Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Batcombe Vale Campsite & Camping

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Shepton Mallet > Batcombe Vale Campsite & Camping Reviews

Batcombe Vale Campsite & Camping
Batcombe
Shepton Mallet
Somerset   (Browse area)
BA4 6BW
Tel: 01749 372373
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 30
Open: 24 April - 20 September 2020

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 102 Reviews
                9/10 from 102 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  102 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Gwhea56635 9 reviews from this member

 Fantastic peaceful site within easy reach of Wells and Bruton. The pitches are large and very well maintained. Facilities are very clean and a small range of charcoal and scrumpy cider is available on site. Special mention to the very friendly owners who always have a smile. Not surprising when they spend so much time in a gorgeous setting. There is a boating lake on site with free boats and plenty of good walks for dogs. The three horseshoes pub nearby serves good food and welcomes dogs. A lovely site and we will return. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: CaliforniaKid 5 reviews from this member

 We stayed here with our newly acquired VW California camper and experience of only one other campsite with the van and our two kids, aged 1 and 3 plus a black labrador.

The site manager is very friendly and laid back which is very much in keeping with the campsite itself. It's a pretty setting on an ex farm with a boating lake and a rural feel to the place.

Pitches are large, well grassed, very effectively drained and very well kept although not particularly level - our kids ended up squished at one end of their bed in the night - and the site facilities are reasonably good. Although not very modern, it all seems to work fairly well with showers, clothes washing facilities and decent washing up sinks.

There's a small boating lake and a rather sloping playing field for entertainment but the boats were out of the water.

The site is possibly a little pricey and a long way from any shops for essentials (two miles) but otherwise it's a pleasant, peaceful place to stay. 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: AUSTINS 9 reviews from this member

 Oh that this site was open all year??? we wish.

Maybe it could be difficult to negotiate the driveway both in and out on the steep hill, but I can think off no nicer place to be in hot sunshine or deep crisp snow. The site is all that people say about it. Each pitch is large, and noise is not a bother. Kids have plenty of room to play, exactly how it used to be when I was a child. Sure the toilets are oldish. But boy oh boy are they clean, fresh flowers, push hand soap, electric points for driers, tongs etc. The showers. Well I don't, that's just me, the old man however says they are the best. I have never in three x 1 week stays ever seen a miserable face. Even in the pouring rain. This place is heaven. Should I post this or not. Could be that next time I try to book it will be full??? Hit the button... I am the type who has always shared the good things in life. ENJOY. But not too often promise me.  


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Davey01 5 reviews from this member

 A lovely site with fab facilities. The lakes were great, especially the boating lake for the kids. Lots of photographic oppertunities with ducks parading around the site for their breakfast and late afternoon snacks.

The walk across the fields to Batcombe and The Three Horseshoes is entertaining in itself. A few rope swings and some miniature horses to pet. If you run out of BBQ charcoal you can buy some off Gary along with some really nice cider!

We were there for 3 days and, other than Batcombe Village, just enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere with no particular place to go.

There were, however, a few villages nearby which we may explore next time. Quite a few dog owners.

Would highly recommend this site and hope to return in the new year. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cathj 2 reviews from this member

 This is a great site, very friendly and helpful wardens who even helped fix my camping stove after it broke the day we arrived. There is plenty of space and you don't feel crowded by other units.

Children can play down by the small lake or in the sizable grassed play area. There are plenty of walks from the site and as mentioned in a previous post a river at the bottom of the valley.

Useful for washing the dog who thought she had arrived in heaven after rolling in the stuff that cows leave behind!

If you want a site where you can sit and what nature in action this is the one. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dsepaisley 2 reviews from this member

 This is by far the most picturesque campsite we have stayed at. Set in its own valley with a couple of beautiful fishing lakes and a boating lake. The tent pitches are spacious and planting provides an air of privacy seldom achieved at other sites.

The toilet\shower block is dated but very clean and has an alfresco theme with climbing plants which adds to the sites character. The owner was extremely helpful and I would highly recommend a jug of his scrumpy. In short this is a fantastic site which we will be visiting again 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Claire1073 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a wonderful week at Batcombe Vale. Beautiful site with good size pitches and basic but clean and well maintained toilets and showers.

Our children loved the rowing boats and the ducks that wandered round every day hoping to be fed.

Gary and Barbara were always about and happy to suggest routes or places to visit (ask for a map to get to the pub across the fields - the road is steep!)

This site is a great base for a lot of the attractions as it is centrally located. Would come back to this site if we were visiting this part of the country again. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Caz21 11 reviews from this member

 A wonderful campsite - we have just returned from 3 nights stay here, and it felt like a week. Very peaceful (even with Glastonbury Festival just a few miles away), beautiful setting and such friendly hosts.

Unlike a previous reviewer I found the facilities more than adequate. Personally I prefer a campsite that has fresh water, toilets, showers, somewhere to wash dishes and somewhere to freeze icepacks and no more.

I like the water to be hot and the facilities to be clean. I liked the quirkiness of the toilet/shower block and the gents have a stunning view across the lakes! Please don't upgrade them by building a new block, it would completely change the character of the site.

If I was to find one small niggle it would be that due to amphitheatre nature of the site noise travels amazingly well, and we could hear the conversations the couple were having together on the opposite side of the site (and they were talking at normal volume!) 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Claire1607 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a lovely Easter weekend trip to Batcombe Vale. We chose the site due to it's proximity to Longleat (about 15mins away) but were really impressed by the site itself on our arrival.

We had a really big pitch at the top of the site which was ideally placed to watch our young children on the grassy area below. The dogs were also made to feel very welcome with several fields surrounding the site where they are more than welcome to run free. There is also the river at the bottom of the site where they can have a swim.

Although the site is only small and was fully booked whilst we were there it didn't feel busy at all. The pitches were all of a good size which meant that you had some degree of privacy.

The grassed areas are beautifully maintained and the toilets are spotless. These are basic but clean and hot - what more do you need!?

As mentioned the nearest pub is about a mile away down the river. They were also very welcoming and we enjoyed a nice, if a little pricey, meal.

There are plenty of supermarkets within 15 minutes or a well stocked co-op in Bruton.

All in all a lovely stay - we left with both our girls (4 & 3) crying 'we don't want to go home'! I can give no higher recommendation than that! 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Anniemc 1 review from this member

 Just back from a fabulous 4 day stay at Batcombe Vale - our first trip out in our caravan. Centrally placed for exploring Somerset.

Gary and Barbara were there to show us to our pitch and assisted with our set up. Pitch was a great size.

The site itself is beautiful - small, but distinct enough pitches not to feel overcrowded. Landscaping and site is beautifully maintained by Gary - rich luscious grassed pitches (it was the first opening week this season), grassed central area at the bottom of the vale for children to play on. Boating and fishing lakes to meander around and sit in the sunshine. Dogs allowed on leads, and several surrounding hills to allow the dog off (avoiding the cows !)

Toilet / shower facilities as mentioned before, but lovely hot water and didn't have to queue.

There is a steep approach down into the Vale / Site, with a sharp turn at the entrance, but don't be put off by this, Gary was happy to assist with instructions.

If you are looking for somewhere which is small and friendly. This could be the place. If you're looking for playgrounds, bars on site etc. Possibly not for you !

Will definitely return again. 


Previous     102 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Batcombe Vale Campsite & Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Batcombe Vale Campsite & Camping?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Batcombe Vale Campsite & Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Shepton Mallet      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Somerset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


833 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement