Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Batcombe Vale Campsite & Camping

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Shepton Mallet > Batcombe Vale Campsite & Camping Reviews

Batcombe Vale Campsite & Camping
Batcombe
Shepton Mallet
Somerset   (Browse area)
BA4 6BW
Tel: 01749 372373
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 30
Open: 24 April - 20 September 2020

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 102 Reviews
                9/10 from 102 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  102 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Phade 13 reviews from this member

 We have just spent a lovely weekend here the site is one of the prettiest we have been to. The toilets are basic but are very clean, the owners were very friendly and helpful. Pitches were a good size but the lane down to the site was very steep and narrow. It was very dog friendly nice walks around lakes and also use of fields but you have to share it with the cows. Will definitely be back 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Trigo 2 reviews from this member

 Great campsite in stunning location but quite isolated except if visiting Longleat Park. Pitches surround an open space which the children used for cricket and football. On the campsite were three lakes one of which you can fish from and the other had rowing boats that adults and children could use as when they wish. Toilet facilties adequate but basic. A very relaxing and peaceful time was had by all. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Rustyktb 4 reviews from this member

 Just spent a week at this campsite and would recommend it.
It was raining when we arrived which wasn't a problem and once we had sorted the camper out, Gary, one of the wardens, came and gave us a flat piece of wood to put near our step as the ground was a bit muddy! The pitches are a decent size and no-one seemed overcrowded, just a nice sized site. In the middle of the site, down in a dip, is a flat grassed area which is set aside for the children to play about on.
There is no play area but you can play ball games etc. Without bothering other campers.
There is only one toilet block and the washing up area can get a bit busy (and run out of hot water!) The showers were clean and we found it best to use them in the evening as the water was hotter.
The boating lake is a great idea. There are four rowing boats that you can use free of charge. The wardens are quite strict on behaviour and the times they can be used(approx 8.30am - 8-8.30pm)
We visited Wells which is a pretty historical place but our main reason for staying was to visit Longleat. This is well worth going to. We purchased passport tickets using Tesco clubcard points before our holiday. Most people seemed to have a passport ticket which is a good idea as we went two days running so we could take our time and fit everything in. If you visit the safari and go in with the monkeys be warned they will get on your car, I had my Ariel chewed but some people did have their trim pulled off!
Frome, which isn't too far a drive from the site, had a large Asda which was handy for shopping and for cheaper fuel.
Would definitely visit again. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Slbct 1 review from this member

 This is a great site to visit.  We have just returned and our purpose of stay was to go to Longleat (which was great).  The site is very good, facilities eg showers, toilets, washing up could do with being updated but all in all very clean and tidy area. 
 
Our kids loved the wide open space which they could play on but unfortunately we only stayed 2 nights (because of the wet weather) so they did not get to go on the FREE boats on the boating lake.  There is a very nice walk along the 4 lakes which are near the site.  The owners are very helpful told us of shops and restaurants to visit.  Very good site, will be back.  Only hope weather is better next time.  


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Johnhopkin 7 reviews from this member

 What a fantastic site! We only booked for a weekend and regretted not booking a longer stay as soon as we arrived. The owners are friendly and very helpful, the pitches are large and toilet facilities etc are all good. The boating pond is a definite plus and we had trouble getting the kids off the boats!
 
The proximity to Longleat was the reason we booked here as it is only about 20 minutes away. There are excellent Indian and Chinese takeaways in the village of Batcombe.
 
Overall an excellent campsite which we will definitely revisit given half the chance very soon.
 
Thankyou for an excellent weekend! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: CarolineB 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for just over a week with three kids aged 11, 8 and 3 and our dog. We had read the reviews on this website so had high expectations but were still impressed and delighted when we saw the site. All the positives others have mentioned are true, the site is beautifully landscaped and very well looked after.
 
After nine days here none of us wanted to leave, the campsite itself was brilliant but is also well positioned for local attractions and walks. We did easy day trips to Longleat, Wookey Hole, Glastonbury, Stourhead House and Cheddar Gorge.
 
The site is big enough that it never felt crowded, even when full. Because there are only 30 pitches you see the same faces all the time and it had a very friendly feel.
 
The owners were helpful and friendly and always around. In the reception there was lots of info on the area (including maps to the local pubs, which we borrowed).
 
We never had to queue for the facilities although the hot water does run out in the morning rush so planning a shower for any other time of day, when hot water was ample, would be a good idea. There are signs in the shower block about the hot water so we were forewarned.
 
The facilities for the children were just wonderful. The boats were a big hit with all three- the older ones went to and fro the lake on their own- and they could feed the ducks and even the numerous carp from their boat. The lack of a 'playground' was a big positive for us, it encouraged the children to explore and socialize with other children. My 8 year old really bonded with no. 80 the cow in the adjoining field!
 
We were sited right next to a gate into the field where we could exercise our dog off the lead. We used a local kennel in Bruton for 'daycare' for three of our day trips and she was very happy there.
 
I honestly can't think how this site could be improved, it is lovely and if you get a chance to stay here (it's very popular), take it!  


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Johnrodgers 1 review from this member

 After a horrendous drive down the M5, through Bristol and down the A37 we dived into the countryside, crested the hill and turning left at the sign were greeted by a hidden vale nestling in the heart of deepest Somerset. The owners were welcoming, efficient and gave good advice and we had a great pitch for the night. The boating lake was a super focal point and the numerous children could row, race around the paths and glades and basically run themselves into the ground by night time. Our little nipper genuinely didn't want to leave. Who was the curmudgeon who thought this should be adult only?
 
There are some charming walks down the valley in idyllic surroundings and the views, especially from the top of the campsite are stunning; we could see Glastonbury Tor and as far as the Quantocks (or at least we think so!).
 
Despite the site being full it never appeared crowded and we had no problems with the pristine W.C.'s and showers. Overall it's top marks from us. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Caz890 8 reviews from this member

 We have just come back from a great stay at this lovely site.  It is situated in a lovely valley.  Our boys loved the boating lake and playing on the grass area with other children.  This site was full of children and was a great place for them.
 
We had no problems at all with queueing for the facilities, as it was August, the site was full all week, but only had a bit of a wait to wash up, but not too much.
 
The wardens were really helpful and were available for information or a chat about the area.  We shopped at the shop attached to the garage in Batcombe which wasnt too expensive.
 
All in all, we loved this site and hope to return in the future. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sarabyrne 3 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely site - very pretty and very peaceful. The site was full when we were there, but we never had any problem with lack of hot water, and I thought the showers were good and it was nice that they are free. Also there is a power point in the ladies for a hairdryer. Gary and Barbara are very helpful and friendly, and the site is within easy reach of many attractions - I can recommend the West Somerset Railway to Minehead. The kids that were on the site made a noise when they were playing but were not a problem. We are planning to go back because we didn't have long enough to see everything!
 


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Frootbat68 6 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this campsite for 2 nights.
 
It is probably the prettiest, quietest place we have stayed.
 
Friendly, helpful owners.
 
We had a good sized pitch (I emailed Gary our tent dimensions before we booked), we stayed on pitch 13 and it was only a short walk to the toilets/showers etc, there's one block.
 
Toilets/showers I can only review the Ladies as my other half always forgets how many there are once he's home!
 
So for ladies:
3 showers
2 toilets
3 wash basins
2 electric sockets for hairdryers etc
 
Although they were very clean I found them a bit basic and the shower block itself was a little cold as its open at either end so plenty of fresh air! Showers were a bit on the 'weedy' side and the hot water didn't last long but I didn't ever have a cold shower although I think I was close on the last morning and I showered before 9am. Even though we visited in the summer holidays on a weekend I never had to queue for a shower which was great.
 
Nice walks around the campsite, boating lake but we didn't get to use the boats as they were always in use (I was secretly pleased about this, not keen on rowing boats).
 
No rowdiness on the site, very quiet at night and during the day. I'd definitely return.
 
Nearly forgot to say don't go to Shepton Mallet for something to eat early on Saturday evening as nothing is open apart from a fish and chip restaurant (although that was ok) Frome is much better.  


Previous     102 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Batcombe Vale Campsite & Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Batcombe Vale Campsite & Camping?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Batcombe Vale Campsite & Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Shepton Mallet      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Somerset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5265 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement