Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Batcombe Vale Campsite & Camping

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Somerset > Shepton Mallet > Batcombe Vale Campsite & Camping > Reviews

Batcombe Vale Campsite & Camping
Batcombe
Shepton Mallet
Somerset   (Browse area)
BA4 6BW
Tel: 01749 372373
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 30
Open: 29/04/2022 to 24/09/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 106 Reviews
                9/10 from 106 Reviews

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  106 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lvissd 1 review from this member

 What can we say about Dominic, Well a delightful person and really helpful. She had a sparkle and that radiated through into the Site.

I saw kingfishers, dragon flies, damsels, countless butterflies, so beautiful here and quiet.

The location 10, Host 10, Nature 10.

Weíll be back Iím Sure.

Hot Showers and Toilets. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 9 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Kazzie 1 review from this member

 Beautiful place, quiet, tranquil and right away from it all kinda place.

Owners really helpful and friendly, always willing to answer any questions.

They kept the facilities clean and stocked.

They are keeping the site friendly to nature allowing to it repair and grow.

Going back again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Shanno 1 review from this member

 Beautiful, quiet location in a rolling hills vale. Clean and tidy. Good level pitches for camping and the odd small camper van. Good toilet and shower facilities with no charge (however charge for camping is fairly high).

They accept dogs, which for us, a family with dogs, was essential. The people running it were very pleasant and helpful. Very family centric, easy for kids to make new friends and have adventures in the large meadow spaces and boating lake.

My only criticism would be that the facilities for recycling could be better. They were not marked in a clear way, and although provided, it transpired that there were four large bins for general rubbish and only a very small crate for glass and plastic recycling.

The result was that the bins were full of recycling, particularly glass bottles.

The site needs a proper recycling contract with it's waste contractor, with designated bins provided. 


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Johnfu 1 review from this member

 Excellent campsite, but the only downside was the distance and logistics getting to the fishing Lakes,

Easier car access would have made the experience better. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: VWT2GEL 7 reviews from this member

 Loads of positives about this site as mentioned in a lot of the reviews which I agree with a lot but just a few things which didnít add up on our visit.

The lady that runs it is very abrupt and has no idea of any of the surrounding areas and only knows where the pub is, she seemed very stressed for a place of only about 30 pitches.

On their website it says you can use fire pits but it doesnít mention itís only their fire pits & wood you can use which you obviously have to pay for and for a site thatís not cheap we thought that was a bit tight.

They have a lot of family visitors with young children who are automatically drawn towards the big duck pond but no sign of any life rings around it or the free rowing boats they keep mentioning maybe to do with Covid 19 but why no life rings around the pond?

Tip is if you want quiet ask for double number pitches. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Helliejonnysnoop13 1 review from this member

 Simply stunning. We travelled over 4 hours in the middle of the night to get there! It was worth every mile. Everything was perfect please don't change a thing. This site is so idyllic. If you want peace and quiet, stunning views then this is the place. Wardens are very helpful nothing is to much trouble 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bevthorne 2 reviews from this member

 Stunning. Beautiful. A little piece of heaven. We stayed here for one night on our journey home from Cornwall, we only wished that we were able to stay for longer. The pitches are all on different levels, and surrounded by a variety of mature trees and plants. The jasmine in particular was wonderful. Rather than use this place as a base for exploring the local area, I would probably be more inclined to remain on site and soak up the beauty and tranquillity of the place. We had two teenagers with us who were happy to do just that. The lake with the free rowing boats was fun, they were content to play cards after that and were very reluctant to leave. Although I can imagine that it might not be to everyone's taste, we loved the toilet/shower/washing up area. It's more undercover than indoors, but it is very well thought out, and fits in beautifully with the campsite. We will definitely be regular visitors here. Just writing about the place has filled me with a lovely feeling of peace and tranquillity. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Magmar 32 reviews from this member

 This is a campsite in an absolutely stunning and beautiful location. Lovely grass pitches, amazing wild life and birdsong and so peaceful at night. The toilet and shower facilities were kept very clean even though they are a little rustic. However they do fit well in the setting of the site. Chemical waste disposal, W/M & T/D together with a free to use freezer (for ice packs and ice cream etc) are all available. Plus 2 w/u sinks complete with hot water. Dog friendly with some lovely walks around the site. Fishing is also available as is boating on a small lake which is FOC for the children, together with a reasonable play area with some simple goal posts. We understand that caravans are now going to be discouraged from using the site due to both the tight access at the bottom of the very steep lane that descends into the Vale. Our only criticism was the cost we felt that £22 per night for tent 2 adults and a dog no EHU was a bit steep. The previous 2/3 nights we had paid the same amount for a 5* site in Cornwall with fully heated and superbly appointed facilities. However the owners employ 2 really great wardens to run the site and this must have an effect on the charges made. Despite that we will return to this gem of a campsite. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: PanzerAttack 1 review from this member

 Upon arrival we were warmly greeted by Andy and Jude (Site wardens). Having been directed to our pitch we had to wait a short while till the rain passed. Thankfully we then had glorious sunshine while we set about pitching our tent.

The pitch we were given (number 19) was very spacious allowing for plenty of room for our medium sized tent, windbreak, chairs, table, BBQ, car etc.

The site itself is set down in a valley that is the most beautifully tranquil scenic place for a campsite.

Although it was just my partner and I that stayed there is enough for kids to do there with a decent sized playing field and loads of space to explore

There are very adequate toilet and washing facilities on site which are kept spotlessly clean by both wardens. The site I know has received negative feedback in the past due to the showers producing little more than a dribble and being lukewarm at best. Thankfully they have a new boiler system fitted now which produces more power and heat than you really need and was easily the best shower I have used on any site. Only on one day did we notice that the temperature in the showers had dropped, however we mentioned this to Andy and Jude who had this fixed later that afternoon.

There are 2 spacious sinks to use for washing up with both hot and cold water available.

They have a small chest freezer available to use (FoC) which is handy for storing ice blocks and the much needed ice lollies on the hot days we were there.

On the side of the washing/toilet facilities there was a washing machine for the campers use. Although we didn't use it we were told it was £3 to use.

There are a total of 4 lakes on site with the first one having 4 rowing boats that are free to use (life jackets available from wooden cabin). The fourth lake is available for fishing at just £5 per person per day. Apparently there are Carp and Tench to over 20lb, but we never saw anything over 4lb on the one day we fished. There are however literally thousands of very small Rudd though which are very keen on eating bread and sweetcorn that was being used as bait by us and others while we were there. We felt that the fishing lake would be more suited to parents teaching there kids the joys of fishing for the first time rather than more experienced anglers

The site we found to be centrally located to numerous places of interest including Longleat, Wookey Hole, Wells, Glastonbury, Clarks village in Street, Fleet Air arm Museum, Haynes Motor Museum. All of which were roughly a 30 minute drive away.

I'll finish by saying that if you are after a well run, peaceful, tranquil site set within the beautiful Somerset countryside you really need to check this place out.

Thanks again to Andy and Jude for being so warm and helpful, you really are a credit to Batcombe Vale and we look forward to hopefully seeing you again this September.

Regards,

Stephen & Beccy

P. S. Although we understand the site has recent new owners we hope they will continue to run the campsite as it is for future years 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Pat Gr65 1 review from this member

 Well, we booked on to this site at the last minute when planning a visit to the area. What a delightful site. The setting is just magical and the wardens are so helpful. The only tip I would make is dose yourself up if you are a hayfever sufferer and visiting in June/July. On the flip side of this, the plants that proliferate the site are lovely. My only slight criticism would be that the shower was cold on one morning (no charge for using the showers by the way). Can wholeheartedly recommend it and we will definitely be visiting again. 


Previous     106 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Batcombe Vale Campsite & Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Batcombe Vale Campsite & Camping?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Batcombe Vale Campsite & Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Shepton Mallet      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Somerset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3597 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement