Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Batcombe Vale Campsite & Camping

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Shepton Mallet > Batcombe Vale Campsite & Camping Reviews

Batcombe Vale Campsite & Camping
Batcombe
Shepton Mallet
Somerset   (Browse area)
BA4 6BW
Tel: 01749 372373
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 30
Open: 24 April - 20 September 2020

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 102 Reviews
                9/10 from 102 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  102 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Servoman 1 review from this member

 Just back from Batcombe vale, what a beautiful little site. First time camping in England for us and really enjoyed the experience. The site itself was very quiet which was what we were looking for. Barbera and Gary were always friendly and happy to help with local info.
Nearest pub, the Three Horseshoes, served us a lovely meal but on the negative side it was a bit Royston Vasey (that could just be me being paranoid). Also make sure you get directions from Barbara as we walked the main roads and it was extremely hilly to say the least.
On a slightly negative note regarding the site itself as mentioned by the previous reviewer, it could do with a little shop. But personally I loved it. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: The Etheridges 3 reviews from this member

 We went to this site at the end of the May half term holiday. Weather was fab and so was the site. The approach road gives a wonderful view of the valley and we had a nice welcome and were shown to a really good sized plot (I didn't see any that weren't) for our 6 man tent.

The site was full, but the facilities were always clean and I never had to queue for a shower. The only site I have been to with fresh flowers in the toilets. The kids play area is just a field, but the children just got on with making up their own games. I liked the fact that the families seemed to be given pitches overlooking the play area, whilst the couples (probably to their relief!) were given more secluded outer pitches.

The children LOVED the free rowing boats and feeeding ducks / fish from the boat.

In very close reach of Longleat, which was fun and had a good morning in Wells which is also nearby. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Debsmill 6 reviews from this member

 Just got back from a fab weekend at Batcombe Vale. The approach road down to this site is an absolute joy! Surrounded by rolling hills, farms and countryside this really is a gem of a site. Arrival was made easy by Barbara showing us to our level very well maintained pitch. Both Gary and Barbara were on hand with all the info you required and even lent us an extension for the EHU as our lead didn't quite reach the power.

If you are looking for a small site in very peaceful surroundings then this site is definitely for you. Beautiful walks all around with a real back to nature feel. The boating lake was a real hit with our 2 children and they spent hours happily in their boat and feeding the ducks!

The toilet facilities were spotlessly clean -if only a bit exposed. This was fine in the fab weather we've just had, but may be more of an issue if it were cold. The site was full but never had to queue for one of the 3 showers and 2 toilets. Note to the owners- you could do with having a small child's step for the basins so that the little one's could reach to wash hands.

The only one addition I would make if it were possible is to maybe sell a few essentials ie. Bread, milk, eggs etc.

Bruton is a beautiful village and well worth a wander round and the surrounding villages are all very pretty. I will be returning to this site very soon - Thank you Gary and Barbara. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: The Pearce Family 3 reviews from this member

 We have just come back from a fab weekend helped by the brilliant weather. What a great site. This is what a camp site should be. No noisy club house / bar just people having a good time enjoying the fab surroundings.
Great walks to both Evercreech and Batcombe to 2 great pubs. Well maintained site. Pitch had nice short grass with plenty of space. Can't find any faults apart from the toilets could do with paper towels or a hand dryer. This site comes highly recommended. We will visit again. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gazkelclaffey 1 review from this member

 Myself, my wife and our young son chose this website thanks to it close proximity to Longleat and I feel we dropped lucky. We stayed Monday to Wednesday and the site was quiet and peaceful

Gary and Barbara that run the site genuinely went out of their way to help during our stay, particularly when we realised we'd left our stove at home and Gary kindly provided one he had put to one side for just such and occasion, simply asking for a donation to his charity box in return.

The setting was also beautiful and excellently maintained with the boating lake being particularly fun.

If I was to be critical if/when the site was busy the facilities may struggle under the pressure as there are only two washing sinks, and in the male side 2 showers (I didn't frequent the ladies so can't say). But they were kept clean and hot water was available at all times. My only other minor gripe was that there was not a swing/slide area for kids just a bit of a football pitch

The site is within easy driving distance to many of the local attractions and the village of Bruton is particularly close for minor needs and Shepton Mallett just a small bit further for anything major.

All in all this is a site my wife and I would happily use again and could recommend to friends that were looking for a clean quiet camp site. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Twixthecat 41 reviews from this member

 Our second visit to this site, this time bringing a first time camper - a perfect site for a novice!

Toilet block immaculately clean and never had to queue for a shower or loo.

Bruton is a 5 minute drive away for provisions. When we visited on Saturday afternoon we found open a couple of Londis types shops, the 'Country Market' at the petrol station and a deli. Though a few more shops and a butchers they were closed in the afternoon. We also went up to Shepton Mallet on Sunday where we found a Tesco's, Boots and Argos but not much else. Out the other side of Shepton Mallet, up the hill there was a builder merchants selling camping supplies, gas etc - a very handy find!

We then had a fantastic row on the lake and walked up to Evercreech across the fields for a tasty (huge but only 7.95) Sunday roast at The Bell (serve food til 6pm Sunday). Then rolled the 50 minutes back!

Another wonderful stay at a perfect site. Highly recommended. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sjray 11 reviews from this member

 We stayed at Batcombe Vale for a our second trip away and mainly for its proximity to Longleat. This is surely what every camp site should be like.

We were welcomed by Gary who showed us to our pitch and gave us a run through on the amenities. Straight away I sent the kids to the boating lake while we set up the tent.

The location and scenery is great. The shower block is partially open to the elements but still good and clean.

We used Batcombe Vale as a base to visit Longleat, Weymouth, Monkey World and Haynes Motor Museum.

A very peaceful and picturesque site. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Happydad 7 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely site although we booked for 3 nights and could only stay for 2 due to the awful weather.

We arrived in a downpour and our pitch looked like it had been under water for days. The toilets are lovely and clean and the boating lake is lovely with free boats.You can also freeze your ice packs for no charge which is a nice touch.

The owners are very friendly and our only gripe was with the waterlogged pitch but we still enjoyed ourselves. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mkb1664 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for a week in August when the weather was less than nice!

The owners were really nice, always happy to have a chat and tell us about the area and make sure we were all OK.

Lovely large pitches which were level and grassy, bordered by a gravel road which meant that even when it was raining it wasn't far to get to a bit of ground that you could walk on without getting too wet!

The toilet block was basic but very clean and with plenty of hot water when it was needed. The washing up area was great too, lots of space. There were fresh flowers in both the Lady's and Gents.

The views from the campsite and of the campsite were beautiful, the approach is via a steep drive which goes down the side of the valley that the campsite nestles in, giving wonderful views of the site, lakes and into the distance.

One of our party was a fisherman and he spent quite a while fishing in the lakes which were well stocked.

The gardens around the lake were also very beautiful. Plenty of wildlife, ducks, herons, rabbits etc.

We visited the Bell Inn in Evercreech on the recommendation of the owners one night and were very glad we did, lovely food and nice atmosphere.

Overall we were very happy we stayed here, even though it rained most of the time and we left a BIG mud patch in the middle of our pitch! 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dervlfc 6 reviews from this member

 Stayed at this site for 10 days and loved it. Toilets and showers basic but spotlessly clean at all times. The views are spectacular as you approach the campsite and the grounds themselves are lovely we had many a walk around all of the lakes and fed the ducks on numerous occasions (and the fish).
We did not go on the rowing boats but what a fabulous idea to keep the children entertained. The site is quite close to pubs and supermarkets too which was great and I would definitely recommend the fish and chip restaurant in nearby Shepton Mallet (Winsboroughs I think it was called).
We had read reviews for the site before we stayed and were not disappointed we had many a great day out as this site is central to lots of attractions the obvious one being Longleat we also went to Fleet air arms museum, Haynes motor museum etc all in all a fabulous holiday would definitely recommend this site to anyone visiting Somerset. 


Previous     102 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Batcombe Vale Campsite & Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Batcombe Vale Campsite & Camping?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Batcombe Vale Campsite & Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Shepton Mallet      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Somerset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6279 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement