Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisements

Reviews of Wilksworth Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Wimborne > Wilksworth Caravan Park Reviews

Wilksworth Caravan Park
Cranborne Road
Wimborne
Dorset   (Browse area)
BH21 4HW
Tel: 01590 648333
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 85
Open: 01/04 To 31/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 78 Reviews
                9/10 from 78 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (12)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   No Bar   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis On Site 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  78 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilet / shower facilities will be open. Some communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: October 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Cheethama 10 reviews from this member

 On arrival we had to park up outside the site, due to barrier, and go to Reception. It was all closed up and there is a phone outside to call someone to come to book you in. I had booked and paid in advance and given my arrival time as approx, 12.30pm. We arrived at 12.20pm. Which wasn't a bad estimate as I had driven 250 miles in a part of the country I do not know.

However I still had to hang around outside until a lady appeared at the shop door. I felt I was inconveniencing her, having had to come downstairs from her home/flat. She was not particularly welcoming and gave me all the paperwork and called a man to show us to our pitch.

All the facilities advertised on this site were not available, swimming pool, information centre and shop only open 1 hour per day.

Can't comment on Cafe as we did,t use it.

I am sure this is a lovely site in Summer when in full swing, but they do not seem interested at the end of the season. At 16 per night, albeit reduced from the Summer rates, it is not value for money. It would be if all the facilities were available. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Joteddy 1 review from this member

 Loved this site! Stayed for 1 week 15th August.

First the negatives:

Tent pitches were slightly cramped (although our tent is large).
Hmmm, actually can't think of any other negatives (and I've asked my other half too and he can't think of any).

Now for the positives:

Showers and toilets were very clean.
Washing up area also clean and tidy.
Nice level pitch for our tent (we were glad we weren't at the bottom of the tent field as they lost the sun early evening).
The tent field was a nice size, not too big and not too small.
Ken, the man who showed us to our pitch and gave us site info was very helpful and friendly.
Swimming pool was lovely - very clean and an excellent bonus for our 2 children as the weather was so good while we were there.
Made use of the volleyball pitch, tennis courts and games room (pool table 50p and table tennis 5 deposit).
A massive mention has to go to the cafe - absolutely delicious homemade cakes - my husband especially liked the coconut sponge - and Sandra the cafe owner gave us her email address so we can get the recipe! We also had takeaway cheesey chips and pasties from the cafe one evening, yum.

One evening we tried a close-by pub The Stocks Inn, lovely food and very friendly.

We drove to Poole Quay and took a boat trip over to Brownsea Island, very nice.

We went to Sandbanks Beach for a few hours one day, also lovely.

Overall, the site is fantastic and we will go again. Loved Poole and the surrounding villages. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sharonsmith70 1 review from this member

 We have just returned from a great week at this site. This was our first attempt at caravanning and I must say I had my reservations! However these were unfounded largely due to the great site.
The staff were very friendly and helpful when booking in and we were shown to our pitch rather than just being left to find it ourselves. The campsite and facilities were beautifully kept and the flower displays were wonderful.
The facilities were very good. The shower and washing facilities were very clean with plenty of hot water and we never had to wait. The play areas were very nice and well thought out. Our girls (7 &10) went off for hours at a time and we felt that they were very safe and as it isn't a large site it was easy to check on them.
The cafe was a god send! serving simple but tasty and very reasonable food both to eat in and take away. Nothing was too much trouble. We even had baked beans to takeaway one night!
The location was ideal, being close to both The New Forest and the attractions of Dorset. Wimborne itself is a very pretty town. All in all we had a great week and wished that we had booked longer.  


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Blueplummy 2 reviews from this member

 This was our first visit to Wilksworth, but it definitely will not be our last. We spent 10 days at the site and enjoyed every minute.

Previous reviews have already said how special this site is and how much Ray and Wendie care for their visitors but we just wanted to add our voice to the praise already given.

The coffee shop is a great feature and really useful if you don't fancy cooking - breakfast baps are the size of side plates and really hit the spot! We didn't really use the on site shop but it was handy for us to buy patches/glue when our airbed burst!

On two tuesday evenings whilst we were there a blues/rock band played at the coffee shop, one of the evenings this included a bbq when the band played for everyone outside on a gorgeous warm summer night - it was the perfect end to our stay!

Our two boys, aged 11 and 8 enjoyed the swimming pool, play area and BMX track. They made some lovely friends and can't wait to return.

Even though it was peak season, the pool was not really crowded, it was very clean and the kids loved it. We took our own sun loungers along as seating around the pool is the park bench type and does become a little uncomfortable after a while!

The tent and caravan areas are separate, and the toilets / showers / laundry etc are quite central to each area (probably nearer to the tent area though). The facilities are very clean and tidy and the showers a lovely and hot.

The pitches were adequate, not huge, but no complaints, all had electric hook up. Water and bins were close by in the centre of the field, bins were emptied regularly. We had some rainy days and the field became quite water logged, cars were sensibly asked to park on the gravel car park a short walk away from the field, which allowed it to dry out.

A lot of people we spoke to whilst staying at the site had returned year on year, which speaks for itself. There is so much to see and do in the local area or no need to leave the site at all if you don't want to. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Parclaw 1 review from this member

 This was our first camping holiday and picked Wilksworth based on the reviews found on this site. What a find! Very helpful staff, secure card entry, excellent toilet/shower/washing up facilities. The only problem we had was one us had to go with the children each time they wanted to go to toilet as they were not quite tall enough to reach the keypad. We had electric hook up and the kids (6 & 7yrs) loved the pool, play area and felt safe the whole time there. Used the cafe & takeaway facility and plenty of grass for the kids to play outside the tent. We visited Poole, Bournemouth, Charmouth (fossil hunting), Lyme Regis but our favourites were Swannage(on the steam railway + their carnival week)and Weymouth beach. It rained quite a bit while we were there but that didn't put us off camping again and we will be visiting Wilksworth next year. 

Advertisements

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Eddies 3 reviews from this member

 Just returned after 8 nights at this site, what a nice site, I'll start with the only small negative some of the pitches are a little close together, but I've seen worse.

Toilets very clean (cleaned each day by contract cleaners)showers nice and hot (and my clothes didn't get wet) they also have a family bathroom

Swimming pool area beautiful and very clean

PLAY AREAS

Bike track the kids had loads of fun on great idea

Beach volleyball area (large sand pit with volleyball net)

Wooden climbing frame area and loads of space for ball games, not forgetting the 2 goal posts for a quick game of footie.

COFFEE SHOP

Fab, good selection of food eat in or take out and homemade cakes (real homemade), bag of chips to take out 1 enough for 2 people.

Information room with lots of leaflets and info on places to eat, we picked The Angel Pub in Longham, well worth a visit, food great and staff very friendly.

The staff on the site are also friendly

BEACH - we went to Sandbanks about 10 miles from site - clean, safe,lifeguards, Loos, cafe and play area for kids and an 18 hole crazy golf which big kids can play on.

Just to point out I'm very fussy about where I camp and the type of sites I go to, and this site is worth its 5 stars 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tigers support 1 review from this member

 We were greeted at the campsite with a warm welcome and a smile from the owners Wendie and Ray. We were shown to our pitch which in our opinion was a very good size, with boundaries clearly defined,level and had good drainage. (Bless that summer rain). Electric hook ups are provided to all pitches and extension cables are available should you forget your own. A swipe card system is in operation to allow access to and from the site which we feel makes for a secure site.

Toilets were clean as were the showers which were of a constant temperature. Hairdryers are provided.

A good idea too was the family bathroom.

Washing up facilities were good with loads of hot water. Laundry room well equipped.

Playground facilities were more than adequate and the swimming pool area a pleasure to use.

We did take advantage of the Olde Cart Shed which serves snacks and meals. The cream teas - excellent.

The site is situated not too far from Poole and Bournemouth. There are shops, pubs and restaurants in nearby Wimborne. The Model Village kept us amused as did the rowing at Dreamboats. The Minster is well worth a visit especially during choir practise. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: MacLeods 8 reviews from this member

 Loved this site - clean pool, huge separate grass playing area, small & normal size tennis courts, sand volley ball area for all age of kids! ie adults too! Showers were push button, but always good temp & powerful. Wash areas clean. Tea shop was lovely & staff were very helpful doing take outs or 'eat ins' times varied so check on blackboard. Small shop, but only 5 mins (by car) to Wimbourne to Somerfield. To eat out go to Kings Head in Wimbourne, good quality food 2 meals for 9.95 - Only down side this site was busy at weekends, but we were there for 10days so overall atmosphere was good. We had a Grass pitch, make sure you have screw in pegs they will be needed! There was another field for tents without hookup. Options for Touring Caravan hardstanding too. Good central location for visiting Poole (we went to Splashdown which is a large indoor 'flume' park -great fun), Corfe, Swanage & Bovington Tank Museum. Very neat & tidy site & hope to go back. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Spudmum 9 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for the last 2 nights of our holiday. On arrival (as on booking) we found the staff quite unfriendly. We were shown to our pitch but not given details of where anything was - which gave the kids something to do while we got pitched up.

The kids absolutely loved this site, as did we. The toilets and showers are adequate. Didn't use bathrooms or laundry. The shop is open irregularly so make sure you have everything you need! It doesn't have lots and lots of stock either but ok for very basic stuff and you can order a newspaper. The cafe was fab! Great food, not too badly priced. We used it for take-away too! The onion chutney they sell is to die for!

The swimming pool area is lovely. Could do with a bit more seating for spectators though. The kids were in and out the pool all day. The kids loved the BMX track and were cycling all holiday. It was a good idea to keep the bikes away from the shop and entrance (for safety) and there were bike racks to put them in if the kids were visiting the loos etc. We never went off site so didn't use the barrier system, which is an idea we like. We have older kids so didn't have any problems with the keypads on the toilets either.

We would definitely go back! 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gsk123 3 reviews from this member

 We arrived at reception and had help immediately. We were help to pitch and asked if we needed any help but declined as our pitch was easy to get onto. First impressions were that it was a little overcrowded. The outdoor swimming pool was fantastic and very clean. The facilities were very good but some of the staff were not that friendly. We would definitely go back had a great time helped by the excellent weather. 


Previous     78 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Wilksworth Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Wilksworth Caravan Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Wilksworth Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Wilksworth Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Wimborne      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4415 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisements


Advertisements