on the other side of the fence and the traffic noise, heavy lorries, tractors prevented any lay in in the mornings. The pitches were very tight between each other and around you, especially when full which it was at the weekends.

Very little to do nearby outside the area. Silloth needs some money spending on it. Very Victorian and a large factory situated right on the sea front in middle of the town ! which attracts a lot of heavy lorries. We ended driving in towards Keswick in the lakes most days which was beautiful. About a 45min drive. I don't think we will be visiting the area again. Will stick to nearer the lakes and forego the luxury of on site entertainment centres. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Barkspoor 32 reviews from this member

 Second stay here and site was as good as we remembered.

Toilets always clean and never had to queue love the family bathrooms loads of space to shower.

Entertainment block has something for everyone including teenagers (we had 4 in our party).Prices not too bad in shop or pub (£2.91 pint lager)

Siloth does not have much going for it a bit of a ghost town but park makes up for this.

Would recommend this site unreservedly. 


Previous     101 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Stanwix Park Holiday Centre child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Stanwix Park Holiday Centre have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Stanwix Park Holiday Centre?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Stanwix Park Holiday Centre dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Silloth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3825 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisements


Advertisements