Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Wilksworth Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Wimborne > Wilksworth Caravan Park Reviews

Wilksworth Caravan Park
Cranborne Road
Wimborne
Dorset   (Browse area)
BH21 4HW
Tel: 01590 648333
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 85
Open: 01/04 To 31/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 78 Reviews
                9/10 from 78 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (12)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   No Bar   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis On Site 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  78 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Jayspurr 1 review from this member

 Nice site only downside is the pitches are very close to each other with no separating hedge/fence from other campers,

would benefit from a on site bar, and maybe a path from the touring site from the step to empty your toilet cassette rather than dragging it along gravel.

Clean site regularly cutting grass and emptying bins. Clean site 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Johnfred20 11 reviews from this member

 Just spent 7 days from monday to monday on fully serviced pitch which was easy access. Although quiet soon filled up towards weekend.

Toilets and shower were always clean and tidy fields were left rubbish free with plenty of rubbish points

We were well pleased with our stay there. Would recommend to any one liking a quiet relaxing break 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ascsbe 9 reviews from this member

 This site appears to be going downhill fast since being taken over by Shorefield Leisure.

Stayed a couple of weeks ago and no security as barrier broken. WiFi not working properly. Small swimming pool closed because of a fault. Had to get rubbish cleared from my pitch.

Bins overflowing not helping wasp problem. Dog walk not big enough to walk a mouse. Very disappointed as had good trips here in the past. Cannot phone and speak to anyone only email.

Complained in writing but basically did not want to know. Avoid! 


Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Pickupsticks 28 reviews from this member

 This site is in a great location and perfect for us as we have family who have recently moved to the area. It could be fabulous but it isn't. We had booked within days of arrival and the lady on the phone said ' just a moment' while I check. Upon arrival we were one of only 3 units on a 40 pitch field!

The man on the reception, assumed to be the owner was matter of fact and not very welcoming at all. Clearly not a people person! There were far too many do and don'ts for the time of year - asking us to display a hanger around the mirror of the car when we were on site was ridiculous in October.

No children with us but the shower block notice said children had to be accompanied by an adult. So then a 12 year old has to go with a parent? Ridiculous! Re-worded to say under 10 might have been more appropriate.

Other notices seemed abrupt. Our shower in the caravan needs attention so we had to use the shower block which was lovely and warm but as has been said in another review the position of the shower head means it also wets the area where you clothes are as there is no screen or curtain.

The water was barely warm and lasted no more than 10 seconds before you had to press the button again. The 3 units on our field became 2 of us and there were 2 units near the shower block. 4 in total. The site at Verwood nearby when we passed had upwards of around 25 yet it would have been more expensive and there are no serviced pitches.

We paid £18 a night for a fully serviced pitch - a really great price and with it's great location it should have been busier. The site owners need to address why during a spell of lovely weather their site was virtually 'dead' when others in the area were busy.

We would not re-book. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Flickthechemist 10 reviews from this member

 We stayed here to attend a wedding locally the first weekend in September. The owners were remarkably helpful when I booked, and suggested: a) that we only needed two pitches for our three tents; and b) that we could rent the family bathroom so we could get ready in peace. In the end various other of our relatives stayed on the site too and we all enjoyed ourselves, despite somewhat inclement weather on the Sunday.

We chose to be on the tents only field and it was the right decision. The pitches on the touring field were not well defined and it seemed that you had to wander through the middle of pitches to get across to the swimming pool. Our pitches were much more spacious and private, electric hookup was convenient and we were close to the toilet and shower block.

I found the latter to be very clean and with ample space. The water was at times only warm rather than hot. I can understand that the codes being so high up is a nuisance for people with children, but it does mean that you don't have the issue of drips on toilets seats, unflushed loos etc. The family bathroom was very useful giving us lots of space and privacy, but it was rather dated.

We wandered all round the site on the Sunday and were very impressed by the facilities for young children: a very good play area and a delightful mini village with shop etc. Lots of space to run around too. The pool was good and well sheltered, but very busy on the Saturday when it was sunny. Not for exercising in but again good for children.

We didn't try the cafe, it looked fairly basic so we headed off and found breakfast en route.

A great site for what we wanted, I don't mind paying for good quality. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mirabelle 37 reviews from this member

 A nicely situated site near the lovely town of Wimborne Minster. Owners not especially welcoming on arrival which was a shame. The site is pleasant enough, dog walking area unusually small especially considering the amount of space they could have used, but quite charming. Nice views in some directions and well maintained grounds, though didn't really enjoy looking at the residents static caravan park. Good kids play area which was very popular, pool looked like it could be lovely when open. The showers were on the small side and annoyingly the shower heads position got my clothes/shoes wet, could do with a freshen up/lick of paint as saw mold on top tiles and ceiling, but they were clean enough. Overall quite a nice site in a lovely location that we would probably return to. 


Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bdarling 2 reviews from this member

 We enjoyed our stay here. It's well run and the owner keeps on top of emptying the bins and tidying. It was very quiet when we arrived the weekend before Easter but as Easter arrived it got very busy with a couple of rallies and the expected Easter visitors. To be expected but the views and the peace were not quite the same once they'd all arrived. Good cafe on site. Reception sells the basics. TV reception was excellent but I paid £7 for 5 days wifi and it was a complete joke. We were on one of the closest pitches to reception and literally nothing! Managed to use it for about 10 minutes in total over the 5 day period. Extremely disappointed to have to pay for such a limited service. They should just offer it for free as it was next to useless. Made me quite angry to have wasted my money but heh ho, I guess it was just £7. But again why charge of its so poor? Pool shut when we were there. Heard it had good heating but will wait to see if we return summer months. Wimborne market on Saturday was very good. Line caught sea bass were huge. Lobster, crab, great sausages. Worth a visit. Would return to site but would not pay for wifi! 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Cclcfc 16 reviews from this member

 Stayed at Wilksworth Farm as part of a holiday in a rented Motorhome. Location of this site is good and itís only about a 20 minute walk in to Wimborne. We didnít venture very far as we were actually seeing friends who live nearby.

The site is very clean and pitches are of a good size. We stayed in the touring field with EHU Ė itís worth noting that you may need a long EHU lead depending upon the pitch however these can be rented if need be from Reception.

The site has lots of facilities for familiesÖswimming pool, football pitch, BMX track and play area and it seems a lovely safe site for children to be able to play and ride bikes around. We were there just with our dog so only used the dog walking facility however I didnít feel particularly overrun with children.

The toilet and shower facilities were clean and warm. There is an on site coffee shop which looked nice though we didnít use it.

You do get a double sided page of rules on arrival which is not a problem though does make it all feel slightly regimented. Having said that the main things for us were that the site was clean and had easy access for where we wanted to go so it was perfect for what we wanted. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Willcox122 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely site

We were in the tent field which appeared to be more spacious than the touring field. This may be because cars are not allowed to stay in the tent field.

The site is well maintained, facilities are clean.

Kids used the pool a few times, if your kids are active they will love the site. (Tennis courts, large playing field, table tennis table, volleyball court, small bmx track plus pool. )

Only used the cafe once (before we left), wonderful sausage baps, made us wish we have ventured over earlier.

WiFi was reasonably priced, only one device at a time which was fine for us. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Cravensall 2 reviews from this member

 This is a real gem of a site. The facilities are great, the showers are starting to feel a little old and need a bit of attention but they are always well cleaned.

The car free policy on the tent field is brilliant as it means kids can safely cycle round and play on the field. The site is quiet and the staff are meticulous about keeping it clean, emptying bins, lawn mowing etc.

The hook ups are available for lots of units and the pitches are well marked out and have good space between them.

Very close to Wimborne a pretty town with loads of pubs, cafes and shops.

Also good for visiting Poole, moors valley and Bournemouth.

Fantastic for kids, lovely pool, play area, football and tennis. 


Previous     78 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Wilksworth Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Wilksworth Caravan Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Wilksworth Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Wilksworth Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Wimborne      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6094 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020