Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Withernsea Sands Holiday Village ( Parkdean Resorts )

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > East Yorkshire > Withernsea > Withernsea Sands Holiday Village ( Parkdean Resorts ) Reviews

Withernsea Sands Holiday Village ( Parkdean Resorts )
North Road
Withernsea
East Yorkshire   (Browse area)
HU19 2BS
Tel: 0843 309 2591
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches:
Open: 21 March To 31 Oct

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 76 Reviews
                6/10 from 76 Reviews

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 1 mile   Wild Swimming 1 mile   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   Tennis On Site 
 Beach 1 mile   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  76 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Simon23 6 reviews from this member

Well didn't know what to expect after some of the reviews on here was worried but you know what a very nice site. Few people having noisy fun but all done by midnight and no one around until 9 am. Never used toilets so cant comment but looked ok on outside. Never did the club or swimming pool but all in a new building. There was plenty of space between units. All in all not exactly the type of site we usually do but a good weekend had by all

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Paul.foers 15 reviews from this member

Just got back from a fab bank holiday weekend. Didn't know what to expect as never been here before but was pleasantly surprised. Pitches were ample size for our caravan and awning with plenty of space between vans for those who require privacy. Was far enough away from the complex so it was quiet but not too far away that it was a long walk. Play area is great for kids and there is pool etc which we didn't use but looked good. Toilets etc were clean, tidy and checked twice a day - saw warden checking them so know it does get done

Only criticism would be of the town itself. To say there's not much to do would be the understatement of the year - 1 arcade, 1 cafe and about 3 shops but if you want a quiet weekend or your prepared to drive for 40 minutes to brid then this site is ideal. Its about a 5 minte walk to the beach but beware if you have a buggy because the path down is cut into the cliff and its about another 15 minute walk into the town to get beach access without any steps.

Overall a lovely site for those with young children wanting to relax

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Triaj07 5 reviews from this member

Lovely. Good touring pitches

The staff are fab - especially Kenny the touring warden

Shower blocks are pretty standard

The club house is OK

Amusements arcade and pool are good too

A play area for kids (zip line for big kids too ;-) )

Good value for money

Close to the beach

Would recommend visiting the lighthouse and RAF bunker!

Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bigal1269 1 review from this member

We have just got back from this site which was our first camping trip, and I have to say we have mixed feelings about this resort.

The field we were put on was reasonably flat and was dry and firm considering the rain we have had recently and managed to get the electric hook up which we had booked.

There was a reasonable amount of room between each unit and we weren't far from the playground and the toilet/shower block.

The playground was great for the kids, there were a few kids who tried to dominate it but on the whole they just got on with it. I do think there should be a curfew on this as some evenings there were older kids there until 12.00-12.30 at night.

The toilet/shower blocks were disgusting and in dyer need of refurbishing. The dish washing facilities however were good and kept clean.

The majority of staff were friendly

The main centre was kept nice and clean and the food we found to be good and reasonably priced.

Drink prices were fairly priced in the main.

The swimming pool was ok apart from the shallow end could be a bit shallower as my 6 year old found it quite deep compared to our local pool.

It would also benefit from more changing cubicles.

The entertainment was good, with something different each day/night.

The shop in the grounds was quite well stocked but as expected quite pricey although there are some shops in Withernsea itself.

I have to agree with other peoples reviews when they say Withernsea is not very inviting and needs updating.

Nearby Hornsea is a much better town to visit.

There were a few undesirables staying there, swearing at there kids and smacking them and there was a bit of trouble on one occasion when the police arrived, but you can't blame the resort for that.

We did meet some nice people however and our kids made some new friends.

Would we go back? Hm probably not, unless the toilet blocks were upgraded.

Although we did on the whole have a great holiday and will definitely be going camping again.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Toft 4 reviews from this member

Just returned from a 2 night stay. Managed to book on the day (let down by another site at the last minute). Fab! Staff lovely, very grateful we did not require a hook up because these pitches get taken up very quickly and the web site was still letting people book them even when they were not available so check before you arrive if you have booked this. We had a huge choice of where to pitch our very large tent (12 birth). The ground was flat and soft enough but not boggy. Our 2 boys and a girl loved the football court but word to the wise, don't pitch too close to this because it stays open all night and teenagers collect around it later on. The pool was clean and the passes included in the price but you do have to go through an arcade to reach it and if your kids are anything like ours, your money is spent very quickly. The on site shop was well stocked and very reasonably priced. The showers were always available but some were a little grotty. Play area fab too but again, be warned that older children 'take over' a little and my burly husband was a good warning to any foul mouths. The beach is minutes away but not for buggies/ wheelchairs.

Overall, highly recommended and we will certainly be returning.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Normannbelson 9 reviews from this member

We arrived in the middle of a rain storm. The grass had been cut and not picked up, and the field was a mud bath, and to top it all my wife and daughter stood in dog poo. We stayed for two days. The toilets were old and dirty. The decent things were the club, and swimming pool. We went for breakfast at the club house. It was cold and the eggs looked like they were plastic.

Date of Visit: April 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Miss P 2 reviews from this member

When we arrived at the site the staff were very helpful and although the site was busy we never felt rushed. Felt that site catered more for the static caravans than us mere mortals in tents. The pitch was a little uneven and had to drive round to find a suitable pitch. Showers and toilets were very outdated and filthy. They didn't look like they had been properly cleaned for weeks, which is a shame because the rest of the site was ok. We ate in the bar and the food was ok and the service was good. The entertainment was great for families.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Andrea71 5 reviews from this member

This site is clean and reasonably well kept the toilets were clean and there is a newly added portable shower block with 6 showers which is smart and clean and plenty of hot water.

The swimming pool is open all day and there are adult only times early morning which is nice for a relaxing swim. The pool is shallow all over however no more than about 4.5 feet at the deepest which is good if you have kids.

Staff are friendly and helpful throughout. The town is a little sorry for itself but there are plenty of shops such as Heron and a tesco close to the site so no need to run out of anything or stock up miles away. You are also within easy reach of plenty of other places such as Hull.

Our break was extremely cheap at about 35 for 5 nights as it was off season and so an absolute bargain.

The only down side to the site is the mud, the field where the tents and touring caravans are is very badly drained and this means that it gets very squelchy even in light rain, the water hangs about and doesnt drain away so naturally this quickly turns to mud and we saw more than one child latherd in mud having slipped over in it. I would recommend this site as a good value friendly clean site, but just pack your wellies and the odd rubber mat for inside the caravan etc.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Leannedeantown 7 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a weekend away at this site. When we arrived on the Friday afternoon the site warden was very helpful, but the pitches he wanted to put us on were waterlogged and very uneven, so he lead us to the other field and we sat there for nearly an hour while he went off to see which pitches were available, the only ones free were the waterlogged ones, we managed to get onto some pitches by about 6.30pm. Then we got set up and I went for a shower there were only 2 showers for all the caravans on that field, the water was freezing cold the next day the showers were still freezing, the block was run down

Date of Visit: April 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Vanessa45 9 reviews from this member

Fantastic site very clean, toilets dated but clean. Staff very friendly ken the warden could not do enough for us. The club is a nice place to go for a drink, not much entertainment due to the time of year but still very nice. Now the bad bit, Withernsea is a run down town, not even a bucket and spade shop, plenty of cafes if thats what you want. The local pubs could do with a lick of paint, Withernsea could do with being brought into the 21st century

Previous     76 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Withernsea      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in East Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4853 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019