Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Beacon Hill Touring Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Site Reviews

CLOSED: Beacon Hill Touring Park
Blandford Road North
Poole
Dorset   (Browse area)


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: Site Closed 2018

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 110 Reviews
                6/10 from 110 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  110 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Billyj456 1 review from this member

I stayed at the site in Easter and have to say, what a beautiful place! I have never stayed at a site so naturally, aesthetically beautiful.

Okay, so its fair to say that the sites toilets are not the most modern, the bar isn't the cheapest, etc. But isn't that why we go camping? to get away from luxuries!

The fishing lake is brilliant for beginners, the pool is great for kids, we played tennis, all sorts of other sports and in total, had an absolutely brilliant time at Beacon Hill.

Its secluded and away from the road in a brilliant location, there are dog walks, and something for everyone.

Not to mention, the staff at Beacon hill are the most competent and by far the most friendly that I have ever met in camping. The pitch guide was happy to help us with any problems very quickly, the receptionists were smiley and the manager was very warm and welcoming.

I will definitely be returning to Beacon Hill, a beautiful family place. I could stay forever and never get bored!

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Morant family 1 review from this member

We stayed at this site over the bank holiday and really had a great time the site was lovely. The toilets were clean and the showers were hot it was very busy. The fishing lake was great for the kids they caught over 100 fish in in two days. The parks were good will use again.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kezzbang 6 reviews from this member

We had a lovely time at Beacon Hill, loved the fact that the campsite had an 'at one with nature feel' so no marked pitches and lots of trees so it felt like camping in a forest

Washrooms were basic and not cleaned as regularly as I would have liked. But hey that's what you get when you're camping. You have to accept that you're going to rough it for a bit

Shop stocked the basics

Fantastic little play park and big slide-which all blended in with the surrounding as it was all made from wood

Nice little lake on site for the fishermen/women

Pool was a real bonus and great sun trap

Visited Alum Chine whilst there, beautiful beach and unspoilt, no tatt shops to be seen thankfully

Definitely would go again purely for the laid back feel of the site

Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Happymagic 3 reviews from this member

After reading the reviews we were put off this site. But temptation of the fishing lake took over and we went for a weekend. It was the best time as it was quiet and we could pitch anywhere we liked. Which of course was right next to the lake. Hubby caught 15 carp in one day.
On the downside no we wouldn't use the toilet blocks they were awful. My nephew had a hard job finding a loo that wasn't broken. Bins never emptied. Luckily for us we have our own bathroom in our caravan so used that.

The play ground are cool for the kids. If the owners did spend some cash on modernising the toilet blocks etc. This could be a gem of a park.

There's so much to do near by. Not far from beaches, town centre, shops / takeaways etc. Lovely walks and our dog loved the freedom of the dog walk. It's how camping should be. Pitch and enjoy.

We will go back. Our daughter enjoyed the space for riding her bike around. It's well worth a visit off peak I'd say. 21 in sept for caravan awning 2 adults 2 children and 1 dog. We think that's not a bad price at all. Yes there are cheaper sites around. All we can say is try them all first and make your own minds up. That's what we do.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: PPs on Tour 5 reviews from this member

Oh dear! They started the year so well - see our earlier review (May)

When the going gets tough, it would seem they just cant cope. The toilet blocks seemed to get worse over the season, people in tents need these facilities so if they are broken, they need to be fixed. The games room should be open all day, not just at night when the bar is open - especially when the weather is bad.

This site has so much to offer. The site needs more staff and better organisation or people will not come back however laid back they are!

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Paul Barlow 5 reviews from this member

Stayed at this site during August this year and was very disappointed. On arrival the site looked to be in a nice setting with different types of pitch available. I was allocated a pitch with electric hookup in the Woodland area (Birchwood field I think it was called) and this was unsuitable for tents. The pitches were very muddy with no grass and were very uneven due to tree roots all over the place and this could cause serious damage to groundsheets.

The facilities on site were badly maintained with the shower and toilet blocks constantly dirty and with lights not working.

The games room was poor with very few machines working and the bar area was small for the size of the site. The outdoor play areas were good but needed the weather to use them

The shop was not well stocked as advertised and it did not sell essentials such as gas and newspapers. What they did have was very expensive. There was no alternative nearby.

The site was very noisy with the sound of traffic on the nearby main road and from cars etc coming onto site at all hours. There seemed to be no time limit for driving around.

Pool was very cold and was not heated as far as I could tell. There were no changing facilities near it and no showers. Lots of leaves etc floating on top.

The cafe / take away was open all morning but shut at lunch time, reopening at 5.30pm. The food however was ok.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mrs W 3 reviews from this member

Just returned from a week at Beacon Hill. We arrived on the Sunday during the bank holiday weekend and expected it to be busy.And it was!

We were shown to a choice of 2 pitches so we chose the one in the middle of the field away from the trees and were lucky enough to have enough room to get our 2 cars in and out with ease.

We had a pitch with electric, but lost our supply on Sunday night. In total darkness-2 women and 2 children with no men or an electrician in our bags, we assumed our hook up was faulty as it hadn't tripped inside the tent and went to bed. The next day we found a local shop and bought a new one for 70. When we got back to site - this didn't work! After going to reception they told me that it had probably tripped at the plug in point and they'd come and re-set it. It had tripped at the box!I wish they'd given us an information leaflet in case this happened.

70 lighter and annoyed that I didn't know enough about these things to sort it myself we carried on with our holiday.

A lot of people left on the Monday which was great. We had more room, but with the bad weather the previous week the ground was wet, brown and very muddy. Bins weren't emptied until Tuesday and were overflowing with rubbish.

The shower/toilet blocks were adequate, but shower cubicles were often blocked and standing in a strangers shower water isn't very nice.

The shop stocked essentials - but not plasters. Only critisism is that nothing was labelled with prices so you didn't know what you were going to pay until you got to the till.

I personally didn't like the way you could pitch anywhere. We returned from a day trip on Thursday to find that our car exit was blocked by a group of new arrivals who even pitched up 2 feet away from the front door of our tent! I do prefer sites with marked pitch areas as you are then sure of excactly what is your space and can be sure that you and your vehicles can get in and out easily.

Overall the site was ok but could be cleaner.

Didn't really see anyone in authority on site. The staff seemed to be based in the shop and were very young - and I'm sure very capable - but I just didn't see anyone who appeared to be a 'Manager'.

More lighting would be an advantage as it is a wooded area and quite scary to be walking to the toilet block at night.

Location was great and the site easy to find.

I think the site would be great in the quieter times of the year when not so busy.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bollynickers 2 reviews from this member

We had booked and paid for electric hook-up but none could be found spare, then they suggested a splitter but no one could find one of those either. After waiting around for over an hour, we were finally found a pitch right next to the tennis court and swimming pool! Handy you would think?? Alas no. We had to stretch our electric lead across and round a camper van, only to be told that it was already being used by another tent on the lower field (which looked like Glastonbury) filled with youngsters apparently on a stag night! As there was a 50 bond payable for large camping party's we really did not think there would be any noisy campers who would risk losing this. There was a generator for the pool-very noisy and electric cables above the tennis court that buzzed all night. Not that we slept anyway, the stag night went on until 4am with loud music, singing and swearing. My husband complained to the manager 3 times that evening, we were wrecked by the morning.

The toilets were dirty, the hand driers never worked, the showers so powerful that they pinned you to the other wall and made your skin red, but at least mine were hot, the male showers were all cold for a whole morning! The shop had hardly any supplies, we didn't try out any of the other facilities as we were so disappointed, this was our holiday in a beautiful part of the country ruined. The manager did agree to give us one nights refund (25.50) but took over two weeks and about 5 phonecalls to the campsite before we got it.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jay + Fra 2 reviews from this member

Have just returned from this site. Tried to ignore all the negative reviews and be positive. Pitches are on top of one another, site is one of the most expensive ones we have been to so far and is not value for money. Noise is a problem at night, there were several large groups all having fun which is great but tended to go on late at night. The rubbish skips were left overflowing and unemptied. The shower/toilet,dishwashing, shop facilities were inadequate for the size of the site, always had to queue to wash up and shower. There are only 2 blocks and every morning the one nearest to our pitch was closed for cleaning when we tried to use them at around 8am which seemed crazy as this is the time most campers are getting up! The toilets and showers were dated and generally dirty, toilet paper being a rare find most evenings. It rained quite a bit during our stay and the site is poorly drained,some pitches were just mud piles. It is a real shame that this site is not updated, if the owners spent some of the large income this site generates on improving it, it really could be a lovely place to camp as the setting is fabulous

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Telmesh 1 review from this member

This site could be excellent for tents but for several things. The most important of these is maintenance :- Lights not working in the gents toilet block, playroom machines not working although it was equipped with two pool tables, heated pool was heated to the temperature of the day( whatever that means 18 c when we checked ). Management were not available when we asked 17th-22nd.

The shop was not very well stocked and six rashers of bacon costs 2.49. No gas on sale and no newspapers.Regularly not open at 8.30. No shops in easy walking distance.

Directions to places printed on slips of paper were not accurate on distance.

Snack shop not open at lunch time ( breakfast up to 11.30 and evening only ) although chips were very good, not skinny fries. Bar was small for site.

The fishing was excellent for children as fish almost hooked themselves.

Two adventure playgrounds in good positions one for older and one for younger children.

Due to the wet season not very much grass on pitches.

Previous     110 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

All Sites in Dorset

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


187 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019