Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Stanwix Park Holiday Centre

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Silloth > Stanwix Park Holiday Centre Reviews

Stanwix Park Holiday Centre
Greenrow
Silloth
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA7 4HH
Tel: 016973 32666
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 126
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 101 Reviews
                8/10 from 101 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf <1 mile   Tennis On Site 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  101 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Monkey32 4 reviews from this member

 Great site, pitch well placed & being gravel was good if a little annoying if you got a a sharp bit underfoot, but hey it was worth it! (Make sure you have strong pegs!)

Weather was fantastic, never had it so good weather wise.

Great complex for kids as they were never out of the pool - indoor & outdoor, if they did come out it was only to go bowling!

Excellent all round site for families though maybe allowing some of the older kids in to adults bar under supervision may be of benefit, as the alternative Foxy did not appeal to two 11 year olds!

Shop was good, well stocked always willing to help wherever they could.

Cafe was good only used it once for breakfast when we were leaving, very reasonably priced for what we had - 2 bacon baps & a toasted bacon sandwich, 1 tea & 2 cokes for just over 11 not bad! Chippy just off site was lovely as well!

Toilets & showers were always clean & warm whatever the time of day

Only complaint was that they have a no noise rule after 11p.M which was never implemented! Well after 2a.M before it stopped some nights & then followed by dogs barking & howling most of the night - I know this is down to the owners but hey after a 3rd night of parties and barking dogs, leading to very little sleep, this can become very annoying - plenty of staff around so this could & should have been dealt with easily - I don't mind people having a good time but not at the expense of others.

Other than that fantastic site, good value for money & if they can sort the noise problem I think I may become more of a regular. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cheryl.mark 91 reviews from this member

 This is our third time at Stanwix Park and its the first time in summer, we have always been in winter so we tried it during the bank holiday weekend at the beginning of May. What can I say?

Fantastic site - pitches all service and clean

Facilities for families are outstanding

Entertainment at night is great for all ages

Swimming pool clean and included in the price

Bowling alley very reasonably priced

Very clean site and well maintained

Staff friendly

Clubhouse very clean and always managed to get a seat, no having to go in at some ridiculous time!

Well done to Foxy Fox and Mr Wand - your fab!

This is my all round best site that I have stayed on in years and will take some beating. Only downside is the location of it, its out on a limb in sunny Silloth but hey you cant have it all! Just wish it was closer to sunny Bolton because we would certainly be staying here more often.

If your reading this review Mr Stanwix - Credit to you and all your staff - your site is top class and great for families - keep up the good work. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Andymc97 2 reviews from this member

 This is our second camping trip,our first was havens blue dolphin last august and was a mud fest,would never go back again.But it never put us off.

We've just got back from a great park,great club house,bowling beer and lots of entertainment, but not so much for teenagers to do,swimming pool looked good but we didn't use it,if we go back we certainly will.Our girls liked the outdoor play area.We had a gravel pitch which at first I thought would be bad,but apart from bringing in the odd pebble was better than grass but we had a carpet, oh and rock pegs!. Shower and toilet block we're the best I've seen it also has a kitchen for campers with sinks, microwaves and hobbs. The were all kept very clean.

Only problem I had was there wasn't much space between pitches a bit cramed in. But other folks we're great also we were on the main route back from the club house, bit of noise after 11.30. The camp shop was ok it sold most things you wanted and didn't want

We will vist this site in the future but it is a long way from the lakes. Siloth at first looks pretty but has tumbleweed blowing down the high street not a lot going on there and looks shut down. 


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Prent 1 review from this member

 This is the cleanest site we have ever stayed on. The caravan was clean and all the public areas were immaculate. Even in the family lounge, no sticky tables, seats and carpet like new.

The entertainer in the family lounge was excellent, a great all rounder, in fact all the staff were really friendly and helpful.

The only downside is the location, as Silloth is a bit far from the Lakes to be travelling up and down. Overall an excellent site and we will go back. 


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: B queen 1 review from this member

 We visit Stanwix park twice a year and have done for the past 10 years. What has happened to Andy? does anybody know? New entertainer there. Still had a great time although different with the new man. Great park would recommend it to anyone. Swimming pool is great although there could be better changing rooms. Staff very pleasant, not sure about Stan Wix the monkey though, our kids love foxy fox. Caravans are always very clean and park immaculate. Cant wait to go back in october. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: February 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cheryl.mark 91 reviews from this member

 This is our second visit to this site, we have just returned from a 4 night break during the half term period. This is a fabulous site, my last reviews were good but this time it was better. The pitches are all service on part gravel and grass, they are neat and everything you need is close by.

The shower blocks were immaculate, I have never visited a site that has baths in each cubicle with a toilet and sink and shower - wow! this site is family owned and boy can you tell that the owners put lots of care and attention to it. The pool area is clean and the pool was warm, it has a jacuzzi and sauna/steam room, the pool area was nice and we enjoyed it.

If you like taking the kids out at night then this is the site for you! the entertainment is the best we have had yet! the compere that looks after the kids is brilliant, very talented and funny, they did games and competitions and horse racing which was good fun, we went out every night and had a really good laugh, we have stayed on big sites like Haven and this one knocks the socks off it! Well done to the Stanwix brothers that own it, its a gem of a site and we are definitely going back, already booked a weekend for May bank holiday.

Silloth itself is a bit of a ghost town, but, if you like a traditional English seaside town then its very pretty, it has a small promenade with just one amusement arcade and a few shops and a chippy. You have to go to Carlisle if you want the big stores ie Tescos, Asda, so make sure you take plenty of food with you!

Carlise has a lovely shopping centre and Castle, its approx 35 mins away. SAT NAV WARNING! if you are coming from the South on the M6 don't come off at juction 41 as the sat nat will tell you, this route takes you through a village called Wigton and has a width restriction on vehicles going through of 2metres wide, our van is 2.28! the village is very narrow and scary of your towing a wide van, also, there is a very steep hill 17% before you get to Wigton so I wouldn't use that route again, come off at Junc 43 (Carlisle) then take the B5302 to Silloth, that is the best and quickest route so don't rely on your Sat Navs!

This site deserves the good reviews that are on here and the only thing I wish is that it was nearer to us, we would be visiting it a lot more! 


Date of Visit: December 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lynne.morris7 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a weeks holiday over the New Year period and what a fantastic time we had despite the minus 7 temperatures on a night-time so all the water was frozen.

The entertainment in the family lounge was ideal for our 6 year old and the New Years Eve atmosphere was brilliant. Only comment was the shop was closed over period but Silloth is only a minute away in the car for any supplies. 


Date of Visit: October 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Twan* 4 reviews from this member

 We stayed at Stanwix during the Halloween weekend and enjoy the visit. The site and facilities are excellent. The swimming pool is large with a good kids slide.It also has a Spa, Sauna and Steam room which my wife said was good! There isn't much to do in Silloth, however a little drive into the Lake District and everything you could wish for is within a reasonable distance. Overall and enjoyable place with good pitches and services. Will certainly go back. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tracy Betham 4 reviews from this member

 Its the second time we have been to Stanwix Park and loved it, the facilities are good staff really friendly and helpful. The owners even get their hands dirty lol running the bar, mowing the lawn doing the bingo etc. so nice to find a site that people care about.

The children are very well behaved my daughter made lots of good friends.

Only one thing is the pitch sizes a bit too close, walk out of your awning into next doors. lol. Apart from that a brill, site cannot fault it at all, just wish it was closer, too far for a weekend unless we have a long weekend.

We have booked for New Year can't wait. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JoetheToad 5 reviews from this member

 What a fantastic site and good value for money too. The facilities are the best I've seen and the site is exceptionally well maintained.

As for the site, it is clean, and everything close to your pitch. The pitches could be a little further apart but could handle my 7m long/2.5m wide tent with enough room to sit outside and cook. The pitches were sheltered and it's fair to say that the price more than compensates for the pitch spacing. You get a lot for your money.

The toilet blocks were always clean, there was never a queue for a shower, the bathrooms have 'BATHS', and there's no fiddling around trying to find 50p to feed the meter. All included.

The facilities for children are superb. Daily activities if wanted (we didn't but you could see the other children loved them), a lovely indoor pool which was never too crowded, an outdoor pool, arcades, a bowling alley, soft play, a kid sized pool table and evening entertainment.

For us older folk, a jacuzzi, sauna, adult entertainment at nighttime (we didn't go as we had kids, and went to the kids shows instead).

The staff are friendly and go far beyond what I'd expect. Certificates are handed out to children at night at the evening show for activities during the day. The resident mascot, Foxy Fox hands these out and the kids get to go on stage. As an example of the atmosphere and friendliness, my daughter had swum for the first time without armbands. Staff on hearing this had her called up on stage, presented with a certificate and a lollypop. Her photo was taken with 'Foxy' and she walked away saying 'I'll never forget this'. Staff genuinely make this a wonderful experience for kids while managing to keep a crowd of excited children under control. They deserve a medal!

The shop was well stocked and reasonably priced. An onsite cafe allowing a break from cooking (and the fish and chip shop next door was good too!).

I only have two suggestions to improve the experience.

The first is that campers should be informed at the point of booking that they need special pegs for the hardcore pitches. We were lucky and took some, the people on the next pitch almost had a haemorrage as their tent kept falling down. TAKE THICK STEEL PEGS!

The second is that the kids shows could start a little earlier at night. 8-8.30 was a little late for youngsters, and when you include time spent handing out the certificates, the show doesn't really get started until closer to 9pm.

Those are the only two suggestions I can think of to improve the experience. Otherwise, just about perfect, especially for the kids!

Then again, I should probably be saying this is a dreadful site with horrible staff, I don't want it fully booked the next time we go, which we will, and soon! 


Previous     101 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Stanwix Park Holiday Centre child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Stanwix Park Holiday Centre have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Stanwix Park Holiday Centre?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Stanwix Park Holiday Centre dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Silloth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3629 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement