Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Beacon Hill Touring Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Site Reviews

CLOSED: Beacon Hill Touring Park
Blandford Road North
Poole
Dorset   (Browse area)


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: Site Closed 2018

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 110 Reviews
                6/10 from 110 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  110 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ieh103 2 reviews from this member

I have been to beacon hill many times, especially in my teens. I wanted to return there with my children (5 & 10) and I was let down.

Facilities aged but well designed. However they were not cleaned often enough. The site was generally run down, there was no observance of the 6 meter rule so it was very sardine like. However the staff are very good and we were able to change pitch site at no extra cost to a more secluded area ( we have a son with ASD)

There were lots of large groups there who were drinking into the early hours which is not acceptable! And the worst thing of all was the bins are rarely emptied. The children's play areas were also run down.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mary E23 4 reviews from this member

Booked the week before and paid in full, received an email confirming the booking along with the pitch number and field.

On arrival we were given a map and left to find the pitch ourselves, very confusing as every field has the same numbers in. When we did manage to find our pitch a caravan and awning was on it. A member of staff was passing by and we told him and he said we could pitch our tent next to the one we booked.

This pitch was unsuitable for a tent as it was on dirt. The grass had worn away and it was also covered by lots of pine cones. We were then shown another pitch which was suitable for our needs.

Half way putting up our tent an irate gentleman got out of his car and asked us what did we think we were doing on 'his' pitch. We explained what had happened and he went to the reception to be told 'well they got there before you'. Our pitch we booked was a seasonal pitch, then why book us on to it? Their reason was that the system hadn't been updated.

The shower block was okay, I never had to queue and there was plenty of hot water. I liked the private cubicles to just have a wash in although none of the basins had a plug in them and it was the same in the washing up sinks.

Only went in the clubhouse 2 nights, didn't stay long as it was very hot in there and we thought the prices were steep.

Nothing much in the shop. It was really hot when we were there and we thought we'd have an ice lolly, we opened the fridge and all that was in there were campers ice packs and about 12 small tubs of ice cream.

Heated swimming pool was freezing, no sun loungers there, you either carried your own chairs over or lay a towel on concrete.

Most of the grass has been left to wear away with huge hard dried dirt patches. After one night of heavy rain a tent 2 pitches away from us found itself surrounded by a foot of muddy sludge most of it was in their tent and although we were about 50 yards away from the reception not one of the staff came over to help clean up. Thankfully as on most sites if you are in trouble other campers will all lend a hand as this was the case here.

On our last morning there we went to have breakfast at the camp take-away. It is open from 8. 30am to 11. 00am. We were there at 8. 45am ordered 2 egg and bacon baps to be told 'we've got no eggs'. It didn't surprise us in the least.

It is great that it is only 3 miles away from Poole and ideal if you wanted an overnight stay to catch the ferries for France.

The site is next to a main road which and is just 8 miles to Bournemouth and lots of other attractions are nearby. Less than 10 minute drive is a Toby Carvery and over the road from that is a large Tesco store.

If money was spent on this camp it would be lovely as it is in a beautiful setting. In the state it is now I don't feel it should be charging nearly 30 a night.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Thegoldsworthys 1 review from this member

After reading the reviews on this place we were nervous about going. I had tried to get my deposit back at an earlier date but the manager was having none of it so we decided to go and make the best of it.

I have to say the site and location are fab. Gorgeous amongst the trees and very tidy - no litter etc. Pitches are quite bare and very un-even so it was hard to level caravan. Elec hookup was so far away from caravan we had to hire a 30 m extension cable from reception for 30 deposit. We were staying in 'gorse field' but there are no sign posts to tell you which pitch/field. The receptionists were useless and didn't give us any info when we arrived. We had booked 2 identical pitches side by side (one for us and one for friends) both with caravans and awnings and we were charged 10 per night extra as ours was meant to be bigger but they were identical.

Toilets were very clean and showers ok. Not much water pressure but I have had worse! Shower block floor gets muddy and needs cleaning more often. Shop is totally useless and not well stocked at all. Also VERY expensive. - Sent kids to shop to get us a disposable BBQ and it 10. 05 ! This is a lovely site but not well managed which is a shame as it is could be so much more! Games room is very expensive which is a shame when kids want to play - 3. 50 for a game of pool. Tesco and asda only 10 mins down the dual carriage way which is good. Lovely location for exploring Poole/Swanage etc. All in all we had a good time and it wasn't as bad as we were expecting!

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Big mick 1 review from this member

I have just returned from a weeks camping at this site with a large group(12-13 pitches), we had a thoroughly good time because the site had so much to offer for all the families there, 2 lakes for fishing, a swimming pool, a games room and bar. We found the facilities to be adequate enough to handle all of us using them and the pitches very generous in size! we found the staff working under Sam and her good self very helpful, always friendly!Sam even went to great lengths to organise a powerwalk for some of the ladies in our group, and placed visible signs directing us to a local public house via the woods! we enjoyed it so much that we are already planning a return visit next summer!i would also like to add that this site is very well located as regards getting to various shopping locations and to poole and surrounding places of interest! the only thing missing from this site was picnic benches which are very handy for dining and socialising!

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Claireyp79 1 review from this member

This was our first camping experience we found the staff helpful accommodating on arrival and throughout stay.

Lots of bits on the site for us all to do : swimming, fishing, kids park, space for big games etc

Bathroom facilities we never queued for but the showers and area you get changed in is very small and wet!

There is a small shop in the reception that sells essentials and not overly priced.

There is a club which we never used or the on site takeaway.

People in the site respected the rules to do with news.

Dogs very welcome

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Joy davies 6 reviews from this member

Never having been to this site and it being within 30 mins from our home we thought we would give it a try for a weekend. It's a rather large site and most people were spread about with very few neighbours, the pitches seem to be badly marked from the camping point of view as we were asked several times where a pitch was.

The site itself is beautiful surrounded by woods, but make no mistake you can hear the traffic from busy A35, but the bird song goes a long way to drown it out and we even saw a woodpecker

The bar and games room was not open during our stay and neither were the toilets that were located in this block.

The main toilets therefore were some distance away sadly the state of the toilets let this site down. We arrived on Friday and the toilets at the time were very untidy with rubbish overflowing from the bin, there was also water on the floor in some of the toilets. By mid Saturday morning no-one had cleaned the toilets. Many of the toilets felt a little rocky when sat on and there was a complete lack of toilet paper, this was also the same in the gents as well.

Also the toilet facilities were not very disabled friendly and I certainly would not want to try out the showers if I was disabled

There seemed to be know one around to speak to. But saying that I would visit again but at least next time I would be prepared. Its such a shame as this campsite is one of the closet to Poole and the lovely beaches of sandbanks

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Meldawkins 5 reviews from this member

We have been going to this site for a number of years now and always loved it. The site is still the same and they have upgraded the shower block in the main bar / entertainment area. The staff are always friendly and helpful - you could not wish for better people to make you feel welcome.

Sadly on this occasion the state of the toilets let this site down. We arrived on Friday and the toilets at the time were ok. It was apparent that by Sunday, no-one had cleaned the toilets since either last Friday or early Saturday. There was only one toilet that had toilet paper, there was toilet paper all over the floor and a nappy had been left on a sanitary bin from Saturday and was still there on Monday morning! There was no soap in the dispensers and the hairdryer was broken. The floors were soaking wet and covered in mud.

We were so very disappointed that our 'favorite' campsite had slipped since last year.

I'm not sure if the state of the loos was so bad because it was early in the camping season (not fully staffed - maybe??)

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Antlib 3 reviews from this member

Stayed on Bank Holiday Sunday night. Picked this site as in the guide it stated that there were separate areas for parties with children, groups and adults who wanted a quiet pitch.

Unfortunately this was not the case. We are 3 adults looking for a quiet night. We were offered a pitch near the bar away from children or near the play park. We ended up next to a tent with young children who were up at 6.30 crying.

The staff on arrival were very helpful and tried to find us a nice pitch. The pitches are not marked out at all and although in the guide it says leave 6 metres between tents this was not enforced at all, it was a free for all. We just found a patch and pitched our tent.

On Sunday there was a singer in the bar who was very good and the bar area was ok nothing special. The shower and toilet facilities were terrible.

The showers were old and in need of up dating. When you step out of the shower the floor was very wet and you had no-where dry to stand. There was no toilet paper in both the gents and ladies all weekend.

This being bank holiday weekend and the site was full I would have expected the toilets and showers to be cleaned sometime during the weekend. For such a large site only 2 washing points was no good.

The site is in a great location and surrounded by great walks and woodland, pity it was let down by the basics. This was not worth the 30 for one night.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mode 3 reviews from this member

Stayed here for May half term break. Have to say the location is lovely and the pitches are spacious and you are not on top of the next person.

Unfortunately, though thought the site is very run down. The toilet/shower block cleaned once a day and by the afternoon/evening very dirty and I wouldn't let my 5 year old use them after this time.

The pool is supposed to be 'heated' well no adults entered the pool as this was not the case the pool was freezing.

The shop says opens at 8.30am however, most days the 'girl' did not arrive until 9.00am and don't expect a paper as they don't sale them.

The take away area was supposed to stay open till 11pm but this was not the case my partner tried to bet something at 10.45pm but shut and the following night went over at 10pm and just managed to get order in before shutting.

Overall I'm afraid I wouldn't go back to this site but big shame as the grounds are lovely just need some care and attention.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Potter21 1 review from this member

We weren't looking forward to it after reading the reviews from people that had been before. We got to the campsite, it was clean and tidy and what you would expect.

The staff where very friendly, polite and helpful.

The shower blocks were what you expected where it had rained it was a bit muddy. But that's not anyones fault. Really good washing up areas and laundry areas.

We had a really good pitch close to friends and family we where all in a close circle.

Lots of things for children to do park area, swimming pool.

Very close to beautiful beaches and close to monkey world which my children really enjoyed.

We had a really good time and would definitely go again, don't believe everything you read.

Previous     110 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

All Sites in Dorset

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1965 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019