Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Withernsea Sands Holiday Village ( Parkdean Resorts )

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > East Yorkshire > Withernsea > Withernsea Sands Holiday Village ( Parkdean Resorts ) Reviews

Withernsea Sands Holiday Village ( Parkdean Resorts )
North Road
Withernsea
East Yorkshire   (Browse area)
HU19 2BS
Tel: 0843 309 2591
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches:
Open: 21 March To 31 Oct

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 76 Reviews
                6/10 from 76 Reviews

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 1 mile   Wild Swimming 1 mile   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   Tennis On Site 
 Beach 1 mile   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  76 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Fitzydan 9 reviews from this member

Stayed here for weekend 20-22nd May with friends in the willow field, 20 each with electric. Situated 5-10 mins walk from the beach which is a mixture of sand and pebble, mostly pebble. The town itself is also a short walk with a selection of amusements, shops and pubs.

The pitches were electric but the ground was quite undulating and finding somewhere flat was difficult. This would be easy enough to address out of season.

The site itself had a well stocked shop as you would expect from park resorts. The toilets were clean, there are two showers, one bigger than the other but not enough pegs (and no shelves) to hang stuff on.

The pot wash and elsan is covered over but not indoors. The showers were cold at one point but this was not the case all the time.

The kids enjoyed the play area and zip line.

We never went into the bar so can't comment on these facilities.

When booking we were asked our tent sizes which is not unusual however one of our group had a large tent that we were told they would have difficulty finding a pitch for however on arrival there would have been plenty of room and others had pitched bigger tents so this was disappointing for them but they took their weekender and managed. All in all not a bad site but could do with levelling out.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Windywendy 3 reviews from this member

My family and I stayed here over Easter weekend 2011. Arrived Friday, left Sunday night. Weather was great, nice and dry to pitch our tent.

Check in was hard work with the reception staff! The touring warden was there for just one day and didn't know what he was doing(he told me that). This was Good Friday, the weather was fantastic for the time of year, and I knew that it was going to be a busy weekend for them! They were so not organised. We were given details of our pitch and made our way over to find a tourer caravan in our pitch! Went back over to the main reception to let them know and hopefully be allocated another pitch with EHU. The receptionist then told us to 'just pitch wherever you like, everyone else has!'. I couldn't believe it! As big as Park Resorts is, I was astounded at the lack of customer service for campers! Luckily, my husband had spotted a flat-ish pitch whilst looking for our original pitch, but on a completely different field!

We walked quickly away to basically, do what we wanted, wherever we wanted! I was pretty miffed at that stage, as we had managed to leave early to make the most of the day. It was a good job we did, as the hoards of campers descended shortly after, all to be told, go wherever you like! What a free-for all! We were extremely lucky to get a pitch near an EHU point, but were surrounded by caravans.

Putting all that aside. The Park itself is nice. Lots of static caravans and tourers. Plenty of staff wanting you to buy a static on the site!

Amenities were only average! No hot water in the showers at any time! And only 2 showers and 3 wash basins to about 100 people! The pot wash was great! plenty of hot water and sinks there! Showers and toilets were cleaned only 3 times the 3 days we were there!

The main entertainment complex was great for the kids! The pool looked lovely and clean, we did not try is as our son had a cold. There was a queue every time we went in there. Food at the bar was nice and well presented! Good value for money too. There was a bouncy castle and Sparky's krew for the little ones. The children's playground was great for kids. The shop on site was very basic, although there is a Tesco, about a mile away's drive, which was very handy!

The beach is lovely and clean and a short 5 min drive away and you can park near the promenade. We walked into the main village from there and it was a nice 15 min walk.

The beach is half sand half pebbles, and it has recently been awarded Blue Flag status! Well done to them!The promenade walk is nice and there's parking all along it.

To sum up my experience of camping at Withernsea, it was what we made it! Would I go back? Maybe. I did get the impression that campers were of the lowest concern to Park Resorts Staff that weekend! They seemed more interested on getting caravan sales and static bookings.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: AngelaH 1 review from this member

Visited this site for the first time this weekend, and what a pleasure it was! The site was clean, the shower/toilet facilities were excellent. The staff were very helpful and polite. The indoor swimming pool was great for the kids. The bar/restaurant was friendly. The only downside I felt was that to access the pool and bar you have to go through the amusement arcade.The kids were drawn to it like magnets and wanted to play on everything but at 1 per game I felt it was very overpriced. There was a kids club but we didn't use this facility, and there is entertainment at night but we were too tired after all the fresh air during the day.

It was quite quiet at night too which made sleeping easy!

The beach and town are only a short walk away. Plenty of fish and chip shops!

I would definitely recommend Withernsea Sands!

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Potts 2 reviews from this member

We spend a lot of time here as we do block bookings 8 weeks at beginning of season and 9 weeks at the end and leave the van there

I do agree the willow pitch is out of the way bit and uneven but the bluebell pitch is more flat and opposite the club house and shop

I agree with withernsea not having much to offer but we choose camping as a cheap get away with 4 kids and withernsea hasn't got much for my kid to spend my money on

Even the night security are child friendly

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: AmysMum 3 reviews from this member

We stayed at this site and it was awful.

We booked a hardstanding pitch to be told they didn't have hardstanding pitches, so we were put on a field with tents and caravans. We were charged for two pitches as we had a big unit but we only were put onto one grassy pitch.

The bins were overflowing and very smelly and only emptied once in the 4 days we were there. Thre was only one water point and waste disposal point which was not enough for a large site.

The entertainment was average but the prices were dear.

The swimming pool we never used as it stunk of chlorine and was very overcrowded.

We found the staff unhelpful and rude.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pleach01 5 reviews from this member

We paid over 200 booking direct with Park Resorts, as we wanted to make sure we got a corner pitch which was the right size for our Gelert Meridien Beyond tent. Yet, when we arrived, we found our pitch had been 'switched' without consulting with, or informing us beforehand.

We were moved to a less ideal pitch on the Willows- a long way from the facilities, bearing in mind we had told them we had a disabled member in our party. The field was large and shared toilet/ shower facilities with another field. In spite of this there were just two showers in each of the men's and ladies' facilities. Every day the experience was different- cold water one day, warm the next, only a trickle of cold water the next. On complaining, we were advised to either use another field's facilities (great for our disabled member!) or be patient because the pressure varied when busy. One day the whole shower blocks and toilets were shout down for two hours in the morning due to flooding. They need to build more and maintain the ones they have better- so small it's a struggle to keep your clothes dry when showering.

Outside of the bar, about 10 people seem to have to run the whole site. The camping warden doubled as the toilet cleaner, security etc and told me he had to work 18 hour days!

Security is lax: no control over who comes on site. Lack of enforcement of the park rules. For example, some people left a dog in a cage in their tent all day and well into the late evening in warm weather and it was pitifully howling, yet the owners merely shrugged it off and the Park allowed them to stay with a meaningless slap on the wrist.

Entertainment facilities very small. Singers worse than X factor auditions. There is very little to do for kids aged over 8-9 years old. Pool small and fills very quickly. You can turn up to the pool with your family, only to be told without warning that you have to book in for a session later.

Withernsea is a small town with limited excitement. The range of small shops and the local Tesco were adequate for our needs. However, make sure you fill up on petrol/ diesel well before you arrive. Dick Turpin seems to run the local petrol stations judging by 1. 23 for a litre of diesel!

If you have dogs, they can go on the part of the beach nearest the site. Don't go further than the pile of boulders closer to the town centre during peak season or you risk a fine.

The comments above about the flies, midges (I got bitten 3 times putting up the tent) wasps and ladybirds are very true- bring candles or lamp oil burners to keep them at bay.

Overall, we had a good holiday in spite of Withernsea Sands.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Paul.foers 15 reviews from this member

Withernsea is a quiet village with nothing more than a few shops and 1 amusement arcade. Nice beach and easy access to nearby resorts of brid (30 mins), scarborough (50 mins), hornsea and whitby (1 hour). From the site it is about 10 minute walk to the beach, but beware, there are about 30 steps down to the beach or you can walk into the town on to the beach - a good half an hour walk down the coastline.

Major downside to this site is the hornets and cornflies, there are loads and I mean loads. If you don't like insects, stay away. This applies to the town, the beach, and the site.

