Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Beacon Hill Touring Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Site Reviews

CLOSED: Beacon Hill Touring Park
Blandford Road North
Poole
Dorset   (Browse area)


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: Site Closed 2018

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 110 Reviews
                6/10 from 110 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  110 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

Please note we have been advised by the site owner that this location has closed, and no longer offers camping, motorhome or caravanning pitches as the park is going under redevelopment. They will not be taking any more bookings due to health and safety reasons. If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks

Date of Visit: January 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Denises 5 reviews from this member

I wanted to travel around the area towards Swanage and chose this wonderful site as a base. I had a tent, a car and one dog. I was charged 15 per night showers included. This is a wonderful site based in 30 acres of private woodland with a trail path leading into the country park. There is a security gate with passcode ensuring safety on site. There were wardens patrolling the site. I loved it here so much. I will return very soon.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: SteppieBristol 16 reviews from this member

We stayed at Beacon Hill over the August bank holiday weekend and considering that its one of the busiest times of the year, overall I thought it was a good site and would definitely return. I'm surprised to read some of the reviews suggesting that the staff don't control the site, as there were a lot of staff on duty when we were there, all working really hard.

One of the lovely features of Beacon Hill is that it has a variety of different areas - some open and some more wooded, so its possible to find a more secluded spot if you want. The areas with EHU do get busy and as 'super-tents' are now the order of the day it looked very full with not much space between units. However from where we were it did seem that the night-time curfew was enforced and we didn't hear any noise after about 11. 00.

We arrived later than planned on Thursday night so weren't able to have a good look around and choose a spot (non-EHU have more choice) but in the end I really liked our pitch which looked out onto woodland and felt quite private.

Its a very child friendly site. The pool is small (and yes a bit cold) but its great to splash about it. There are no staff on duty so you have to accept that kids will do a lot of jumping in, but it was all good natured. There are a couple of good play areas. The one for older kids is great fun - on a small wooded hill so they can run around, climb trees and have that old fashioned playing out experience. Lots of children brought bikes or scooters as there is a lot of space to ride around.

We walked through the woods to the Holme Bush Inn one evening - definitely worth the 15 mins walk for a lovely meal with friendly staff. The path isn't entirely clear so its useful to have a phone or compass to keep a sense of direction, but its a very attractive walk through quite ancient looking woodland.

On-site facilities were good - two blocks with plenty of showers (free, powerful and hot) washing up sinks and a laundry room, all of which were cleaned frequently. The on site shop has the basics, and the bar is fine. The take-away was open for breakfast and in the evening (opening hours are clearly advertised) - lovely chips. They do only take cash though so be prepared (I wasn't).

Its a very convenient location - only 10 mins drive into Poole and quite close to Bournemouth.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dan howes 1 review from this member

We have just returned from beacon hill campsite where we have spent the Last few days chilling out with our family and friends in our caravan. On arrival we we're greated by friendly staff members who made us feel very welcome! Once my business partner and I set up we went and explored the site and found it to be just as we had hoped!

There are Lots of fun things to do and they were more than happy for you to have fires in fire pits. It's was so nice as we felt we were in the wild due to the beautiful forest that we were surrounded by.

If your looking for a place to take your little Ones, then I would recommend beacon hill to anyone! Looking forward to going back in August!

Dan

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pyewackit 1 review from this member

Having just returned this Easter weekend and reading previous reviews to say we were unsure was being kind ??

What a great site its under new management and they cant do enough we arrived quite early expecting to wait till 1200,

Not a problem excellent check in and showed us to our pitch we set up had a walk round the grass was cut you could park your unit or tent with in reason any where not regimental. The site was clean and tidy toilets ok did not use pool had a cover over it,

We would defo return had a great time

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: DALD 1 review from this member

I love this site - we have stayed a few times now (its very close to us and so an easy trip) we don't have electric and so can choose our own spot. Stayed Sunday night and had a great pitch in some woods (really great to hear the birds in the morning). A special mention to Penny who was rushed of her feet and yet still had a pleasant, helpful and friendly demeanour which capped of a wonderful stay for us. Children love the site as its not uniform (IE its laid out with lots of nooks and crannies) so great to explore and play in.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Josh2014 8 reviews from this member

My family and I have just returned from visiting Beacon Hill Touring Park having to leave a day earlier than we originally booked. The park is a shambles. When we arrived having booked a large pitch there wasn't one available for us so we had to squeeze onto a small pitch. No refund offered for smaller pitch size. There is no help telling you where to pitch so fellow campers pitch wherever they like.

There is a takeaway on site but it is only open Friday night for a few hours, Saturday morning and evening for a few hours and a Sunday morning for a few hours. We were pitched near the takeaway and saw a lot of disappointed people leave there as on their advertisement it doesn't specify that it is only open a few hours a week. The bar is very depressing with no music or TV and limited beverages on offer.

The showers were very clean and lovely and warm the shop was stocked with all necessities needed but there is an Asda on the outskirts of Poole just two miles away.

The site is perfectly situated for visiting all major attractions and there is a bus stop outside the gate but bus times are limited for it.

The reason for us leaving early was due to the travelling community being pitched by us and they completely took over the park. They pitched opposite us on a non electric pitch, they run power leads across the main road to the camp and my caravan and awning was surrounded by electric hook ups. Extremely dangerous. We complained to the site office but nothing was done so we left.

The site is ok, the swimming pool is clean but very cold but it is completely lawless there. There are no rules, even allowing fires on site.

The advertisements for the site are completely misleading.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Tents are us 29 reviews from this member

This site could be a really good site but requires some love & attention & money spent on it!

It's a great location but requires the pitches being made more useable, at the moment you can choose anywhere you like & nothing is marked out, the grass requires cutting more often & the site just needs updating.

There are 2 shower blocks that need refurbishment, there is a laundry room & small shop/reception, fishing on site, play area, take away & bar & a swimming pool. ! The pool was great while we were there as it was really hot & only us in it!

All require some love & attention & to be open more.

The trees & the fact the site is split into different areas makes for a lovely spot that could be fuller more often.

Great for Poole & Bournemouth & surrounding area.

Was a bit expensive I feel for what you get as it was low season & 19. 50 a night for 2 adults & a dog??

As I put at the start it could be one of the best we have been on but at the moment isn't.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ksnow 1 review from this member

We booked late for our holiday and chose this site. When we read the reviews we were a bit disappointed but came anyway. We are so pleased we did. The site is being upgraded and the staff are very helpful with solving any problems or queries you may have, even printing off directions for us as we were new to the area.

We stayed in the Keyhole area and it was peaceful, with squirrels and baby rabbits running around. We could have been in France it was really lovely.

There is a footpath through the woods leading to a pub where we had Sunday lunch at a very reasonable price.

The facilities are very adequate and as mentioned any problems with hot water etc were soon remedied.

The site location is great for trawling the Dorset coastline.

We will come again.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Peter Carter 1 review from this member

This site has so much going for it, but we stayed 5 nights over Easter and we found out that the bar, clubroom and takeaway where all closed till the 22nd of May. The shop has some very expensive item, 2pnts of milk and a couple of packs of Bacon over 7, the lake seemed fish-less. Their is free wi-fi which was good from where we where. If they had put it on their website that some facilities where shut then people could of made a more informed choice. Showers where ok, at least they where hot and they where kept clean. I don't think its a site Ill visit again.

Previous     110 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

All Sites in Dorset

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over 399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to 175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3524 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth 399!