Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Withernsea Sands Holiday Village ( Parkdean Resorts )

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > East Yorkshire > Withernsea > Withernsea Sands Holiday Village ( Parkdean Resorts ) > Reviews

Withernsea Sands Holiday Village ( Parkdean Resorts )
North Road
Withernsea
East Yorkshire   (Browse area)
HU19 2BS
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 92
Open: 22/03/2024 to 04/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 82 Reviews
                6/10 from 82 Reviews

Photos (8)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  82 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Awhitham 2 reviews from this member

 Just had a great midweek break camping at Withernsea Sands. We had an electric pitch (BlueBell 4) which was good. Security was helpful as at one point someone else pitched their tent about 1 FOOT from ours and they were told to move! The entertainment was good (we have kids 4 and 7) and the entertainment staff should be congratulated on their enthusiasm. The swimming pool was small but good and clean. The park shop well stocked with essentials you may need.

To Improve: The BlueBell toilets / shower block should be cleaned and restocked more than once a day. There is no excuse for the state they are in by morning.

Some of the camping pitches (BlueBell 2 for example) are totally unsuitable for tents (big holes in them which need filling leading to flooding!)

Perhaps Park Resorts can sort this out! 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gemstone71 2 reviews from this member

 If this had been our first camping trip I would have put the camping gear up for sale on our return home! We stayed on an electric pitch so we weren't crammed in like the non electric pitches. Our pitch was very uneven with a manhole cover right in the middle so it was difficult to see where we should pitch, other campers arrived and scratched their heads too about where to pitch. It would have been good if there had been a staff member available to assist with this.

We were close to the ball park so sometimes heard foul language coming from the teens who were playing football which wasn't very nice especially when camping with children.

The club house was quite noisy with music which could be heard quite late at night. The bar was very pricey. There was a nice playground attached to the bar area which is locked so the kids can't get out so they can play in safety.

By far the worst thing about the site was the shower/toilet/washing up facilities. There are 2 shower blocks. One is very much overdue an upgrade and the other is a portable cabin. The shower in the shower block was lukewarm and had one of those push buttons so the water stayed on for about 15 seconds before it needed pushing again. I used the disabled shower as I needed a bigger shower for me and my toddler. Don't put your clothes on the chair at the end of the cubicle because as soon as you put the shower on they will get wet. Ironically the only place in the shower cubicle that you struggle to get wet is straight under the shower itself!

The toilets needed a good clean. There was a male attendant who tried unsuccessfully to keep up with toilet rolls and hand towels but they often ran out.

The dishwashing facilities were not great, especially as there was no plug in the sink.

The swimming pool wasn't brilliant as there were only 4 cubicles. There was no time limit on how long you could stay in the pool which was great if you were in there but not so great if you were queuing.

We paid £24 per night which I think was too expensive given the state of the facilities.

The reception staff were pleasant, as was the man selling statics. There was a camp shop and launderette but we didn't go in there. The only facility for buying food was in the bar/restaurant but we didn't eat in there.

We won't be returning to this campsite and will opt for smaller family run parks in the future. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dylan1975 12 reviews from this member

 Just returned early from Withernsea Sands Holiday Village ( Park Resorts ). We found Withernsea a depressing place needing a serious revamp, almost could be described as a ghost town, only seemed busy on saturday (but its still not really holiday season). But in the main town there is a well stocked aldi supermarket and a further 5 mins away is a small tescos, so no worries on the groceries.

The beach is shocking. The sea is brown and the sand can only de described as rubble, how can it be a blue flag beach I found wooden pallets, bottles, a 20L jerry can among other things. A real shame as there is some good history around the area.

As a site, Withernsea sands is adequate, as a holiday location it is not. The truth is, we couldn't wait to get home! The resort was not too bad, a well stocked shop, the entertainment was good and thrown in on the price of the booking, the swimming pool was not the hottest but done the job for an hour, but the main gripe is the arcade machines, you have to pass them even to get to the kids play area and a good plot to get you to spend your hard earned cash.

The washing up facilities would have been great if there had been plugs in the sinks and some hot water. The staff seemed friendly enough but seemed to all ways want to sell you a caravan.

The pitch we had was reasonably level but water logged and the site is very windy. We visited the deep in hull, excellent value for money and the dinosaur exhibition, again very good for a few pounds. The old light boat in the marina, a very interesting boat that was free to look round.

All in all not a bad weekend for our first camp of 2012 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Magnolia 7 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a very enjoyable weekend at this site. Weather could have been better but Withernsea Sands was still very nice and peaceful.

The pitch we had was reasonably level so no faffing around with levelers. Willow field is down the back end of the site so well away from the main entertainment area. We suffered no noise problems.

The toiled block is what is to be expected of a campsite. Plenty of loos but only 2 showers. Mind you it is in the middle of the statics and they all have showers and loos in them. They were nice and clean with plenty of paper.

Staff were all lovely and very friendly and accommodating. 5* to them!

Withernsea is very much like other seaside towns up and down the east coast. Could do with a bit of regeneration here and there but otherwise it has everything you could need. Even an Aldi! Having said all that you cannot take away the fact that it is full of very friendly Yorkshire folk.

Turn right out of the campsite and you will very soon see the sea front. It is possible to walk into town all the way by the sea. It took us about 15 minutes to walk to the town centre but that is with me dodgy knee - able folks will do it in 10.

We loved out weekend so much we have booked to go again in May - cost us just £20 for a 2 night stay with electric. Jumps up significantly in June to £42 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mogadon69 16 reviews from this member

 We were the only tent campers not using electric and managed to pitch on the only levelish area in the middle of the field.

The ablutions block can only be described as outdated and in need of renewal or at least refurbishment (and a good clean wouldn't have gone amiss).

The washing up facilities would have been great if there had been plugs in the sinks (plenty of hot water)and they had not been next to the chemical toilet emptying point.

The on site bar was pleasant enough although drinks were pricey, the food, however, was good value, well presented and tasty, we tried the burger and the breakfast and both were lovely.

The surrounding area has an air of neglect, Withernsea has little to offer but Scarborough is a lovely seaside resort and not too far away.

We only paid £2 per night courtesy of a national newspaper, would not have paid full price. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: The8tents 3 reviews from this member

 We returned early yesterday from this camp site.

Normally tent campers, the weather and a 7 month old baby forced us to try a static caravan.

Not wanting the 'fun park' thing we were not disappointed in Withernsea sands park, it was very quiet and peaceful yet the facilities were there to be used if we wanted.

We found the staff pleasant and helpful.

The caravan was ok, a luxury after years of tent camping! yet perhaps it could've been in better condition, missing door handles, ripped seats etc, but generally it was clean.

Good job really as we spent most of our time in it.

We enjoy walking but there was no where to walk with a pram and a dog that wasn't on a main road with no footpath; or along treacherous cliffs! the site has sea views but you have to walk down steep steps to actually get onto the beach and then it isn't close by.

We tried walking just opposite the site, where there was what appeared to once have been a campsite, with broken windows from the old facilities block and abandoned dog poo bags piled up next to discarded electrical appliances and other rubbish just left where it was dumped.

We ended up just walking around and round the site!

We then optimistically ventured into the village, the promenade was a short respite from what greeted us. A place desolate and neglected. Many houses boarded up and for sale. The junk yard in the centre topped it off for me. The people in the shops were miserable, that is the shops not closed or boarded up. It felt like a ghost town!

It was a shame as it has the basics to be a lovely sea side town. Some interesting history and the reconstructed pier are lost amongst the pound shops.

The weather wasn't on our side but I'm sorry to say we found Withernsea a depressing place.

We drove out to near by Bridlington which was basically slot machine city in the centre

As a site, Withernsea sands is adequate, as a holiday location it is not. The truth is, we couldn't wait to get home! :-( 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Da10ve 2 reviews from this member

 Hi me and the family and some friends went for the last bank holiday. Was told we would have to book a two pitches for my tent [Corado 8] and a third pitch for my friends tent. Got both tents on two pitches. The third piych had a big hole in it. All the pitches were uneven and they were not cheap. We had a bit of bad weather when we there, had to help move a tent as it was in a hole full of water next to the toilet block. The toilets keep running out of loo paper the staff were not helpful. The bar was too small for the site, heard a couple of complaints from other holiday makers about this. I will not be booking to go camping here again. But we did enjoy the rest of or stay at Withernsea sands. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hreardon 1 review from this member

 had a great week camping and we had plenty of room not over crowded at all. We was on the first field right next to main building so it was a little noisy late at night. Only a few bad points such as lack of loo paper due to lack of hand towels(so have a loo roll handy) toilets and showers were spotless cleaned every morning any mess was down to users, washing up area was always clean and its under cover only 2 sinks, bar food was very tasty and reasonably priced no higher than a pub, usual ploy had to go thro amusements to get to the swimming pool/ playground and club. Onsite shop well stocked and the ladies are lovely and full of information such as where to visit etc. Withernsea itself not a lot there but nice if you just fancy a stroll along the sea front. We had a lovely lunch at A. JS in withernsea very tasty homecooked food and found a very cheap bakers for tasty snacks. Also visit Bridlington lovely seaside town and the deep in Hull good day out on the whole we had a good week and the weather was good be prepared to do some driving to visit good seaside etc. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: VictoriaStirrup 2 reviews from this member

 Having just returned - early - from this site, I feel I must warn campers about the facilities and area.

Pitch - Whilst a good size, there were enough dips and troughs to find using any kind of furniture awkward. Although the camping field was always full, there was plenty of space around our tent, though the screaming and shouting obscenities could be heard clearly day and night.

Toilets and showers - Only 2 showers to service 2 fields. Usually hot and free, but dirty. Hairdryer didn't work. Take your own toilet tissue as usually run out by tea time.

Dishwashing facilities - Undercover, but dirty.

Clubhouse - Small, so get there early if you want a seat. Adequate, though food is just about ok.

Swimming pool - Ridiculous system of 1 in/1 out. There are 4 cubicles with doors at either ends for dry people wanting to get changed and wet people wanting to get dry! If raining, be prepared for a long wait. Pool small, though there is a tiny baby pool at one end.

Staff - Although not quite rude, I would have to describe them as indifferent, even fed up!

Withernsea - I'm really sorry, but can only describe this town as depressing. The beach is shocking. The sea is brown and the sand can only de described as rubble, with broken glass and dog mess thrown in for good measure! The nearest decent beach is Bridlington, a hours drive away. There is a soft play area situated in an amusement arcade in the town, which is only a short walk away.

Playareas - There are 2 play areas. 1 is on open ground which has a zip wire and is a congregating area for teens and also their drunken parents at 4 in the morning! There is also a nice play area for smaller children which we found locked at 6pm.  


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Busby19782002 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed for 1 week in a trailer tent with my husband and our two sons (aged 1 year and 3 years). The park is easy to find with no narrow bends making towing relatively easy.

Upon arrival we parked up and checked in at reception where we were allocated our pitch. We found our pitch next the sports ground. We did notice that the ground was very bumpy which didnít inconvenience us but Iím not sure how comfortable this would be to sleep on in a tent.

There are two toilet and shower blocks. The block on our field was a portakabin and kept very clean. The other camping field had a brick toilet and shower block which held the disabled facilities. The dishwashing facility on this field was much more desirable as we tended to use this rather than the sinks on our field. Both facilities were undercover.

Both of our boys loved the play area. However, this could only be reached by going through the amusement arcade. This was the only downfall. The adventure playground was good too and had an aerial slide much to my 3 year oldís delight.

We ate in the pub a couple of times and wee not disappointed with the price and standard of the food (typical pub grub really). Drinks were also reasonably priced. The children entertainers were good and our boys loved Sparky and Sparkle the parkís characters. The pool was a good size with good clean changing facilities.

Withernsea itself is a small town with a quiet beach. We found a lovely bakery along the high street and enjoyed our goodies in a very well equipped park near the leisure centre.

All in all we had a lovely holiday and I would return to this Park Resorts site. 


Previous     82 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Withernsea Sands Holiday Village ( Parkdean Resorts ) child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Withernsea Sands Holiday Village ( Parkdean Resorts ) have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Withernsea Sands Holiday Village ( Parkdean Resorts )?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Withernsea Sands Holiday Village ( Parkdean Resorts ) dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Withernsea      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in East Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


915 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement