Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Withernsea Sands Holiday Village ( Parkdean Resorts )

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > East Yorkshire > Withernsea > Withernsea Sands Holiday Village ( Parkdean Resorts ) Reviews

Withernsea Sands Holiday Village ( Parkdean Resorts )
North Road
Withernsea
East Yorkshire   (Browse area)
HU19 2BS
Tel: 0843 309 2591
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches:
Open: 21 March To 31 Oct

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 76 Reviews
                6/10 from 76 Reviews

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 1 mile   Wild Swimming 1 mile   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   Tennis On Site 
 Beach 1 mile   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  76 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Missfenella 3 reviews from this member

Large site in nice location with plenty to keep the children happy. A few niggles but, that is all.

Facilities in the shower block were Ok at best and grim at worst. Towards the end of the week it became obvious that the cleaner never returned to clean out anything that was occupied. So, with 2 showers for each gender for the whole site they were continuously in use and consequently never cleaned. Also wear and tear on taps (bathroom and washing up) started to show and it took a few days for them to be fixed. Overall you could grin and bear it and it wasn't too bad.

The entertainment on site was always packed and my 3 year old found the PA and disco far too noisy. The 7 year old was fed up with the never ending bingo games meaning 'her' entertainment was on quite late and of course all the children were getting quite hyper. We only went the once for those reasons.

The pool was nice but too small for the number of guests staying and not open to the public often enough for us.

The location is very good the beaches are fantastic and hard to beat if the weather is good.

The site was safe and our children had fun playing and meeting new friends. Staff were on the whole helpful and friendly.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Fitzydan 9 reviews from this member

Stayed here for the bank holiday weekend in the camping field. Surprised it wasn't busier but we've stayed here before and found it ok.

The field is undulating and uneven so not ideal for tents really. The shower block, while clean, seemed inadequate and the water was cold at peak times - you basically either had to be up earlier or wait until late to get a shower. We complained and they gave us two free nights camping after a little nudge.

Bar prices we found to be high so didn't go in and didn't use the shop as there are facilities in the 'town'. The beach is close by and the site had plenty to entertain the kids and we will return.

This could do with a little investment, not just the facilities but the field as well but from speaking to staff, they said it was quite a way down the pecking order.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mitchum44 10 reviews from this member

Had a very enjoyable May day bank holiday weekend on this site. The site is very well maintained and clean. The staff are pleasant and helpful. It's in a good location within walking distance of the town and beach. This is a very popular site and on a bank holiday weekend. The facilities are inadequate. The clubroom was packed early doors both Friday and Saturday, fortunately there was only us 2 so we managed to squeeze in, good band on Friday, children's entertainer on Saturday, come on, 10pm is adult time. Shower block was found wanting only 2 showers and 2 toilets in the mens for both bottom fields, although they were cleaned and well stocked. The site, although full, was quiet on a night, one or two drunk exceptions, but overall very little to disturb your sleep. We enjoyed it so much we booked for the following weekend whilst on site, hopefully it will be a little less busy.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Musicman18 1 review from this member

Not a bad little site, there are worse. Met and greeted on arrival by rep, shown to the pitch and asked if we needed any assistance. Booked 7 nights Wed to Wed. Sunshine and warm every day.

Some of the pitches were uneven, set up with electric around the outside and non electric in the centre. Staff polite and friendly as was most of the other campers, with the exceptions of one or two.

Beach 5 mins walk away mostly pebble, can walk along it into the village itself. Not much there. Tesco, Aldi, Petrol garage but mostly out of fuel, next one 5 miles away in next village. Tesco and Aldi

The campsite is clean and situated at the bottom end of the East coast, be prepared to drive an hour plus up the coast road for lively stuff (Bridlington)

Usual kids madness and mayhem entertainment in the bar. Drinks 3. 25 a pint. Kids slush drink 1. 89 a throw. Some security issues ie; no checking of passes and campers bringing their own alcohol into the bar. All in all a quiet campsite to base yourself.

Showers and hot water was fine although useing them at peak time are cooler. Quiet at midweek, busy at weekends with campers comming on for 2 or 3 days.

Its the people on the campsite that make the holiday, we was lucky we had some friendly and considerate campers on there. If you want a quiet campsite this is fine otherwise base yourself further up the coast near Filey.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Paul D B 1 review from this member

Overall we were disappointed with this site. The staff were friendly and the kids (5 & 7) enjoyed the entertainment. But the low points are the facilities were inadequate for the number of visitors.

The swimming pool is over crowded and small. It is only open for general swim for 2 hours in the morning and 2 in the afternoon. They operate a 1 in 1 out system. It is too deep for small toddlers. ( my 5 year old had to stand on tip toes to keep his head out of the water. ) There are only 4 cubicles so we had to wait 10 minutes then 4 of us sharing! The lockers don't have locks so don't take valuables with you.

The club house is ok but very over crowded at night. It took over an hour before we got a seat. Drink Prices are typical and food prices were reasonable.

The arcade is small. It is just a few machines in the walkway to the pool and cub house/restaurant.

The pitch numbers were clearly marked but no obvious boundary between pitches. The shower/ toilet blocks were just porta cabins with not enough showers. Only 1 tap per field to fill up water bottles. 2 sinks for washing pots but only 1 draining board.

Withernsea it self is a small town with reasonable facilities but the beach is not very inaccessible with lots of steps down.

Overall I think if you visit out of season it may not be too bad but would not recommend during peak season. We will not visit again

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Awhitham 2 reviews from this member

Just had a great midweek break camping at Withernsea Sands. We had an electric pitch (BlueBell 4) which was good. Security was helpful as at one point someone else pitched their tent about 1 FOOT from ours and they were told to move! The entertainment was good (we have kids 4 and 7) and the entertainment staff should be congratulated on their enthusiasm. The swimming pool was small but good and clean. The park shop well stocked with essentials you may need.

To Improve: The BlueBell toilets / shower block should be cleaned and restocked more than once a day. There is no excuse for the state they are in by morning.

Some of the camping pitches (BlueBell 2 for example) are totally unsuitable for tents (big holes in them which need filling leading to flooding!)

Perhaps Park Resorts can sort this out!

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Gemstone71 2 reviews from this member

If this had been our first camping trip I would have put the camping gear up for sale on our return home! We stayed on an electric pitch so we weren't crammed in like the non electric pitches. Our pitch was very uneven with a manhole cover right in the middle so it was difficult to see where we should pitch, other campers arrived and scratched their heads too about where to pitch. It would have been good if there had been a staff member available to assist with this.

We were close to the ball park so sometimes heard foul language coming from the teens who were playing football which wasn't very nice especially when camping with children.

The club house was quite noisy with music which could be heard quite late at night. The bar was very pricey. There was a nice playground attached to the bar area which is locked so the kids can't get out so they can play in safety.

By far the worst thing about the site was the shower/toilet/washing up facilities. There are 2 shower blocks. One is very much overdue an upgrade and the other is a portable cabin. The shower in the shower block was lukewarm and had one of those push buttons so the water stayed on for about 15 seconds before it needed pushing again. I used the disabled shower as I needed a bigger shower for me and my toddler. Don't put your clothes on the chair at the end of the cubicle because as soon as you put the shower on they will get wet. Ironically the only place in the shower cubicle that you struggle to get wet is straight under the shower itself!

The toilets needed a good clean. There was a male attendant who tried unsuccessfully to keep up with toilet rolls and hand towels but they often ran out.

The dishwashing facilities were not great, especially as there was no plug in the sink.

The swimming pool wasn't brilliant as there were only 4 cubicles. There was no time limit on how long you could stay in the pool which was great if you were in there but not so great if you were queuing.

We paid 24 per night which I think was too expensive given the state of the facilities.

The reception staff were pleasant, as was the man selling statics. There was a camp shop and launderette but we didn't go in there. The only facility for buying food was in the bar/restaurant but we didn't eat in there.

We won't be returning to this campsite and will opt for smaller family run parks in the future.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dylan1975 12 reviews from this member

Just returned early from Withernsea Sands Holiday Village ( Park Resorts ). We found Withernsea a depressing place needing a serious revamp, almost could be described as a ghost town, only seemed busy on saturday (but its still not really holiday season). But in the main town there is a well stocked aldi supermarket and a further 5 mins away is a small tescos, so no worries on the groceries.

The beach is shocking. The sea is brown and the sand can only de described as rubble, how can it be a blue flag beach I found wooden pallets, bottles, a 20L jerry can among other things. A real shame as there is some good history around the area.

As a site, Withernsea sands is adequate, as a holiday location it is not. The truth is, we couldn't wait to get home! The resort was not too bad, a well stocked shop, the entertainment was good and thrown in on the price of the booking, the swimming pool was not the hottest but done the job for an hour, but the main gripe is the arcade machines, you have to pass them even to get to the kids play area and a good plot to get you to spend your hard earned cash.

The washing up facilities would have been great if there had been plugs in the sinks and some hot water. The staff seemed friendly enough but seemed to all ways want to sell you a caravan.

The pitch we had was reasonably level but water logged and the site is very windy. We visited the deep in hull, excellent value for money and the dinosaur exhibition, again very good for a few pounds. The old light boat in the marina, a very interesting boat that was free to look round.

All in all not a bad weekend for our first camp of 2012

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Magnolia 7 reviews from this member

Just returned from a very enjoyable weekend at this site. Weather could have been better but Withernsea Sands was still very nice and peaceful.

The pitch we had was reasonably level so no faffing around with levelers. Willow field is down the back end of the site so well away from the main entertainment area. We suffered no noise problems.

The toiled block is what is to be expected of a campsite. Plenty of loos but only 2 showers. Mind you it is in the middle of the statics and they all have showers and loos in them. They were nice and clean with plenty of paper.

Staff were all lovely and very friendly and accommodating. 5* to them!

Withernsea is very much like other seaside towns up and down the east coast. Could do with a bit of regeneration here and there but otherwise it has everything you could need. Even an Aldi! Having said all that you cannot take away the fact that it is full of very friendly Yorkshire folk.

Turn right out of the campsite and you will very soon see the sea front. It is possible to walk into town all the way by the sea. It took us about 15 minutes to walk to the town centre but that is with me dodgy knee - able folks will do it in 10.

We loved out weekend so much we have booked to go again in May - cost us just 20 for a 2 night stay with electric. Jumps up significantly in June to 42

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mogadon69 15 reviews from this member

We were the only tent campers not using electric and managed to pitch on the only levelish area in the middle of the field.

The ablutions block can only be described as outdated and in need of renewal or at least refurbishment (and a good clean wouldn't have gone amiss).

The washing up facilities would have been great if there had been plugs in the sinks (plenty of hot water)and they had not been next to the chemical toilet emptying point.

The on site bar was pleasant enough although drinks were pricey, the food, however, was good value, well presented and tasty, we tried the burger and the breakfast and both were lovely.

The surrounding area has an air of neglect, Withernsea has little to offer but Scarborough is a lovely seaside resort and not too far away.

We only paid 2 per night courtesy of a national newspaper, would not have paid full price.

Previous     76 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Withernsea      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in East Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1404 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019