Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Beacon Hill Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Poole > Beacon Hill Touring Park Reviews

CLOSED: Beacon Hill Touring Park
Blandford Road North
Poole
Dorset   (Browse area)


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: Site Closed 2018

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 110 Reviews
                6/10 from 110 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  110 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Donk911 2 reviews from this member

The toilet block was large and clean although very cold at times. Nice greeting on arrival in the shop. Although pitches are very hard to know where you are supposed to be not marked well. Where we were the pitches were far from level and you will need ramps and extra blocks to level your van. The campsite is ideally situated for exploring the area. The pool and club were closed when we were there Easter holiday which was a shame as it was nice and warm. They have cut down so many trees and there are bits of branches everywhere not nice to walk over or look at. The fishing was terrible lots of us fished over the five days and no one had a bite or saw a fish turn. There were broken branches and fencing thrown in the lakes and far to much weed.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tmif 8 reviews from this member

We camped here for a couple of nights in Mid September.

Most of the facilities were shut - for the winter (pool, restaurant, bar). Not a bad thing for me. If you need those things check before you go.

It was quite quiet, which is always nice.

It was cheap - 24 for 2 adults for 2 nights in a small tent. Enough money for a small spot of grass and nice clean facilities.

All in all I thought it was a good site - perfect location for touring Dorset. I went for a nice walk in the Purbecks - Lulworth Cove, Durdledoor, Corfe Castle - all easily driveable, and an excellent walk along Sandbanks beach - again beautiful.

Will probably go again - but I like nice, simple, small, non-child friendly sites :) (i. E. No bar, clubhouse, playpark etc)

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Andrea wainwright 1 review from this member

Good site, helpful warden. Toilet block clean and tidy.

Used this site many years ago when we had the kids with us. Always enjoyed our times there. This year we visited on our own with a campervan, no electric. We were shown to the area by the club. Well, I have never heard songs killed so badly. As it was warm the club windows were open and it was quite loud. The singer needed to be shot. We were also quite alarmed at the amount of people who lit fires. Thankfully they were not next to us!

We will however return soon, hoping to be further away from the club, and hoping it isnt as dear

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Special01 42 reviews from this member

Spent 3 nights here. Fri, sat, sun. Very busy. Pitches split into dog area's pitches. Part on edge of forest. Toilets cleaned regularly. Good free showers. Free Wi-Fi. Good staff. Very helpful. Got a club site did not use it. Lots of freedom. But very busy. 29 a night. 2_adults x 1 dog. Bit pricey for facilities. Would only return in off peak season.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Chappers2341 11 reviews from this member

Just spent a weekend at Beacon Hill. The site could be fantastic and despite it's size manages to keep a fairly informal atmosphere. However some parts of it are looking a little tired with some, what I assume were seasonal pitches, just being littered with junk. The facilities are also looking a bit tired, two showers I used came out at a trickle and needed to be held on all the time, the staff did however try to keep them clean, but at times they just couldn't cope with the demand/attitudes of some campers.

There are a fair few facilities on site none of which we used, including shop and bar which seemed to specialise in awful tribute bands.

There doesn't seem to be any enforcement of quiet times and whilst most people we met seemed ok some left a little to be desired.

Thought 55 for two of us for 2 nights was a bit steep as the location wasn't anything special and we didn't use any of the facilities but for those wanting to fish or use the pool etc, probably not too bad.

Note the ground is quite hard and whilst not lumpy, it is stoney and rock pegs are essential.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Louise50 1 review from this member

Just turn up for a short break, booked in quickly and shown to pitch, all tidy, flat area we pitched on, plenty of bins, toilet and shower block very clean and well usable, plenty of hot water in washing up area, pool looked maintained and clean but didn't swim, staff helpful and polite, didn't use shop other than freezer to freeze ice blocks but looked to have most things you would need. Lovely walks fishing ponds were full of nature to watch but seemed to shallow and didn't catch any thing. Had a very enjoyable time would return.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: CScoggins 7 reviews from this member

Spent 3 nights at this site with our 7 year old son on the last weekend of the school summer holidays. Very busy at the beginning of our stay, tailing off towards the end.

The site itself is well placed, large and has some excellent pitches in fields and amongst trees. A minimally stocked shop for essentials only and free ice-pack freezing. Two play areas for the kids and a couple of small lakes offering fishing. The facilities are pretty good, large toilet/shower blocks which were kept reasonably clean, despite the efforts of some people who I bet don't leave their own bathrooms at home in such a state.

The few issues we had with our stay were down to inconsiderate campers making far too much noise late at night or allowing their kids to run riot. The first night we were treated to a drum and bass session from a nearby camper van with what appeared to be a nightclub-quality sound system. On the third night there was a group of children (at one point accompanied by a parent!) squealing and pushing each other into the swimming pool at 11. 30pm. To their credit, the site wardens dealt with both once notified via the 'emergency' mobile number. Other than that, the site was quiet after about 10-11pm and we slept well.

Our tips for staying at this site would be:

When booking don't agree to a pitch on the 'pool field'. Sloping, undulating ground and right next to the swimming pool. It seems to be reserved for pre-booking groups, we were put on there as we booked two pitches at once, but were a 'group' of 4 adults over 40 and one child, so not such a menace to society.

If camping on a 'peak weekend' (bank holiday etc) the facilities will be under strain, and so showering out of the normal hours etc makes sense.

If disturbed by noise at night don't hesitate to ring the 'emergency' warden number, they will deal with it, in our experience within about 15 minutes.

Similarly for unclean toilets etc, if found, report to the reception, in our experience a cleaner was dispatched fairly promptly.

Don't expect the three pages of 'site rules' sent when you book to be rigorously enforced, but complaints are dealt with.

We would probably go back, albeit out of peak season.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sharplesj 4 reviews from this member

Site overcrowded, noisy, full of inconsiderate people. Seemingly no rules about noise. Currently midnight and music blasting out from other units. Almost no room to walk between pitches. Washrooms ok, and fairly clean considering. Won't be back here again

Play area looks ok. Lots of people with roaring fires around. Personally I believe this is not really good at all.

The only positive is location which was convenient for us to get to launch our boat in Poole Harbour.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pas gargano 2 reviews from this member

Just got back from the worst camping experience I have had. We went for the bank holiday weekend and on arriving extended our stay by an extra night. The first night was really noisy, our selves and other had to wake the camp site owner at 2. 00 am and complain. After a while and he finally showed up and asked the family concerned to keep the noise down. The following day we went to use the showers and toilets in the evening and they looked and smelt as if they had not been cleaned all day. Again after others complained they were cleaned. The site had no one supervising during the day or night and because of this on the final night there were young kids going around kicking and spitting at tends. When we and others complained nothing was done. After asking for the site owner on several occasions to come and sort it out he failed to show. I could not get up early enough to pack and leave, after another night of no sleep due to the noise of partying and cars driving around all hours

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Poppy9560 6 reviews from this member

I stayed over the first May bank holiday weekend for 2 nights with a friend and her 2 children aged 16 months and 4 years. The guy on reception was very helpful and welcoming. The shop stocked the basics although looked as if it needed stocking up.

We pitched near the children's playground and were very happy with our field it was very child friendly - only problem was the midges at dusk but we had a citronella candle.

The shower and loo block was fine - plenty of room (and hooks) for changing etc in the shower. The larger slide and playground was somewhat eccentric - full sized monkey bars would have been more in place on a military training ground! We were disappointed that the pool (when they say 'heated' they mean by the sun btw. ) wasn't open so early in the season. We had dinner and lunch at the Holme Bush inn which was excellent, good value for money, good food and friendly service. We also went on the steam train from park and ride via Corfe Castle to Swanage which was lovely.

They really need to open the cafe on the site when they have customers, I was told it is open in high season which means the school summer holidays. I travelled by train and X8 bus which stops outside the site but doesn't go that route on Sundays and bank holidays so I had to walk to Upton to get a bus back. This was a bit unnerving crossing a busy road and I certainly wouldn't want to do it with small children.

We enjoyed our weekend (had wonderful weather) but I do feel if the site was full the facilities may not be enough for the crowds. There is plenty to do in the area and I will certainly go again.

Previous     110 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

All Sites in Dorset

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3058 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019