Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Stanwix Park Holiday Centre

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Stanwix Park Holiday Centre
Greenrow
Silloth
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA7 4HH
Tel: 016973 32666
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 126
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 97 Reviews
                8/10 from 97 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf 1 mile   Tennis On Site 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  97 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Lynn08 1 review from this member

I stayed at this site with my husband & 4 year old daughter, which she loved the park, the pool was a good size we used to go late afternoon was never stupidly busy. The park is a good size park with static caravans to hire & has a touring site, there are also chalets to stay in too. Indoor bowling alley with slot machines but we found this a good site for my daughter the shop was handy to pick up some essentials and staff were helpful too.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ray Price 1 review from this member

This has to be the jewel in the crown as a touring caravan site. The very best we have been on. Fantastic facilities. It's that good we have booked 7 nights in August. All the staff very helpful and the site kept very clean by the staff. I can give it 10 out of 10 for the quality and very fair prices. You wont find better than Stanwix Park.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mackemrob 1 review from this member

Just returned from a 13 day stay at Stanwix with our 2 grandkids. We loved every minute and so did the kids. The touring facilities are top notch, water, sluice and chemical waste on each pitch! we ordered the internet for multiple devices and the connection was fantastic. The entertainment team are brill and did a great job of keeping the kids entertained. We are already booked up for next year!

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pinkfloyd 19 reviews from this member

We have visited Stanwix Park for many years in a touring caravan. Site facilities are top drawer, everything is there to keep children of all ages occupied and plenty for adults too. If you like cycling this site is wonderful, all level roads within easy reach of the park, you can cycle for hours! We have watched this site expand over the years into a top holiday destination. On our recent stay we encountered what appears to have become a regular problem on the Criffel touring field. Late night noise from parties in tents and awnings which goes on till well after 2am, sometimes much later! This needs to be addresses by the park security, otherwise it will develop into a shambles. There was no one from security checking the late night party revellers so it's a 'free-for-all', 'make as much noise as you want, no one will stop you'. It really let's the place down badly in our opinion. We are not party poopers, we can expect a bit of chatting and noise as people leave the clubhouse but not until two or three in the morning! Come on Stanwix Park, you need to look at this issue and put some late night security in place as soon as possible

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Mazza2017 1 review from this member

We stayed in platinum caravan it was spacious and spotless. Loads for kids through the day there's bowling, golf, swimming, arcades, soft play, outdoor play area and bikes for hire however they do go fast. Night times there's magician, balloon making, games, disco and karaoke. Site clean plenty of space for riding bikes or walking a dog.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Lewi86 2 reviews from this member

Just got back from a week here staying on criffel area in our folding camper. Loved everyday we were here plenty to do and see in surrounding areas. Park facilities were spotless and cleaned and checked reguarly. Entertainment was excellent my 7 year old loved it as loads to do so never got bored plenty of activities to do. People were lovely and friendly to which made good friends with family from newcastle to which we both planning if a trip back to site as both families loved it parents and kids. Staff were very friendly and helpful if needed anything. Shop well stocked with essentials if forgotten anything. Food was lovely from the restaurant couldn't fault it tbh. Even though its 350 mile drive for us 1 way we definitely be making this a yearly trip well worth the drive. Would highly recommend and see you next year.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Adms007 2 reviews from this member

Just returned from 5 nights at Stanwix, 3 families in 3 tents, with 4 children (age 10-12) and 4 adults. Had a great time helped by the glorious weather. Staff helpful and friendly. Pitches on the small side, not much room for sitting out, with all the cars parked. Shower blocks brilliant, clean, tidy, warm and lots of baths too. The disabled bath/shower room excellent and well used by us, as my grown up daughter broke her ankle while we were there (no fault of the site). Only downside is placement of toilet roll in disabled bathroom (can't be reached when on the loo). Kids loved the park area and played tennis. Crazy golf a bit naff. Outdoor swimming pool fantastic, especially as you can take dogs poolside. Indoor pool good, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi great. Didn't do entertainment other than the bowling which was reasonably priced. Cafe basic but good, shop ok, if a little expensive. Didn't leave the site much (due to my daughter's injury, but lots to do on site. Visited Dunes cafe/bistro, excellent, let us borrow wheelchair for the remainder of holiday! Can't praise them highly enough.

All the kids want to go back.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: RBSB 5 reviews from this member

Just returned from a mid week half term break. On arrival, the site looked very welcoming and reception staff very polite. Our welcome pack had not been prepared though and the receptionist very apologetic.

We were then directed to our pitch. This is when the holiday started to go down hill. A third of the pitch, no 17, was taken up by two large trees, a third tree had obviously been blown down at some point and a huge uprooted rootball and stump remained, which children from surrounding pitches constantly climbed on. I got so sick of telling them to move off our pitch I eventually gave up.

Even though we only had a smallish awning this left us with very little space to put out table and chairs and considering this pitch had cost the same as the other pitches I felt ripped off.

The first day we used the indoor pool as the weather wasn't too good and my daughter thoroughly enjoyed herself.

That evening we had a walk down to the bar. Not really our scene as we don't play bingo And our daughter found the entertainment more suited for young children. We left around 9pm.

That evening we were woke up by noisy drunks staying on pitches 51 to 53 effing and jeffing.

The following day the weather was much better so we walked down to the beach and into the town. Can't really say there was much there except a spar and co-op.

Spent the afternoon around the outdoor pool. IMO the pool is quite dangerous as there are no proper indicators of the whereabouts of the pools deep parts. On that afternoon I saw two children being fished out of the pool after venturing into the middle and encountering the sudden drop.

We didn't use the bar that night as the sun stayed out late into the evening and after most of the families went there the site was lovely and peaceful. Until the people from across the way returned home drunk and swearing again.

Glad to have left the following morning as people seemed to be arriving for the weekend and I though the site was busy enough for us already?

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: LR2007 18 reviews from this member

The site itself is very well maintained and very tidy. The clubhouse in my opinion is very unnactractive as it looks like an airport lounge and the pitch we were offered overlooked this view and the caged tennis courts. We were then offered a pitch on the quieter side of the touring pitches which was far better. That said it is also in the vicinity of the camping pods which appeared to be booked by families on the weekend. Some of these families unfortunately spoilt this site as the children ran riot, played ball games next to caravans etc and had total disregard for other campers. The toilet facilities etc were cleaned daily to a very high standard, however over the weekend period were trashed by children not being supervised. We only booked this site as my husband was there to play golf at the local club. Wouldn't return to this site as perhaps for the touring side some rules and boundaries need to be put into place and then monitored?

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Elysiumuk 2 reviews from this member

A very good site for families with children. Really good facilities. The kids loved the indoor swimming pool and it was great to be able to go bowling one night without leaving the site. The entertainment in the evening is good for the children although don't expect theatre standard shows! The kids loved the disco though.

The tent pitch we had was quite close to the toilet block which got a little bit smelly, so it would be good if it was cleaned a little more regularly.

It is quite far from the traditional lakes and I wouldn't like to pitch here in high winds.

Overall, I would recommend. We would go back here again in the future.

Previous     97 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over 399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to 175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


524 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth 399!