Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Beacon Hill Touring Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Site Reviews

CLOSED: Beacon Hill Touring Park
Blandford Road North
Poole
Dorset   (Browse area)


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: Site Closed 2018

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 110 Reviews
                6/10 from 110 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  110 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mike+julie 5 reviews from this member

Just arrived back from Beacon Hill Touring Park, booked an 11 day holiday which we cut short to 9 due to a number of issues with this site. Electric pitch area was of a very poor standard with no grass around our caravan at all. The site was far to full for the facilities available. Cramped conditions for tents and caravans leaving less than 2ft space between pitches.
The toilet block was unclean most of the times no toilet paper in the ladies cubicles each time I visited. Shower drain always blocked with hair etc not allowing water to drain away while using the shower. I was assured by the management the block was cleaned 3 times a day which I find hard to believe we only every saw it cleaned at 11am each day, both blocks were closed at the same time so between 11am and 12noon there were no toilet facilities in use on site. A common-sense approach would of been to clean 1 block at a time.

The swimming pool we never used due to the lack of a shower to wash in before entering. Seeing as we had a few rainy days the pool was mainly dirty through mud being brought into the pool area and no were to clean it off.

The fishing ponds were again in a poor state, one pond full of weed and in my husbands view unusable. The main pond had lots of children unsupervised which created a noisy atmosphere in which to fish. As an experienced angler my husband was appalled by the condition of the fish within the pond. Several fish he caught had no top lip through inexperienced handling. Seeing as this is a conservation camp site more supervision is needed by the site team. If you enjoy fishing while on holiday this is not the site for you.

Our comments to the staff fell on deaf ears. We would not recommend this site at all.

Poole area it self was full of lots of things to do, great places to eat. The beach at Sandbanks was very clean and worth a visit.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: DougJones 2 reviews from this member

Just returned from visit to Beacon Hill, one day early, not only because of the weather and flooded pitch but the disappointing aspects of the site.

Whilst some pitches on higher ground seemed OK our area suffered badly from water retention which pooled into very muddy areas.

Toilet blocks were unclean with no hot water in one for two days.

The 'well stocked shop' was understocked and expensive, short on milk & bread etc.

Take away was limited in range of foods on offer compared with other sites.

Electrics kept tripping out, at one point the site fitted a triple socket outlet to one of the electric outlets on the post.

Pitches were very cramped, returned from visit to Poole to find large double tent had been pitched only two feet from our caravan, with the guy ropes placed inbetween our aquaroll and waste container. Complaints about this were made to the management, which was not responded too. The main worrying aspect of this was that had we been using our water heater in the gas operated mode, the vent was two feet away from the tents sleeping accommodation.

With the sites superb location, this could be a fantastic holiday park

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Paulsmith250 6 reviews from this member

We have stayed at this site once though have visited friends who have stayed several times. The weather on our visit was ok though was prone to some rather heavy but short downpours.

The most important part of a site next to pitching is the toilet block. This is a large purpose built unit and had many sinks and showers. The block is well maintained though because the site is busy it didn't take long for it to be messy again. Hot water diminished due to the high demand for this time of year. I was an early bird and had the shower to myself. The water pressure was fierce though other campers later on said the pressure diminished with more people using them. There are two sinks for washing up cooking utensils. The block is well designed as there is a washing room although we didn't explore this.

The shop is part of the same complex and had the usual camping supplies and ice creams etc. We asked about exchanging our cooking gas and were told we would have to go to a caravan shop a few miles away.

There is a bar and take away though we didn't use these and cannot comment on them.

The site is massive and caters for caravans and motor homes as well as tents. There is electric hook up available and most of the pitches are flat and sheltered by the many trees around the site.

The kids are fairly well catered for with the outside swimming pool (not heated), tennis court (with dodgy net) and fort for the younger ones.

Poole is a ten minute drive away with all the facilities that the town has to offer. I do recommend a walk along the quay. During the summer many events occur on a weekly basis including bike nights, specialist cars and sometime fireworks.

The site is quite busy so expect the usual kids running loose and hanging around the shop area. The staff are friendly though occasionally a little abrupt.

Would we go again? Yes.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Raq1978 3 reviews from this member

I imagine this site being ideal during the quieter months. The woodland setting is great.

Staff are very welcoming.

As expected, with it being the school summer holidays we were packed in.

Our pitch was, unfortunately for us, located right by the children's slide. Noisy during the early hours of the morning with kids keen to get a pre-breakfast slide in, as well as the slightly tipsy youths having a few goes during the later hours of the night!

One annoyance was a dog, off his lead for the first day, continuously barking through the night. By the second night there must have been words, as he was on his lead for most of the day and not a peep from him during the night!

Facilities are adequate.

Small amount of queueing for dishwashing, but again, to be expected given the time of year.

Shower drains could do with a clear out - standing in a pool other people's shower water wasn't too pleasant :-S

The private changing rooms (plus sink) are a good idea.

I would be happy to return but would avoid the holiday seasons.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jules Phillips 12 reviews from this member

We stayed at Beacon Hill for a weekend at the beginning of the school holidays. We chose the site due to its advertised woodland setting and its proximity to Poole and the surrounding area.

The reception staff were very helpful and polite both on booking and arrival and we were quickly shown to our pitch.

We had been allocated a motorhome pitch which was quite small and unfortunately did not have the services you may expect on such a pitch. We were unable to fill our water tank with our hose as the water was too far away.

The site was indeed in a woodland but appeared to be a little uncared for with some quite scruffy pitches and quite a lot of litter. It was also very noisy at night with groups of teenagers wandering around and shouting until the early hours of the morning. There also appeared to be no restriction of car movement overnight which also caused disturbance as we had a road running either side of our unit.

The shop was well stocked but does not sell gas as advertised. We were directed to a caravan shop about five miles away by the site staff which had a very well stocked shop with both camping and caravan spares.

There were ample toilets and showers that were a little dated but adequate with plenty of hot water. We were unable to find mops to mop out the showers after use which would have kept them in better order during the day.

The take away and bar appeared popular although we did not use them.

With a bit of care and attention Beacon Hill could be a fabulous site due to its setting. As it stands we would not return.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Only1Dionne 4 reviews from this member

We found it quite a 'young' lively campsite, with groups of kids and young adults wondering round. My 10 year old son LOVED the giant slide and the fact that it was on a hill in a wooded area, we were quite happy to let him play there unsupervised.

We brought our bikes to cycle into Poole, but right outside the campsite is a very busy road, and no pavements so we abandoned that idea and drove instead. Cycling from Poole into Sandbanks was lovely and the beach polo was on that day.

The shop was very basic, didn't sell milk or newspapers. The first night there we had sausages and chips from the take-away but they charged 10p for a sachet of own-brand type ketchup!

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: I.m.biddie 2 reviews from this member

This site was very well layed out in an easily accessable area. The children enjoyed the play park - especially the giant slide! however they were a little too young to go in the swimming pool as it was freezing.

The shop was well stocked, and the club house had food which was great howver it was rather busy and we had to wait a while for our food to arrive.

We enjoyed the new forest and other outings to various towns such as poole, bournemouth, southampton, however we shall not be returning as the site was much to noisy for us, a elderly couple with their massive family surprisingly do need peace and quiet, which is a shame as it is in such a beautiful setting!

The shower and toilet block was a little shabby and needed updating however it was kept very clean considering the amout of mus the kids traipsed through it!

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: PPs on Tour 5 reviews from this member

This campsite is in a lovely location, there are woodland walks and it is easy and quick to travel into the town centre at poole or the beaches at Swanage, Bournemouth, Studland etc.

We are a group of friends that have been visitors to this campsite for a number of years.

After a couple of disapointing visits to Beacon Hill at the end of last year and earlier this year, we decided to give it one last try on the second May bank holiday - to my surprise I am happy to report that comments are being listened to and acted upon and when we returned the site had been much improved.

We found the shop was well stocked

The swimming pool was clean- still freezing- but clean!

The bathrooms are a bit dated but were kept clean despite the mud

The take- away was open twice a day,

The games room and bar were both open

There were staff to welcome you and show you to your pitch

And security guards throughout the night to make you feel safe.I don't know about anyone else, but thats all I ask for.

Beacon Hill is the way camping should be - un uniformed and relaxed,they are happy, unlike some sites to cater for groups and try to allow you to pitch together.The site is safe for children of all ages and has a lovely atmosphere - even in the rain!

If you don't like the big commercial campsites with loads of statics and the gangs of older kids that come with them, this is a good site for you.

Its not the cheapest site around but feel its value for money

Don't be put off by some negative comments - give it a go.

We are going back this weekend and for many years to come - I hope

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bob + Fiona 4 reviews from this member

We found this site to be very pleasant. They have apparently worked hard to get the site ready for the new season.

We were there with 4 other families and were able to pitch together. There were other family groups in the same field which was great for my two young kids.

We were in New Field which was close to the play area. The kids spent many an hour in there and thoroughly enjoyed it.

The shop was well stocked with all the basics and the staff were very helpful.

I would suggest you take some ant powder with you as there are quite a few around. Not really surprising considering the location :)

The shower block is adequate and they do try to keep it clean. When we went it was quite wet so people were treading mud everywhere.

Parts of the site did get quite soggy with all the rain we had, but it wasn't a problem for us.

It was a bank holiday weekend and the site was really busy, however it was not at all noisy.

We didn't use the takeaway or bar so can't comment on them.

The swimming pool was quite cold but the kids didn't mind. Apparently they have plans to improve this.

It was raining hard the day we were due to leave and the staff were quite happy with us taking a little longer to pack up. Thankfully.

There is an Asda superstore about 3 miles from the site, in Poole. But be aware that the car park is pay & display. 1 for 2 hours, I believe, which is refunded if you spend 5, when you get to the checkout. We didn't notice the first time and could have ended up with a 60 fine!

If you like fresh fish, try Frank Greenslade Ltd Fish Market, New Quay Road, Poole, BH15 4AF. Shuts at lunchtime. They have fish caught the previous day in the harbour. Great cooked on the BBQ!

All in all a very enjoyable weekend despite the awful weather!

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Tina smith 1 review from this member

Found the site clean, staff very helpful. The toilet blocks and showers were keep clean and hot water was there all the time, got busy between 6 and 8 when everyone wants a shower. The shop did have some bits but as the season was closing not much in the shop. Did not use the club house it looked too busy, has a great takeaway with every thing you could want, fish and chips to roast dinners. going back this bank hoilday. forgot to say great for kids.

Previous     110 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

All Sites in Dorset

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2063 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019