Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Green Pastures Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > New Forest & Hampshire > New Forest > Green Pastures Farm Reviews

Green Pastures Farm
Whitemoor Lane
Ower
Romsey
New Forest
Hampshire   (Browse area)
SO51 6AJ
Tel: 02380 814444
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 45
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 85 Reviews
                8/10 from 85 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  85 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: McCamper 5 reviews from this member

 On arrival, we were greeted warmly by Jane, who had her grandson 'helping' to book people in! I was asked if I had the time so he could book me in, which of course I agreed to. Jane did a quick sketch on the back of a scrap of paper to direct us to our pitch. There was no other information given or indication to washing up facilities, toilets, showers,etc.

We paid 5 per night extra as we have a larger tent, which I don't mind, and presumed that the pitch would accommodate this. We got to our pitch and were slightly bemused. We were told to pitch and park the car beside the tent, if we had done this, we would have been parked on our neighbour's pitch.

The pitches run round the perimeter of the site, with a vast area in the middle for the children to play, which was nice. The showers.Only 2 of them, were not all that clean. There was a mop and a bucket of dirty water with a patronising sign above stating that if you did not know how to use a mop, to see the site owners so that they could give you a lesson! The sealant around the shower trays was black and the tile grout was mouldy too. Trying to get 3 children showered was not an easy feat. The buttons were a bit too high for them to reach and they were quite hard to push. I felt very aware of people waiting for the shower, so the children were strip washed with baby wipes after that. The toilets, again were not all that clean, the tiles on the wall were dirty and there was always toilet paper on the floor.

The surrounding area is pretty, and this site is very well situated for access to the major roads for getting out and about. The site is close to the M27 and there is a constant hum of traffic, but I have to say, it did not become intrusive.

The town of Totton, was only 10 minutes away, if you want a take away, etc. And there is a large Morrisons in the other direction about the same distance away. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Milkshake 5 reviews from this member

 Just come back from a fantastic few days at Green Pastures Farm. The owners were really helpful and friendly. There is a big space in the middle for the children to play and that you can view from anywhere. Even being on a very hot spring bank holiday weekend and being full there still seemed like you had loads of room.

Facilities were really clean and no spiders/bugs.

Over the bank hol weekend the other field was full too so that made queuing for the showers (only 2 for ladies and 2 for men) but by Monday evening you could shower whenever you wanted without a wait. Also, the showers have glass doors on so it's good for showering toddlers without them escaping! Also keeps your clothes dry. However, on the other hand, its a press button shower which did get rather annoying at times.

The only downside as far as I'm concerned was the traffic noise from the M27. It was a constant hum which you do get use to and on a plus side, it stopped you hearing your neighbours snoring / conversations as the hum really did overtake.

However, despite this - my kids (4 & 6) loved it. They were able to cycle around the whole field or play football / cricket / frisbee etc without us worrying where they were as we could see them at all times. They have never been so content while on holiday.

Also very close to the lovely cycle paths/walks in the New Forest. None within cycling distance for children but only a short drive away to lots of free scenic days out on our bikes.

Highly recommend this site and will be returning some day. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Carterc2 4 reviews from this member

 Visited over the early May bank holiday. The site was very busy all weekend.

The site owners walked around every day inspecting the site, and were cheery.

As per earlier comments, the facilities looked a few years old, but were clean. There were queues at peak times, especially for the ladies, but always plenty of hot water.

The site was a flat field and when we arrived, there were a few puddles next to our allocated pitch. These did dry to a muddy patch which seemed to attract our children to play in!

Being in a Tent, we did hear the motorway traffic, but during the day and evening it was a constant hum which was more of background noise which didn't affect us.

Overall an enjoyable break and a good base to explore the New Forest. 


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dazzyb 7 reviews from this member

 This is a great site , especially those with children. We were, as everyone says, walked to our pitch which was a very good size and clean with no debris on it, owner apologised for it being muddy on the path but I have seen much more mud and it had rained for most of the week before, dried out after few dry days.

Tents / caravans etc are mostly around a big open field so you can see your kids playing , always seemed to be a football match going on. Saying that the place went very quiet from 8-30pm, so no problem noise.

My kids aged 7 and 5 loved the horses that were in near fields , dog walk very good leads into wooded area.

There are 2 showers in males and 2 showers in females , only had to wait once for a shower , showers were push button and I think it would have been a bit to hot for our kids, reasonably clean .

Situated near motorway but I never heard any traffic noise but I appreciate that some people may.

15 mins from Southampton and 25 mins from Portsmouth .

I found Portsmouth a very nice city especially the waterfront, very clean with lots of nice bars, restaurants, shops.

All in all a great little site if visiting this area 


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: LolaRola 17 reviews from this member

 Stayed for two nights in early April when the site was very quiet. A friendly reception from the owner, but we saw nothing more of them for the duration of our stay.

Toilet and shower block was clean enough: the showers are the push-button type, some of which don't stay on for long before needing to be pressed again.

Nearby Compass Inn was comfortable and convivial. Apparently visitors are also welcome at the cricket club adjacent to the campsite. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hopevalley10 1 review from this member

 Upon arrival at the site we were greeted with a big smile and a warm welcome.

We were shown to our pitch, shown the toilet block and shown the most important thing, the dog walk which led to a lovely open grassy area over the lane. Also a bonus for us was that we could park the car next the pitch too.

Jane and Tony walked around the site at least twice a day, chatting to everyone and making sure that all was well and that we all had everything we needed, which we found very comforting. It was nice to know that we were not just some people renting space on their field!

The facilities are excellent. The toilet/shower block was spotlessly clean and very accessible.

Pitches are all around the edge of the field and the middle is a vast open space for games etc.

Very easy to find, and although it is near to the motorway, we hardly noticed the traffic noise.

We fully intend to book for our 2009 holiday. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jeffuk13 2 reviews from this member

 What a great little gem in the new forest, its basically a field with electrics and an excellent shower block and a little on site shop ideal for New Forest / Southampton / Paultons theme park (2 mins away). Was recommended to my by my brother who stays there quite a bit, very friendly and clean, good cricket club just outside of site where alls welcome and serve nice cold beer.
Kids had a ball, could run themselves into the ground with out any danger, other campers / caravanners very friendly.
Owners Jane and Tony cant do enough to help you always around to help 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dave2205 3 reviews from this member

 We have just come back from a 3 night stay at this site. What an absolutely wonderful campsite. The owners are friendly, polite and helpful. When you arrive on site they walk over to your pitch, explain where everything is and then leave you to it. The toilets and shower blocks are always clean, the washing up area is also always clean and they have laundry facilities as well. This is a friendly campsite every night raining or not there was a football match going on where all the kids and adults on the site joined in. We required some semi skimmed and skimmed milk and the owner ordered it in especially for us. Nothing was too much trouble. We will definitely be returning to this site next year. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Andy1958 1 review from this member

 Just had a week at this excellent site. Reasonable size pitches allocated on arrival with large area in centre left open giving a nice feel to the site and great space for kids to play. Shower/toilet block small but clean - didn't have to wait once for shower - water was a bit on hot side for kids!

Long but interesting walk to Compass pub recommended by Jane - worth it as it is a nice traditional pub with good covered outside seating area for families. Only had drink so can't comment on food but fellow campers spoke highly of it. We had a good value meal at Sir Walter Tyrrell pub one evening (a short drive away at Rufus Stone). Also had a drink at nearby cricket club bar which seems to be open most evenings.

Jane suggested shopping at Waitrose at Romsey - beware that Romsey gets seriously snarled up with traffic at 'rush hour' - it took us an hour to get out of town from there on Monday evening! We found a Tesco Metro at Totton which only took 10 mins by car from camp site.

You do notice motorway noise at night but it really didn't bother us - at 19 per night this site is terrific value.

Within easy reach of whole New Forest area - Portsmouth Docks (HMS Victory etc) - Lulworth Cove/Durdle Door - Salisbury. The Otter & Owl centre nearby is great. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Meeshie 1 review from this member

 This is a lovely site, its divided into two fields and a further field which appears to be for groups. The two fields only have pitches around the outside and whilst they are not the biggest pitches in the world it means that there is a huge space in the middle for kids to play. This in my opinion is therefore a safe environment for parents to let there children play whilst they relax at the same time as keeping an eye on them. We do not have children and I would say if children playing would annoy you then this isnt the place for you. It didnt bother us at all and we even used the space to play bat and ball.

The site is situated well for exploring the new forest with no having high pitch costs as some of the sites we looked into had. However it is very very close to the M27 and the noise is constant, even at night. It didnt bother us at all, but I would say if noise bothers you then this isnt the place for you.

The toilet block is small but fine, it was clean and tidy, someone mentioned in another review they thought the note telling people to clean the shower after use rude, I thought it was amusing, I understand the point of the mop and bucket but it was hit and miss to whether everyone used it.

The shop is just a few things being sold in the reception at inflated prices, but Jane was very helpful and accommodating.

We enjoyed ourselves and would go back if I wanted to spend a few days in the new forest, I wouldnt spend a week there though. 


Previous     85 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Green Pastures Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Green Pastures Farm?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Green Pastures Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near New Forest      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hampshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6705 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement