Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Batcombe Vale Campsite & Camping

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Shepton Mallet > Batcombe Vale Campsite & Camping Reviews

Batcombe Vale Campsite & Camping
Batcombe
Shepton Mallet
Somerset   (Browse area)
BA4 6BW
Tel: 01749 372373
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 30
Open: 24 April - 20 September 2020

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 102 Reviews
                9/10 from 102 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  102 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Miss Stacey 4 reviews from this member

 Just back from 4 totally relaxing days in one of the prettiest campsites I have ever stayed. Each pitch offers a spectacular view. The surrounding vales and countryside seem to go on and on as far as the eye can see, and the sunsets are simply breathtaking. It's as if time has stopped looking at these magnificent views, until the unmistakeable rumble of a tractor in the distance reminds you which era you're in.

It's not a site for bikes (just see the steep access road in and out!) Instead, pack a decent pair of walking boots as there's many a good walk to be done. We did @ 4 miles but chatting with our fellow campers, each walk seems to pass by the only pub within walking distance (@ 1 mile) 'the 3 Horseshoes'. With its superb food, atmosphere and welcome from Bob the landlord; it's a must!

Other reviews have stated the facilities as basic. Personally, I found them spotlessly clean and more than adequate. Outside you will find a small freezer to store ice-packs free of charge. There's also a small rotary washing line to hang your towels on after your morning shower!

If you're into fishing, then this is for you. Even if you are not, then take one of the rowing-boats out on the lake - it's all free of charge! And, don't forget the bread: there's plenty of charismatic ducks around which need feeding!

Gary and Barbara who manage the site are always on hand and very approachable.

If the weather isn't with you, then nearby there's plenty to do: Fleet Air Arm Museum, Haynes Motor Museum and Cheddar Gorge to name but a few.

The only downside to our trip was having to leave! We will definitely be back! 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jonese 1 review from this member

 This camping holiday with my husband and three children (ages 12, 9 and 4) has been one of - if not my happiest - camping holiday. The campsite of about 30 tents / caravans, is set in a pretty countryside valley of trees and fishing lakes. It provided our children with a rural playground including central playing field (.Easy to keep an eye on the youngest), boating lake, ducks, fish, climbing tree, and space to roam and play.

Facilities we used were all good - toilets, showers, washing up, freezer for cool box blocks, clothes drying line, with managers Gary and Barbara always on site, and helpful. Little car movement around the site, and quiet at night. Also electric hook up.

This is a campsite that is thoughtful - a lovely place where our children wanted to play all day long with their new found friends, and where we relaxed. Simple countryside camping.

A gate from the campsite leads to country walks along the river - also good for running. Small but adequate Co op supermarket - 5 minutes drive to Evercreech. Well placed to visit Cheddar and Bath (which we did), and Longleat (for next time). 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sharrocks 1 review from this member

 Visiting this Beautiful campsite was like stepping back in time, all kids electronic devices were abandoned and our two boys aged 9 and 12 spent their days climbing trees, playing in the boats, making dens and playing football with their new friends and fishing in the well stocked lakes and following well marked footpaths through surrounding countryside with us.

Gary and Barbara were kind and helpful, particularly as I had messed up our booking and booked for April instead of August! They managed to fit us in (we were very lucky there was space) and Gary even helped us move pitch on the second day. The toilet block, although not modern, was clean and well maintained. The warm welcome and small simple nature of the site seemed to add to the friendly atmosphere, the good weather helped too.

We will definitely return - booking the correct dates next time! 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Thecharnicks 1 review from this member

 Really landed on our feet with this one! What a fantastic site, couldn't believe it when we turned off the road onto the site, a real haven and the owners seemed to be the nicest people you could meet. The pitch we had was a really good size.
Didn't come with our kids but, judging from the kids there, it was a brilliant place for them to play.
The loos/showers were basic but always clean, did think there wasn't much hot water in the shower but found out a couple of days in I was turning the tap the wrong way. D'oh!
A basic shop would have been a small plus but it didn't kill us to drive to the nearest shop. The Natterjack pub is a great place with good food and a friendly owner that isn't a long drive away. If you are looking for a peaceful, relaxed break Batcombe Vale is the place to go. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Keanos 3 reviews from this member

 What a wonderful, beautiful place. We had three children who spent there time making arrows from sticks, rowing on the boats and feeding the ducks, whilst the adults enjoyed the break from the kids, the scrumpy and the relaxation! I have stayed at many campsites over the years and this one is by far the most beautiful I have ever camped on. There a four fishing lakes and a lovely walk around them all. Gary and Barbara were always on hand and even settled a bet for us on how many pitches were on site (my sister-in-law won at 33!).

Only two slightly small criticisms, we arrived at 12.00am only to be told that we could not set up until after 2.00pm, we were not made aware of this previously however we made best use of the time in The Horseshoe Inn! and, as mentioned previously, a shop would make this the 'perfect' place to be. We did spend quite a bit of time driving to get supplies of food, beer, ice etc.

The toilet block was clean and adequate however it could do with a little modernising. There were only two female toilets for the whole campsite and the toilet roll supply ran out on one occasion but all in all a little gem. Thanks Gary and Barbara. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wendywoo33 4 reviews from this member

 Just back from a challenging but excellent week at Batcombe (our second visit)

The weather has been grim with constant rain at times for a few days on end but as my 8 year old explained 'its what you expect when you go camping'.

The site continues to be lovingly maintained by Gary on his tractor who was defeating the Weather Gods by trying his best to keep the pitches in good order. Given how muddy some of the pitches became, he did a brilliant job and I was impressed with how clean the toilets/showers etc were kept, despite the amount of mud around.

The owners, Gary and Barbara, were, as ever, friendly and helpful - they have the perfect balance between running the site professionally but not too sternly. You know they are there to help but they are not on constant surveillance. The site had a lovely, family atmosphere - the children enjoying the playing field (who needs entertainment when you've got a field!) and the boating lake (even in the rain).

We ate twice (to get out of the rain) at the Bell in Evercreech, which is nearby. Definitely, definitely worth visiting - the food is superb and the staff are excellent.

The campsite is in such a beautiful location, I think we've been spoilt. If you're looking for a bustly, action-packed, lively campsite - this isn't for you. If you want a well-maintained, professionally-run, clean, friendly campsite - we'd recommend it.

Definitely going back! Thanks Gary and Barbara. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: 4Prendys 2 reviews from this member

 This site is run by 2 of the nicest people who work hard and provide a secluded neat tidy extremely beautiful site for their visitors. The scrumpy is worth a try for the hardened drinkers, the lakes are full of fish and the cows couldn't be friendlier.The rain however.Must have been in Gods hands telling us to get a watertight tent. Which is where were going next! Gary and Barbara thank you for having us! 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jimllfixowt 4 reviews from this member

 This is a camp site with a view! no matter where you pitch the scenery is great.

This had a good mix of caravans and tents as well as visitors from abroad. Very cosmopolitan.

The campsite owners are friendly and we settled in great.

The toilet block was a let down. This is open to the elements and as such it is riddled with spiders and creepy crawlies that spook little ones and other halves. You have to be lightning quick to get to the shower before the hot water runs out and there is no way of drying your hands after a visit to the loo unless you take your own towel.

The ladies toilets and showerblock seemed to be much, much cleaner than the mens but lacking in hand dryers too.

There is one clothes line which was always busy too. It would probably be better not to have one at all as it was causing a bit of debate.

Great site if you can hold it all in. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tcheuki 5 reviews from this member

 Truly a beautiful campsite in a wonderful location. Just returned from a 10 day stay in The Vale, a place which I believe reflects the tender love and care its owners put into it. Batcombe vale is a well run sight with large pitches, with clean and adequate facilities. The owners of the sight were very friendly and approachable, but not intrusive. They were always available to provide information in relation to services and attractions in the local area.

The campsite environment was beautifully kept,with adequate shading from mature trees. There was also a beautiful boating pond complete with free rowing boats, ducks and carp. Feeding the ducks whilst rowing was a big hit with my daughter and a good way to burn off all the extra calories courtesy of the local scrumpy.

The pitches were level and well drained and despite extended periods of wet weather during our stay remained relatively firm underfoot. The site was also situated well for local attractions such as Glastonbury, Longleat Safari Park and Bath. The were also clearly marked public footpaths, which provided good walking roung the local area. The local pub could be reached in a twenty minute walk. If there is any criticism, which I find difficult to think of, it would be that the female toilet and shower facilities could become stretched, particularly in the morning. Also in this age of portable electronic devices it may be an idea to provide some sort of facility to recharge these devices.

These criticisms are, however, minor and did not detract from the relaxing, peaceful beautiful and unique environment of Batcombe Vale. I would and indeed hope to return one day. 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dannydan 1 review from this member

 Awesome place! so peaceful and beautiful! Lovely people and settings, nice big pitches, good facilities. The fishing is really good, especially for carp as is the free rowing. Small and intimate site where everyone is friendly and everything is a small walk away. Loved the fishing!

The owners gary and barbara are really friendly and helpful, they go out of their way to help you.

We really did not want to leave at the end of our stay and will be returning!

If they had a small shop it would be perfect.

My wife who is not a 'camping' person absolutely loved it as much as I did! 


Previous     102 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Batcombe Vale Campsite & Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Batcombe Vale Campsite & Camping?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Batcombe Vale Campsite & Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Shepton Mallet      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Somerset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4467 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement