Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Edinburgh Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Lothian > Edinburgh > Edinburgh Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Edinburgh Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
35 37 Marine Drive
Edinburgh
Lothian   (Browse area)
EH4 5EN
Tel: 01342 327 490
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 166
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 96 Reviews
                9/10 from 96 Reviews

Photos (6)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  96 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Fidibury 38 reviews from this member

This is our second visit within 9 months to the site and won't be our last. The pitches are well placed and the facilities are as you would expect from a Caravan Club site - clean and plentiful. We were there just before the Easter weekend and the site was only about half full. There is also a section of the site that is just for tents. The information room is well equipped with leaflets about the local area. Wardens were friendly enough.

The site is located just across the road from the Firth of Forth. Walks along the Firth of Forth are great for dogs and there is also a small dog walk on site.

We used the shuttle bus this time into the City Centre but did phone to check especially with having a dog with us. If you do have dogs and are going to use the shuttle please phone as they limit the number of dogs on each bus. Buses to the City Centre can be caught from along the road.

We would certainly recommend a visit to Mary King Close - the underground city on the Royal Mile. Dogs however are not allowed in.

The City Centre was a very busy place and probably not somewhere we would go again with the dogs but to meet up with friends and for walks along the Firth of Forth it certainly is a great site.

Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: The Duckies 37 reviews from this member

Lovely friendly wardens. Lovely spotlessly clean site. Toilet block clean and tidy. Pitches drained well when raining. Only downside was the aircraft noise as flight path into Edinburgh airport which put us off. Lovely enclosed dog walk. Its the only site ever been to that we will not be returning to.

Date of Visit: December 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 505 reviews from this member

We spent a few nights here as a pre-Christmas break in Edinburgh.

Location

Well located as a base for Edinburgh, which is a few miles from the site. Your best bet is to take the shuttle from the site (5 return) or get one of the many buses available (10 minutes walk from site).

Facilities

Excellent facilities with amenities blocks looking spotless throughout our stay.

Cost

Great value at 16 per night.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: JayneBerry 24 reviews from this member

A fantastically located site, on the outskirts of the city but a short easy bus ride from all the sights, just a 10-minute walk to the bus stop. The area behind the site is a horrible run-down estate but the Firth of Forth is just yards from the entrance and its beach is fantastic and safe if you have dogs - or even if you don't. The on-site dog walk is a bit rubbish so the beach is the best bet for pooches.

There don't seem to be many good eateries on the doorstep however, or at least not that we found.

Wardens are very helpful, the site is clean and well-kept and a great base for exploring this beautiful city.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Camp chaos 25 reviews from this member

We stayed for 2 nights in the lovely little tent field. We felt v sorry for the caravanners who seemed to have no grassy areas to speak of.

The site was lovely and clean and pretty convenient for Edinburgh city centre. The local bus service was cheap and easy to use.

The only draw-back to the campsite was NO PLUG SOCKETS in the toilets. My hair was a nightmare without straighteners!

In the area: I would recommend Portobello beach and the chippy on the main road, parallel to the beach. Yummy fish!

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Nikangie 2 reviews from this member

Superb tidy well run site with usual odd Caravan Club rules but very convenient for Edinburgh city. Bus 10 min walk away 3. 50 day rider ticket gets you anywhere you want to go. In the information office, found it rather odd that that there were no leaflets available on Edinburgh Castle, being the most noticeable landmark in the city !

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sunnycaravanner 3 reviews from this member

Not your typical CC site. Its set up to get lots of people into the great city of Edinburgh and it does a great job. Ok so it a large grassy car park but its run well and is spotless. The foreign guests can cause some confusion with random parking. Use the shuttle bus you skin flints! its so easy and drops you of right in the centre. Big super market close and a long cycle trail and dog walk nearby.

We've used this site before and love it. The staff leave you alone to enjoy your stay. Often busy. If not full. As fred used to say' Book early'

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Fidibury 38 reviews from this member

This was our first visit to this site mainly to visit friends. It's a large well laid out site with a tent area and an on site dog walk. Facilities are typical of all Caravan Club sites. Wardens were friendly and helpful. Pitches were of a good size and flat. There is a small children's play area.

Site is adjacent to the Firth of Forth with lovely walks either on the beach when the tide is out or on the walkway. There is a cafe along the walkway that sells lovely cakes.

This site is ideal for getting to see the sites of Edinburgh and a bus from the reception takes you right in to the centre. This is something we will look at doing on our next visit. Highly recommended.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Deebond 2 reviews from this member

This is the first Caravan Club Site we've stayed on. We are used to Australian sites so it was a bit different for us, with reasonable sized sites, lots of rules, not sure of the logic of the rule for having the van in a certain position relative to the site marker, unless it's safety. Speedy evacuation. Which is probably more relevant in Australia where we have bush fires! It cannot be faulted for facilities, and we were there for a specific purpose, not the (non existent) view, and we did find the noise of the planes annoying at first but didn't notice it after a while.

We stayed two nights and would stay again if we had reason to be in Edinburgh.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 505 reviews from this member

This is a large and very well maintained site on the outskirts of Edinburgh. Facilities are of an excellent standard and there is a regular shuttle bus into the city for a reasonable charge.

The main attraction of this site is its location, being the closest to Edinburgh. It is about 15 minutes driving to the centre.

Brilliant site.

Previous     96 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lothian

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over 205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3245 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019