Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Batcombe Vale Campsite & Camping

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Shepton Mallet > Batcombe Vale Campsite & Camping Reviews

Batcombe Vale Campsite & Camping
Batcombe
Shepton Mallet
Somerset   (Browse area)
BA4 6BW
Tel: 01749 372373
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 30
Open: 24 April - 20 September 2020

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 102 Reviews
                9/10 from 102 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  102 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Frannydabidozi 6 reviews from this member

 Just back from 5 nights at this site and really loved it. Its location will be hard to beat, set in the most stunning countryside. The managers, Gary and Barbara run this site exceptionally well.

There are clearly defined pitches set around a central grassy area which the kids are welcome to play games on. The toilet facilities are good, very clean and there are 3 showers in the ladies and even over the Bank Holiday weekend I didn't need to queue and there is always hot water.

There is a separate area with mirrors and plug sockets for those who cant bear to leave the hairdryer / straighteners behind.

The boating lake is a lovely bonus and in these days of health and safety it is great to see a common sense approach taken.

Another nice touch is the availability of Gary's Scrumpy at 2 a jug and the use of their barbecues. You can also charge up any appliance for a small fee which is something I have not seen offered at other sites. There is a communal freezer for ice packs.

There is a 30-45 min walk depending on age of children to the nearest pub, The Three Horseshoes which is also lovely. Put the kids in wellies as there is a stream en route but do it on the way back as it hard to get them out!

You have shops nearby in Bruton for groceries or a big Tesco in Shepton Mallet. Wells is a pretty town to visit and we had a great time at the Fleet Air Arm Museum.

I'm now thinking I have been too complimentary about this site and if its fully booked next time I want to go I will know why!

The in-laws joined us for a few days at the B&B at the house which they thoroughly enjoyed too. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sundalland09 4 reviews from this member

 A lovely little site, initially we were booked to stay for 10 nights, but then discovered that the fishing had to be paid x the amount of nights you stayed (child + adult) instead of being able to pay as you go - which worked out really expensive.

There wasn't a park either just a big green in the cente of the site. A really pretty little site and the only one (so far) that actually has plug sockets so you can plug your own hair dryer and straighteners in

We stayed for two nights (to cover the cost of the deposit paid). 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: CaroCurnock 4 reviews from this member

 We all felt that this camp is really expensive. We were charged 5. 00 for extra cars. The toilet block was clean but we had to queue for everything. We were told that if visitors called they would be charged 6 after 30 minutes (not that we had asked or planned for visitors)

On Sunday morning Gary walked past and shouted 'Off the site by 11' No 'please' or 'this is because' Had we been a noisy, raucous lot I could understand. We are all in our 50's, walkers and in bed by 11. 00. We all felt offended and after paying 47. 00 for two people for 2 nights. Robbed.

The site is very pretty but we felt that the owner especially needs to learn some people skills and learn to be a bit flexible. The reception was cold and unfriendly. The position of the tent etc is really important to campers. Having been happy to give a group 4 pitches Gary should have shown us the area and then left us to sort out positions.

Will we be going back. NO! 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gibbard 7 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for a one night stopover en route to Dorset. Beautiful location and level pitches. Facilities were adequate and very clean. Staff very friendly and helpful. Excellent pub in the neighbouring village.

We also found an outstanding cafe/restaurant in the delightful small historical town of Brunton just a couple of miles away. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rodsfaria 4 reviews from this member

 Gary and Barbara are great hosts. The place is beautiful and even when is full like Friday night still very quiet and peaceful after 22:00. Will definitely be going back.

There are 3 lovely lakes and great walking routes to do. It's also only 6 miles away from the biggest city.

Only 3 things to mention on the negative side but manageable.

1- In order to make the best use of my pitch I had to put up my tent in a weird position and we also had a massive three close to the footprint area so finding an even position wasn't easy. Because of that my room wasn't even and wasn't very pleasant on my bed.

2- It would be nice to have some sort of convenience store just for bread, eggs, milk, ice etc.

3 - This was the only real downside- Toilet and showers are definitely in need of renovation. It was clean, but very open and cold and there's only 2 showers for the ladies and 2 for the males so it can get a little crowded.

I would recommend this site to everyone, but new toilet and showers facilities are a must. Ask for gary's scrumpy cider. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Silver_Toes 1 review from this member

 Just returned from a fantastic three nights at this beautiful campsite. Was greeted by Barbara and shown to our pitch. Barbara and Gary were a wealth of information about the local area.

The campsite is very quiet even though there were lots of children staying. Gary and Barbara were available on site until 9:30 pm each evening. The boating lake is excellent for the kids and there's lots of wildlife about.

There are a number of pitches with electric hookups available. No shops within walking distance to my knowledge. The local pub 'Three Horse shoes' is a walk of about 1 mile away. Lovely gastro pub worth a visit. Food is a bit pricey but very nice.

Facilities were spotlessly clean. Could maybe do with having a couple of extra showers. There were three showers (in the ladies) so the queues were quite long at some points. It was easier to get a shower in the afternoon though.

Would definitely visit again. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sprucy 18 reviews from this member

  This is a truly beautiful and extremely well-maintained campsite. We had a very generously sized pitch with a lovely view; though we noted that some of the pitches with hookups were smaller. The showers are free and there was always hot water. The owners cleaned daily.

You can do one or more lovely country walks right from the campsite and the owners will lend you instructions and a map. The nearby village of Batcombe is very pretty, as is all the surrounding countryside at this time of year.

On the downside, they are strict about you vacating your pitch in the morning on the day of departure and they will not allow you to leave your car parked on the site once you have vacated your pitch. The upside of this is that it allows them to make sure that everything is clean and tidy for the next set of campers.

The lakes, trees, birds, flowers and views made this a truly magical location - heart-breaking to return to south London at the end of it! 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pixyvix 1 review from this member

 We visited this campsite during May half term to go to the Bath and West Show. It is a fantastic site. It is a beautiful spot and the site is really well maintained. There are rowing boats on the lake and the grounds were really lovely for an evening walk.

The views around were lovely and it was really peacful and tranquil even though we had 3 kids with us. The facilities were spotless and the staff really helpful. We will be back next year hopefully. 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Delsa 4 reviews from this member

 What a lovely campsite and also made very welcome by Gary and Barbara - We took our new touring caravan on its first outing, bit of a shock with the hills on way to it, but well worth the trip - very peaceful

Free boats for all ages, yes adults too, I think they had more fun - fishing too - plenty of walking for those who like to visit the local public houses. We also made use of the Bed and Breakfast for the in laws who thoroughly were made welcome and had a lovely cooked breakfast.

In all its what you make of it - in the middle of nowhere but well worth the trip - we took the kids to Wookey Hole. 


Date of Visit: March 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Stevedawn 1 review from this member

 This was the first time away in our caravan, and we were really pleased with the beautiful well kept site. The owners were extremely helpful throughout our stay and the walks to the local pubs were well signposted with excellent food served for all budgets. The toilet and shower blocks, although basic, were very clean and tidy. This is a really great site especially for families who want to enjoy a break without the usual commercial distractions. We really enjoyed our stay and will be back when the grandkids are old enough to enjoy the boats and the fishing. 


Previous     102 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Batcombe Vale Campsite & Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Batcombe Vale Campsite & Camping?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Batcombe Vale Campsite & Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Shepton Mallet      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Somerset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5500 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement