Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Beacon Hill Touring Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Site Reviews

CLOSED: Beacon Hill Touring Park
Blandford Road North
Poole
Dorset   (Browse area)


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: Site Closed 2018

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 110 Reviews
                6/10 from 110 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  110 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Feughsider 10 reviews from this member

I have used the site twice this month as it is very conveniently situated for Poole and neighbouring South Coast resorts being just north of the junction of the A35 and A350. On my last visit I snapped my van key and needed assistance.

The guy on reception (Cameron) could not have been more helpful, searching the internet to try and find a locksmith for me whilst allowing me to use the office phone and charging up my mobile.

I agree with previous reviewers that there are smarter sites with more modern facilities around but I was grateful that I had booked on to this site on this occasion for the help I was given in a time of need. I do intend to stay again.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: KatieBun 4 reviews from this member

A bit disappointing. The lady on reception couldn't have been more helpful but the site itself wasn't up to scratch. The area we were allotted was uneven and very difficult to level up on.

Hook up was very difficult to access, on the other side of a bramble hedge.

The take away place and bar were right in front of us, as was a large pylon and a fenced off area of very overgrown wasteland.

There were weeds growing through the cracked paving slabs around the outdoor eating area and the take away itself wasn't open, in spite of it being a weekend in high season.

Loos were clean but the showers were full of hair, which was extremely off-putting.

It was a gorgeous, sunny weekend, but slightly marred by the general, run down feeling of our part of the site. What a shame.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Stevo72 3 reviews from this member

The site looked tired and aged and the toilets nearest to our tent could of been cleaner although the ones near the bar etc were a lot better. On our 1st day one of the toilets had been left in a disgusting mess, this was cleaned after I informed reception but not very well at all with the 'mess' still on the wall and floor! There was always hot water from the shower although unfortunately you could not adjust the temperature so they would of been to hot for my 5yr old, we had to 'bath' him in the sink!

The site is in a great location and a lovely setting with trees everywhere this did however mean I came home covered in bites, there were 2 huge nests of huge ants near to our tent. The ground was very threadbare and uneven we had puddles appearing as we were setting up the tent. The play area was good but again seemed aged but that didn't seem to bother the kids, and the swimming didn't seem to be heated and there was no attendant.

After going out for the day we returned to find others campers had pitched very close, too close in my opinion, to us especially as according to the site map there was not enough pitches in that area to accommodate all the tents, people did seem to pitch where they wanted I wouldn't of minded this so much if our new neighbours hadn't had a snorer in each each tent!

I must say however all of us, 2 tents with 4 adults a 12yr old, a 7yr old, 5yr old and a 3yr old had a great time although this was probably down to the company rather than the site itself.

When visiting the shop or bar the staff were friendly, although the prices seemed to vary at the bar!

I think for what the site charges it is expensive, other sites I have paid a similar amount for have been a lot better. With a bit of love and work put into the site I'm sure it could become a great place to stay as I believe it once was.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: KEEF 2 reviews from this member

We have just got back from a week here, and I have to agree with Stevo72.

It is a lovely campsite but so so tired, pot holes everywhere. The ponds are full of weeds and rubbish, the cobwebs in the toilets were untouched. Broken and missing tiles. I didn't see any maintenance in the whole week we were there, grass was unkempt in places, leaves and twigs all over pitches.

Toilets were cleaned regularly, but need more attention. The shop is very poorly stocked, The freezer only had a few ice creams in it, and no other food.

The site seemed to be manned by Students on their summer holidays, and although helpful, they didn't seem very interested. They even ran out of lager on the last night we were there, not that unheard off until you see how little the club house is used, one night we were the only 2 in there at 10. 30. The games room has some very dated arcade games and two small pool tables. Even the crisps turned out to be a month out of date.

Although the area is lovely with easy access to Poole and Bournemouth, I personally would not return to this site.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Printini 5 reviews from this member

We have just spent 6 nights here and all is not as it seems. Because there were not many booked on the week we stayed (at 178 I'm not surprised), the take-away was not open, the pool was not heated, and the bar which is upstairs provided no entertainment.

The games room also upstairs is only open at night when the bar is open, which we were told would be 7. 30ish!. The site with its little hidden away pitches is actually quite nice although a little unloved.

Toilets and showers and we tried both blocks we found clean and showers hot.

The only staff we ever saw in the day were the lovely ones on reception and the guy that cleans the shower/toilet blocks and what a sterling job he does.

But when are these sites going to realise that caravans and tents don't really mix, they were crammed in behind us on our last night, and very very noisy.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Loopylyndsay 1 review from this member

After many nights of trying to book into a campsite for the jubilee weekend I was finally able to book two pitches. I booked and paid in full then read reviews for the site. My first thought was 'oh my god, I've booked a campsite from hell'. How wrong could I be.

On arrival the staff were extremely pleasant and welcoming, they took my family and I took our pitch. The pitch I had booked wasn't really suitable for a campervan and awning so they relocated both parties to another pitch. The hook up point was further to reach so they provided us both with an extension.

The setting is lovely and really sets the scene. The kids and hubby spent a lot of time at the fishing lake but only managed to catch 9 between them in 8 hours!

The kids did venture into the outdoor swimming pool. This unfortunately was very cold but kids being kids just hot on with it and had fun splashing around.

The club house had entertainment on every night and the drinks were reasonable prices. A pint was 3. 30.

The arcade games in the games room are a little outdated but again the kids still enjoyed playing on them.

There is a small park more suited to the younger children.

The toilet and washroom facilities were reasonable too. Plenty of hot water and always a supply of loo roll. Oh and the showers are free. Shower heads could do with descaling.

There is a little shop on site which stocked your basic essentials. Bread, milk, bacon, sweets.

As for surrounding areas. I can't give any comments as we stayed on site the whole of our stay.

I would definitely re visit his site.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sam1801 1 review from this member

I have visited this site twice now and can't rate it highly enough. The vast facilities are clean and excellent standard. Lovely swimming pool which my daughter couldn't get out of! Lovely surroundings and excellent play areas. Staff are always friendly and helpful and I noticed this year new arrivals of a kids club and beauty therapy. I have looked at other sites in the area and this one still provides excellent value for money. The site was very easy to find and just a few minutes from Poole town centre. The shop is well stocked and the only criticism I would have is a little expensive but with a large ASDA only 5 mins drive away wasn't a major issue. Am already organising next year's visit!

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: TC72 1 review from this member

We arrived with friends and had both asked for large pitches. We were given two pitches that would only have been big enough for one. Pitch was uneven and flooded, (but weather has been terrible) however we were given an alternative which was fine, but bit of a trek in the middle of the night with little ones. The pitches were very close to each other.

Kids loved the play area and pool. We only used the club house once. Not very impressed. Female showers and toilets were ok, but I don't see that with all the money that they must've taken over the weekend why on busy periods they can't have a cleaner more often. Only one person serving in the take away and we had to wait ages for bacon rolls, but the person was very friendly and unflustered. And they were very tasty!

Shop was not very well stocked either. Oh and our electric kept tripping! This was rectified very quickly and they were very apologetic.

But at the end of the day, we enjoyed ourselves, it was a perfect base and we would use it again

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kaz80 1 review from this member

On arrival staff was help full, but once we had been told are pitch we were left to find it are self witch would have been fine but was poorly marked out. After finding are pitch we found that it was water logged and the people next door had told us the people before had gone home early due to it flooding! We went back to reception and asked for different pitch which we got. The rest of are stay was good. Toilets and showers clean. The children enjoyed going in the pool and the play area.

But in all we had a lovely couple of days and would go back again.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Shellie71 1 review from this member

This site is in a great location not far from Poole town centre & beaches. The pitches were generous in size but not easy to find but a member of staff eventually managed to find our pitch for us. The toilet & shower block next to reception could do with being updated, & can't understand why the hand drier is nowhere near the sinks! Sometimes the showers had dirty floors and rubbish lying around but I think that this is due to a lack of respect from fellow campers. Was disappointed with the pool, we looked for a site that had a heated pool & this pool was freezing (although there were some brave souls in there at times), in comparison when we went to the beach the sea seemed warmer. We would stay here again if there were no sites close by available with heated swimming pools, as the location is good.

Previous     110 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

All Sites in Dorset

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2735 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019