Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Edinburgh Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Lothian > Edinburgh > Edinburgh Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Edinburgh Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
35 37 Marine Drive
Edinburgh
Lothian   (Browse area)
EH4 5EN
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 166
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 105 Reviews
                9/10 from 105 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  105 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Norrisr9 8 reviews from this member

 A lovely campsite with spacious pitches. I visited for the first time and booked because of the location to Edinburgh City centre. Bus stop is straight outside - and to return you pick up the number 11 from outside the monument near the station.

Really friendly welcome and very informative. Shop is good and a great selection of stuff for sale including milk etc.

Toilets and showers very good and cleaned regularly.

Overall definitely stay again. 


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: The Minnie Winnies 1 review from this member

 We visited the Edinburgh Caravan and Motorhome Park and it was absolutely pristine. Top notch! Located not far from the water where there is a beautiful promenade within walking distance.

Each morning we were able to take a lovely walk along the water and then return to our motorhome for breakfast before heading out for the day.

The overall park was beautiful, nice and quiet, facilities were clean, COVID safe, and staff was absolutely fabulous!

We had a minor issue where a bolt snapped on our steps. Nicola was quick to advise that Simon could assist us as he had multiple pieces of equipment. Sure enough, Simon was able to assist us by drilling out the broken screw and providing a very strong replacement. We honestly thought we were going to spend the day trying to locate a shop to assist us, but we were wrong. We are so grateful to Simon and Nicola!

We would 100% recommend this park and will visit it again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Janey47 26 reviews from this member

 The site is immaculately kept by the very friendly wardens.

The staff were very informative about transport to the city centre.

Toilets and showers were open and very Covid safe. You had a different coloured band if you just wished to use the toilets.

This saved a lot of waiting time. I found it a very sensible system.

We only stayed one night but would definitely return to use as a base for visiting Edinburgh. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: January 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: John4703 14 reviews from this member

 This was our third visit to this site. We were warmly welcomed by a very friendly and helpful lady who told us all we needed to know about the site and the area. During our stay we spoke to other members of the staff and all of them were very friendly and helpful.

The site is very well looked after, all the pitches were clean and tidy with grass and hedges obviously well cared for.

The toilet block was immaculate, it is obvious that the staff look after it well and keep it spotlessly clean.

The site is a great place if you want to explore Edinburgh, it is a short walk to a bus stop with frequent buses into the city.

We would recommend this site as a great place for a holiday. 


Date of Visit: December 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Smart Family 61 reviews from this member

 We've stayed at this site several times. The staff are always friendly and helpful. We picked a standard awning pitch as there is plenty choice. A great site at this time of year for the Christmas markets.

Just a few points to add to other reviews. If you are getting the bus into the city you can use the minibus from the site, currently £4 single or £6 return or the best city bus to use is the 29, come exit of the site, turn left 10 minutes walk along to the small roundabout where the bus stop is, buses every 20 mins.

All journeys currently £1. 70 single. Exact cash or contactless debit card. If you have a dog there is a dog walk on site, open 9am to 5pm or you can cross the road from the site gate go down a steep and sometimes slippy steps to the waterfront where you can walk miles in each direction.

If you turn left you can walk along to Crammond village, where the Crammond Gallery cafe is dog friendly or Crammond Fall Cafe also dog friendly.

We always look forward to our annual Christmas trip here and will return. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: David Klyne 233 reviews from this member

 To find site:- With a caravan, or large motorhome it is best to approach the site from the Western end of the City bypass from the Gogar roundabout onto the A8. Then turn left onto A902, signed for Forth Road Bridge. In about a mile and a half turn right at traffic lights onto A90.

After another mile and a quarter keep left onto A902 to the Crewe Toll roundabout. Take first left and immediately ahead is tubular steel bridge, at traffic lights turn right into West Granton Access Road. Turn left into West Granton Road and continue to roundabout and take third exit into Marine Drive and the site is on left in half a mile.

The site can be approached from the A1, via Portobello and Leith and it is possible a sat nav will try and take you this way. However with anything other than a smaller motorhome I would suggest avoiding this route as it is busy, narrow caused by parked cars and slow.

This campsite is located between the urban areas to the north of Edinburgh and the Firth of Forth. It is a very busy site with arrivals throughout the day. The road outside the site, Marine Drive, seems to be reasonably quiet. The one thing that many people will find annoying is the almost constant stream of aircraft going into Edinburgh Airport, not just during the day.

The site is open all year and accepts non-members and tent campers. Site reception has long hours compared too many other club sites and allows arrivals from 9. 00am. Outside of these hours there is a small late night arrival area complete with electric points. Most of the 148 pitches are on hardstanding with 12 of them being fully serviced at an extra charge.

They are all of a good size and pitching areas have stands of trees and shrubs between the rows to give the site a greener feel. In the separate tent section there is a cooking/eating shelter. There are two toilet blocks which now seem to be a bit dated, they could come under pressure at certain times of day when the site is full.

They both have dish wash areas but they are not fully enclosed against the weather. There is a good supply water/waste water service points around the site and there are three motorhome service points, unfortunately all require heavy drain covers to be lifted to dispose of waste water.

Electric points are convenient to all pitches and they use CEE17 connectors rated at 16 amps. The bollards also have a TV connector, which are free to use but you need to supply your own co-ax cable. For children there is a small playground. There is site wide WiFi available on this site at normal Club rates.

I also found that the 4G signal on site was good which could be used as an alternative for data. The site offers bike lockers as there have been a few issues with bike theft. Receptions sell a variety of essentials and next door is an Information Room. Take away food vendors visit the site.

The City of Edinburgh and all of the delights it offers is only a short distance away from the campsite. Public transport is a 10/15 minute walk from the site. The number 27 bus is probably the best for the City Centre, it also passes the Botanic Gardens.

Edinburgh buses operate an exact fare payment policy, no change given. Fortunately they are currently introducing contactless payment onto all buses. Personally I would not want to walk back to the site from the bus stop in the dark along an unlit road! alternatively there is mini bus service direct from the site which whilst a little more expensive is more convenient with a drop off point at the top end of Princes Street, the site will provide information on arrival.

However if you wish to spend an evening in the City and arrive back later in the night a taxi might be the best option. In Leith the ex-Royal Yacht Britannia is moored next to a new shopping area called Ocean Terminal. The Britannia is well worth a visit.

The nearest supermarket and fuel is a new Morrisons about two miles from the site. 


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Bobc51 22 reviews from this member

 Just used as a stop off on way home, breaks the journey from Scotland to South Yorks.

Easy to find and access, pleasant informative staff, clean and tidy site, toilet and showers up to normal standards.

I like the walk along the promenade great for dogs with bits of beach or grass available for a run.

Rosslyn Chapel well worth a visit approx 15 miles. 


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Pendywooley 24 reviews from this member

 Booked month before trip, only serviced pitch available.

Good spacious pitch and usual quality amenities. But found the water connection is vintage and doesn’t match modern hoses, so an extra charge of £3 for an adapter- that’s not fully serviced - that’s an additional cost on a already pricey pitch. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lancaster20 5 reviews from this member

 Great facilities.

Only negative was having bike stolen from back of our van at 02. 20 while we slept. Site do offer secure lockers for bikes but we thought securely locked on our van!

Public transport 10min walk away and about 25min bus ride into the centre. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: PilgrimPhil 83 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 4 nights in August 2018.

Not much can be added to all the previous reviews for this site.

As expected, the site was very busy but it never really felt that way – apart from the vans in the overnight parking area awaiting the next day to be able to book in!

Others have commented on the “vibe” of the site & we concur with that.

Our main reason to visit was to attend the Military Tattoo and the bus service was ideal for getting in & out. There are two stops close by, both about 15 minutes walk away. One takes you directly to the centre – the other one is via. The north part of the city coming in from Leith. It is one price per trip at £1. 70 although an all day rover ticket is available at £4. No change is given on the bus, so ensure you have hoarded your coinage before hand!

The promenade walk is close by and is ideal for dog walking or cycling.

Whilst we might complain about the cost per night [£34], the site was convenient for us for a specific event, so we had to “bite the bullet”, as they say! 


Previous     105 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Edinburgh Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Edinburgh Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Edinburgh Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Edinburgh      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lothian

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3448 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement