Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Beacon Hill Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Poole > Beacon Hill Touring Park Reviews

CLOSED: Beacon Hill Touring Park
Blandford Road North
Poole
Dorset   (Browse area)


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: Site Closed 2018

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 110 Reviews
                6/10 from 110 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  110 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: GradTarnRevers10 1 review from this member

Stayed here in the summer holidays with my family.

The site was very active with lots of people on site. The atmosphere was brilliant and the weather was on our side.

We were greeted by a smiling receptionist on our arrival and then were shown directly to our pitch by one of the guides.

We stayed on the lakeside which was surrounded by natural beauty.

There was plenty on the site for the children to do and the evening bar entertainment was very enjoyable.

The price was very competitive with other sites in the area but this site seemed to be the only one in Dorset with a real natural site charm.

The wash facilities were a bit dated but cleaned regularly.

Very happy with our stay and will be looking to book again this Summer, would recommend to all friends.

Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Meldawkins 5 reviews from this member

Love this site. We have stayed here about 8 times over the last 3 years.

My kids adore it. There are loads of trees for them to roam around and feel free, its like a big adventure playground to them. There is a huge slide and also a smallish play-area.

My husband loves fishing and there are two lakes on site. Only small carp, but in one weekend he had over 100 fish out which made him really happy!

There is a tiny club-house which has live music on the high season weekends. Gets packed in there!

Underneath the club house there is a take away. Being honest, the food is not really up to scratch. Our friend ordered some fish just as they were closing up and it was not cooked properly - therefore he was up during the night being sick, which is not good.

A couple of miles away from the site is a massive Tesco and Adsa, which is really handy!.

The staff are great. Always full of smiles and helpful.

On-site there is a outdoor pool, but its not heated, however my two still enjoyed it.

The toilet blocks and showers are always nice and clean.

I would go back to this site time and time again.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Shippos 1 review from this member

We camped for 4 days August 2009, we pitched in Bottom Meadow field the kids were safe running around in this area and we were close to the children's play area. Bottom Meadow was not too busy, in all the other fields the tents were close together. We were disappointed with the level of cleanliness of the showers/toilet facilities, we used the ones by Reception which were cleaned twice a day, most times we used the toilets there was no loo roll and showers were muddy

On Saturday evening we went to the bar and had a great night live acoustic band and they were very good had a good sing along, would recommend. Didnt really use the shop so cant comment. The bins were disgusting we were lucky enough not to be next to them, as they were constantly overflowing. The toilets and showers were a big let down but did not spoil our holiday.

The campsite is dog friendly you are allowed to take the dog in the pub on site .On the whole the site is excellently located, we had good weather and we would probably stop here again but would request we are located on Bottom Meadow area.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Indkaren 1 review from this member

We booked this campsite as it seemed to be the only one available in this area at short notice for 8 people staying in 4 tents in August.

Avoid the field next to the swimming pool as this is where we stayed the first night and seems particularly insecure. It's clearly where they put people who they think will be rowdy as our neighbours stayed up chatting loudly till 2am - a good 3 hours after we'd turned in! Half an hour's respite until a large group of local kids walked up the road to the campsite and unzipped the tent on the other side of us to ask for baccy before throwing stones and smashing the window of the poor couple's car.

To be fair, the owners let us move our tents to another side of the park for the next night which was a lot better as we were surrounded by families and near the reception.

However, there weren't enough facilities for the size of the park and several of the loos were out of order for the full stay and on several occasions there wasn't any toilet paper in there either.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ellamaija 3 reviews from this member

We arrived to this very large campsite. Pitched our tent fine, realised that we were right on top of the evening entertainment that was extremely loud until 11.30pm -thankfully! although there was a very large party of French students that liked to scream and shout at each other until the very early hours. They have very strange cleaning times of the day 11am-12 and 7pm-8pm so there is never a great time morning or early evening to get a decent shower and they don't leave a mop out for you to clean the mud up if you wish to. Your clothes get wet due to the showers and if you put your clothes up the grass hoppers join you! The pool is supposed to be heated and was definitely not, the weather was kind to us so we were lucky. It is in a good location though

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mowle 1 review from this member

Booked this fairly last minute and I must say that the staff were very helpful on the 'phone. Arrived and was looked after by the staff in reception and shown to my pitch which was not very suitable for a tent (muddy and pot holes) so was offered an alternative (not much better as it was close to large trees and there were roots on the surface). Nevertheless pitched the tent while the kids went off exploring on their bikes.

Plus points: great for families, good play parks, fishing lake for those who want it, easy reach of the beach and supermarkets for stocking up, shop open from 0830 to 2100 hrs and has the essentials.

Negative points: Washrooms and toilets were not cleaned often enough, many of the toilets are out of order or missing locks, toilet paper ran out just after being cleaned despite being industrial sized rolls!, pool is not heated as stated and needs a good clean, many of the pitches are not really suitable for tents (most of those that are do not have electric hook ups), no policing of noise levels after 11 pm (the site does not set a good example by having live music after that time in the bar!).

In summary we had a good holiday but that was more due to the weather than the site but the kids loved it. Could do better for your money and we will look elsewhere next trip.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Thelancashires 2 reviews from this member

Just came back yesterday from Beacon Hill Touring Park where myself, my husband and 3 children had a fab time. Yes I would agree the shower blocks were muddy and do need to be managed better, but alas its camping, not a 5 star hotel.
The children all enjoyed the playpark and the swimming pool (although not heated) was clean. The shop on site is very basic, but there is a Tesco not too far away.
Lovely pub close by called The Bakers Arms which do lovely pub grub. Very close to Poole beach. There is a brilliant indoor water park (Tower Park) close by in case of a rainy day. We would recommend this site.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Spidy 5 reviews from this member

The toilets and showers were disgusting : Used sanitary items in the shower and a women showering with her dog in the sink. Drunk 17 year olds in the loos. No toilet paper after from early evening onwards. Three loo's out of eight broken.

Despite the site asking the ages of our children, we were placed next to the bar and then suffered two sleepless nights whilst the bar was in full swing with band/singer and many, many drunk people. Loud and noisy neighbours didn't help either. Cars driving round at 4am.

Electric hook up was so far away, we had to borrow an extension cable for £30 Cash deposit.

Unfenced area around lakes with no warning or life saving equipment. The pool was unheated and also unattended. I saw the gate opened several times.

All playing fields were taken up with tents - this being the August Bank Holiday weekend so I guess they wanted to make the most of the space. However, all pitches seemed uneven and some without any grass at all. The ground was littered with plastic & glass. The skips were overflowing.

The site manager was not available when we went to complain. The shop seemed to be manned by young teenagers.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: The noones 2 reviews from this member

Just returned from 5 night stay at Beacon Hill an we really enjoyed it ! Despite the terrible weather , it rained so hard for 24 hours being inside our tent was like walking on a giant waterbed! the site attendant was extremely helpful putting wood chippings all around us and even putting wooden board down so we could get in and out easily !

The shower rooms were fine but could do with some updating and maybe a parent and child facility in shower block as our 1 year old hated the shower ! and there was no where to sit her to get her dry.

There is a 24 hour tesco just few minutes down the road which was great,

Check out sandbanks beach its beautiful,golden sand,very clean.

As a first camping trip as a family we would recommend this site.Happy Camping !

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dels new 1 review from this member

Have just returned from this site. Tried to ignore all the negative reviews so here's mine hope it helps.

GOOD POINTS

We stayed at this site and really had a great time the site was lovely.
The toilets were clean and the showers were hot it was very busy.
The fishing lake was great for the kids love it they caught o 10 fish in one day.
Fantastic little play park and big slide.

BAD POINTS

Swimming pool freezing meant to be heated.
Donít sell gas or daily newspapers.
Shop have very very little goods in it and very very expensive.
A kids fishing rod in the camp shop was £16.00 and in Poole was only £5.99 the same one.
Getís very middy there.
You donít get shown to your pitch.

Previous     110 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

All Sites in Dorset

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2311 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019