Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Edinburgh Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Lothian > Edinburgh > Edinburgh Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Edinburgh Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
35 37 Marine Drive
Edinburgh
Lothian   (Browse area)
EH4 5EN
Tel: 01342 327 490
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 166
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 96 Reviews
                9/10 from 96 Reviews

Photos (6)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  96 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: David Klyne 215 reviews from this member

To find site:- With a caravan it is best to approach from the Western end of the City bypass from the Gogar roundabout onto the A8. Then turn left onto A902, signed for Forth Road Bridge. In about a mile and a half turn right at traffic lights onto A90. After another mile and a quarter keep left onto A902 to the Crewe Toll roundabout. Take first left and immediately ahead is tubular steel bridge, at traffic lights turn right into West Granton Access Road. Turn left into West Granton Road and continue to roundabout and take third exit into Marine Drive and the site is on left in half a mile.

This campsite is located between the urban areas of Edinburgh and the Firth of Forth. It is a generally peaceful site although there is a little traffic noise from Marine Drive and planes into Edinburgh Airport fly close to the site along the Firth of Forth. The site is open all year and accepts non-members and tent campers. Most of the 197 pitches are on hardstanding with some of them being fully serviced at an extra charge. They are all of a good size and pitching areas have stands of trees and shrubs between the rows to give the site a greener feel. In the tent section there is a cooking/eating shelter. There are two toilet blocks which are up to normal Caravan Club standards, however they do come under pressure at certain times of day when the site is full. For children there is a small playground. There is site wide WiFi available on this site at normal Club rates. Reception sell a variety of essentials.

The City of Edinburgh is only a short distance away from the campsite. Either by public transport which is a 10/15 walk from the site or direct from the site by private mini bus which whilst a little more expensive is more convenient. However if you wish to spend an evening in the City and arrive back later in the night a taxi might be the best option. In Leith the ex-Royal Yacht Britannia is moored next to a new shopping area called Ocean Terminal (not to be confuse with the real one in Southampton Docks!) The Britannia is well worth a visit. The nearest supermarket and fuel is a new Morrisons about a mile from the site.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sadkate 9 reviews from this member

This site is nice and clean and tidy and well-resourced as you'd expect a CC site to be.

The toilet blocks were lovely and they have a baby changing and bathing area. There's a toilet block very close to the tent area.

We didn't use either but there's a children's play area and a dedicated fenced-off woodland just for dogs.

The staff were friendly and helpful. There seemed to be loads of them.

It was quite expensive I though. 42 for two adults and a baby with quite a big tent.

The tent field is unmarked and there was one post with hook-up points. The field is quite sloped in places. I'd say about 40% of it is flat. There's a really handy covered cooking and eating area with picnic tables and big metal work surfaces. Water and bins are close-by.

I imagine some people would want to complain that it's under the flight path for Edinburgh airport but it's not the most busy airport and very quiet at night. In any case the tractor which comes to empty the bins several times a day is noisier!

The location of this site is great, even though it looks like it's quite far out of the city. Some buses run right past the site and more from the next road over, 10 minutes walk away. Edinburgh has a fantastic bus system which is cheap and comprehensive.

You can cycle on off-road paths right into the city from here and you're only a stone's throw away from the waterfront really. There's a nice promenade and you can walk to the pretty tidal island and village of Cramond.

There's also plenty of things to do outside of the city. You're only an hour from Glasgow and less than that from Stirling.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tag 18 20 reviews from this member

Arrived at this site on a beautiful Sunday afternoon with my two boys and had booked for 2 nights. Was on my own but wanted to try and pitch myself, the staff very willing to assist if required.

I selected a pitch very close to main entrance and managed to set up with just the help of my 9 year old son, pitches flat and spacious, so it wasn't too difficult.

Although the site was busy, it was very quiet. The site overall was spotless, staff always busy cleaning or helping visitors, very friendly.

I read the previous reviews on this site prior to going and I can only agree with everything they say, great site and I would go back.

I would not attempt to take the car into Edinburgh, the traffic can be tricky, even for the experienced driver. I took the Lothian bus either no 16 or 27, the bus stop is about a 10 minute walk from the site and gets you into city centre quickly.

The 27 is the quickest but the 16 takes a route through Leith and the docks, apart from the odd scrap yard, it lets you see some historic areas, it also goes by the Royal Yacht. Remember and take change for the bus, 3. 60 all day ticket for an adult and 2. 00 for a child.

The beach is also close by, the kids enjoyed a paddle in the water, further along is Crammond Island which you can visit at low tide, used as a look out during WW2. Didn't manage the Island but will be visiting there next time.

All in all a great site with lots in Edinburgh, to do, too many things to list but you are given a site seeing leaflet on arrival.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Weejanet 33 reviews from this member

Staying here at the moment and enjoying this lovely site. We are here for five nights and the weather so far has been beautiful.

The site is very well kept, clean and tidy and seems full most of the time, however so far no queueing for showers, most people are just chilling with a glass of wine and barbi's seem to be the order of the day, very relaxing.

As with most caravan club sites you drive round and choose your own space and we have chosen space 69 near the showers and also good sun in the morning and during the day and in the shade in the evening and as I have taken too much sun today I am grateful to be in the shade tonight.

This is a great base for all you want to do in Edinburgh and although we have not ventured into the city yet there does seem to be good local transport instead of taking the car. There is a great promenade walk very near the site on the Firth of Forth and also when the tide is out you can walk to the island of Crammond which we intend to do tomorrow morning.

Will I come back here? A big yes for being in a site so near the centre of Edinburgh it certainly feels as though you are in the most chilled relaxing place. I would recommend this site as I would also any of the caravan club sites I have been to so far, they all seem to have really high standards.

Don't want my holiday to end.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Osborne11 4 reviews from this member

This is my 4th visit to the Caravan Clubs Edinburgh site & it won't be my last. I can only give good reports for this site.

We arrived on a Thursday afternoon & were made welcome by the very efficient reception staff & set off to look for a pitch, we selected a large hard standing with plenty of room for our awning & car.

The toilet block was near by, & was kept immaculate, as was the whole site.

The site is well situated on the outskirts of Edinburgh, on the Forth of Firth, with lovely views across the river to Fyfe.

There are plenty of shops close by, with a new large 'Morrisons' about a mile away. Edinburgh Centre is about 4 miles away, there used to be a bus stop just outside the site, but this bus route has now ceased, the nearest stop is a 15 min. Walk.

There is a private mini-bus service from reception to the city centre which runs about 4 times a day each way.

Overall I would recommend this site to anyone

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: RosePearl1960 17 reviews from this member

The caravan club's usual high standards are evident in the upkeep and presentation of this site. Ideally situated for all the tourist attractions in Edinburgh. Enjoyed our visit to Britannia and lunch at the Whiskey Society. Still quite a lot of roadworks going on so Edinburgh not at its best.

On thing to be aware of is change was not available on the buses, if you choose any service other than the minibus that runs from the site, please ensure you have plenty of change to pay the fare. Return fares are not offered, instead you can buy a 'day rider' at a cost of 3.60 per adult.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: ChrisPolly+Oscar 4 reviews from this member

Just returned from our 5th visit to the Edinburgh club site. We really enjoy visiting the site, it provides everything that me, my other half and the dog could want.

A brief walk out the site and over the road brings you down to the waterside walk and grassland along the side of the Forth, perfect for exercising the dog off the lead.

Walking left along brings you to the next village along with a charming pub. Also, if your feeling brave and the tide is right (read the board at the pier) you can walk across the peninsula to the island in the middle of the Firth of Forth. Worth the walk for seeing the birds flying in peace.

Also a visit to the beautiful Fife coast is really worthwhile, try St Monans, Elie, Crail and if time, the fish bar at Anstruther is legendary, well worth the queue.

Britannia is great to visit, as is the Castle, but pricey.
Edinburgh itself can be a nightmare to circumnavigate, even the satnav got itself tied in knots with roadworks and one way streets everywhere. The buses are a much better idea!

Follow the club guide directions to the site, the corners on other routes are too tight for a long combination.

Fantastic landscaping to the site, toilet blocks spotless with music playing. Showers really hot and powerful. Wardens great, helpful and very knowledgeable.

Large Morrisons 5 mins away.

No downside to this site! Have booked another 2 weeks in May.

Date of Visit: December 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: H2puv 5 reviews from this member

We visited this site after Christmas & over to New Year & what a lovely clean & well organised site. We arrived after 6pm on Boxing day & Stayed until the 2nd Jan, the snow covered site was lovely to see & were kept well updated by the site regarding the sites access re the snow.

The beach is a very short walk away & the kids collected shells as they seem to do on every holiday! Was a lovely walk along the pebbles & you could see across to Fife.

The site is situated just a 10 minute drive from the local Morrisons, (no shop on site). A mini bus runs at regular intervals from the site to Edinburgh City Centre and @ 15 for a family of 4 return is well worth it as you would need a 2nd mortgage to park for the day in the City, that's if you manage to find your way in through the one way systems.

We spent the day in Edinburgh on New years eve and all the fairs & attractions were in place & ready for the new year celebrations, which was great for the kids, we also went into the Castle which was very interesting & well worth a visit, however book your tickets in advance online as is cheaper to get in.

All in all this was a lovely site, the amenities were very clean & would recommend & visit again if needed.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: FNot 12 reviews from this member

Fantastic site. Just returned from 4 nights there. Weather superb which always helps. Great location near good walk along 'promenade' to Cramond.

Lots of places to walk dogs. Site well signposted and checkin friendly and efficient. Pitches large, toilet block is of high standard. The wardens always seemed to be cleaning or cutting grass/hedges.

They obviously take pride in the site and rightly so. It's a credit to them. Morrisons short drive away. Walk approx 20 mins to main road to catch bus into Edinburgh or there is a minibus direct into Edinburgh from the site. We did not use it though as had our 3 dogs with us. We took car into Edinburgh on Bank Hol Monday and parked at Holyrood.

Short walk to Royal Mile and Castle. Would definitely recommend this site for anyone wanting to visit Edinburgh.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Claire_Leicester 7 reviews from this member

We stayed here for two nights and we thought it was a brilliant site one of the best campsites we've been to.

Check in was quick and easy, they gave us a map and showed us several spots we could pick from all they asked is that when we had our pitch we went back to let them know where we were.

The pitches were large areas with plenty of room. The toilet/shower block were clean and music was played in there 24/7 (I was scared in case I broke out singing when having a shower!). The showers were hot and a good spray of water like some places.

We headed out the site and turned left and walked across the road and we came across 'a promenade' (as they lady at receiption called it) that was a lovely walk along the Forth. We walked to the next town (Cramond) and went into the pub there, it was lovely and the food was good too.

If you turn left out of the site and walk up to the main road you can catch the bus into Edinburgh. It cost us 3 each and it was an all day ticket so we could have got on and off as many times as we wanted.

Would definitely recommend this site.

Previous     96 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lothian

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over 205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3742 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019