Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Edinburgh Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Lothian > Edinburgh > Edinburgh Caravan And Motorhome Club Site > Reviews

Edinburgh Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
35 37 Marine Drive
Edinburgh
Lothian   (Browse area)
EH4 5EN
Tel: 01342 327 490
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 166
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 109 Reviews
                9/10 from 109 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  109 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: BivvyBoy 37 reviews from this member

 TLDR: good site for visiting the area, peaceful enough for us, good access to public transport and to the city

We stayed four nights in late August. Our satnav brought us in a very strange way to avoid some congestion, but this site is actually very accessible via the M8 and A90.

Arrival is the usual slick procedure and the staff were extremely helpful and talkative. We had a quick drive round then chose a pitch not too far from the entrance. No problem with the pitch, one of the most level ones I have set up on.

Lots of woodland and hedges around the site gave us lots of birdsong and our birdfeeder did brisk business. The facilities are fine - all spotless and well maintained, and more than enough water points etc for the number of people on site for this is indeed a large site.

You don't feel it's big until you cound the pitches on the map, it's the clever use of woodland to divide the site up that makes you think you're on a CL site!

We came with the intention of visiting Edinburgh, and seeing Britannia. The bus stop is half a mile away. Services are frequent, and the bus company's app makes chosing your bus nice and easy.

The standard £2 fare makes this a really attractive option, plus if you go on the top deck, you get to see a lot of the city as you travel. The footpath from the site is nice and wide, but if you're coming back at night, you'll need a bit of light as it's unilluminated.

We took the tram from Leith into the city centre, and enjoyed a great day out. The returning bus stops for a ten minute break at the terminus at Silverknowe so we walked the extra 0. 4 of a mile back to the site instead of waiting for it to resume service.

The next day we drove to see the Falkirk Wheel and the Kelpies; there's a massive Tesco in Falkirk to top up your supplies and refuel your vehicle.

More local to the site, the Toby Carvery at Lauriston Farm is easily walkable, and does reasonably priced food, and also does an all you can eat breakfast. It's five minutes to drive. If you do walk out, get down on the promenade by the golf club. Great views across the Firth of Forth, and up to the famous bridges.

Yes, there are public football pitches on the southern edge of the site and on Saturday and Sunday mornings, there was a bit of shouting while the game was on. Maybe avoid that side of the site if you can't cope with this.

The approach path to Edinburgh airport runs about a mile to the north of the site, but it's just background noise, and I only heard one flight during the hours of darkness. It's not a problem for us.

Unsurprisingly, being on the edge of the city means you are next to the suburbs. There's currently house building work on the road that leads to the site; eventually the work will be completed and the builders will be gone.

The nearby flats and estate are very normal looking places, and some have been jazzed up quite prettily with coloured cladding. 


Date of Visit: April 2023 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dot P 684 reviews from this member

 We booked here for a weeding weekend in the city.

Campsite usual CAMC standard - two sets of loo/showers blocks. One closed for cleaning at 1030 the other at 1330 - someone thinking outside the box there, so mass queues before 10am to get a shower.

We caught the 21 bus down to Leith, about 15 minutes, loads of restaurants and bars on the waterfront. From there about a 25 minute walk into city centre.

From the campsite into city we took a taxi which was £13 - there is also the mini bus for £4 a head and a bus service which costs £2 and is between 5-10 minutes walk from campsite.

The campsite is on the edge of Muirhouse, there are a few local food shops, a Morriosn 5 mins drive / 20 walk away. Just minutes from the site is the promenade and cycle path which you can follow as far as the Forth Road Bridge or Leith and beyond.

10 minutes walk from walk there is a good little cafe on the promenade and also Cramond Island with its causeway which can be crossed at low tides.

Overall I cant fault the site, well maintained, helpful wardens and well placed for loads of things to do. Price is steep at £39 per night but for its location it suited us for this visit. 


Date of Visit: June 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: M & G On Tour 25 reviews from this member

 Nice site and our first visit to Edinburgh. Very close to the airport so there is a lot of planes through the day, love planes so it wasn't an issue. But for light sleepers you may find earplugs help.

I admit I was a little concerned with past reviews concerning the local homeless housing with reports of people wandering into the campsite.

However we had no experience of this and passed a few homeless people out walking in the local area and they all said hello and we're very polite.

Staff at the site are very friendly and welcoming. Jo checked us in, very nice lady. The facilities are very nice. Nicely laid out site. Liked our full service pitch.

There is a mini bus in operation from the site into the city and return. Starts 9. 30am. Last one back 7pm.

Graham, the driver is a lovely man, has a lot of very interesting stories to tell. Quite a character.

Charge is £4 each way per person. But it's first come first served and you must book your return time when you leave the site as the seats can get booked quickly.

We also took the regular bus into Leith docks one day. The walk to the bus stop is around 15 mins.

We had booked a tour of the Royal Yacht Brittania and also an afternoon tea on the ship, Fingal, near the Britannia. Both well recommended.

There is a lot of roadworks around the area whilst new tramlines are being installed so make enough time to arrive as temporary footpaths take you a little out of the way.

Edinburgh castle is worth visiting. But book in advance. Many people were turned away on the day.

The Royal Mile through the city is a lovely walk. Not as steep as I'd expected. We walked top to bottom and back stopping off at lots of lovely shops and down to Holyrood House. Unfortunately we couldn't book to go in as Queen Elizabeth had arrived that day so it was closed to the public.

Loved Edinburgh for the little narrow side streets. Very historic.

We also visited Greyfriars Cemetery and saw the famous graves of Greyfriars Bobby and his master. Very moving story behind this. There is also a small monument dedicated to the little dog in the town.

All in all, the campsite is very convenient for the city and would definitely stay here again.

Ate in the Beehive Pub. Lovely food. But there is many places to choose from. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Vangelina 41 reviews from this member

 Wardens were welcoming, friendly and work hard to keep the site in good order.

Pitches are spacious and site lay out is very pleasant with lots of grass between the hard standing pitches. Facilities were immaculate.

The dog walk is poor. It is not totally fenced and dog owners are asked to keep their dogs on a lead.

We enjoyed lovely walks along the promenade to Crammond. Avoid the Boardwalk Beach Club cafe as it is purely a take out service and the prices are extortionate.

There are 2 hotels close by in which homeless people and refugees live. Dont be put off by this as it didnít seem to be a problem and these unfortunate people need somewhere to live.

All in all a great spot to springboard into local tourist attractions. We loved the Royal Yacht Britannia, the Falkirk Wheel and the Kelpies. 


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Norrisr9 9 reviews from this member

 A lovely campsite with spacious pitches. I visited for the first time and booked because of the location to Edinburgh City centre. Bus stop is straight outside - and to return you pick up the number 11 from outside the monument near the station.

Really friendly welcome and very informative. Shop is good and a great selection of stuff for sale including milk etc.

Toilets and showers very good and cleaned regularly.

Overall definitely stay again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: The Minnie Winnies 1 review from this member

 We visited the Edinburgh Caravan and Motorhome Park and it was absolutely pristine. Top notch! Located not far from the water where there is a beautiful promenade within walking distance.

Each morning we were able to take a lovely walk along the water and then return to our motorhome for breakfast before heading out for the day.

The overall park was beautiful, nice and quiet, facilities were clean, COVID safe, and staff was absolutely fabulous!

We had a minor issue where a bolt snapped on our steps. Nicola was quick to advise that Simon could assist us as he had multiple pieces of equipment. Sure enough, Simon was able to assist us by drilling out the broken screw and providing a very strong replacement. We honestly thought we were going to spend the day trying to locate a shop to assist us, but we were wrong. We are so grateful to Simon and Nicola!

We would 100% recommend this park and will visit it again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Janey47 26 reviews from this member

 The site is immaculately kept by the very friendly wardens.

The staff were very informative about transport to the city centre.

Toilets and showers were open and very Covid safe. You had a different coloured band if you just wished to use the toilets.

This saved a lot of waiting time. I found it a very sensible system.

We only stayed one night but would definitely return to use as a base for visiting Edinburgh. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: January 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: John4703 21 reviews from this member

 This was our third visit to this site. We were warmly welcomed by a very friendly and helpful lady who told us all we needed to know about the site and the area. During our stay we spoke to other members of the staff and all of them were very friendly and helpful.

The site is very well looked after, all the pitches were clean and tidy with grass and hedges obviously well cared for.

The toilet block was immaculate, it is obvious that the staff look after it well and keep it spotlessly clean.

The site is a great place if you want to explore Edinburgh, it is a short walk to a bus stop with frequent buses into the city.

We would recommend this site as a great place for a holiday. 


Date of Visit: December 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Smart Family 90 reviews from this member

 We've stayed at this site several times. The staff are always friendly and helpful. We picked a standard awning pitch as there is plenty choice. A great site at this time of year for the Christmas markets.

Just a few points to add to other reviews. If you are getting the bus into the city you can use the minibus from the site, currently £4 single or £6 return or the best city bus to use is the 29, come exit of the site, turn left 10 minutes walk along to the small roundabout where the bus stop is, buses every 20 mins.

All journeys currently £1. 70 single. Exact cash or contactless debit card. If you have a dog there is a dog walk on site, open 9am to 5pm or you can cross the road from the site gate go down a steep and sometimes slippy steps to the waterfront where you can walk miles in each direction.

If you turn left you can walk along to Crammond village, where the Crammond Gallery cafe is dog friendly or Crammond Fall Cafe also dog friendly.

We always look forward to our annual Christmas trip here and will return. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: David Klyne 257 reviews from this member

 To find site:- With a caravan, or large motorhome it is best to approach the site from the Western end of the City bypass from the Gogar roundabout onto the A8. Then turn left onto A902, signed for Forth Road Bridge. In about a mile and a half turn right at traffic lights onto A90.

After another mile and a quarter keep left onto A902 to the Crewe Toll roundabout. Take first left and immediately ahead is tubular steel bridge, at traffic lights turn right into West Granton Access Road. Turn left into West Granton Road and continue to roundabout and take third exit into Marine Drive and the site is on left in half a mile.

The site can be approached from the A1, via Portobello and Leith and it is possible a sat nav will try and take you this way. However with anything other than a smaller motorhome I would suggest avoiding this route as it is busy, narrow caused by parked cars and slow.

This campsite is located between the urban areas to the north of Edinburgh and the Firth of Forth. It is a very busy site with arrivals throughout the day. The road outside the site, Marine Drive, seems to be reasonably quiet. The one thing that many people will find annoying is the almost constant stream of aircraft going into Edinburgh Airport, not just during the day.

The site is open all year and accepts non-members and tent campers. Site reception has long hours compared too many other club sites and allows arrivals from 9. 00am. Outside of these hours there is a small late night arrival area complete with electric points. Most of the 148 pitches are on hardstanding with 12 of them being fully serviced at an extra charge.

They are all of a good size and pitching areas have stands of trees and shrubs between the rows to give the site a greener feel. In the separate tent section there is a cooking/eating shelter. There are two toilet blocks which now seem to be a bit dated, they could come under pressure at certain times of day when the site is full.

They both have dish wash areas but they are not fully enclosed against the weather. There is a good supply water/waste water service points around the site and there are three motorhome service points, unfortunately all require heavy drain covers to be lifted to dispose of waste water.

Electric points are convenient to all pitches and they use CEE17 connectors rated at 16 amps. The bollards also have a TV connector, which are free to use but you need to supply your own co-ax cable. For children there is a small playground. There is site wide WiFi available on this site at normal Club rates.

I also found that the 4G signal on site was good which could be used as an alternative for data. The site offers bike lockers as there have been a few issues with bike theft. Receptions sell a variety of essentials and next door is an Information Room. Take away food vendors visit the site.

The City of Edinburgh and all of the delights it offers is only a short distance away from the campsite. Public transport is a 10/15 minute walk from the site. The number 27 bus is probably the best for the City Centre, it also passes the Botanic Gardens.

Edinburgh buses operate an exact fare payment policy, no change given. Fortunately they are currently introducing contactless payment onto all buses. Personally I would not want to walk back to the site from the bus stop in the dark along an unlit road! alternatively there is mini bus service direct from the site which whilst a little more expensive is more convenient with a drop off point at the top end of Princes Street, the site will provide information on arrival.

However if you wish to spend an evening in the City and arrive back later in the night a taxi might be the best option. In Leith the ex-Royal Yacht Britannia is moored next to a new shopping area called Ocean Terminal. The Britannia is well worth a visit.

The nearest supermarket and fuel is a new Morrisons about two miles from the site. 


Previous     109 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Edinburgh Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Edinburgh Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Edinburgh Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Edinburgh      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lothian

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


48334 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement