Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Withernsea Sands Holiday Village ( Parkdean Resorts )

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > East Yorkshire > Withernsea > Withernsea Sands Holiday Village ( Parkdean Resorts ) Reviews

Withernsea Sands Holiday Village ( Parkdean Resorts )
North Road
Withernsea
East Yorkshire   (Browse area)
HU19 2BS
Tel: 0843 309 2591
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches:
Open: 21 March To 31 Oct

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 76 Reviews
                6/10 from 76 Reviews

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 1 mile   Wild Swimming 1 mile   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   Tennis On Site 
 Beach 1 mile   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  76 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Llesley ann 19 reviews from this member

Stayed for 2 nights at a great price 26.00 including EHU, our pitch was near the complex.

The shower/toilet block was a good walk away there where porta cabins used for the showers and toilet which look clean, I paid 5 pound for a key to be able to use the porta cabins they where open all the time no use for the key the 5 pound was returned when returned key back.

Inside the main complex is a swimming pool which is small, a arcade, and the family bar the family bar serves meals all day. Also on site is a shop which was well stocked up, a launderette next door to the shop and 2 children's parks 1 near the complex and 1 on one of the touring fields, there is also a sports area where football was played the sports area as a large fence all the way round but that dint stop the ball almost hitting my caravan when the teenagers started playing, overall I would give this site 7/10 and would return but I would not stay near the sports area.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Gary + jen 2 reviews from this member

Just arrived back from our first trip with the caravan, decided on this site because it was only 34.40 for 3 nights, and not to far for my husband to pull the van for the first time.

Good points about the site.

Plenty of space, well kept grass

Very clean shower blocks/toilets

Excellent kids playing park( daughter loved it, that's because it was about the only thing for her to do)

Small shop and laundrette on site

Bad points.

Entertainment not very good,only smallish room (5.70 for 2 pints of larger)

Swimming pool very small

Amusement's very small area

Withernsea town I think must have been closed. Lol

Overall for are first trip on the road, we had a good experience even though the wind howled and the rain through it down, we haven't been put off.

Very nice site but not for us with a 11 year old daughter who needs entertaining all the time.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dayslikethese 1 review from this member

We managed to get an amazing bargain break of only 7.00 per night for our tent pitch including Electric hock up and our dog. I must say I was pleasantly surprised. This is the biggest site we have been to, this being only our third ever camping trip, I suppose we don't have much to go on.

The site was superbly clean, on first arrival at reception we were given a map and directions to our pitch, also told we had to pay a 5.00 deposit for the toilet key.

The grass is cut very regularly, the toilets totally spotless as were the showers (both being housed in a new, heated 'portacabin', not to be knocked I can assure you). All staff were friendly and willing to help. The kiddies play area looked quite new and was over looked by the veranda of the small complex, so could relax with a drink ect while watching your kiddies. The food seemed adequate and the usual pub style fayre, all the salads were very fresh no limp brown lettuce in sight! The shop was well stocked and the Laundry, like everything else was spotless.

In all honesty I can not fault this site at all. I will not go back though, simply because dogs were not allowed on the beach, so meant quite a journey to take family plus dog for a paddle. Shame really, Withernsea Sands is lovely.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Little haba 3 reviews from this member

Paid 45 for 2 nights. On arrival we were told we were on the field across the road but could use all the facilities on the 'main site'. To be honest the field across the road was actually a better choice as you couldn't get a pin between the tents and caravans on the main site.

The toilets in this field were vile. One grotty shower, no locks on the doors, a scabby hairdryer, no mirror on the wall, and a 3 deposit for a key. The door was never locked anyway. When we got up in the morning the windows had been put through too.

There were 4 sinks to wash up but no hot water.

We were told by a couple in a static that they were trying to close down this field and get everyone to move over the road.

The bar wasn't too bad I suppose, although more a case of 'if you can't beat em.'. Entertainment was awful - really. Toilets manky, no loo roll.

Tried the showers on the main site the day after. They were in a portacabin. Again, no locks on the doors. In fact no door on the shower, just a curtain. This meant my partner had to position himself outside the ladies showers whilst I went in, as anyone could of just walked in. Obviously he had a few funny looks. The water was either scalding or freezing. Take your pick?

This site had the potential to be lovely but just not looked after.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tentlady 2 reviews from this member

Weather was fantastic when we were there - very few tents - most people were in statics. Toilet block was very basic. Bar/Pool complex very modern and well equipped, but not to our taste. Did not like having to walk through an arcade in order to get to the bar - too tempting for the kids. Found the site very noisy, particularly when the club closed - lots of drinking, shouting, partying - if that's what you want, you're well in. Actually found it quite intimidating.

Withernsea itself was very disappointing - would not go this far south in Yorkshire again - access to attractions was too far away for our liking. Stern point was great.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Donnanne 6 reviews from this member

Chose this site because it was close and we could use our tesco vouchers to pay! The cost should have been 25 per night for tent pitch with EHU and I think that is very much over priced given the site facilities.

Yes there is a decent bar area with entertainment for kids but the drinks aren't cheap and neither is the food. The pool is tiny so that if 2 families are in it then it's too busy.

Toilet blocks are adequate, clean, plenty of hot water and never run out of loo roll but at the price per night I'd expect better than this to be honest. I don't mind toilet facilities like this on cheaper basic sites but on a holiday park I did expect better.

Another big negative is how noisy the park is, even after 10pm. The entertainment goes on into the early hours and you have people walking through the pitches rather than sticking to the roads well after midnight and not being quiet about it. Kids stay on the park until very late and even though we were in the next field and quite a way away you could still hear the squeals of teenage girls! Then we got younger children on scooters racing past the tent at 6am to use the toilets!

Very big positive is how friendly and helpful the staff are. They greeted us well and called a warden out discuss where we'd like to pitch and then he met us there to make sure everything was ok and that we knew where everything was. There is also a touring warden office next to the toilet block so you can get help with whatever without needing to go to the main reception.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Shellchris 3 reviews from this member

We arrived on the camp which looked great! having been told the site was full we had to go across the road to the next field (East field) to a standard tent pitch, the ground was very hilly so took a while to find a decent spot! Pitched up near the back fence to have a sea view.

Toilet/shower blocks outdated and grotty (3 deposit) so tried to use complex toilets/showers which were much better. No toilet roll in any! Pool very cold, shop adequate, reasonably priced. We booked 3 nights, went home after 2 due to top field being poor

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sally973 5 reviews from this member

I chose the site as is only a few hours drive from home and my son wanted to go somewhere with a pool.

On arriving the first impression was good,the receptionist was informative, organised and friendly. There were plenty of spaces to choose from and we decided to pitch in sight of the adventure play ground on a flat pitch. Whilst we were there there was plenty of space between the pitches as it was not busy, but with the way the are marked I would imagine that in the summer you will be on top of one another.

The toilet blocks were adequately clean but again come busy periods I am not sure that the one warden who I saw was enough to vlean and keep on top of all the site.

The entertainment was what could be expected of a place like Withernsea Sands,and on the whole very clean and well maintained. The shop was ok but not a fresh veg or piece of fruit in sight.

I must say a word about the staff - brilliant! very friendly, the ground warden is a lovely bloke and an asset to the place and the life guards at the pool were fantastic with the children - very professional yet interacted with them making them laugh.

A word of warning I pitched next to the hedge, the dawn chorus started just after four in the hedge and I had a feathered friend in the tent one morning at 6.

I would go again - out of season only though.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hallfam 1 review from this member

This was our first time camping so we decided not to go too far a field. Withernsea Sands seemed the ideal place to go with two 9 year olds and a 1yr old. We arrived to be greeted by friendly staff at reception and we were given our passes etc then off we went to choose our pitch. There were ample toilet and shower facilities and a small deposit of 3.00 for the toilet key which you got back when you returned it on your departure. The camp site was well lit at night. The club house had the usual arcades and entertainment throughout the day and night for kids and adults alike. The site had a football court and a zip wire where the kids had no end of fun.

We played rounders and cricket with other families who where staying at the site which was run by the entertainment team ( have to say they do have a tendency to cheat) aha.

We had a peaceful and fun weekend the site is big enough to do both, if you just want to chill you can or if you don't you have the clubhouse to party the night away. There is an onsite shop and launderette and I must say the shop isn't at all expensive, not what you would expect from an on site shop, it was like a little aladdins cave.

Oh and I nearly forgot the pool, the kids spent hours there, the only thing was there was limited changing rooms and there weren't any lockers to keep your belongings in. You can watch but hurry as spaces are very limited! Overall we would definitely go again

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bosshogg_hgte 3 reviews from this member

There are 2 touring fields here, the bottom one is relatively flat with toilet facilities that are not bad. Unfortunately were were in the top field!

Although the entertainments great and there is the pool and the play area and it could have made a nice family holiday but it didn't.

Upper field toilet blocks were built for the war effort and then extended. There was one shower in it that was either scald or freeze. There was a portacabin with 3 male and 3 female showers in and there was a queue every morning. For the size of site, 4 showers per sex is not enough really.

As for local attractions, there is the Hull road and the Hornsea road.

Ok so the staff were very good and were always pleasant but a farmer could plough a field smoother than the touring field was. I spotted one motorhome at the very tip of its blocks to level it out on one pitch.

Yes there was EHU and they do take large tents.

The onsite shop is well stocked and not too badly priced compared to having to start the car and drive into Withernsea.

Previous     76 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Withernsea      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in East Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6627 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019