Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Batcombe Vale Campsite & Camping

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Shepton Mallet > Batcombe Vale Campsite & Camping Reviews

Batcombe Vale Campsite & Camping
Batcombe
Shepton Mallet
Somerset   (Browse area)
BA4 6BW
Tel: 01749 372373
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 30
Open: 24 April - 20 September 2020

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 102 Reviews
                9/10 from 102 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  102 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Grumpysimon 21 reviews from this member

 Stayed for 3 nights in August. Arrived in pouring rain but site was fine. Lovely spot in beautiful countryside. Went for a lovely walk, taking in beer and cheese sampling, as directed by the very helpful campsite folk.

Facilities are basic and I guess could do with some investment. They were, however, spotless and plentiful supply of hot water.

Site itself is quiet, relaxed and delightful.

Would suit pretty much anyone.

Not overcrowded, very friendly, not noisy but children very welcome and plenty of healthy outdoor fun for them.

Hope to return. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Alikids 1 review from this member

 What a lovely place with lovely people. Visiting with two 6 year olds and a 2 year old, one always hopes a site will be welcoming, safe and appealing and Batcombe Vale really is all three. The boating lake was a great hit resulting in two very confident 6 year old oars people! Everything about the site is clean, functional and easy to access whilst being picturesque. The walk we headed out on ( thanks to Gary's advice, directions and map) was beautiful with a fantastic view of Glastonbury Tor in the distance, made even better by a warm welcome at the three Horseshoes. As locals, this was just a two night getaway but I would strongly recommend the site to people from further afield. Thank you Gary and Barbara. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Hippyc 9 reviews from this member

 So pleased we booked this site! Despite arriving late due to traffic we were made welcome and shown to a decent sized pitch. The road down to the site is quite steep and we were careful to check that there was nothing coming up/down since there is no passing place, this said it does mean that, once you are down, the site is very sheltered.

We had a good wander round the site the following day and the fishing ponds are stunning, set round with benches/picnic tables and a peaceful spot to sit and read in the sunshine. The bamboo walk was an interesting feature. There are lots of mature trees/plants and the grounds are well kept. Showers (free) and toilet facilities were clean and the fresh flowers are a lovely touch.

Despite the site being busy it was very peaceful and quiet, even at night, which made for a relaxing stay.

Will definitely come back again next year. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Nickrock 6 reviews from this member

 What a beautiful site! It takes a little finding in it's remote location, but it is well worth it. Beautiful lakes and landscaping, and so peaceful and quiet. The owners were incredibly helpful and friendly, but the lady of the site will let you know immediately if you don't adhere to the site rules! This means that everyone enjoys their stay and knows where they stand. The showers and toilets might look a little rustic from outside but were excellent. My only gripe would be that it is a little on the pricey side, but you know that when you book so can make an informed choice. Had it been slightly cheaper however we would certainly have stayed longer. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Flowjoe100 1 review from this member

 Just returned from a 5 night stay at this lovely campsite. We added the final 5th night spontaniously with no problems at all. Our pitch was individual and a good size and most importantly level. The facilities are basic but clean and all you could require wether you had a tent or otherwise.

The area is very quiet and scenic, there are a few good local pubs, the best being in the nearby village of Batcombe about one mile away.

There are nice walks in the area with plenty of laminated maps in reception of the locality for you to use.

There is also home brew scrumpy cider on sale which the site owner Gary makes. Its reasonably priced and more than reasonable in quality, I was hooked by the time I had left.

The boating lake (free) is a nice toutch and there is a open space for games etc. Also some nice picnic benches dotted around for you to use.

We had a very nice time indeed, I would reccomend it highly and hope to go back next season. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Caro8642 2 reviews from this member

 Booked about a month before visit and paid the deposit. Good communication confirming the receipt of deposit. Site easy to find, but you do need to follow their advice on the approach, as some roads are very narrow with tight bends. On arrival, we paid the balance, and were shown our pitch for the week, and told where things were. The office also contains a lot of information on local walks and attractions, and has print outs of very local walks that you can take with you.

The pitch was level, and a little worn, but nothing more than expected for time of year. The owners are great hosts and are there if needed. The facilities are good, and easily accessed in the centre of the site, including freezer, washing machine and dryer! Although the weather did keep a few people away, we never had to queue at the showers or toilets.

The lake on site makes it quite picturesque and the ducks visited most mornings for tit-bits. The rowing boats were an attraction to many, but I was not aware of a life belt being on hand. The fishing lakes are also beautiful and are very private.

We had a lot of rain whilst thee and the pitch was not in a very good state when we left as it got very muddy underneath. However, some pitches did suffer more with the rain, but the owner was there to help out with spade and sand where needed. They try and put families in one area and adult only tents in another, so the adults are not disturbed. All in all, a lovely site, beautiful location and very caring hosts - and the Scrumpy which they sold on site, was also very good too! (according to hubby) 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: HannahC 7 reviews from this member

 An absolutely lovely site tucked away in the Somerset countryside. The views are gorgeous, and we enjoyed rowing on the little lake to chill out.

My son and I used the site as a base to explore Somerset and Dorset to keep a 12 year old busy - Cheddar Gorge, Longleat etc. , but I would love to return with a more keen walker and explore the local countryside more.

The wash rooms look basic but the showers are lovely, they were always clean and well ventilated, and there were no queues.

The owners are friendly and helpful and the site is very well kept.

We returned home chilled out and happy after a lovely week, and I plan to return another summer. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: AlisonBob 7 reviews from this member

 This site is beautiful and is in a very quiet location.

The pitches are well maintained and not as regimented as some campsites. Toilets and Showers are basic but very clean and plenty of hot water at all times we were there.

Gary and Barbara gave a warm welcome and were very helpful.

The lakes and gardens are very picturesque.

Fishing - lake 3 was quite weedy and difficult to fish without a long landing net. Fished mainly lake 4, it is full of carp averaging 12' and small Rudd, used hard pellets to avoid the rudd and was still catching carp one after the other 3ft from the bank. Ideal place to teach kids to fish. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chambersclan 3 reviews from this member

 A delightful and charming campsite which is truly unique. I am loathed to write a review about this campsite as it is a perfect little gem that we don't want to share!

It has a rather steep descent from the main road but the view is something to behold as you approach the beautifully landscaped site. There are plenty of what seem like perfectly placed trees and shrubs so you have some degree of privacy from most of your neighbours.

The walks and lakes around the site are beautiful and really well kept - even in a wet spell (as we experienced!) and our girls loved the rowing boats! Very calming and enjoyable.

The facilities are immaculately clean and although they are in a honeysuckle and vine covered cabin style building, they are a wonderful feature of this camping experience. Plenty of hot water for the showers & washing up, a freezer for your ice blocks, chemical disposal and a very efficient washer & drier - what more do you need?

And the view from the men's washroom over the lake is apparently wonderful (as my husband told me). The site owners are lovely, very welcoming and friendly. Why not try some of Gary's homemade scrumpy. By the jug full - very nice after a long day!

And I didn't feel that sound carried around the site as a previous reviewer has said - quite the opposite - we found it very peaceful.

It was in easy reach of our scheduled days out at Longleat and there are some lovely shops in Bruton which is only a short drive away. Perfect for shopping and other provisions.

We will definitely return when we are down Somerset way again! 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Fionavan 39 reviews from this member

 Stayed for two nights in the dreadful Jubilee weather - we had escaped inland as seaside campsites were looking scary! This site was an absolute pleasure even though the awful weather followed us - very warm, friendly welcome and offers of a huge range of things to borrow including BBQ'S ( people kept walking past with an amazing assortment of camping kit).

The scrumpy sounded delicious but we never managed to try it - I think we were sticking to hard liquor due to the weather!

Great location in a beautiful valley, we were on a sloping pitch, but no problem with chocs, and flatter pitches were in use by tents - the site try to match the pitch to the unit. Simple facilities, beautifully clean & lovely hot showers plus dishwashing & laundry facilities.

Plenty of space in the middle for ball games - a good get outdoors in the fresh air kind of site. Pretty walks from the site through meadows to the village pub - didn't get chance to try, but menu sounded lovely. I believe the pub accepts dogs.

We would love to return - apologies everyone, we ran away to a hotel for the last two nights of our holiday. 


Previous     102 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Batcombe Vale Campsite & Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Batcombe Vale Campsite & Camping?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Batcombe Vale Campsite & Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Shepton Mallet      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Somerset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5564 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement