Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Edinburgh Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Lothian > Edinburgh > Edinburgh Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Edinburgh Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
35 37 Marine Drive
Edinburgh
Lothian   (Browse area)
EH4 5EN
Tel: 01342 327 490
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 166
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 96 Reviews
                9/10 from 96 Reviews

Photos (6)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  96 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Amaryllis 10 reviews from this member

Spent 8 nights at this site at the end of the Edinburgh festival.

The site is very well maintained, clean and tidy. There are two shower blocks which are well maintained and very clean. There is a little shop at reception, a tented area, nice information point and enormous pitches! The pitches really are big, maybe even a couple of metres wider than most, slightly sloped in places.

Turn right out of the gate and a ten minute walk takes you to the bus stop, the number 27 will take you past the botanic gardens and into the centre of Edinburgh. Or the number 16 will take you to the royal yacht Britannia and the oceanic terminal shopping centre. The number 27 arrives at the bus stop every 15 mins in the week and every 20 mins at the weekend. There are stops every 100 yards which can be annoying but at 1. 40 to anywhere in the city it's good value.

Turn left out of the gate and head along the road until you spot the promenade, it is about half a mile until you come across sandy beaches and you can walk for ages. A lot of this walk is away from traffic so good for kids and dogs.

The planes stop over night, so not really a bother, in fact it can be interesting to see what is taking off.

Although I am a caravanner and don't own a motor home I think this site would be good for motorhomes the bus service is good and there is a large morrisons 15 mins walk away. The number of motorhomes resident on the site while we were staying backs up my feelings that it is a good place for them!

Lots to do and see in the area, lots of resturants and food places - too many to mention here.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Martin.eneale 34 reviews from this member

Spent 5 nights here as part of our tour of Scotland and enjoyed it thoroughly. The site is very busy, with people coming and going all the time. The pitches were very large and mostly flat, there is some noise from the road but not too much. There was also noise from aircraft going into the nearby airport, as we used the site as a base to explore the area, this wasn't too much of an issue and we soon got used to the noise anyway.

There are 2 shower blocks and they were upto the usual standards that you expect from the Club. Wardens were always out and about and always gave a cheery greeting.

We used the bus to get into Edinburgh, the stop is about a 10 minute walk away, there are 2 services, one of which goes all around the houses and the other goes a more direct route into the city. Can't remember the route no's, but I'm sure they'll tell you at reception. There is also a private bus direct from the site, but we thought this was overpriced.

Edinburgh is a lovely city, although in places it's a bit twee. It can be the sort of place, that foreign tourists expect it to be, if that makes sense. A visit to the castle is a must and we were delighted to find that we got in for nowt as we were members of English Heritage (or the National Trust - we visited so many places on this holiday, it was difficult to keep tabs). Anyway this saved us about 50!

The views are amazing, take the free guided tour if you can and go to the museum to see an actual French Eagle captured at Waterloo. Apparently they want it back - no chance! Also went to the Edinburgh Dungeon, great fun, but I get the impression, that if you've been to one, you've been to them all.

There is a golf course right next door, but didn't dare take the clubs, don't think she who must be obeyed would have been very happy, if I'd have disappeared for a few hours. There's is also a Toby carvery a short ride away for a nice cheap but delicious meal out, it is just about walk able, but our kids are still quite young and the weather was a bit dodgy, so we drove.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Josie050 5 reviews from this member

Just returned from a two night stay of this site. We were able to get a south facing pitch to enjoy the evening sunshine, just a shame a bit windy to sit out and make the most of it.

A lovely well kept site, excellent sized pitches, plenty of room for both an awning and car, no real rules as to how and where you park your car which is nice.

Toilet and shower block of high standard with plenty of hot water, and all kept very clean. We took advantage of the mini bus service into Edinburgh, 5. 00 per person return. A good service but not used enough by clients which I understand may be its downfall, so possibility of stopping this service. They drop you off/collect at the end of Princess street.

We took a lovely walk from the site along the promenade to Crammond island across the causeway, then walked into the village of Crammond to see the waterfall, returning to the site, taking us about 2 1/2 hours, well recommended.

The promenade will take you in the opposite direction towards the Docks. We did think that there are a lack of eating places in the area, certainly within walking distance, together with grocery shops, though the site does stock some basic items, eggs, bacon etc.

This is a site we will definitely return to.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: LayLay 3 reviews from this member

I have used this site a number of times and although the staff do there job efficiently they don't go the extra mile. Maybe this is because it is a busy site and there is never a shortage of 'customers'.

Facilities good, but lack of public transport or local restaurants within easy walking distance is a disappointment.

Dog walk on site poor, but cross the road and lots of open space and beach for both our four legged friends and their companions.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Charlie24 11 reviews from this member

Very pleased to visit this site again. Wardens deserve to be very proud of their patch, everything clean and tidy and well managed.

Weather was very wet at the start of our weekend but a no time did the toilets show any sign of the usual mud and grass you experience on many other sites.

The warden team is extremely helpful and pleasant giving the whole experience a very relaxed but efficient atmosphere. Access to the city is good albeit it is a fair walk to the service bus.

That said the minibus service and local taxis provide an affordable option given the price and difficulty in parking in Edinburgh. First class site, highly recommended.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: William scott 14 reviews from this member

Well run caravan club site. Toilets immaculately clean and plenty of elbow room in showers, toilets, wash cubicles, etc.

Good eating at Toby carvery about a mile away from site,

Plenty large stores asda, tesco, etc, and all information and directions given from wardens on site, maps etc.

Pitch area is great with plenty of room for unit, car and awning etc.

Easy access to city centre, bus stop near site entrance.

Cheap for couples, but that is this is pay per head not per unit Caravan club prices.

Will be back here no doubt

Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Squince39 14 reviews from this member

We are just back from our first weekend of the new season, at the Caravan Club site in Edinburgh.

This is our first visit to this particular site and we left being very impressed.

We arrived on Friday afternoon and as you turn into the site you can't help admiring the nice garden arrangement as you drive through the gates.

We were greeted nicely and efficiently at the reception point and made our way to choose our spot.

The pitch itself was very spacious getting the caravan, awning and car on with plenty of space.

The toilet block was immaculate and very modern. It was nice and warm with good showers and as much hot water in the shower that you want, no 20p coins or push button showers here, you all know what I mean.

The dishwashing area was easy to access and again plenty of hot water here too.

The location of this site means that you are in a nice scenic location but only about 4 miles from Edinburgh City Centre if you want to do a spot of site seeing.

There is a Toby Carvery within a nice walking distance of the site and a Tesco Metro. Asda was about a 3 mile drive away.

We will definitely be back soon.

Date of Visit: December 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Chrissyeh51 14 reviews from this member

Firstly, this is a well laid out site and the facilities are of the usual high standard set by the Caravan Club. It is also easy to find. The wardens are extremely pleasant and very helpful.

There is walking available along the promenade during daylight hours but you are only able to leave the site after the hours of darkness in a vehicle as the site is fairly isolated and there are no street lights. The nearest shops are a good twenty minute walk away.

We were booked for an eight day stay but abandoned our plans after two nights due to the incessant noise from airplanes landing at the nearby airport - there appeared to be very little reduction in the numbers landing during the night. There is no note of any possible noise either in the Caravan Club Site book or the website and I have contacted them regarding this - as I write I am awaiting their response.

This site is handy for visiting Edinburgh but you do have to be prepared to live with the noise - ear plugs could alleviate some of the problem.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Graemelawson 5 reviews from this member

Great site; you can cycle from here to Leith or to Cramond in the other direction.

Quiet site, well maintained, and very friendly. Great place to stop if staying in Edinburgh and easy to access - all pitches level and easy to get 'van into after a tiring day driving (OK we only drove from Glasgow but if I'd driven 500 miles I'd be thankful of this type of site).

Again as in my other reviews, this is one to return to, certainly handy from Glasgow and we like Edinburgh of course despite local rivalries.

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Wsseaman 64 reviews from this member

Stayed here for 2 nights, cost 18. 50 per night for 2 adults, 2 dogs and elec. The dog walk was excellent, secure and wooded so dogs loved exploring.

There is a mini bus which goes from site into Edinburgh on the half hour from 9. 30am, collecting after 4. 30pm for 5 return which we used and was very good. They also took our 2 dogs. There is a bus (nr 27) but its a 10-min walk to the bus stop from the site.

As other reviews suggest, it is cheaper but for only 2 more you get a door-to-door service.

The only thing we found annoying was that the site is on a flight path so there is a lot of noise, with planes going overhead every 15 mins until well after 10pm.

If I had stayed for any longer I would have been fed up with this constant noise. You can walk to the beach from the site.

Previous     96 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lothian

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over 205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2917 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019