Unfortunatly this spoiled our week as the site is great, especialy for kids. Pub can be expensive but 2 meals for 10 is quite welcome after a hard day camping.

Toilets and showers are cleaned at least 5 times a day and are well maintained. No issues with hot water.

Slight niggle for me was the tents are crammed in, but what do I expect in the summer holidays? well, not to have 3 tents within a stride of my caravan door for one, as this left little room for a barbecue or for the kids to play. There are no markings to show pitch boundaries which basically leaves it as every man for themselves.

Receptionist was pretty useless as I asked 3 times if I could pay to stay late on the day of departure, once on arrival, once mid week and once on the final night. Each time I was told I could only stay if my pitch wasn't booked by someone else - but id need to wait until 10am on the day of departure before they could tell me - you have to be off the pitch by 10 !

Shop is well stocked and supplies most food essentials, but within 10 minutes drive there is a tesco, aldi and local co-op.

Overall, a good site spoilt by the insects

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Slreynolds 3 reviews from this member

Just returned from 4 night stay at Withernsea and felt I had to write a constructive review. On arrival we were told our friends, which were due to arrive the next night, were not pitched anywhere near us even though this was requested when booked. It was too late to change as all pitches had been allocated.

We were pitched in the Chestnut field with electric hook up. The ground was very uneven but we made the most of it. Pitches were small and very close together.

As in previous reviews we were given a key, but never needed to use it as the toilet block was always unlocked. There were 4 showers (2 mens & 2 ladies) to cover all the electric pitches plus many more non electric. Therefore queues formed. The cleaning of the toilet block consisted of the warden sweeping the floor once a day so you can imagine they weren't the cleanest. We thought we'd visit the other toilet block, porta cabin, but this was locked and that was in the daytime too. The washing up sinks are located right next to the chemical disposal point with a fence panel separating them. This was very unpleasant when other campers emptied their toilet while washing up was taking place. Every time we visited the wash basins,showers and washing up sinks there was no hot water and I mean not luke warm but cold.

I think the park could not cope with the amount of campers on the park.

When our friends arrived the next night, the pitch they were allocated the day before remained occupied. After speaking to the manager and a lot of deliberating it came to light the pitch next to us with a camper van on was on the wrong pitch. They were asked to move and the outcome being our friends were pitched next to us.

I can't comment on the entertainment as we didn't use it. The pool looked small but ok. Shop was very handy and well stocked.

The beach is a 10 min stroll and you can walk to the town centre in approx. 15 mins. Withernsea itself is a pleasant small quiet seaside town. There is a very nice chinese takeaway (Hong Kong) which delivers to the park.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Irvine45 71 reviews from this member

We had a nice 2 nights away, using the Tesco vouchers, so worked out quite cheaply with electric hookup.

The toilet block was cleaned regularily and was always spotless, especially for a portacabin, as you expect the worst!

Popped in to see the entertainment but the weather was so good, we walked into town instead.

The pool is nice and clean if a little small but was not crowded in the slightest.

A real get away from it all type place.

Professionally run, and wardens always on hand, which were helpful and friendly.

The map you get on arrival of the whereabouts of the pitch is a little difficult to follow.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Andy151 6 reviews from this member

1st ever camping trip with my wife and 2 daughters aged 7 and 2, we came across withernsea sands and was not dissapointed, 13 for 1 night with electric hook up (bargain) due to it being last minute

We were pitched in chestnut grove which is next to the zip wire/play area, good thing as our girls wanted to play and we needed to put the tent up and cook so this was extremely handy for us. Good amount of space between tents / tourers we weren't cramped in unlike some other areas.

Toilet/ shower block very clean only 2 showers so you had a bit of a wait, grounds were kept clean and tidy, there was a warden walking round regularly if you had any problems, we didn't go into the entertainment complex as kids were too busy playing and we decided to take an evening walk on the cliff tops.

You do have to put down a 5 deposit for the toilet key so keep it safe ! it was strange having to lock people in the toilets haha, good washing up facilities round the corner from the shower block.

5 minute walk to the beach/cliff top

Previous     76 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Withernsea      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in East Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2930 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019