Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Edinburgh Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Lothian > Site Reviews

Edinburgh Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
35 37 Marine Drive
Edinburgh
Lothian   (Browse area)
EH4 5EN
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 166
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 96 Reviews
                9/10 from 96 Reviews

Photos (6)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  96 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: PilgrimPhil 77 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 4 nights in August 2018.

Not much can be added to all the previous reviews for this site.

As expected, the site was very busy but it never really felt that way – apart from the vans in the overnight parking area awaiting the next day to be able to book in!

Others have commented on the “vibe” of the site & we concur with that.

Our main reason to visit was to attend the Military Tattoo and the bus service was ideal for getting in & out. There are two stops close by, both about 15 minutes walk away. One takes you directly to the centre – the other one is via. The north part of the city coming in from Leith. It is one price per trip at £1. 70 although an all day rover ticket is available at £4. No change is given on the bus, so ensure you have hoarded your coinage before hand!

The promenade walk is close by and is ideal for dog walking or cycling.

Whilst we might complain about the cost per night [£34], the site was convenient for us for a specific event, so we had to “bite the bullet”, as they say!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Lovetheoutdoors 7 reviews from this member

Came to Edinburgh for tattoo & festival. The site is beautiful and exceptionally clean. All the Wardens work so hard to keep the site perfect - they never stop. I have to say the level of customer service is above and beyond (Warden lady took the time out to phone a dentist for me to go too and talked me through how to get there). Well done, I'll be back.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Skodie 15 reviews from this member

Very expensive tent camping but a Convinth location for Edinburgh 10 min walk to a frequent bus service.

Tents are put in a corner out of the way of caravanners and vehicles are not allowed next to tents unlike the caravans. Grass was also unkept compared to the rest of the site.

Wardens was friendly but the layout of the site suggests that tents are tolerated rather than welcomed.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Euphony 2 reviews from this member

This is a great site with some top notch facilities. There are 2 excellent toilet blocks, one on each side of the site, a sensible bit of planning sees one is always open while the other is being meticulously cleaned. The gray/black waste disposal points are first class and located at the toilet blocks. The pitches are big and you don’t feel cramped in any way. There’s a little shop for essentials, a great information room and bike lockers too. It’s really handy for the city with buses every 15 minutes or so and a minibus takes you from the reception area into the city centre regularly for only £6 return, it is only an 8 seat minibus and is therefore often full but the service buses do a similar job for £2 less, you just need to take a short walk to the bus stop.

The staff couldn’t be more helpful too. The only downside is that the site is situated directly under the flight path for Edinburgh airport and they start at around 05:15hrs. They do however stop before midnight so you’ll get at least 5-6 hours sleep.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Ernie Cole 1 review from this member

Just come back from this site it's OK and facilities are good and clean. On our arrival we were told about problems with bike being stolen at night and was advised to put them in the lock up provided, I declined as our bikes are locked to the bike rack with lock clamps. There was an attempted to steal our bikes around 1am which woke us up and the thieves fled. This apparent has been happening for sometime so for this I do feel the site should review the security.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Paulmold 44 reviews from this member

Super site. Very large but doesn't feel it due to separate sections. Two toilet blocks, one at each side and one always open when other closed for cleaning. Very close to promenade which gives lovely walk to village of Cramond with its delightful marina and tea shops. It's about a 40 minute walk from the site. Buses to city centre are about a ten minute walk away and a day rover ticket is £4. Or you can get minibus from the site for £6 return. Apart from city centre, make sure you visit the Royal Yacht Britannia. Tour takes about 2 hours and you get audio tour guide.

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Greg M 35 reviews from this member

I left a review for this site a year ago and still find little to fault it.

An addition to their facilities since then, they now have lockers for secure storage of bicycles whilst on site.

Pitches are large, in fact we were on the same pitch as last year.

Showers and toilets all kept to a high standard.

TV reception was excellent and although I never used it I believe there are aerial attachments on the EHU posts.

Phone reception was also good (Virgin)

Buses into Edinburgh are a fair step away from the site but we used the minibus service from outside reception, at £6 return it's worth every penny.

Some might find the aircraft noise off-putting but it didn't bother us.

Very nice site with some road and aircraft noise, if you can put up with that it's worth a visit.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Dot P 562 reviews from this member

We loved this site, its perfect for a city break. Not only are you only a bus ride from the centre of the city there is plenty to do in the immediate area.

Go left on Marine Drive (walk or cycle) and you arrive at Crammond, a beautiful village with a causeway out to an island. Continue on Cycle 1 and in a couple of miles you arrive at the chocolate box conservation village of Dalmeny, from where its a short ride down to the Forth Road Bridge. Now closed to traffic you can still cycle over, or bring your car and park in the car park and walk over.

In the opposite direction on Marine Drive you can cycle the 5 miles to Leith, see the Royal Yacht Britannia and sample the delights of Leith seafront.

The site is immaculate, its a busy site, nearly impossible to get a weekend pitch we found, despite this the wardens keep the whole site bright as a button.

Showers are perfect - we love great showers and this site has some of the best. No dreaded push button, plenty of hot water and decent water pressure in a clean and heated block - fabulous.

The wardens do have a locked cycle shed where you can put you bikes away safely overnight, just take them over early evening and then you can get them back out in the morning.

Good C&MC wifi signal across the site.

Yes you can hear the aircraft arriving at Edinburgh airport as you are under the flight path- we found after an hour we didn't notice them at all - but then everyone reacts differently. Its no worse than many sites with road noise etc - don't let it put you off this is a brilliant site to see everything the coast and the city has to offer.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Fatbird 9 reviews from this member

Beautiful site with stunning views over the Forth of Forth where you can walk along the promenade to a lovely village calked Cramond. It is well worth walking past the pub along the river to see the small waterfall. Campsite is roughly 10 minute walk to bus stop for service into Edinburgh. Very friendly site staff and really helpful, facilities are spotless. We will definitely be visiting again soon.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Photolady 7 reviews from this member

An ideal base for exploring Edinburgh and Leith. The entrance to the site is beautifully landscaped and gives an excellent first impression. Staff all very friendly and eager to help. The pitches give a feel of privacy on an otherwise big site as there are hedges between every two vans. The facilities are excellent and spotlessly clean as you tend to expect on a Caravan Club site. The Firth of Forth is just down the road and there is a lovely promenade walk to the village of Cramond in one direction and then towards Leith in the other. There is a minibus on the site which runs very regular trips into the city centre and you can book your return trip. We cycled to Leith along mostly traffic free cycle paths to visit the Royal Yacht Britannia - a must visit. We spent a day in the city centre using the hop on hop off bus. We visited the Scottish Parliament and sat in on a debate for 15 min or so. The city is very much geared to tourists. We also visited the Royal Botanic Gardens which were really lovely and free to enter.

A first rate site for a city location. There is aeroplane noise.

Previous     96 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lothian

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1845 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019