Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Green Pastures Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > New Forest & Hampshire > New Forest > Green Pastures Farm Reviews

Green Pastures Farm
Whitemoor Lane
Ower
Romsey
New Forest
Hampshire   (Browse area)
SO51 6AJ
Tel: 02380 814444
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 45
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 85 Reviews
                8/10 from 85 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  85 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mummyof4 2 reviews from this member

 Had an amazing stay, this was our first time camping and we only live ten mins away so was perfect in case we A) didn't like it or B) it rained! neither happened, the staff were lovely and friendly, came to see we were ok and were helpful. The toilets and showers were very clean and we never waited to use any facilities all weekend.

The children actually played together without arguing and as there was just a field to play in they ran riot! it was busy but it didn't feel packed and we didn't feel we were on top of each other. There is noise from the road but nothing major and to be honest you soon forget the road is there. Opposite the entrance is a lovely cricket club where you can go and watch the home games and you could be anywhere in the country.

For us this was a fab little site where we truly relaxed and watched the world go by. Would highly recommend this site to anyone who wants a quiet, pretty and relaxed weekend away. Well done to the owners who took over last year you have a lovely little site and we will be back in the spring 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Smegely 10 reviews from this member

 Basic, but pleasant and friendly site.

Facilities:

Toilets - clean and functional, soap and loo roll provided, but barely functional hand dryer, and limited quantities of paper towels which ran out pretty soon.

Showers - just four (two gents, two ladies) not really enough when the site is busy. Clean and hot but not very powerful.

Washing up - only two sinks for whole site, often had to wait.

Very close to the M27 so constant road noise. But the overflow field, for those who didn't need electric hook-up, was a big open space where we were told to 'pitch where you like'. Loads of space, almost too much choice. Lots of space for the children to play. Grass was a bit long, but ground was lovely for pitching on - dry and firm, easy to put pegs into.

We only stayed two nights, as a stop-over, and I don't think we'd want to spend a week there because of the road noise, but for our purposes it was very nice. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lynn_brighton 11 reviews from this member

 We visited in late May 2008 and the site was quiet and fairly empty. Although near to the road this didn't bother us and traffic noise was minimal.

The campsite staff were very helpful and were able to supply us with Gas when we ran out which saved a tour round local garages.

The site is an excellent location for Paultons Park which we visited (only 5 minutes away) a great day out for young children.

Campsite facilities were excellent, clean with a good hot water supply. I thought the overnight charges were quite high but they are probably competitive with others in the New Forest, my only slight warning is that this site is on the very outskirts of the New Forest and it's a drive away to the centre of Forest. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jimmythefish 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a wonderful weekend here. We were a group of five families with a mix of tents and caravans, 10 adults, 13 kids.

We were pitched in the rally field which suited our group perfectly, the kids had a big space to run around in which was also small enough for us to keep an eye on them in.

Toilets and showers and washing up areas all good. Lovely fresh eggs from the small shop on site, close to new forest (we spent a lovely afternoon with a picnic there).

Would definitely recommend. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jcamper 4 reviews from this member

 Stayed here couple of weeks ago. Owners very friendly and welcoming. I thought reasonably priced for New Forest.

Pretty basic site surrounded by fields and on a farm. Noise from m27 but hardly noticed it. Also it was the only noise as surrounded by woodland!

It rained (a lot) and sadly the whole field had lots of large puddles so be careful where you pitch. Not much privacy as all camped around the perimiter of field. But I didn't find that a problem.

Some lovely walks and an absolutely fab pub called the Compass Inn isnt too far. Not much to do for kids other than outdoor games/bike riding etc. Good site for dogs.

Toilet block could really do with updating but it was ok considering the amount of mud being walked through.

Shop was very very limited but the owner is helpful and gave us a cup of sugar! I'd stay here again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Thelovebus 6 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a 4 night break, a small site set in two large fields, there were a selection of visitors with tents, caravans and motorhomes, upon our arrival we were greeting and given a pitch number we realised our electric hook up lead was too short and we were kindly lent a second lead from the owner.

Previous comments about traffic noise is apparent so id you are a light sleeper this may be a problem. The pitches seem a bit cramped and appear to be on top of one another.

For all you dog lovers can recommended The Mortimer Arms nice food and beer and is ajacent to Poultons Park.

The toilet block was busy and had a short wait for the shower (only 2 in the ladies) sometimes the water was a heavy trickle or a full flow but water was hot. However I think a good dose of de-scaler is needed on the tiles on both the toilets and showers, and the plastic seats was heavy in dust.

We have been spoilt with the caravan club standards maybe we were expecting too much. There is a doggie day care however we didn't take advantage of this. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Brett_sinclair 5 reviews from this member

 This site is very well located for a trip to Paulton's park which is on the edge of the New Forest.

As other reviews have said the owner's give a warm welcome.

Some negative aspects: the site's drainage was not brilliant (we had lots of rain when I was there) and areas of the field became fairly muddy.

The facilities are a bit limited, there are only a couple of showers (and the pressure in the showers was not very good) so these could do with improving.

As others have mentioned the road noise is always there (but it did not bother us)

One thing that would put us off returning would be the number of small worms that came visiting into our awning (although as I mentioned it was a rainy few days so you probably wouldn't have a problem in fine weather) 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lesley/Ian 31 reviews from this member

 Booked this as a stopover for a couple of nights to break up our journey from the North down to the Isle of Wight.

Nice and easy to find just of the motorway and yes you can hear the noise but it's not too intrusive.

It is a single track road to the site from the main road, with only one passing place, so take it slowly when towing.

We were met by a pleasant lady in reception and she escorted us to our pitch, which I always appreciate. Site has a large flat field and all the pitches are around the edge leaving a great big space in the centre for ball games.

The kids all played cricket together in the middle one evening, which was great for them.

Some pitches had electric hook up, some not. Was about a 50/50 split with caravanners and tenters.

The toilet block is small but adequate, the floor was a little muddy, but hey we are camping in England and it had rained a little, but there is a mop and bucket. I have big issues with toilet blocks on sites, I think it's what you are paying your money for and believe me these are ten times better than some we have seen! Was very happy use them as they were very clean otherwise.

Small shop on site for some basics and sweets for the kids, but we drove to the local SPAR type shop for some extra provisions.

There is also a Crown Carvery in the next village, 3. 69 for an evening meal midweek and good food too.

We travelled to Beaulieu National Motor Museum about 13 miles and had a great day out there.

It's about 8 miles from the Red Funnel ferry port so nice and convenient for that too.

All in all, a little gem of a site and we would use again on our way to the Isle Of Wight and would recommend it for weekend breaks for people who are more local. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Steve2009 5 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely site - we really enjoyed our 2 weeks here.

The big attraction for us was that it was so close to the New Forest making a good base for cycling & walking, not quite so good if you want to visit the beach regularly.

There's a large safe play area in the middle of the main field which is excellent for kids, big enough for football & rounders as well.

Most of the pitches are fairly level & located all around the outside of the field.

The amazing thing about the showers is that whilst there's only 2 per sex there was never a queue, we've been to several similar sized sites in France & Germany with more showers & bigger queues - not sure quite what this says about the British camping public.

Showers themselves were OK but not brilliant - need updating very soon. As others have mentioned it would be nice if people could learn how to use a mop.

There's an automatic washing machine available (5 per token) although a big omission is a sink to wash clothes by hand.

The motorway noise was always present (and we were on the motorway side of the field) but we didn't notice it all after a few hours, it certainly didn't spoil our holiday.

Overall we would be happy to return here again. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gsh112 3 reviews from this member

 Lovely little site is a beautiful location, very handy for the New Forest. Entrance lane is narrow-take extra care.

Friendly greeting from owners, but didn't see them again.

Shower and toilet block very dated and limited, needs updating and extending, but kept as clean as the camping public would allow. It really isn't hard to mop out the shower after use now is it fellow campers?

Beware camping under the trees--lots of sticky resin on the canvas.

Plenty of places to eat locally, and local supermarkets close by.

The huge pit fall about this site is the M27--the motorway which never stops. The noise is persistent and eventually gets on your nerves. It took the edge off my 2 day break, but sadly there is nothing the owners can do about it.

Bring a long lead for your hook-up as some are a long way from the pitches. 


Previous     85 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Green Pastures Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Green Pastures Farm?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Green Pastures Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near New Forest      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hampshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6798 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement