Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Withernsea Sands Holiday Village ( Parkdean Resorts )

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > East Yorkshire > Withernsea > Withernsea Sands Holiday Village ( Parkdean Resorts ) > Reviews

Withernsea Sands Holiday Village ( Parkdean Resorts )
North Road
Withernsea
East Yorkshire   (Browse area)
HU19 2BS
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 92
Open: 22/03/2024 to 04/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 82 Reviews
                6/10 from 82 Reviews

Photos (8)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  82 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Donnanne 7 reviews from this member

 Chose this site because it was close and we could use our tesco vouchers to pay! The cost should have been 25 per night for tent pitch with EHU and I think that is very much over priced given the site facilities.

Yes there is a decent bar area with entertainment for kids but the drinks aren't cheap and neither is the food. The pool is tiny so that if 2 families are in it then it's too busy.

Toilet blocks are adequate, clean, plenty of hot water and never run out of loo roll but at the price per night I'd expect better than this to be honest. I don't mind toilet facilities like this on cheaper basic sites but on a holiday park I did expect better.

Another big negative is how noisy the park is, even after 10pm. The entertainment goes on into the early hours and you have people walking through the pitches rather than sticking to the roads well after midnight and not being quiet about it. Kids stay on the park until very late and even though we were in the next field and quite a way away you could still hear the squeals of teenage girls! Then we got younger children on scooters racing past the tent at 6am to use the toilets!

Very big positive is how friendly and helpful the staff are. They greeted us well and called a warden out discuss where we'd like to pitch and then he met us there to make sure everything was ok and that we knew where everything was. There is also a touring warden office next to the toilet block so you can get help with whatever without needing to go to the main reception. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Shellchris 3 reviews from this member

 We arrived on the camp which looked great! having been told the site was full we had to go across the road to the next field (East field) to a standard tent pitch, the ground was very hilly so took a while to find a decent spot! Pitched up near the back fence to have a sea view.

Toilet/shower blocks outdated and grotty (3 deposit) so tried to use complex toilets/showers which were much better. No toilet roll in any! Pool very cold, shop adequate, reasonably priced. We booked 3 nights, went home after 2 due to top field being poor 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sally973 5 reviews from this member

 I chose the site as is only a few hours drive from home and my son wanted to go somewhere with a pool.

On arriving the first impression was good,the receptionist was informative, organised and friendly. There were plenty of spaces to choose from and we decided to pitch in sight of the adventure play ground on a flat pitch. Whilst we were there there was plenty of space between the pitches as it was not busy, but with the way the are marked I would imagine that in the summer you will be on top of one another.

The toilet blocks were adequately clean but again come busy periods I am not sure that the one warden who I saw was enough to vlean and keep on top of all the site.

The entertainment was what could be expected of a place like Withernsea Sands,and on the whole very clean and well maintained. The shop was ok but not a fresh veg or piece of fruit in sight.

I must say a word about the staff - brilliant! very friendly, the ground warden is a lovely bloke and an asset to the place and the life guards at the pool were fantastic with the children - very professional yet interacted with them making them laugh.

A word of warning I pitched next to the hedge, the dawn chorus started just after four in the hedge and I had a feathered friend in the tent one morning at 6.

I would go again - out of season only though. 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hallfam 1 review from this member

 This was our first time camping so we decided not to go too far a field. Withernsea Sands seemed the ideal place to go with two 9 year olds and a 1yr old. We arrived to be greeted by friendly staff at reception and we were given our passes etc then off we went to choose our pitch. There were ample toilet and shower facilities and a small deposit of 3.00 for the toilet key which you got back when you returned it on your departure. The camp site was well lit at night. The club house had the usual arcades and entertainment throughout the day and night for kids and adults alike. The site had a football court and a zip wire where the kids had no end of fun.

We played rounders and cricket with other families who where staying at the site which was run by the entertainment team ( have to say they do have a tendency to cheat) aha.

We had a peaceful and fun weekend the site is big enough to do both, if you just want to chill you can or if you don't you have the clubhouse to party the night away. There is an onsite shop and launderette and I must say the shop isn't at all expensive, not what you would expect from an on site shop, it was like a little aladdins cave.

Oh and I nearly forgot the pool, the kids spent hours there, the only thing was there was limited changing rooms and there weren't any lockers to keep your belongings in. You can watch but hurry as spaces are very limited! Overall we would definitely go again  


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bosshogg_hgte 3 reviews from this member

 There are 2 touring fields here, the bottom one is relatively flat with toilet facilities that are not bad. Unfortunately were were in the top field!

Although the entertainments great and there is the pool and the play area and it could have made a nice family holiday but it didn't.

Upper field toilet blocks were built for the war effort and then extended. There was one shower in it that was either scald or freeze. There was a portacabin with 3 male and 3 female showers in and there was a queue every morning. For the size of site, 4 showers per sex is not enough really.

As for local attractions, there is the Hull road and the Hornsea road.

Ok so the staff were very good and were always pleasant but a farmer could plough a field smoother than the touring field was. I spotted one motorhome at the very tip of its blocks to level it out on one pitch.

Yes there was EHU and they do take large tents.

The onsite shop is well stocked and not too badly priced compared to having to start the car and drive into Withernsea. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Simon23 6 reviews from this member

 Well didn't know what to expect after some of the reviews on here was worried but you know what a very nice site. Few people having noisy fun but all done by midnight and no one around until 9 am. Never used toilets so cant comment but looked ok on outside. Never did the club or swimming pool but all in a new building. There was plenty of space between units. All in all not exactly the type of site we usually do but a good weekend had by all 


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Paul.foers 15 reviews from this member

 Just got back from a fab bank holiday weekend. Didn't know what to expect as never been here before but was pleasantly surprised. Pitches were ample size for our caravan and awning with plenty of space between vans for those who require privacy. Was far enough away from the complex so it was quiet but not too far away that it was a long walk. Play area is great for kids and there is pool etc which we didn't use but looked good. Toilets etc were clean, tidy and checked twice a day - saw warden checking them so know it does get done

Only criticism would be of the town itself. To say there's not much to do would be the understatement of the year - 1 arcade, 1 cafe and about 3 shops but if you want a quiet weekend or your prepared to drive for 40 minutes to brid then this site is ideal. Its about a 5 minte walk to the beach but beware if you have a buggy because the path down is cut into the cliff and its about another 15 minute walk into the town to get beach access without any steps.

Overall a lovely site for those with young children wanting to relax 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Triaj07 5 reviews from this member

 Lovely. Good touring pitches

The staff are fab - especially Kenny the touring warden

Shower blocks are pretty standard

The club house is OK

Amusements arcade and pool are good too

A play area for kids (zip line for big kids too ;-) )

Good value for money

Close to the beach

Would recommend visiting the lighthouse and RAF bunker! 


Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bigal1269 1 review from this member

 We have just got back from this site which was our first camping trip, and I have to say we have mixed feelings about this resort.

The field we were put on was reasonably flat and was dry and firm considering the rain we have had recently and managed to get the electric hook up which we had booked.

There was a reasonable amount of room between each unit and we weren't far from the playground and the toilet/shower block.

The playground was great for the kids, there were a few kids who tried to dominate it but on the whole they just got on with it. I do think there should be a curfew on this as some evenings there were older kids there until 12.00-12.30 at night.

The toilet/shower blocks were disgusting and in dyer need of refurbishing. The dish washing facilities however were good and kept clean.

The majority of staff were friendly

The main centre was kept nice and clean and the food we found to be good and reasonably priced.

Drink prices were fairly priced in the main.

The swimming pool was ok apart from the shallow end could be a bit shallower as my 6 year old found it quite deep compared to our local pool.

It would also benefit from more changing cubicles.

The entertainment was good, with something different each day/night.

The shop in the grounds was quite well stocked but as expected quite pricey although there are some shops in Withernsea itself.

I have to agree with other peoples reviews when they say Withernsea is not very inviting and needs updating.

Nearby Hornsea is a much better town to visit.

There were a few undesirables staying there, swearing at there kids and smacking them and there was a bit of trouble on one occasion when the police arrived, but you can't blame the resort for that.

We did meet some nice people however and our kids made some new friends.

Would we go back? Hm probably not, unless the toilet blocks were upgraded.

Although we did on the whole have a great holiday and will definitely be going camping again. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Toft 4 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a 2 night stay. Managed to book on the day (let down by another site at the last minute). Fab! Staff lovely, very grateful we did not require a hook up because these pitches get taken up very quickly and the web site was still letting people book them even when they were not available so check before you arrive if you have booked this. We had a huge choice of where to pitch our very large tent (12 birth). The ground was flat and soft enough but not boggy. Our 2 boys and a girl loved the football court but word to the wise, don't pitch too close to this because it stays open all night and teenagers collect around it later on. The pool was clean and the passes included in the price but you do have to go through an arcade to reach it and if your kids are anything like ours, your money is spent very quickly. The on site shop was well stocked and very reasonably priced. The showers were always available but some were a little grotty. Play area fab too but again, be warned that older children 'take over' a little and my burly husband was a good warning to any foul mouths. The beach is minutes away but not for buggies/ wheelchairs.

Overall, highly recommended and we will certainly be returning. 


Previous     82 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Withernsea Sands Holiday Village ( Parkdean Resorts ) child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Withernsea Sands Holiday Village ( Parkdean Resorts ) have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Withernsea Sands Holiday Village ( Parkdean Resorts )?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Withernsea Sands Holiday Village ( Parkdean Resorts ) dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Withernsea      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in East Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2847 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement