Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Stanwix Park Holiday Centre

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Silloth > Stanwix Park Holiday Centre Reviews

Stanwix Park Holiday Centre
Greenrow
Silloth
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA7 4HH
Tel: 016973 32666
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 126
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 101 Reviews
                8/10 from 101 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf <1 mile   Tennis On Site 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  101 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Kermeesh 2 reviews from this member

 Spent 2 nights here on way home, will make it longer next time.

An excellent venue and the cost includes entry to all the facilities, I enjoyed the pool with the sauna and steamroom, never made the gym, maybe next time.

Very clean and tidy and helpful members of staff, good walks for the dogs and they enjoyed the run along the beach, a centre that you do not need to leave if that's your wish, plenty to do,

Bar prices very reasonable and nightly entertainment very good,

Will take in a weekend next visit. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Buddygirl 5 reviews from this member

 This site was great. At night time adult only bar upstairs ( are you listening Haven) no kids games etc, they were well catered for downstairs. There was another adult bar for just a quiet drink. Very nicely decorated and spotless.

Site was clean. I found the shop disappointing but there is a co op 10 mins walk away. Rained one day so I went into the sauna and jacuzzi. The kitchen area with microwaves and 4 hobs was an excellent idea ( why use your own gas) and we were close to it.

People all seemed to know each other - but a lot had vans on site and it was the weekend

How I wish I could pick this site up and put it somewhere else.

Silloth is extremely disappointing. NO beach on the East side where there was along prom area you could walk down, but just rock on beach area but the west beach was horrible and absolutely nothing there- not even a tea van and no loos.

Views was of rusty gas works. Only a few shops in town and 1 run down pub and one closed down pub. There was a hotel with bar but food very expensive. Told Golf bar was nioe but didn't go in.

Don't go down the public footpath opposite site, broken glass and needles and takes you to back of run down council estate.

If you go to this site you really stay on site. It is not a sea side town - it is a run down town at the side of the sea

Loved site but not impressed with Silloth 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Brickiemum 6 reviews from this member

 Just spent a very enjoyable week at Stanwix Park. I had chosen the Skiddaw side of the park as I had hoped it would be slightly quieter. Well I got my wish, there were only 3 occupied pitches (was before the English schools broke up for holidays) As a result I felt very safe letting my children (4 and 1) run around and have fun. The pitches are clean and well maintained, the hook up stands are in very good order. Communal areas are well looked after, we saw grass cutting and painting going on everyday. The site is also well planted with attractive flowers. The shower blocks were fine although the shower heads tend to soak the entire room.

The entertainment was brilliant for the children, full marks. They loved foxy fox and the disco. Drink priced are relatively high though. Both the inside and outside pools were fab, kids loved them. Cafe served good freshly cooked meals in huge portions but was really quite expensive. Not a lot in Silloth itself but loads within driving distance. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: 8614jason 1 review from this member

 Six of us stayed here and could not find fault.

Toilet block was clean and of high standard with bath and shower facilities also has a laundry room.

Pitch was like a pea gravel it was heavy rain and the drainage was really good.

It cost 37 for 4 adults and 2 toddlers that included passes into the park.

Really good entertainment for kids and there is a separate bar for adults, good family pool, soft play, and a basic shop and a restaurant.

Staff where nice and helpful.

In all a good place which caters well for families and I would definitely go back again. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sue2812 8 reviews from this member

 Stayed here end of July 2011 and would agree with other comments that the facilities were great and the park well kept.

The only word of warning I would like to add is that if you like space be careful when you book.

We stayed on Skiddaw site and found it very cramped all pitches were taken and we felt like sardines packed in a can. We were at back of site near busy road which was quite noisy and luckily had friends with us as we had to take caravan off the car on little road and they helped us put in on pitch as could not drive to it.

Not much room for kids to play. Also watch out for golf balls when taking the dog for a walk. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Redmaz101krazy 3 reviews from this member

 On the approach the park was clean and tidy,

Toilet block was a bit dated and cold but not a problem, staff were friendly,

Plenty of entertainment for the children. Adults had there own bar and entertainment including bingo upstairs.

The only down side was the drinks were very expensive so needed to have a few before we went out !

There is a great out door market on a Sunday not far from the site, plenty of bargains, shops and village is just a walk away,

On the whole I would return to the park in the future. 


Date of Visit: March 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Val0712 33 reviews from this member

 Just spent 3 nights at this site. We were very impressed quickly booked in & directed to our pitch (Criffel Side) cold water tap, electric & waste at side of camper, site is kept very tidy.

Playpark for kids, did notice a pitching putt but I doubt this has used for some time.

Toilets are kept clean. They could do with having a heater installed as a bit nippy at this time of year.

Shop on site is very good have all basics and some freezer food, toys for kids, swim wear etc.

We never used cafe but it was clean & tidy menu looked fine.

Swimming pool & changing area are very clean, good size pool, sauna, steam room & jacuzzi. Outdoor pool was closed as to cold outside but looked great. Never used gym but equipment looked very up to date. Also a stand up sunbed which you do have pay for.

Bars are very nice, adults one is a tv lounge then pool and darts area at back. Childrens bar has ten pin bowling, amusements and soft play area. Night time entertainment is in another bar where kids and adults are both allowed in. Snooker room. Also a sitting area to look down into pool.

The town is a 10 minute walk, beautiful beach, nothing to do the town really needs something! Golf Inn do good food. 


Date of Visit: February 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Bubble977 7 reviews from this member

 Stayed at this site for 3 nights during half term and it was fairly quiet. I must just say that as a couple with no children, we would not stay at this site during peak periods as it is a very big site and would be too busy for us. At peak times there could potentially be well over 1000 people on this site. Far too busy for us.

Stayed at the Criffel side of the site, the toilet facilities were good and clean. Theres a campers kitchen with hobs, microwave and sink. All pitches are hardstanding and have electric and water.

The entertainments area is good for families with plenty to do. Not badly priced food in the cafe. Swimming pool was free of charge but the mixed changing areas were very busy and queued out of the door. We waited about 15 minutes to get changed but not an issue for us as we had plenty of time on our hands.

TV lounge was good to chill out in and is adult only. Noise from the nightclub/entertainments area could be heard until the early hours of the morning. But again didn't bother us too much.

It is only about a 10 minutes walk into the very quiet town of Silloth. Not much there but we enjoyed the walk along the beautiful coast. There is a pub and a fish and chip cafe in Silloth.

All in all had a good relaxing weekend and would visit again but out of season. 


Date of Visit: October 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: MerlinMcguire 8 reviews from this member

 Just back from a half term break with two young children. In truth disappointed with the site given the reviews to date. Had a pitch in Criffel near the entertainment block.

Pros;

- Good entertainment - Foxy Fox was a hit (Sunset Inn was a good venue, clearly where the money has been spent)

- Great countryside around the site, the coast road down to Maryport is a fantastic drive, the Codfather chippy in Allenby is also well worth a visit!

Cons;

- Poor layout of touring site, its a long one way system, play area was a hike. View of pre-fab leisure complex not overly inspiring.

- Swimming pool cold, hot tub had an over bearing chemical smell, inadequate changing facilities

- Shower and toilet block look and feel very dated and not the cleanest.

- Play area average, found broken glass on the slide.

- Local area around the site offers little to do if the weather is poor.

If you want somewhere for evening entertainment then this is the place, otherwise I'd give it a miss. 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ben+nic 4 reviews from this member

 Jut had a wonderful 5 day stay at Stanwix with the family (son 6 & daughter 3). Excellent facilities me & my partner were very impressed with this site, it was our first tenting experience as a family and found it very straight forward. All the staff was very friendly, shower/toilets were clean. There was plenty to keep the kids amused with a park close by to our pitch, amusements, night time entertainment & indoor/outdoor swimming everything was within a short walk for us. Brill for young families. Would recommend to anyone with a family, we will be definitely returning next year 


Previous     101 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Stanwix Park Holiday Centre child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Stanwix Park Holiday Centre have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Stanwix Park Holiday Centre?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Stanwix Park Holiday Centre dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Silloth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3397 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement