Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Withernsea Sands Holiday Village ( Parkdean Resorts )

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > East Yorkshire > Withernsea > Withernsea Sands Holiday Village ( Parkdean Resorts ) > Reviews

Withernsea Sands Holiday Village ( Parkdean Resorts )
North Road
Withernsea
East Yorkshire   (Browse area)
HU19 2BS
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 92
Open: 22/03/2024 to 04/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 82 Reviews
                6/10 from 82 Reviews

Photos (8)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  82 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pleach01 5 reviews from this member

 We paid over 200 booking direct with Park Resorts, as we wanted to make sure we got a corner pitch which was the right size for our Gelert Meridien Beyond tent. Yet, when we arrived, we found our pitch had been 'switched' without consulting with, or informing us beforehand.

We were moved to a less ideal pitch on the Willows- a long way from the facilities, bearing in mind we had told them we had a disabled member in our party. The field was large and shared toilet/ shower facilities with another field. In spite of this there were just two showers in each of the men's and ladies' facilities. Every day the experience was different- cold water one day, warm the next, only a trickle of cold water the next. On complaining, we were advised to either use another field's facilities (great for our disabled member!) or be patient because the pressure varied when busy. One day the whole shower blocks and toilets were shout down for two hours in the morning due to flooding. They need to build more and maintain the ones they have better- so small it's a struggle to keep your clothes dry when showering.

Outside of the bar, about 10 people seem to have to run the whole site. The camping warden doubled as the toilet cleaner, security etc and told me he had to work 18 hour days!

Security is lax: no control over who comes on site. Lack of enforcement of the park rules. For example, some people left a dog in a cage in their tent all day and well into the late evening in warm weather and it was pitifully howling, yet the owners merely shrugged it off and the Park allowed them to stay with a meaningless slap on the wrist.

Entertainment facilities very small. Singers worse than X factor auditions. There is very little to do for kids aged over 8-9 years old. Pool small and fills very quickly. You can turn up to the pool with your family, only to be told without warning that you have to book in for a session later.

Withernsea is a small town with limited excitement. The range of small shops and the local Tesco were adequate for our needs. However, make sure you fill up on petrol/ diesel well before you arrive. Dick Turpin seems to run the local petrol stations judging by 1. 23 for a litre of diesel!

If you have dogs, they can go on the part of the beach nearest the site. Don't go further than the pile of boulders closer to the town centre during peak season or you risk a fine.

The comments above about the flies, midges (I got bitten 3 times putting up the tent) wasps and ladybirds are very true- bring candles or lamp oil burners to keep them at bay.

Overall, we had a good holiday in spite of Withernsea Sands. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Paul.foers 15 reviews from this member

 Withernsea is a quiet village with nothing more than a few shops and 1 amusement arcade. Nice beach and easy access to nearby resorts of brid (30 mins), scarborough (50 mins), hornsea and whitby (1 hour). From the site it is about 10 minute walk to the beach, but beware, there are about 30 steps down to the beach or you can walk into the town on to the beach - a good half an hour walk down the coastline.

Major downside to this site is the hornets and cornflies, there are loads and I mean loads. If you don't like insects, stay away. This applies to the town, the beach, and the site.

Unfortunatly this spoiled our week as the site is great, especialy for kids. Pub can be expensive but 2 meals for 10 is quite welcome after a hard day camping.

Toilets and showers are cleaned at least 5 times a day and are well maintained. No issues with hot water.

Slight niggle for me was the tents are crammed in, but what do I expect in the summer holidays? well, not to have 3 tents within a stride of my caravan door for one, as this left little room for a barbecue or for the kids to play. There are no markings to show pitch boundaries which basically leaves it as every man for themselves.

Receptionist was pretty useless as I asked 3 times if I could pay to stay late on the day of departure, once on arrival, once mid week and once on the final night. Each time I was told I could only stay if my pitch wasn't booked by someone else - but id need to wait until 10am on the day of departure before they could tell me - you have to be off the pitch by 10 !

Shop is well stocked and supplies most food essentials, but within 10 minutes drive there is a tesco, aldi and local co-op.

Overall, a good site spoilt by the insects 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Slreynolds 4 reviews from this member

 Just returned from 4 night stay at Withernsea and felt I had to write a constructive review. On arrival we were told our friends, which were due to arrive the next night, were not pitched anywhere near us even though this was requested when booked. It was too late to change as all pitches had been allocated.

We were pitched in the Chestnut field with electric hook up. The ground was very uneven but we made the most of it. Pitches were small and very close together.

As in previous reviews we were given a key, but never needed to use it as the toilet block was always unlocked. There were 4 showers (2 mens & 2 ladies) to cover all the electric pitches plus many more non electric. Therefore queues formed. The cleaning of the toilet block consisted of the warden sweeping the floor once a day so you can imagine they weren't the cleanest. We thought we'd visit the other toilet block, porta cabin, but this was locked and that was in the daytime too. The washing up sinks are located right next to the chemical disposal point with a fence panel separating them. This was very unpleasant when other campers emptied their toilet while washing up was taking place. Every time we visited the wash basins,showers and washing up sinks there was no hot water and I mean not luke warm but cold.

I think the park could not cope with the amount of campers on the park.

When our friends arrived the next night, the pitch they were allocated the day before remained occupied. After speaking to the manager and a lot of deliberating it came to light the pitch next to us with a camper van on was on the wrong pitch. They were asked to move and the outcome being our friends were pitched next to us.

I can't comment on the entertainment as we didn't use it. The pool looked small but ok. Shop was very handy and well stocked.

The beach is a 10 min stroll and you can walk to the town centre in approx. 15 mins. Withernsea itself is a pleasant small quiet seaside town. There is a very nice chinese takeaway (Hong Kong) which delivers to the park. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Irvine45 87 reviews from this member

 We had a nice 2 nights away, using the Tesco vouchers, so worked out quite cheaply with electric hookup.

The toilet block was cleaned regularily and was always spotless, especially for a portacabin, as you expect the worst!

Popped in to see the entertainment but the weather was so good, we walked into town instead.

The pool is nice and clean if a little small but was not crowded in the slightest.

A real get away from it all type place.

Professionally run, and wardens always on hand, which were helpful and friendly.

The map you get on arrival of the whereabouts of the pitch is a little difficult to follow. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Andy151 6 reviews from this member

 1st ever camping trip with my wife and 2 daughters aged 7 and 2, we came across withernsea sands and was not dissapointed, 13 for 1 night with electric hook up (bargain) due to it being last minute

We were pitched in chestnut grove which is next to the zip wire/play area, good thing as our girls wanted to play and we needed to put the tent up and cook so this was extremely handy for us. Good amount of space between tents / tourers we weren't cramped in unlike some other areas.

Toilet/ shower block very clean only 2 showers so you had a bit of a wait, grounds were kept clean and tidy, there was a warden walking round regularly if you had any problems, we didn't go into the entertainment complex as kids were too busy playing and we decided to take an evening walk on the cliff tops.

You do have to put down a 5 deposit for the toilet key so keep it safe ! it was strange having to lock people in the toilets haha, good washing up facilities round the corner from the shower block.

5 minute walk to the beach/cliff top 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Llesley ann 19 reviews from this member

 Stayed for 2 nights at a great price 26.00 including EHU, our pitch was near the complex.

The shower/toilet block was a good walk away there where porta cabins used for the showers and toilet which look clean, I paid 5 pound for a key to be able to use the porta cabins they where open all the time no use for the key the 5 pound was returned when returned key back.

Inside the main complex is a swimming pool which is small, a arcade, and the family bar the family bar serves meals all day. Also on site is a shop which was well stocked up, a launderette next door to the shop and 2 children's parks 1 near the complex and 1 on one of the touring fields, there is also a sports area where football was played the sports area as a large fence all the way round but that dint stop the ball almost hitting my caravan when the teenagers started playing, overall I would give this site 7/10 and would return but I would not stay near the sports area. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gary + jen 2 reviews from this member

 Just arrived back from our first trip with the caravan, decided on this site because it was only 34.40 for 3 nights, and not to far for my husband to pull the van for the first time.

Good points about the site.

Plenty of space, well kept grass

Very clean shower blocks/toilets

Excellent kids playing park( daughter loved it, that's because it was about the only thing for her to do)

Small shop and laundrette on site

Bad points.

Entertainment not very good,only smallish room (5.70 for 2 pints of larger)

Swimming pool very small

Amusement's very small area

Withernsea town I think must have been closed. Lol

Overall for are first trip on the road, we had a good experience even though the wind howled and the rain through it down, we haven't been put off.

Very nice site but not for us with a 11 year old daughter who needs entertaining all the time. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dayslikethese 1 review from this member

 We managed to get an amazing bargain break of only 7.00 per night for our tent pitch including Electric hock up and our dog. I must say I was pleasantly surprised. This is the biggest site we have been to, this being only our third ever camping trip, I suppose we don't have much to go on.

The site was superbly clean, on first arrival at reception we were given a map and directions to our pitch, also told we had to pay a 5.00 deposit for the toilet key.

The grass is cut very regularly, the toilets totally spotless as were the showers (both being housed in a new, heated 'portacabin', not to be knocked I can assure you). All staff were friendly and willing to help. The kiddies play area looked quite new and was over looked by the veranda of the small complex, so could relax with a drink ect while watching your kiddies. The food seemed adequate and the usual pub style fayre, all the salads were very fresh no limp brown lettuce in sight! The shop was well stocked and the Laundry, like everything else was spotless.

In all honesty I can not fault this site at all. I will not go back though, simply because dogs were not allowed on the beach, so meant quite a journey to take family plus dog for a paddle. Shame really, Withernsea Sands is lovely. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Little haba 3 reviews from this member

 Paid 45 for 2 nights. On arrival we were told we were on the field across the road but could use all the facilities on the 'main site'. To be honest the field across the road was actually a better choice as you couldn't get a pin between the tents and caravans on the main site.

The toilets in this field were vile. One grotty shower, no locks on the doors, a scabby hairdryer, no mirror on the wall, and a 3 deposit for a key. The door was never locked anyway. When we got up in the morning the windows had been put through too.

There were 4 sinks to wash up but no hot water.

We were told by a couple in a static that they were trying to close down this field and get everyone to move over the road.

The bar wasn't too bad I suppose, although more a case of 'if you can't beat em.'. Entertainment was awful - really. Toilets manky, no loo roll.

Tried the showers on the main site the day after. They were in a portacabin. Again, no locks on the doors. In fact no door on the shower, just a curtain. This meant my partner had to position himself outside the ladies showers whilst I went in, as anyone could of just walked in. Obviously he had a few funny looks. The water was either scalding or freezing. Take your pick?

This site had the potential to be lovely but just not looked after. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tentlady 2 reviews from this member

 Weather was fantastic when we were there - very few tents - most people were in statics. Toilet block was very basic. Bar/Pool complex very modern and well equipped, but not to our taste. Did not like having to walk through an arcade in order to get to the bar - too tempting for the kids. Found the site very noisy, particularly when the club closed - lots of drinking, shouting, partying - if that's what you want, you're well in. Actually found it quite intimidating.

Withernsea itself was very disappointing - would not go this far south in Yorkshire again - access to attractions was too far away for our liking. Stern point was great. 


Previous     82 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Withernsea Sands Holiday Village ( Parkdean Resorts ) child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Withernsea Sands Holiday Village ( Parkdean Resorts ) have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Withernsea Sands Holiday Village ( Parkdean Resorts )?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Withernsea Sands Holiday Village ( Parkdean Resorts ) dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Withernsea      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in East Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3415 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement