Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Edinburgh Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Lothian > Edinburgh > Edinburgh Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Edinburgh Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
35 37 Marine Drive
Edinburgh
Lothian   (Browse area)
EH4 5EN
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 166
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 96 Reviews
                9/10 from 96 Reviews

Photos (6)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  96 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Simon9792 5 reviews from this member

We drove up to this popular site from our 3 night stop in Cumbria. About a mile from the site you do wonder what you have come to as you drive through some funny looking areas with high rise and cctv everywhere. We arrived on the site and were amazed, very busy, I never knew we had so many tourists from abroad, we British were outnumbered. The warden advised on a few pitches as we had requested to be close to the toilet block for our disabled Son. We had pitch 125 directly facing the toilet block, amazing size.

The toilet block was always spotless, it had music playing and even though the heating wasn't on it was always warm in there. The wardens took great pride in the site and toilet blocks. One thing amazed me though was we were sited just yards from the Motorhome Service point, and were disappointed how many motorhome owners failed to put the manhole cover back down correctly . The wardens were on the ball when they noticed this and took this up with the offenders.

We loved this site, 1 mile away from morrisons, 10 mins in to Edinburgh town. We had a lovely 75 min drive over the forth to St Andrews and took the dog on the beach, a lovely day was had, we had 6 nights here, it has also got a right funky dog walk on site, a little wood area especially for dogs. My son also loved the on site park a great place to meet other kids, cant wait to visit again.

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Andyokeeffe 36 reviews from this member

Our party was made up of Mum, Dad, our 2 children aged 9 & 7 and our dog.

We arrived just after midday on Easter Sunday and check in was easy and straight forward. A foreword about the directions I have is: although there are other ways to this site, I would advise following the Club’s directions when towing and when arriving for the first time. Once you have driven the area solo, then you can make your own mind up regarding the tightness of some turns.

Edinburgh Caravan Club site is one of the best sited Club sites I know. Edinburgh City is located to one side, the Forth to the other, and has easy access to Edinburgh’s Ring Road and therefore anywhere.

We arrived with two kids to be told that the playgroud was out of action which was a very big let down as my two boys love the playground on the club sites to fill them quiet moments.

The showers and toilets were always wonderful clean and warm. We could not in anyway fault the standard of these toilets.

The dog walk on site was a wonderful way of using a piece of land that could otherwise not be used and put to very good use and was very welcomed by us for them last late night walks.

The Forth was just yards away from the front gate and provided myself with a different photograph each sunrise.

The Museum of Scotland, Almond Valley, East Links Adventure Park are all nearby with East Links being the farthest away but all of these provide excellent value for money but Dalkeith Park was by far and away the gem of them all being very little cost to get in and our boys spent the whole day in the grounds, but Dalkeith has to be a dry day to visit.

Given our time again, we would not visit Edinburgh Castle again as the cost being the main reason.

One thing that I feel has to be mentioned is that Edinburgh Caravan Club Site is located underneath the flightpath to Edinburgh City Airport and when there is no wind or when there is a prevailing wind. Planes are down to a few hundred feet at this point so could be a bit of a problem.

Are we going back? No, Edinburgh has not enough to entice us back even if the Club Site is great albeit for the playground being closed during the duration of our stay.

Date of Visit: February 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jjlj95 27 reviews from this member

This site is in a fantastic setting with walks right on the doorstep but also handy for Edinburgh City Centre ( although the bus journey takes much, much longer than by car ).

A good size Morrisons is nearby with garage / restaurant / ATM available. The facilities are superb,spotless and warm and the wardens are friendly and helpful. I've already made a return visit and hope to make many more.

Date of Visit: March 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Gerry hughes 5 reviews from this member

Just back from a lovely weekend in Edinburgh. What a lovely site this is very impressive as you drive up to it and it lives up to the first impressions. Site was well laid out with good sized pitches and small play park on site. Only half the site was open don't know why didn't ask, toilet block was spotless 1 very small down side was the shower heads are very low only about 6ft high and as I am just over made it slightly awkward as I say this is a very small point and the showers were clean powerful and hot.

It was a 10 min walk to the bus stop and £3.00 gets you a full day pass anywhere on Lothian buses so well worth it. 2 buses go into town the 27 and 16 and both run past midnight so very handy. Small bit of advice if intending to come home late take a small torch as no street lights for the last part of the walk.

When we got up this morning it was a lovely day so we wanted to go a walk asked if we could stay a little later warden told us to stay as long as we wanted. The wardens were very pleasant at all times and very helpful too.

Date of Visit: February 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Polly46 2 reviews from this member

Fantastic caravan park - very well laid out, absolutely spotless - very friendly receptionists. Was full when we were there but didn't seem crowded at all. Small playpark for kids but they seemed to prefer to ride around on their bicycles. Went a walk to cramond - just a few yards along and across the road - absolutely beautiful. Would definitely recommend and will definitely return.

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Moseley38 23 reviews from this member

We loved this site - on approaching the site you drive through a housing estate but the site itself is well cared for and very secure.

The facilities are excellent, including the dog walk where there is a wonderful sign explaining that this is the habitat of the legendary 'hagis'! The wardens were very friendly and helpful too.

There are excellent bus links to the site - you can choose from the minibus that comes direct to the site or for a cheaper option walk around to the bus stop (about 5mins)and get an all day ticket for just £3. However beware if you have dogs as only two dogs are allowed on a bus at a time.

There is a lovely walk along the foreshore towards the small village of Crammond where there is a lovely bay where yachts shelter and a great little cafe. You can also walk up the river from here which is very pleasant.

We definitely hope to return.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Nyala69 22 reviews from this member

Stopped here on are way down south. The area is not the best but is improving and the amount of cctv around the site did make us a bit worried. The site itself is very nice cc standard nice and clean friendly staff. The site is very handy for the city but I would take the bus parking is a nightmare. Nice walk along the water front from site loads of room for kids to fly kites and play. There was a new tesco's just a couple of minutes down the road which was very handy.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Carousel 25 reviews from this member

An ideal site for a long stay or a brief stopover. We had plenty of choice of pitches and chose one near the excellent dog walk. As with previous reviews we found the welcome warm and the extra information given very helpful. During our three days we met many tourists from abroad in their motor homes as well as backpackers using the tented area. A short distance from the site is a lovely promenade area ideal for cycling or walking. We walked out at low tide to the small island off the coast along the causeway and returned to the village cafe by the harbour for home made scones! The Toby Carvery a short distance from the site was well worth a visit too . For those essentials Tesco is not far away either.The mini bus into the city is very convenient but buses good too. The road system is quite confusing but sat nav directions are spot on.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pazza s 6 reviews from this member

This was our 1st visit to Edinburgh and this site. We did get a bit lost once we hit the outskirts of town and although I rang the site the only directions we were given were to look for the brown information signs with a tent and caravan on and follow them. We did manage to get there but it took us an hour!

The outskirts of marine drive are residential and can be a bit off putting initially but we quickly got over that when we saw how much redevelopment there was in the area and the locals were very friendly and welcoming.

The site itself is as you would expect with caravan club sites fantastically organised booking in and providing information. We were given a map of the site, a map of Edinburgh and transport details, this is a first not all sites do this so a plus. The reception area is beautiful and next to it is the information room and a small secluded seating area which always caught the sun.

Too many pitches had been pre booked so our choice was very limited though this didn’t prevent us from enjoying the site.

This site benefits from 2 dish washing area’s which was handy as it was a very busy during our stay.

The toilet and shower block was so warm and cosy and extremely well kept and smelled clean and fresh at all times.

The reception sells basic groceries and the buns from the local bakery were very tasty.

The children went every day for a lolly ice or ice cream and were always made welcome.

As said by previous reviews the bus no longer stops outside and the mini bus is great because it stops right outside the reception but as there are 4 of us and we went into Edinburgh everyday £4.00 per person return is expensive at £16.00 a day when the buses No 16 or 27 stop at the top of marine drive and cost £1.20 for adults and 60p for children so a lot cheaper and a nice walk too.

The promenade is to the left of the site entrance and has beautiful views of the firth of forth but the water is not suitable for paddling which was a disappointment to our children. It is a popular walk with people cycling, roller skating, dog walkers, young families etc and at the end is a yacht club, toilets and a small café which is a welcome rest before the long walk back. It was a glorious sunny day the day of our walk but the strong winds from the estuary were cold.

There was a lot of work on trams in Edinburgh which did spoil our enjoyment of the city and it is very expensive and touristy but thankfully the weather was fantastic during our week long stay and we were able to take advantage of the many beautiful and well maintained parks in the city. There are 2 main highlights of our stay – Greyfriars Bobby and Edinburgh Castle both really enjoyable and entertaining for young children especially the 1 o’clock gun. The water feature outside the parliament building kept the children entertained during the hot weather too.

The site has a quick turn around of visitors who mainly stayed 1 or 2 nights before continuing on their journey so our children made friends with children who weren’t there the next day and they would have to start over again with new people which did disappoint them but this was due more to the location than the site.

There are supermarkets and petrol stations near by and local shops are handy for chemists, chip shops, butchers etc.

We did enjoy the site and the city has a lot to offer everyone and the surrounding areas are within easy reach, with such beautiful scenery resulting in a relaxing holiday.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Gad-about 6 reviews from this member

Good site, if a little cramped. Toilet block excellent as expected from all CC Sites

Wi-fi very expensive - £5 for 1 hour and limited to certain pitches which cannot be pre-booked.

Travel into town is swings and roundabouts which one you use:

• The local service bus no longer stops at the site so a 15 min walk is required to the nearest bus stop, one goes directly to the Royal Yacht Britannia and one to the centre of town. Costs £1:60 per ride or a day bus ticket costs £3.

• There is also a mini bus shuttle to and from Edinburgh, but it drops and picks up about 10 mins from the Edinburgh centre and is on a ‘first come - first serve basis’ (some people waiting for collection in town could not get on) and costs £2 each way.

Altogether a very useful site for visiting Edinburgh.

Previous     96 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lothian

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over £205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3021 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019