Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Beacon Hill Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Poole > Beacon Hill Touring Park Reviews

CLOSED: Beacon Hill Touring Park
Blandford Road North
Poole
Dorset   (Browse area)


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: Site Closed 2018

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 110 Reviews
                6/10 from 110 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  110 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Moore76 1 review from this member

We have just come back from a weekend with friends and our children and must say we'd go again. After reading the reviews before we went I wanted to stay at home so was nicely surprised when we arrived. The site is quite big with lots of space. We was up where the dogs are aloud and found it ok. The park is not for a quite holiday as there was lots of teenagers who hung around the bar area at night which was a little intimidating when you was trying to use the toilet block as the bar is above the toilets. The toilets could do with being clean a little more as they only get clean twice a day which by the evening wasn't very nice. The shop is on the small side but was ok. If this site only put in a bit more of an effort it would be really really lovely. On the whole a very nice bank hoilday weekend.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Peterq 2 reviews from this member

We thought that the shower blocks were reasonably clean (awful weather means mud, so there will always be some around!) well laid out and plenty of hot water. The disabled bathroom was spacious.

We enjoy peace and quiet when we camp, this isn't the place for it! Entertainment every night in the bar-quite loud. Mopeds driving around late at night.

A well equipped, friendly site, well placed for Poole and the beaches. Nice to see the other nationalities, but only really suitable if you do not want peace and quiet.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Judder 3 reviews from this member

This site has everything you need, well equipped shop, plenty of free showers, and a reasonable toilet block that could have benefited from a touch more cleaning. A couple of times there was no toilet paper but this was no problem as I remember well the days when you always took your own toilet paper to a camp site. There were enough sinks to service a large number of campers at a time, although many of them have no plugs! And. A free hair-dryer! There is a basic bar which is great if you don't have any high expectations and all you want is a drink and a chat without driving off site. The fishing ponds were in use, but looked very murky to me, but to be fair I know nothing about fishing ponds. There is a really good mini adventure playground although some of the older children were a touch too boisterous for my 3 and 5 year olds and tended to put them off the play area. We were sent to camp in the 'Meadows' which to be honest was like camping in a play field with no less than three separate groups of lads playing football at once, fine, everyone is entitled to enjoy their break, but after the second ball hit our tent we had to politely ask them to be careful. On standing back and taking this camp site in, it is in fact beautiful with many nooks and crannies for campers to tuck themselves away, we will do this next time, and ask to not be given the 'Meadows'. The litter that is in alarming abundance in the trees and bushes all around the perimeters is very disappointing, why can't some people dispose of their rubbish properly? A couple of things that possibly spoiled things for us a little was after a day out we returned to find an old mattress had been dumped in the middle of our field, after reporting this to reception it was still there two days later when we were leaving. The other was the noise at night, people here tend to take a long while to settle down, I was in fact awakened by shouting and loud laughter and drunken singing at 1:30am on Monday night. The sea is only a 5 mile drive away, Poole town centre is a mile or so away, and the local off-site pub does some nice meals at very reasonable prices. We made a trip to Adventure Wonderland which was a half hour drive but well worth it as the kids loved it.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bill.Y 4 reviews from this member

The site has a lot of character with different fields separated by hedges or woodland. Lots of 'adventure' play areas for the kids if it's not raining and a fair size games room if it is. There are two fishing ponds (although why anyone travels miles to sit next to a pond fishing I've never understood). The small bar/pub was OK but the Takeaway looked pretty grotty so we never used it.

The shower block had plenty of sinks and showers which had good pressure and hot water, although you do need to avoid peak times. They were cleaned at least twice a day.

One big problem was only three dish washing sinks where there was usually a queue even at ten p.M.

It was the small things that spoiled it for us like the shop closing early with no prior notice, the wifi which we couldn't access, directions to gaz supplier instructions said it was500 yards when it was over a mile and a half.

This could be a fantastic site with some effort. At £27.50 a night for two adults we didn't think it offered value for money

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mansfieldjames 2 reviews from this member

We visited this site whilst touring the south east of England over a two week period. Having phoned ahead we were told that there were only four spaces with electricity left (being as it was, the beginning of the school holiday period). We were told we would be near the play area which we were initially concerned about since our two year old is in bed by about 7pm - as it turned out the field we ended up in was very attractive and the campsite as a whole had a very continental/French feel to it. Having just moved on from a regimentalised site run by the 'Caravan Club' the site had a very relaxed atmosphere with a multi-national clientele. Although not to everybody's taste we actually liked the mixture of tents and caravans.

Beacon Hill was not our first choice and having read several negative reviews regarding the facilities we had reservations - which unfortunately, turned out to be well founded. It is such a shame that this site, with its lovely location among woodland and ponds, is so poorly run. Despite receiving three chevrons in the AA guide and a relatively positive review in Alan Rogers the facilities can only be described, at best, as tired and over-stretched. There is currently only one shower block in operation (amazingly the management have decided to renovate the other block during the summer season!) and this only gets cleaned once a day. Whilst there was always hot water and good pressure the block is dirty and there are no mops to encourage cleanliness - we were lucky with the weather so I dread to think what they would have been like if it had rained. My wife and I tolerated the shower-block but we were unwilling to take our two year old in them, so this is an indication of their condition.

Moreover, there seemed to be only one waste water drainage facility and this was a considerable way from the field we were in (near the recetion/shop) and the chemical disposal point was woeful. In addition, there were several periods whereby the womens' toilets were out of order due to over-flowing units. To be fair, there were additional toilets in the renovated block. Whilst there is a play area this was disappointing as it did not include a slide or swings (which my little girl would expect!) and was very dusty/dirty.

On a positive note, this site has huge potential and maybe with the new facilities it will be worth considering in the future (assuming they are finished) as the site's location is excellent, being just off the A35 main route to Poole (3miles) and Bournemouth (4-5miles) and the beautiful 'Isle' of Purbeck with pretty Wareham, magnificent Castle Corfe (village) and Swanage. The shop was well stocked, if a little pricey - as is the site considering its facilities.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Avondalemayfly 3 reviews from this member

Well, were to start, the site was terrible! We booked our holiday without reading the reviews

At the first site of rain the hilly site easily flooded and for people down below was a nightmare, on the first day are awning flooded ruining some of our belongings.

At first the site was very quiet and the toilet blocks were usable but were still very muddy, and with no cleaning apparatus for the users to clean the mud off the floor. There are only two toilet blocks and the block by reception only had two toilets with paper!

As the weekend came the site filled up very fast, this made the problem of the mud worse, people were putting toilet paper on the floor to get away from the mud, by doing so made a very slippy walking surface.

The showers only dribbled even in the newly refurbished block, cleaning boards were put in place for hours in peak times and the cleaner was no-where to be seen, after the boards where re-moved the block was just as dirty as when the signs were up.

The tents where packed into every space possible, in between caravans and tree's, which was not be a pleasurable experience for all campers.

The sites facility's are not suitable for the amount of people using them. And the shop was very poorly stocked with a small variety, the prices were reasonable, but the nearest supermarket was a 10 minute drive away.

The pool is advertised to be heated, but was far from it, the tennis court is also very tired with no net and weeds growing all round.

The site was also very noisy with no warden checking the site. The site was very tired and if improved could make a really lovely retreat for all.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Emmamoo 12 reviews from this member

Lovely big campsite. Was however pitched in a field with 20 noisy French students who kept us all up until gone midnight and though complaint was made, no one did anything. Loo's and shower block not clean. Bar didn't have much choice, was upstairs without any decent access as some work was being done so wood was blocking the entrance.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Julesr44 2 reviews from this member

We visited this site as a group of 5 families for 3 nights in July 2010.

My first impression on arrival was that the campsite looked very tired. I was not wrong!

The reception staff were friendly and directed us to our pitches, we had booked 5 pitches ( 3 with electricity hook ups ) all together. On arrival we found that a mobile home and a tent had already set up on 2 areas of our pitches - good start!

The mobile home had been placed there by the staff? The tent had been set up just because the owner thought it looked a nice place! we asked for the tent to be moved, which they did.

One of the shower/toilet blocks were being renovated. Great timing, peak season, this meant that we only had 1 block of showers for the 500 people on site ( 12 showers in total, 3 of which in the ladies were permanently blocked. )They let us use the toilets in the block which had not been finished so that we did not have to walk all the way over to the other block at night, but there was no where to wash your hands unless you used the indoor dish washing area which was always swimming with water and mud on the floor nice!

The shower / toilet blocks were filthy, there were no mops to clean out the showers when you had finished so they were thick with mud.

The hand soap was always empty and the toilet roll was not replenished.

The swimming pool was not heated as stated and it was not very clean - they are clearly not great at keepng things clean on this site!

The site shop was only open between 9 am and 7pm not great if you need supplies like milk early in the morning.

The only good points about this site - it was close to some really good beaches. The children liked the slide and you could dry your hair for free!

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ctbien 4 reviews from this member

At the beginning I was supposed to pitch alone in a big fields outside. I was so disappointed they friendly permit me to change room. Toilets blocks were old, a little dark but always clean. Not a lot of people so not queue.

I was there before GB holidays (come from France). The weather was sad (rain, wind, cold.). I visit Bournemouth (just OK). Then, good day at Salisbury and Stonehenge.

I would like to go to swanage and corfe but (because the rain ?) to much people on the road. So I prefer to leave and it was too expensive for just sleeping in a small tent

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Henry + Harleys Mum 2 reviews from this member

We stayed here over early May bank holiday (Fri, Sat and Sun) arrived after the shop had shut which is where the reception in, just rang the telephone number and the lady came down from upstairs to check us in. Very helpful and friendly.

Pitches are not clearly numbered but this didn't really matter as we just chose the one we thought was right - it was not that busy. Some units look like they are permanent fixtures again this is not a problem.

Electric and water right next to the pitch, we chose the field in front of the shop which was fine, we did have a walk around later and see there were more spots further back but we were very happy where we were.

The shop had the basics and wasnít too expensive, bar was ok had music and some video games - take away food was a bit gross!

Didnít use the on site showers or loos so cant comment on them.

All in all for the money this was a great little site

Previous     110 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

All Sites in Dorset

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3763 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019