Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisements

Reviews of Wilksworth Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Wimborne > Wilksworth Caravan Park Reviews

Wilksworth Caravan Park
Cranborne Road
Wimborne
Dorset   (Browse area)
BH21 4HW
Tel: 01590 648333
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 85
Open: 01/04 To 31/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 78 Reviews
                9/10 from 78 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (12)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   No Bar   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis On Site 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  78 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilet / shower facilities will be open. Some communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cab anon 1 review from this member

 We visited for the weekend only fri-sun but had a great time, we are 'local' insofar as we live 20 mins away so love the surrounding area so would not help to comment on this aspect as we are clearly biased. Staff and owners could not be more helpful, there are strict rules regarding the pool, dog walking and noise but they are to the benefit of everyone.

The facilities are excellent, great outdoor pool, football, basketball, volleyball, tennis all very well maintained. Children's play area and bike course are both great, this was sanctioned by our daughter ! I'd challenge anybody to have bored children here! However looking at it objectively we had glorious weather, which clearly helps as this is very much an outdoor activity based site.

The shower block is well fitted out and always spotless. The on site cafe/shop sells local produce and does a great breakfast, take away is available and you can take a beer/ wine in with you if you wish to enjoy a meal on the premises. We would not hesitate to recommend and we will return.

The only reason we hesitated on giving max stars was because there is no indoor/ undercover activity area, this could be a problem for some families on prolonged bad weather days, but a little research of what the surrounding area has to offer would soon sort that out, to their credit there is a purpose made local information centre on site so the owners even have that one covered! 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: FamilyBeans 1 review from this member

 We have just returned after a 2 night camp, our first family trip with 2 year old twins. Already we can't wait to go back!

We had the entire tent field to ourselves which made for fantastic wildlife spotting over meals. Keeping cars off the field unless loading/unloading is great idea and so much safer with little ones running around.

The facilities blocks are brilliant, hot water is actually hot and the areas are clearly marked. The loo/shower blocks are really clean and spacious.

Our toddlers absolutely loved the park and it was great to let them be freerange. A peek through the gate at the pool area definitely gives us yet another reason to want to return.

A friendly welcome by all and a cracking cafe for meals, snacks or simply if you can't wait for your own kettle to boil.

Looking forward to many future camps. 


Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Marci 1 review from this member

 First visited this site 15 years ago and it was lovely then and I wasn't disappointed on my return visit having just come back from spending the May bank holiday weekend there. The toilet blocks are lovely & clean & plenty of hot water for the showers. The on site cafe serves a good selection of meals and homemade cakes. Recommend The Stock Inn pub located nearby for great food & prices don't forget to use the free bottle of wine voucher included in your welcome pack. Shops nearby include a Waitrose and Co-op and there is even a camping and caravan store nearby should you need emergency supplies. 


Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mortale 10 reviews from this member

 We had been looking forward to visiting Wilksworth for a number of months and were definitely not disappointed. Prior to our arrival the booking in process was straightforward and nothing was too much trouble.

We arrived slightly later than anticipated in a light drizzle and the warm welcome we received instantly revived our spirits and started our week-end off fantastically.

We were located on one of the superior pitches and had been placed next to our friends as requested. It was fairly quiet on site being the end of the season but perfect for us as two families with young children.

The toilet and shower facilities were spotless and the underfloor heating a real bonus. The kids loved the BMX track and play area. It was easy to get fresh water, empty grey and toilet waste. The swimming pool area looked great.

We had a coffee and light snack in the cafe where again the welcome we received was incredibly warm and the coffee delicious.

As we were only staying for a couple of nights we didn't need to leave the site but as we are local to the area we can advise others that there is a Waitrose supermarket approximately 5 minutes drive away and a Tesco approximately 15 minutes away. It is also easy to get to Poole and the beautiful Sandbanks beach and there are many leisure facilities within easy travelling distance from the site.

Wilksworth is a real gem of a place. We didn't want to leave and look forward to returning in 2013. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Joannec 9 reviews from this member

 This wasn't our first choice of campsites but the first did't get back to us and we were so glad. We went down with my brother so that meant 4 adults and 4 kids aged 4-11. The site itself was fantastic. On arrival the reception staff were very helpful. We were shown to the pitch which was in the middle if the camping field. This did concern me after previous reviews however the owners must have took note as it was very organised and they let us have our vans with doors facing - something that many sites don't allow.

The showers were clean but few did have bench's missing which was a pain. The cafe food was delicious and I would recommend having tea there. The shop was basic but staff gave directions to Waitrose which was fine. We were there on the second week of the Olympics which made the visit better as there were many different cultures down in bournemouth.

The weather was the best we have ever had and yes there were huge mosquitoes but that was hardly the sites fault!. The play park was enough for the kids but the pool was freezing. The surrounding area has everything. Beaches shops countryside and towns etc. This is an amazing area and it was better than being abroad. I would 100% visit this site again and pray we got the same weather. 

Advertisements

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tinkerbell72 1 review from this member

 I have just returned from Wilksworth Farm after a 6 night stay with friends.

The site itself is very clean and tidy. The toilets and showers were nice and plenty of room to move. I like the idea of the passcode so that children cannot go in unattended and mess about. It does seem quite a way from places though, a good 30 minutes to a beach, glad there was a nice pool. Little toys for the kids in the shop was quite good too.

I was there when the 4 tents (that another camper has written about) were there. There was one night when they were up after 2am which was their first night. They did get complained about and did quieten it down. They were on holiday like everyone else, no-one had got to get up for work so I don't see a problem. You are on holiday!

The owners say no noise after 11pm which is a little strict I think but the people that let their children scream and shout at 6am should also be told.

If you want a very quiet campsite then this is for you, if you want a drink and chat with friends then I suggest you look elsewhere. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sezphillips 1 review from this member

 Stayed at this site for 1 week in the tent field. The field was great and the pitches were plenty big enough for our 8 man tent.

We loved the fact that they ask you to put your car in the car park so no cars on the field unless you are arriving or leaving, making it very safe for children.

The site was great for us as everybody in tents and quiet by 11pm, we hate rowdy late night camp sites!

The toilets were acceptable but would not say the best I have been in, but certainly not the worst. They were cleanish ! not to my standard of cleaning and the showers could do with de- scaling and the tiles need re- grouting, a little grotty in areas.

Having said that would definitely go back as it was great for kids, pool ace, tennis courts and park kept them busy for hours.

The staff were all friendly and helpful and having little cafe on site was great, just had take-away chips one night.

All the people on-site were lovely, like minded people having fun camping.

The location was ideal 20mins drive from pool and sandbanks beach(amazing).

All in all this site is fantastic for families with children, will be back. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: The cartwrights 5 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a 5 night stay on the mixed ehu field and would return if in the area again.

It was a lovely quiet site with plenty of clean showers and toilets. The children loved the play area and the swimming pool.

Our favourite days out whilst there were the Tank Museum and Moors Valley Country Park. Unfortunately the weather wasn't warm enough for a beach day but the site is within easy reach of the coast. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Graeme_Cooke 9 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from 10 nights in our folding camper. We were in the tent field with EH and the first thing that struck me was the limited pitch size.

We were at the very end of the field with the entrance road behind us. The pitch size was approximately 70 square meters which meant that our neighbours were very close. As a previous reviewer said you have to leave your car in the car park which was very busy in August so finding a space was sometimes hard.

Due to the close proximity of other tents / families there always seemed to be somebody hitting a ball at our wind break or tent. This despite there being a large field for the kids to play. We also found this site attracted a lot of young families so we were often woken at 6am by screaming children.

Another big problem was the mosquitoes. With all the rain that we've had this summer there was some wet area behind the tent field. This seemed to really encourage them. They were also a problem on the football field. Repellent would be a good idea for those susceptible to them.

The biggest issue though in the tent field was a family that arrived with four tents. They stayed up drinking and generally being loud until 2am on two occasions before we left. Thankfully we weren't that close but we did feel sorry for people nearby. I know some campers complained but they were back at it two nights later. After the first time the wardens put it down to them being over excited on their first day. On other sites they would have been asked to leave. At the end of the day everybody is there to enjoy their holiday.

On the whole we found the site clean and tidy and well maintained. The first time we used the showers the water was barely a trickle but they were fine after that. The pool was small but okay although the water was always cold. The location is excellent and I can recommend the Stocks Inn, Furzehill for a good country pub.

Having read the previous reviews I really expected something special from Wilksworth Farm but what we got was average. We spoke to many campers during our time there that visited each year but I just didn't get it. We have stayed on better sites but they weren't in Dorset. We won't be going as we like to try new sites whenever possible. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ewitty 2 reviews from this member

 Fantastic site. Really accommodating when we changed our group booking due to poor weather.

Great shower blocks, really clean and modern.

Fantastic play area and the kids loved the pool.

Really friendly and accommodating staff. We were a group of 5 families and were made to feel very welcome. Stayed for 2 nights.

I am from the area so didn't explore at all, but it is in a great location if you did want to. Only a very short drive from the lovely town of Wimborne.

Will definitely visit again. 


Previous     78 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Wilksworth Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Wilksworth Caravan Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Wilksworth Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Wilksworth Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Wimborne      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3925 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisements


Advertisements