Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Edinburgh Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Lothian > Edinburgh > Edinburgh Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Edinburgh Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
35 37 Marine Drive
Edinburgh
Lothian   (Browse area)
EH4 5EN
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 166
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 96 Reviews
                9/10 from 96 Reviews

Photos (6)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  96 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Torryloon 15 reviews from this member

We stayed for three nights,really liked the way they have designed this site, good sized pitches. Checking in was done in a very nice manner and puts you back in the holiday mood again after a hectic drive down from the north of scotland.
Toilet blocks were spot on and the reception sells some basic foodstuffs and there is a good info room as well. There is a cracking mini bus service that runs into city centre and back all day from the site and the local bus stop is a fair walk away, as some of the other reviews have said, but we found there is a public path runs through the golf course at the back of the site that would take 10 minutes at most to the bus stops that take you to the city centre.
Just outside the site you have miles of promenade to walk or cycle and plenty of picnic areas. I will back to this site soon ,three days was fine but you could easy spend a lot more time here as there is so much to take in .

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Nick+brats 6 reviews from this member

Great site if you stay in a caravan, I went with friends and couldn`t fault place, very good toilet block, warm, clean, and the local radio station playing. Plenty of wildlife on the site and the area is full of surprises
Some sheltered beaches a short drive away, we found some stunning spots. Dont know what it's like staying in a tent as was far end of site, but seemed plenty of campers using it.

The city itself is ok in parts, but extremely touristy, I come from Blackpool and felt very at home.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lobsterpot 2 reviews from this member

Just come back from visiting this site and I must say I didn't get to relax much. The was a plane landing every 3 to 4 minutes at certain times of the day. The road was noisy and I was pitched quite far away from it. Also the Rugby was on this weekend so lots of supporters arrived on site to celebrate which don't get me wrong that's fine it the noise they made when coming home at 2,3,and 4 am in the morning. I didn't think the c/c allowed all male parties.

Apart from all the above the site was well looked after and very clean.

The best thing is the Mini Bus that picks you up and takes you into Edinburgh its better than the mile walk to bus stop.

Date of Visit: February 2009 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Thomasm1 3 reviews from this member

The views of the Firth from the road outside of the campite are awesome. On a nice warm sunny day I could sit and look at it for hours. It is a pity that the campsite doesn't have the same views, but what it does have it does very well.

It is a very professionally run site and the staff are always courteous and helpful. Sadly, this last visit they were unable to let me stay after 12 on the Sunday which cut short the weekend slightly, but I assume they had to make room for someone else coming in.

All the toilet facilities are kept spotlessly clean, which is excellent. The late arrival facility is second to none having power and plenty of space for at least three large motorhomes.

There used to be a bus that went into town from just outside the campsite, sadly cutbacks by the bus company have removed this service so now you have to walk about a mile to get the bus. This is a shame and a little bit odd as the bus always seemed to be busy whenever I was on it.

The city is wonderful and if you haven't visited ityet then what is keeping you. The site is open all year so it is well worth getting up there in the winter months.

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Geordie01 14 reviews from this member

Update on site.

The no 42 bus no longer stops at site gates. There is now a 10 min walk to bus stops to city.

There is also a mini bus service to the city from the site and back again every 30 mins from 9.30 am cost is 2.00 each way. Lauriston farm pub at Silver Knowes is now a toby carvery, good ales at good prices but food side still seems as chaotic as it was when it was Brewers Fayre.

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Heather37 13 reviews from this member

Just came back from a 4 night stay and was not so sure about this site. Don't get me wrong it is up to the usual CC high standards and yes the toilets were brill. Couldn't hear the road outside and we were 4 pitches away from it and the planes are great to see, not as intrusive as some have wrote

Now for the bad bits (only if you have older kids) There is nowhere for them to knock about a ball or play, we did take the bikes but soon got bored. If you go over the road at the entrance there are steps down to the prom (very steep and extremely tiring) They can play there with a lovely view of the firth of fourth. But my hubby had to go about 4 times a day and was shattered come the end for the stay.

The bus does not stop any more outside the site and you have a 20 min walk to the bus stop (the warden told me 10min but I timed it) you can get the no27 or the no16 and these run every 15 mins. Time tables in the info area

I would still recommend this site as there is a lot to do in Edinburgh but if your 10 year old is football crazy I'm not sure.

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lion_tamer20 18 reviews from this member

Just returned from staying on this site over Easter. Cannot praise this site enough. We visited with my daughter son in law and four grandchildren aged 4 to 15yrs. Although the site was full the wardens kept the toilet and shower facilities immaculate at all times. It has a play area for young children something which the caravan club does not always provide on its sites and also an excellent babyroom with bath toilet and changing facilities for babies and toddlers.

Unfortunately the local service bus no longer stops at the site so a 10 min walk is required to the nearest bus stop. A private mini coach service is now operating visiting the site running every 30 mins a mini coach to Edinburgh centre for a fare of 2 each way.

We had a meal in the Toby carvery which we all enjoyed it is close to the site and good value for money.

Would not hesitate to recommend this site to anyone camping or caravanning and wanting to visit Edinburgh

Date of Visit: October 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: WilliamLX 10 reviews from this member

We stayed at this site on a half term visit to Edinburgh. This was our first stay on a Caravan Club site and we found it to be of a very high standard. The toilet / shower block was so warm and clean it was pleasant to use and was a revelation after being used with old, cold and often dirty toilet / shower facilities on sites in Ireland.
The pitches have electric but no water or drain which is the only negative point I would make about the site. They are gravel so offer the benefits of hard standing for wet weather but still allow an awning.

The site is situated on the northern edge of the city within site of the sea and a 10 minute drive either into the centre of the city or along the docks to where the Royal Yacht Britannia is docked. It is worth noting that the residential area near the site is quite rough looking but we had no trouble and security on the site seems good. Something
I found to be a problem was that all the approach roads to the site have speed bumps every 10 yards which is not ideal when towing a caravan. The weather was atrocious the evening we arrived and the road outside the site was flooded almost to the point of being impassable! Unlike others we noticed no undue road or aircraft noise during our 4 night stay.

All in all a great site ideal for a city break!

Date of Visit: October 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Billy coutts 15 reviews from this member

Just back from our second visit to this site. You soon forget about plane noise above you! Still well kept site even though you hardly see the wardens going about their duties. Toilets must still be one of the best we've ever come across.
Used the No 42 bus from outside the gate a lot. Saves the hassle of parking in city centre. Brilliant new Morrisons supermarket just opened less than a mile from site. Local takeaways still as good also. Shame its too far away for us to use for weekends but will be back next year during one of our longer holiday periods.
Kids loved this site this time too and found they were never out of the play area when we were on site.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Buzzybee 2 reviews from this member

Have to agree with other reviewers - facilities excellent but some noise from aircraft and road. Best points for us: You can walk along the promenade to Cramond. From there (if you get the tides right), you can walk out to Cramond Island, which is well worth a visit.

An Indian and a Chinese take-away are advertised in the information room - we tried them both and found them both excellent.

We would recommend using the bus to get into Edinburgh as parking is difficult to find and traffic is horrendous at the moment (half of the city centre is being dug up for the installation of a tram system and the other half is all one way so you know where you want to go but end in going in the completely wrong direction).

We will certainly return to this site.

Previous     96 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lothian

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over 205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1142 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019