Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Withernsea Sands Holiday Village ( Parkdean Resorts )

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > East Yorkshire > Withernsea > Withernsea Sands Holiday Village ( Parkdean Resorts ) > Reviews

Withernsea Sands Holiday Village ( Parkdean Resorts )
North Road
Withernsea
East Yorkshire   (Browse area)
HU19 2BS
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 92
Open: 22/03/2024 to 04/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 82 Reviews
                6/10 from 82 Reviews

Photos (8)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  82 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jonnog 3 reviews from this member

 You can tell that this site is not a private/family run site, it is just a job to the staff.

The toilet block was small for the amount of campers on site and it was a busy weekend. In the gents half there was two showers of which one was a disabled shower. It was the same in the ladies half. It could also do with a more regular clean. My wife said that the rubbish bin was full on the day of our arrival and had still not been emptied two days later.

The cleaning log on the wall, where the staff are supposed to initial when it has been checked or cleaned hadn't been done since the Wednesday and we arrived on the Friday.

The playground area was good for the kids, it had a zip line which my daughter thought was brilliant.

The pitch itself was ok but you were just told to pitch anywhere on the field, leading to a bit of confusion between EHU and non EHU.

There was also arcades and the swimming pool for the kids.

We didn't go the entertainment centre in the evening but we did get a meal and a drink on the day of our arrival and it seemed a little expensive.

There is also a small shop on site, which was handy, but again a little expensive.

We wouldn't dismiss going to another Park Resort but we won't be returning to this particular one. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Torgrosset 1 review from this member

 Myself, my hubby and two children (aged 7 and 5) stayed at this site during May/June half term courtesy of Tesco clubcard! This is our first time 'proper' camping. Although we all enjoyed it as a whole, we've decided we don't like this sort of site and have learned a lot from the experience.

The site is located at the edge of the town itself. We stayed non-electric, and was told we could pitch in any of the three camping fields (electric being around the outside of the fields and non-electric in the middle). It was rather busy to say the least and both tents and caravans shared the camping fields but we managed to find a space, although rather cramped and on very uneven/bumpy ground, but as someone else has already pointed out the ground was like it everywhere and it could do with levelling. Unfortunately we were surrounded by rather loud neighbours with 'colourful' language. However everybody seemed to be quiet after about 10. 30pm ish.

As we stayed non-electric we didn't have an electric coolbox and the site had no facilities to freeze iceblocks! However, the kind lady in the touring reception allowed me to use the top freezer compartment of her personal fridge! Not ideal! I did wonder what other non-eloectric campers do as nobody else seemed to have a need to freeze the blocks?!?! Either they did without, have 3-way fridges or they have icytecks/igloo 5 day coolboxes or the likes?! Needless to say we've invested in an EHU and fridge for next time.

The toilet/washing up block was quite modern and the ladies side consisted of about eight-ten toilets, two showers, three sinks and four washing up points for two large fields of campers (not sure what was in the mens side, my hubby didn't really comment). I feel they could have done with either a larger block with more facilities, or another block altogether (there is, however, another block that serves the other camping field, which I understand is within a porta-cabin). It was a bit hit and miss as to whether the block was clean or not. I found out that the whole site was down to just 2 cleaners (they were supposed to have 6 apparently) so maybe that was why? I appreciate that they can't account for other campers being unhygienic and not cleaning up after themselves, but whatever the reason it wasn't as clean as I'd have liked and I was rather disappointed. The showers were pityful. I didn't even bother trying to have a shower under the 'dribble' that came out, not even sure whether the 'dribble' was hot or not. Instead we all had a good wash/shower after swimming where the showers were hot and decent! Not ideal, but better than what was on offer in the toilet block! The washing up facilities were OK and served it's purpose. The taps in one sink didn't work at all and although this was reported it wasn't repaired during our stay. Again other campers didn't have the common decency to clean up after themselves and most sinks were usually blocked with food waste, which was rather unpleasant. It's a shame as the site are obviously trying to make the facilities more appealing and pleasant by adding raised flower beds etc around the block. Maybe with more cleaners the block would be of a more acceptable standard.

The children absolutely loved the play facilities, in particular the zip-wire & wooden playground, which is located within one of the camping fields. If wanted, you can sit and watch the children play from your tent/caravan. Unfortunately it was dominated by older/teenage children and I felt my children should be supervised, but we stayed at the site during a busy week so was to be expected really.

The on-site shop was Ok and stocked the basics but a bit pricey, however there is a Tesco and Aldi in Withernsea itself.

The beach was just a short walk away and has a blue flag award so it was very clean. However you have to go down lots of steps to get to it (the beach near the site), so maybe difficult for families with small children/babies in a pushchair/pram or those with walking difficulties. It has more pebbles than sand, so get there early, choose your spot carefully and you'll need to wear crocs/flip flops to get to the sea! However the pebbles came in handy to decorate sandcastles! We enjoyed a lovely day at the beach near the site and the children loved it. Bonus that there are no amusement arcades! Not sure whether there are any nearer the town centre though.

The pool is small and only has four changing cubicals so often have to wait to get changed. The water was reasonably warm and the poolside is kept clean by the lifeguards (two being on duty all the time). The children enjoyed it and although it's only basic, it serves a purpose.

The evening entertainment is Ok. Personally not my cup of tea but my children loved the kids disco and 'Madness and Mayhem' or whatever it is called! We didn't really stop to see what was on afterwards. Prices were as to be expected - more than a pub put it that way! The food is dreadful! We decided to have dinner there on the first night and wished we hadn't. It was all overpriced frozen/re-heated commercial packet meals that tasted awful. If you like commercial pub-grub, then fair enough, but I prefer a home cooked meal.

The holiday as a whole is what you'd expect from a commercial site. I think I'd personally prefer a quieter site, but we chose this particular site specifically for the facilities for the children, and they enjoyed themselves so that's the main thing! Not sure I'd want to go back though. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Littlelegs68 2 reviews from this member

 We arrived on the Friday and got told by reception to see the camping warden who would tell us where to pitch. Eventually we found her and got directed to a pitch that had a manhole cover to a drain in the middle of it. We told the warden who told us to pitch on a site nearby only to be told by the caravan next to it that their friends had this booked and would arrive later. Eventually the warden just told us to pitch anywhere. After hunting about we found a semi level pitch and set up. The touring fields really could do with levelling up. We had to pitch to one side of the pitch as the other was just too uneven to get the unit anywhere close to level, even with ramps and blocks it was just too randomly uneven.

The Toilet / Shower block had only two showers, 3 toilet cubicles and 3 urinals to service two big touring fields. On the Friday the cleanliness of the block was ok but by the Wednesday it seem they had given up on cleaning the block. Thursday morning I went to use the toilet and the stench was unbearable. Two of the urinals where blocked and over flowing with urine. I went to reception to inform them thinking that they didnít know only to be informed that they knew about it and it would be sorted later. I explained that the toilets where filthy and was told it was down to kids playing in them and blocking them up with toilet paper. I asked what was being done about it and they said it wasnít their fault and they could not do anything about it. When I said that as the owners of the park they were the ones that had the authority to get down there and clear the kids out of the toilets and tell them to stop hanging around I was just met with a blank look and got the feeling they were just not interested. The toilet block was in such a bad state that we cut our stay short by one night as I just could not face the prospect of trying to get a shower the next morning.

We used the pool on the site a couple of times with the grandkids and they really enjoyed it. Itís a small pool and at busy times operates a one out one in policy so you may have to wait a while to get in.

They have two playground areas for the kids, one for under six year olds which you have to walk through an arcade to get to, basic but the kids really enjoyed it. The other was for older children and this had a zip line on it.

The bar come club house is the usual holiday camp standard. Food is pub grub over priced and didnít look that appetising. Drinks are very expensive but that was to be expected. We only ventured in a couple of times so the kids could watch the entertainment but they asked to leave before it was over. People dressed as rabbits miming to a sound track just didnít captivate them (3 and 5 years old).

The town of Withernsea has a Tesco and Aldi so shoppingís not a problem. They also have a leisure centre. The beach has a blue flag award, itís quite stony at the top of the beach but as the tide goes out it reveals the sand. Free parking can be found adjacent to the beach away from the town centre and itís a 5 mins walk to the beach from the holiday park but access is via steep steps.

We enjoyed the Holiday but wont be going back to the same park. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Vesparuss 1 review from this member

 We visited the site for 10 days and were very impressed and have already booked again for 2 weeks next summer. The site is very clean and well maintained with clean modern toilets that are cleaned everyday and constant hot water in both the toilets and pot washing areas. Site facilities are great with a decent play area and a good indoor pool. Entertainment is provided every night although we only went inside a couple of times as the weather was so good! The seafront and beach are 5 minutes walk away and the town centre about 15 minutes. The town is ok with plenty of pubs, a couple of chip shops and arcades and both Tesco and Aldi supermarkets. The lighthouse/museum is worth a visit and only 10 mins walk from the campsite. The site shop is well stocked but a little overpriced which is usually the case on campsites but its always handy for emergencies. Staff on the site couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. The bar is well stocked but a little expensive, again not unexpected but with supermarkets nearby we didn't go in the bar much as we tended to relax outside the tent with a barbeque. All in all I can thoroughly recommend this site and am looking forward to returning next year. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kissmequick 3 reviews from this member

 I had to pay for two pitches as my tent is quite large, so was expecting actual pitches when we arrived and when we were told to just put the tent up anywhere in the middle of the field I felt a bit fiddled out of money. The staff were not very helpful, I never wash my hair unless I can dry it as I look like a right Wally, I was told there were electrical hook ups for hairdryers on Saturday morning - I wouldn't have washed my hair if I had known I was going to plug my hairdryers in to a dead socket - when I went back to the same staff member with a wet head she told me that they have been waiting for an electrician since Friday and he probably wouldn't have been arriving until Sunday. I went straight to withernsea and paid a hairdresser to dry my hair I was pretty miffed let me tell you.

The showers were just a dribble along the back wall it was actually impossible to wash my hair without holding my hand against the back wall to collect water and quickly put it on my hair. The campsite surprisingly allowed a group of teenagers to camp up late at night and the tension in the site was sliceable, but thankfully they shut up at 1am once some woman shouted at them. Withernsea itself was lovely and the aldi and tesco were handy. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fitzydan 9 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for weekend 20-22nd May with friends in the willow field, £20 each with electric. Situated 5-10 mins walk from the beach which is a mixture of sand and pebble, mostly pebble. The town itself is also a short walk with a selection of amusements, shops and pubs.

The pitches were electric but the ground was quite undulating and finding somewhere flat was difficult. This would be easy enough to address out of season.

The site itself had a well stocked shop as you would expect from park resorts. The toilets were clean, there are two showers, one bigger than the other but not enough pegs (and no shelves) to hang stuff on.

The pot wash and elsan is covered over but not indoors. The showers were cold at one point but this was not the case all the time.

The kids enjoyed the play area and zip line.

We never went into the bar so can't comment on these facilities.

When booking we were asked our tent sizes which is not unusual however one of our group had a large tent that we were told they would have difficulty finding a pitch for however on arrival there would have been plenty of room and others had pitched bigger tents so this was disappointing for them but they took their weekender and managed. All in all not a bad site but could do with levelling out. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Windywendy 3 reviews from this member

 My family and I stayed here over Easter weekend 2011. Arrived Friday, left Sunday night. Weather was great, nice and dry to pitch our tent.

Check in was hard work with the reception staff! The touring warden was there for just one day and didn't know what he was doing(he told me that). This was Good Friday, the weather was fantastic for the time of year, and I knew that it was going to be a busy weekend for them! They were so not organised. We were given details of our pitch and made our way over to find a tourer caravan in our pitch! Went back over to the main reception to let them know and hopefully be allocated another pitch with EHU. The receptionist then told us to 'just pitch wherever you like, everyone else has!'. I couldn't believe it! As big as Park Resorts is, I was astounded at the lack of customer service for campers! Luckily, my husband had spotted a flat-ish pitch whilst looking for our original pitch, but on a completely different field!

We walked quickly away to basically, do what we wanted, wherever we wanted! I was pretty miffed at that stage, as we had managed to leave early to make the most of the day. It was a good job we did, as the hoards of campers descended shortly after, all to be told, go wherever you like! What a free-for all! We were extremely lucky to get a pitch near an EHU point, but were surrounded by caravans.

Putting all that aside. The Park itself is nice. Lots of static caravans and tourers. Plenty of staff wanting you to buy a static on the site!

Amenities were only average! No hot water in the showers at any time! And only 2 showers and 3 wash basins to about 100 people! The pot wash was great! plenty of hot water and sinks there! Showers and toilets were cleaned only 3 times the 3 days we were there!

The main entertainment complex was great for the kids! The pool looked lovely and clean, we did not try is as our son had a cold. There was a queue every time we went in there. Food at the bar was nice and well presented! Good value for money too. There was a bouncy castle and Sparky's krew for the little ones. The children's playground was great for kids. The shop on site was very basic, although there is a Tesco, about a mile away's drive, which was very handy!

The beach is lovely and clean and a short 5 min drive away and you can park near the promenade. We walked into the main village from there and it was a nice 15 min walk.

The beach is half sand half pebbles, and it has recently been awarded Blue Flag status! Well done to them!The promenade walk is nice and there's parking all along it.

To sum up my experience of camping at Withernsea, it was what we made it! Would I go back? Maybe. I did get the impression that campers were of the lowest concern to Park Resorts Staff that weekend! They seemed more interested on getting caravan sales and static bookings.  


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: AngelaH 1 review from this member

 Visited this site for the first time this weekend, and what a pleasure it was! The site was clean, the shower/toilet facilities were excellent. The staff were very helpful and polite. The indoor swimming pool was great for the kids. The bar/restaurant was friendly. The only downside I felt was that to access the pool and bar you have to go through the amusement arcade.The kids were drawn to it like magnets and wanted to play on everything but at £1 per game I felt it was very overpriced. There was a kids club but we didn't use this facility, and there is entertainment at night but we were too tired after all the fresh air during the day.

It was quite quiet at night too which made sleeping easy!

The beach and town are only a short walk away. Plenty of fish and chip shops!

I would definitely recommend Withernsea Sands! 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Potts 2 reviews from this member

 We spend a lot of time here as we do block bookings 8 weeks at beginning of season and 9 weeks at the end and leave the van there

I do agree the willow pitch is out of the way bit and uneven but the bluebell pitch is more flat and opposite the club house and shop

I agree with withernsea not having much to offer but we choose camping as a cheap get away with 4 kids and withernsea hasn't got much for my kid to spend my money on

Even the night security are child friendly 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: AmysMum 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this site and it was awful.

We booked a hardstanding pitch to be told they didn't have hardstanding pitches, so we were put on a field with tents and caravans. We were charged for two pitches as we had a big unit but we only were put onto one grassy pitch.

The bins were overflowing and very smelly and only emptied once in the 4 days we were there. Thre was only one water point and waste disposal point which was not enough for a large site.

The entertainment was average but the prices were dear.

The swimming pool we never used as it stunk of chlorine and was very overcrowded.

We found the staff unhelpful and rude. 


Previous     82 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Withernsea Sands Holiday Village ( Parkdean Resorts ) child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Withernsea Sands Holiday Village ( Parkdean Resorts ) have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Withernsea Sands Holiday Village ( Parkdean Resorts )?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Withernsea Sands Holiday Village ( Parkdean Resorts ) dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Withernsea      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in East Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3364 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement