Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Edinburgh Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Lothian > Edinburgh > Edinburgh Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Edinburgh Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
35 37 Marine Drive
Edinburgh
Lothian   (Browse area)
EH4 5EN
Tel: 01342 327 490
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 166
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 96 Reviews
                9/10 from 96 Reviews

Photos (6)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  96 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: February 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: John4703 12 reviews from this member

We had a few days here in February and really enjoyed it. The site was immaculate, the shower block spotless and the whole site well looked after. The lady in reception was probably the friendliest and most helpful person we have every met in such a job.

There is an excellent bus service to the city from near the site, it is about ten minutesí walk along a straight footpath to the bus stop. It was very wet while we were there but the footpath was in good condition with a good surface. The buses are every few minutes during the day and run late at night too.

There were a few planes overhead but the noise did not disturb us. The weather was cold and windy so we did not walk to the beach but as we drove home we saw it and will stay on the site again so we can enjoy the beach as well as visits to Edinburgh.

Date of Visit: January 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Itsyum 110 reviews from this member

This is a typically well maintained Caravan Club site with all the usual well kept facilities, there are a number of site wardens the majority were very knowledgeable and friendly but the head wardens seemed to be somewhat 'regimental' (which was a shame) The site is set along side the Firth of Forth and has access to some lovely walks along the promenade and beach, it is also a must for those that like planes as its set directly under the final approach to Edinburgh Airport (aircraft at about 1000 feet so not annoying) There is a local minibus service which provides an excellent half hourly service from the site into the city centre for £6 return (the driver gave us a guided tour with tons of information - bookable on 0131 552 3515) All in all its a great place to stay whilst visiting the fantastic city of Edinburgh.

Date of Visit: December 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Macduff 6 reviews from this member

When we booked our stay we were unaware that we would have to walk either:

1) on a dark unlit public road

OR

2) on a very dark unlit 'shortcut'

from the nearest Bus Stop back to the site at night.

We were not prepared to pay extortionate Taxi fares.

We always use local transport wherever we stay.

The site is of the usual high Caravan Club standards with regards to facilities.

Obviously we wanted to take full advantage of our stay in Edinburgh both during the day and at night.

We will not stay here again purely because it was not a pleasant experience walking from the nearest Bus Stop back to the site on the dark unlit road or path.

I would have preferred to have been told about this before I booked.

Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Greg M 35 reviews from this member

As others have said before, a gem of a site.

From the friendly wardens when you arrive you know it's going to be good.

Two shower blocks, the one we used was spotless and with all the fallen damp leaves around it was a great credit to the wardens that it never looked dirty.

The layout of the site also gives a relaxing feel with plenty of space between units.

Found no problem with my tv aerial, also mobile phone. As others have stated, there are aerial points available.

Buses were a short walk away, but we decided to use the Minibus that leaves the site at half hourly intervals to take us into the city centre. I believe it was £6 return, for the convenience it was well worth the money.

We also walked down the hill to the promenade which was well worth the walk.

Aircraft noise was evident, as was some road noise, it didn't bother us at all but some might find it annoying.

The three motorhome service points were well planned as was waste water, recycle and Chemical waste disposal.

We will definitely return, and next time it will be longer than three nights.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: GrumpyBoaby 58 reviews from this member

Ideally located along side the Firth of Forth and within easy reach of the Capital and motorways, the Zoo is not far away on the west side of the city. As this was a two night stop over we didn't venture too far from the site. However we did come over the FRB from the north and can confirm the new Queensferry bridge is well on its way and nearly joined together.

The site has all weather pitches with EHU points on COAX sockets, shower rooms and toilets are spotless, wardens and staff very helpful. Several MHSPs and water points.

The site is located on the west of the city, and within a few miles of the motorways allowing travellers easy access to all parts of the country.

Avoid leaving the site during the rush hour and school run times as the roads in and around the city are very busy,

Watch our for the Edinburgh transports trams and keep out of the bus lanes, Edinburgh airport is near bye, so expect a certain amount of engine noise from aircraft.

Happy Holidays

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Imcs308712 4 reviews from this member

We had an overnight stay at Edinburgh Caravan Club site, 0n the 28th July. It is a lovely friendly site, very well kept everything was spotless. Though there was lots of families on the site that did not spoil the quiet stop we were looking for. Will look forward to visiting in the future & use the convenient local bus service to visit Edinburgh.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: GCMS2012 7 reviews from this member

Just spent a short weekend break here so we could go to the Royal Highland Show.

It's only 20 minutes from the site in the car, that's including all the other traffic heading to the show.

So after reading this, you may want to do the same if you're thinking of visiting the RHS.

Arrived on site and seamlessly booked in.

The site is clean and immaculate. I saw plenty water and waste points, so didn't need to walk far to fill / empty my waste tanks etc.

It's sort of slightly off to one side of the flight path to Edinburgh Airport, but surprisingly there's very little noise from this.

We're not bothered by this as at home, we live under Newcastle Airports flight path. I thought I'd mention this anyway for people who maybe bothered by a bit of aircraft noise.

The site is very sheltered with a small woodland (that doubles up as the dog walk) around part of the boundary, and shrub hedging the rest of the way around.

So when the sun comes out, you know about it, as it did for us!

If you want more dog walking area, just come out of the site gates, cross the road and either go down some steep steps opposite the site to the promenade and beach, or walk left along the path to a not so steep area to the promenade and beach.

It has more trees and shrub hedging on the site which I think breaks up the formality of this CC site.

The pitches themselves are near enough level, gravel based, very spacious and well laid out.

Because of the trees and shrubs though, you may find the TV signal a bit hit or miss depending on pitch location if you're using your own ariel.

There are coaxial TV sockets though on the EHU points if you want to use these instead.

The shower block is spotless, with piped music too. The site was fully booked the weekend we were there, but it didn't feel like it, as I never waited for a shower cubicle etc, a good sign a site can manage large numbers I think.

My only gripe in the shower block though, was the shower heads.

They are a fixed type head to the wall, and even with me being 5'10', I found them set a little too low as I had to duck slightly to wash my hair.

We had a torrential rain storm on the Friday night, it woke us up as it was so deafening inside the caravan.

But on the Saturday morning, all you had was a bit of wet grass and tarmac - I found no flooding. So I guess the site must be really well drained.

This is a fantastic site, ideally located for visiting Edinburgh city (park at Ocean Terminal and catch a bus - much easier than trying to drive in), the surrounding area and other attractions.

Not 5 or 10 minutes away, you have an Asda, Morrisons and a Lidl, so grocery shopping is no problem.

I may have mentioned the shower head, but I'm not marking the site down just for that, so we hope to come again soon, maybe even to do the Christmas Markets as we queried about this before we left.

Date of Visit: December 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 505 reviews from this member

This is a really good site for visiting Edinburgh. The bus stop is a short walk away and there is a taxi shuttle that operates from the site. We visited just before Christmas, a great time to visit the city.

Facilities are excellent and there are good walks on the coast from the site.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: VangoMan02 21 reviews from this member

Spent 3 nights at this C. C. Site, its only 20 minutes from home.

Quite a large site but layout makes it feel smaller.

Usual C. C. Hard standing pitches, room for caravan, car with room for awning if required and chosen.

Lots of service points dotted throught the site. Two toilet blocks and although site was busy we never needed to queue for a shower.

Good bin and recycle setup.

Good links to Edinburgh City centre, there is also a minibus service from the site at a cost of £6 return at time of our visit, which is more expensive than usual bus service but it is door to door!

Several walks for the site but would advice caution, especially with young children when crossing the road outside the site at various times due to boy racers in cars/motor bikes doing about 50 - 60 mph in a 30 mph area. You will usually here them before you see them ( load exhaust)! I was told they all meet up at the promenade down the hill from the site.

There is also airplane noise as site is near the airport but that was less of on issue than the boy racers mentioned above.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Paul@julie 58 reviews from this member

Usual high standards of a cc site. Toilet block immaculate. Lovely hot showers. I found this site to be lovely. We cycled along the wide promenade down by the waters edge. 5 mins away and had coffee and cake at the end of it. Getting into the city is a bit of a pain. 15 min walk to bus stop then 40 mins on the bus. The 16 takes longer. £4 each day ticket. Or catch the mini bus from site £8 return, limited times. Or taxi £13. 50. The wardens on this site are wonderful. We arrived on bhol weekend to find our booking had not gone through. Site full. Me ill. Sister to meet off train in an hour and they managed to find us a pitch.

Previous     96 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lothian

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over £205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2535 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019