Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Batcombe Vale Campsite & Camping

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Shepton Mallet > Batcombe Vale Campsite & Camping Reviews

Batcombe Vale Campsite & Camping
Batcombe
Shepton Mallet
Somerset   (Browse area)
BA4 6BW
Tel: 01749 372373
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 30
Open: 24 April - 20 September 2020

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 102 Reviews
                9/10 from 102 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  102 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ackclan 3 reviews from this member

 Having read the reviews we decided to visit and booked on speck 3 days before and managed to get two nights but would have liked more, especially when we arrived at the site and saw how nice it was.

The view was absolutely stunning as we approached the top of the very steep lane and it didn't disappoint as we got closer to the site. Our pitch was near the toilet block overlooking the boat lake and we couldn't have picked a better place to stay for the two nights. The manager was very helpful and checked regularly as he passed to make sure everyone and everything was ok and was especially helpful when we realised that we'd forgotten the valves for our air beds, lending us his own for the duration of our visit.

The main reason for the visit to the area was to visit Longleat, which was great, but we will definitely stay on the site again to explore the nearby countryside in greater depth.

The shower and toilet blocks were very clean and adequate for the site, better than many, with a freezer and washing-up facilities.

We will definitely visit again and recommend the site to friends. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nick+brats 6 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this site because of the reviews and the proximity to Longleat,and what a great decision. Gary and Barbara run a small but magnificent campsite, my granddaughter is very fussy about campsite toilets but she loved the Batcome vale facilities, and I was taken aback by the flowers in the gents, something we have never come across before. My grandson enjoyed the playing field and the boats were a fabulous extra. Large flat pitches, EHU, and plenty of water points, coupled with the most fabulous location and you have one of the nicest sites we have stayed at. And great weather too! 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wendywoo33 4 reviews from this member

 What a gem of a site! We had read the previous reviews and were hoping for a quiet, friendly, clean site - we were not disappointed!

The pitches are a good size and we were very pleased to be escorted by Barbara to our pitch. Even though the site was full at times, it really didn't sound like it. There is a field purposely set aside for ball games etc which helped to keep all the children in one place and as always with camping, children attract children (plus a few dads for the football!)

The boating lake is a huge hit and our daughter loved it - such a simple pleasure!

The toilet/washing up block is perfectly sufficient and very clean, fresh flowers by the sinks and plenty of loo rolls!

The owners were very friendly, always happy to answer any queries, recommended a fantastic local pub (The Bell Inn at Evercreech!).

Definitely visiting again and would highly recommend it to anyone wanting a traditional, peaceful camp site set in beautiful countryside. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Di+Phil 4 reviews from this member

 Well, what a beautiful place. After a warm and friendly welcome by Gary & Barbara we set up and decided to stay for another night and wish we could of stayed longer. For the price, it was a well presented site, very clean toilet block, small enough to be friendly but with very generous pitches. As its set in a vale, the peace and beauty is amazing.
For those without kids, the play area is away from the tents so you're not disturbed and the kids can have lots of noisy fun. We used the free rowing boats and it was a great laugh! Anytime we head back South we would definitely want to come back here, we have already recommended it to other fellow campers.
Thanks for a fabulous time, visited Longleat and Stonehenge and had dinner in a lovely pub called The Lamb Inn- 5 mins drive from campsite in Upton Noble. Well worth a visit 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Di+Phil 4 reviews from this member

 We camped at batcombe after reviewing the site online and found it amazing. The site is simple yet beautiful and we had a great time in the free rowing boats-though nearly fell in! We were due to stay just two nights but loved it so much asked to stay longer and lucky for us someone had cancelled so we were able to stay an extra night. If we were to come back to Somerset we would most definitely return here. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Honeydoll 3 reviews from this member

 Batcombe Vale is wonderful - lovely people, lovely site.

The facilities are spot on, pretty little lake with rowing boats, nice clean hot showers, washing facilities etc. Decent amount of space allocated for tent pitch. Brilliant for the kids.

Set in a beautiful little valley, Batcombe vale looks lovely at night with all the campers lanterns lit up.

So quiet at night - shame we only had the one evening there, but we will definitely be back. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Rowen 1 review from this member

 Just returned after two night stop at this delightful site. Just stop at the top of the entrance drive and take in the setting, you will not be disappointed. The drive down is a little steep, but no problem.

We were a bit apprehensive arriving late Friday evening following last weeks torrential downpours and going to a site with grass pitches, but we needn't have worried. Although you could clearly see the effects of the rain on the main driveways, the pitches themselves were in remarkably good condition.

We were welcomed by Gary and Barbara and shown where the amenities etc were. Gary took us to our pitch after first showing us where to fill our fresh water tank. He then came back with an extension lead for our hook up, all without having to ask - that's what I call service.

The site was full but you wouldn't realise it. We had no problem with the toilets or showers which were kept very clean. They are basic, and I'm not sure I would like to shower in the cold weather.

The site is perfect, in a fantastic location and you would be missing out if you failed to stop for a night or more.

All the facilities are as described both on the their website and in previous reviews. We will certainly recommend to friends and will definitely stay again. 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Twixthecat 41 reviews from this member

 Wow! Want a fantastic site! This is my ideal campsite.

Although we hadn't booked we popped into this site on the off chance on the way back from the South West coast to be close to visit Longleat the next day. We had a friendly greeting by Gary who was very informative and helpful.

The site is small but very well laid out with generous, individual, level pitches. The facilities were spotless and the first site I've been to with a vase of fresh flowers in the ladies (and gents I'm told!). The ladies had 2 toilets and 3 (hot, free and not push button!) showers plus 3 sinks and 2 other vanity mirrors - plenty for a site of this size. There were also 2 washing up sinks and a free to use freezer. As well as being spotlessly clean and ample facilities the toilet block was actually pretty - surrounded by flowers and ivy!

In the middle of this very pretty site is a mown field for games with a pathway to the small lake where you can borrow rowing boats free of charge. A great little extra that helps to make this site extra special.

Having been told by Gary when we checked in that there was a pub within walking distance we went to ask for directions. He gave very accurate directions and descriptions of the pubs and even lent us a map! We first headed to Evercreech to The Bell, as we had been told it was open all day and a 50minute walk through very pretty countryside, though (as predicted by Gary) at one farm the path seemed to peter out and so we took the exceedingly quiet road instead. The Bell was lovely and appeared to serve reasonably priced 'pub grub', though we just sampled the local real ale out in the little beer garden. We then headed to Batcombe and the 3 Horseshoes pub a pleasant 45-60minute walk along the very quiet and pretty but slightly hilly road. This was a nice country pub, but food was pricey (about 15 - 25 for main meals) and 'wordy' descriptions rather than plain pub food, so headed back on the 20 minute downhill walk back to the campsite. A gorgeous afternoon pub walk - highly recommended!

We only stayed one night before visiting Longleat and having to go back home. I really wish we could have stayed longer and would love to visit again. The best site I've visited yet and would definitely recommend for a relaxing break! 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kawasaki800 1 review from this member

 Just come back from spending a fab 4 days at this camp site, what can I say, it is an absolutely excellent site.
Friendly welcome, really good pitches, lovely toilets and showers. Very quiet, no traffic noise, beautiful country side.
Many thanks to Gary and Barbara for a lovely break, they run a fab site. 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kwarner 3 reviews from this member

 What a lovely site! What lovely owners! What lovely suroundings!

This was my first camp site experience and was very hestitant at the though of camping for 4 days.

On arrival we were made to feel extremely welcome and they reassured me that I would have a lovely time! After checking in, we were escorted to our pitch and told about the site.

After pitching our tent we explored the site which is set at the bottom of hills all around with amazing views, especially at sunset. There is a small boating lake with a few boats and is free to use and there is a lovely walk around the site.

The owners are incredibly knowledgable about the surrounding area and recommended many places. Any question we had or any query, they would be as helpful as possible. There were also bbq's and games which you were able to borrow during your stay.

The toilet facilites were basic but for someone who enjoys her home comforts, I was extremely happy with them and they were always clean!

All pitches appeared level despite the area being minimally hilly and the pitches were big enough to put your car next to them and have plenty more space to chill out.

We stayed over a bank holiday and even with the camp site being full, we did not notice a huge noise problem, just happy people enjoying a lovely break in a lovely environment. Fellow campers were very happy and friendly.

There is lots to do in the surrounding area from a safari park to beaches, caves, cider tasting.

This is one site that I would definitely recommend and I look forward to returning to it soon! 


Previous     102 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Batcombe Vale Campsite & Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Batcombe Vale Campsite & Camping?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Batcombe Vale Campsite & Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Shepton Mallet      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Somerset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


950 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement