Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Wilksworth Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Wimborne > Wilksworth Caravan Park Reviews

Wilksworth Caravan Park
Cranborne Road
Wimborne
Dorset   (Browse area)
BH21 4HW
Tel: 01590 648333
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 85
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 82 Reviews
                9/10 from 82 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (12)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis On Site 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  82 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Janetg 1 review from this member

 Contact less booking on arrival works so well. We found the site well kept.

The facilities were better than most sites. As dog owners we found the facilities for our dogs to be very good, well away from children's play area.

All in all a very good site to visit.

Staff couldn't have been more helpful. Had a wonderful weeks stay. Thanks to the efforts of the staff to keep everyone safe at this time. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Chucknorage 6 reviews from this member

 No campfires, which is always a downside. Camping is about campfires for us.

Nice tidy site, good children's playgrounds and clean facilities.

Pitches a bit rigid for my liking (you get your own painted square). I prefer it a bit freer.

Nice quiet evenings for families, which we like. 


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Jessic 1 review from this member

 Lovey, tidy, well maintained campsite. Felt very safe for the children and had lots to keep them entertained. Lots of food options available throughout the week in the form of mobile caterers.

We had to leave early due to the windy weather conditions but we had a really lovely time. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lizbo1 1 review from this member

 In normal circumstances it would have been just Ok.

Felt uneasy considering COVID-19, double door entry to toilets not good, only 4 washing-up sinks not enough and unable to distance. Taps in toilet block at high pressure meant inevitable water splashes everywhere.

Thanks for sanitizer spray outside the block and regular cleaning but generally not enough toilets on site for numbers of campers.

We will not return, expensive site. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Jayspurr 1 review from this member

 Nice site only downside is the pitches are very close to each other with no separating hedge/fence from other campers,

would benefit from a on site bar, and maybe a path from the touring site from the step to empty your toilet cassette rather than dragging it along gravel.

Clean site regularly cutting grass and emptying bins. Clean site 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Johnfred20 11 reviews from this member

 Just spent 7 days from monday to monday on fully serviced pitch which was easy access. Although quiet soon filled up towards weekend.

Toilets and shower were always clean and tidy fields were left rubbish free with plenty of rubbish points

We were well pleased with our stay there. Would recommend to any one liking a quiet relaxing break 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ascsbe 10 reviews from this member

 This site appears to be going downhill fast since being taken over by Shorefield Leisure.

Stayed a couple of weeks ago and no security as barrier broken. WiFi not working properly. Small swimming pool closed because of a fault. Had to get rubbish cleared from my pitch.

Bins overflowing not helping wasp problem. Dog walk not big enough to walk a mouse. Very disappointed as had good trips here in the past. Cannot phone and speak to anyone only email.

Complained in writing but basically did not want to know. Avoid! 


Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Pickupsticks 28 reviews from this member

 This site is in a great location and perfect for us as we have family who have recently moved to the area. It could be fabulous but it isn't. We had booked within days of arrival and the lady on the phone said ' just a moment' while I check. Upon arrival we were one of only 3 units on a 40 pitch field!

The man on the reception, assumed to be the owner was matter of fact and not very welcoming at all. Clearly not a people person! There were far too many do and don'ts for the time of year - asking us to display a hanger around the mirror of the car when we were on site was ridiculous in October.

No children with us but the shower block notice said children had to be accompanied by an adult. So then a 12 year old has to go with a parent? Ridiculous! Re-worded to say under 10 might have been more appropriate.

Other notices seemed abrupt. Our shower in the caravan needs attention so we had to use the shower block which was lovely and warm but as has been said in another review the position of the shower head means it also wets the area where you clothes are as there is no screen or curtain.

The water was barely warm and lasted no more than 10 seconds before you had to press the button again. The 3 units on our field became 2 of us and there were 2 units near the shower block. 4 in total. The site at Verwood nearby when we passed had upwards of around 25 yet it would have been more expensive and there are no serviced pitches.

We paid 18 a night for a fully serviced pitch - a really great price and with it's great location it should have been busier. The site owners need to address why during a spell of lovely weather their site was virtually 'dead' when others in the area were busy.

We would not re-book. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Flickthechemist 10 reviews from this member

 We stayed here to attend a wedding locally the first weekend in September. The owners were remarkably helpful when I booked, and suggested: a) that we only needed two pitches for our three tents; and b) that we could rent the family bathroom so we could get ready in peace. In the end various other of our relatives stayed on the site too and we all enjoyed ourselves, despite somewhat inclement weather on the Sunday.

We chose to be on the tents only field and it was the right decision. The pitches on the touring field were not well defined and it seemed that you had to wander through the middle of pitches to get across to the swimming pool. Our pitches were much more spacious and private, electric hookup was convenient and we were close to the toilet and shower block.

I found the latter to be very clean and with ample space. The water was at times only warm rather than hot. I can understand that the codes being so high up is a nuisance for people with children, but it does mean that you don't have the issue of drips on toilets seats, unflushed loos etc. The family bathroom was very useful giving us lots of space and privacy, but it was rather dated.

We wandered all round the site on the Sunday and were very impressed by the facilities for young children: a very good play area and a delightful mini village with shop etc. Lots of space to run around too. The pool was good and well sheltered, but very busy on the Saturday when it was sunny. Not for exercising in but again good for children.

We didn't try the cafe, it looked fairly basic so we headed off and found breakfast en route.

A great site for what we wanted, I don't mind paying for good quality. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mirabelle 37 reviews from this member

 A nicely situated site near the lovely town of Wimborne Minster. Owners not especially welcoming on arrival which was a shame. The site is pleasant enough, dog walking area unusually small especially considering the amount of space they could have used, but quite charming. Nice views in some directions and well maintained grounds, though didn't really enjoy looking at the residents static caravan park. Good kids play area which was very popular, pool looked like it could be lovely when open. The showers were on the small side and annoyingly the shower heads position got my clothes/shoes wet, could do with a freshen up/lick of paint as saw mold on top tiles and ceiling, but they were clean enough. Overall quite a nice site in a lovely location that we would probably return to. 


Previous     82 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Wilksworth Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Wilksworth Caravan Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Wilksworth Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Wilksworth Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Wimborne      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4426 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement