Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Wilksworth Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Dorset > Wimborne > Wilksworth Caravan Park > Reviews

Wilksworth Caravan Park
Cranborne Road
Wimborne
Dorset   (Browse area)
BH21 4HW
Tel: 01590 648333
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 85
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 87 Reviews
                9/10 from 87 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis On Site 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  87 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: June 2024  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: ChrissieD2003 1 review from this member

 The site is easy to access, no rutty tracks to negotiate, though it's the same lane in and out which needs care when meeting oncoming large vehicles.

I went specifically for the Wimborne Folk Festival and it is an easy 1 mile walk - though lacking pavements here and there - to Wimborne Town centre.

The pitches are pretty flat. Facilities are tidy and well maintained. Only one toilet/shower/washing up block but it's a relatively compact site so not too bad and there are plenty of cubicles.

Showers were just about warm. There are water points aplenty and recycling and waste bins too. Two dog bins were on the camper/caravan field and another in the dog-walking paddock.

Apart from cleaners and grounds maintenance people I was not aware of anyone running things. Reception was closed when I arrived just after 5pm. I received information by email and on my phone about access codes etc. But it seems one is supposed to log in to a 'portal'.

I do not use apps, being old-fashioned enough to like to see a person now and then and not wanting to be wedded to my phone whilst on holiday. The pre-visit information I received by email was fairly comprehensive and I managed with that.

I thought the cost very reasonable. 


Date of Visit: August 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Janeed 1 review from this member

 A pleasant site. However the toilet block was not cleaned frequently enough and was left with Ď do not use for 2 hoursí signs during the time it was actually being cleaned! Tricky for young children!

The pre ordered bread was cooked on-site, but the shop didnít open until 9 am-a bit late to collect for breakfast.

The pool was enjoyed. Make sure you visit 1/2 hour before you want to swim to collect a band for the next session. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2023 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mrs E 44 reviews from this member

 We booked Wilksworth for a 1 night stay (on the Sunday) as we were attending Dorset Volksfest over the weekend. We managed to secure a good deal on booking and our 2 dogs went free.

Good communication prior to our stay with details of our pitch number and also the security barrier code. I also received a text on the actual day informing me our pitch was ready at 12 midday.

When we arrived we called in to Reception as we'd run out of gas. The female member of staff and her male boss were very helpful as although they didn't have what we needed they gave us details of a garage nearby that might have stocked it. We decided to manage without for one night.

The park was well maintained with clearly marked large grass pitches. We were on pitch 18 and had the outdoor pool directly behind us.

The washblock had an adequate number of showers and toilets and also privacy wash basins. Some of the showers didn't look too clean but this was due to the campers using them previously! My shower was powerful and warm-hot and although push button, it was free.

We loved the fact this site had an enclosed dog area so it was perfect to let our 10. 5 month old burn off some energy and for our 10 year old boy to have a run around too.

Unfortunately my husband wasn't feeling too good on the Monday and went to enquire about a later stay. We were allowed to stay until around 3. 30pm at no extra cost but did need to move to another pitch as ours was booked. This wasn't an issue as we were in a VW campervan and didn't bother with an awning just for 1 night so just had to move a few things and our campervan.

Thank you so much to the lovely friendly staff as this was really appreciated. Great customer service!

I'm sure we'll return at some point and hopefully for a few more nights. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Nickbe 1 review from this member

 This is a great campsite, we only stayed 1 night so did not use facilities. We rang on the hoof, spoke to a lovely lady called Sam. She has the best customer service ever.

We told her arriving 8pm, we were sent a confirmation email with pitch number, directions and a link to the google maps site showing us the way to our pitch. This was really useful in the dark.

Waking up using the shower etc, really nice and clean, well maintained site.

Left early, called into reception, again, friendly and welcoming.

On leaving pulled out onto main road and saw 3 caretakers litter picking along the side of the road. Looking after the local environment, I am sure this had nothing to do with their campsite other than respecting their locality.

I would definitely recommend.

Also need to mention very reasonable touring prices. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Janetem379 1 review from this member

 Nice tidy quiet site with a pleasant and helpful owner.

No shower, but we knew that when we booked so not a problem.

Secure and quiet. Hookup with a meter which was useful too. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Janetg 1 review from this member

 Contact less booking on arrival works so well. We found the site well kept.

The facilities were better than most sites. As dog owners we found the facilities for our dogs to be very good, well away from children's play area.

All in all a very good site to visit.

Staff couldn't have been more helpful. Had a wonderful weeks stay. Thanks to the efforts of the staff to keep everyone safe at this time. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Chucknorage 8 reviews from this member

 No campfires, which is always a downside. Camping is about campfires for us.

Nice tidy site, good children's playgrounds and clean facilities.

Pitches a bit rigid for my liking (you get your own painted square). I prefer it a bit freer.

Nice quiet evenings for families, which we like. 


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Jessic 1 review from this member

 Lovey, tidy, well maintained campsite. Felt very safe for the children and had lots to keep them entertained. Lots of food options available throughout the week in the form of mobile caterers.

We had to leave early due to the windy weather conditions but we had a really lovely time. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lizbo1 1 review from this member

 In normal circumstances it would have been just Ok.

Felt uneasy considering COVID-19, double door entry to toilets not good, only 4 washing-up sinks not enough and unable to distance. Taps in toilet block at high pressure meant inevitable water splashes everywhere.

Thanks for sanitizer spray outside the block and regular cleaning but generally not enough toilets on site for numbers of campers.

We will not return, expensive site. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Jayspurr 1 review from this member

 Nice site only downside is the pitches are very close to each other with no separating hedge/fence from other campers,

would benefit from a on site bar, and maybe a path from the touring site from the step to empty your toilet cassette rather than dragging it along gravel.

Clean site regularly cutting grass and emptying bins. Clean site 
via mobile


Previous     87 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Wilksworth Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Wilksworth Caravan Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Wilksworth Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Wilksworth Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Wimborne      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4610 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement