Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisements

Reviews of Wilksworth Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Wimborne > Wilksworth Caravan Park Reviews

Wilksworth Caravan Park
Cranborne Road
Wimborne
Dorset   (Browse area)
BH21 4HW
Tel: 01590 648333
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 85
Open: 01/04 To 31/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 78 Reviews
                9/10 from 78 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (12)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   No Bar   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis On Site 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  78 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilet / shower facilities will be open. Some communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Biffo70 1 review from this member

 We stayed here for 7 nights and had good weather for 6 nights. The swimming pool was great for the kids plus the kids play area / field / Cycle track were excellent. Facilities were always clean the downside was I had to go with my daughter all the time as there was a code and high handle to enter. It was half term when we went and they manages to put a caravan in every spare piece of grass so it was crowded.

Nice staff shop a little limited nice cafe. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Plumharrison 1 review from this member

 We stayed at this site for seven days and over that time the facilities were always clean. I never had to queue for a shower and quite often found I had the toilet block to myself. The washing up station and laundry were also very tidy and not too busy. Our children enjoyed using the playground and swimming pool. We only tried using the cafe once and unfortunately they did not have a full menu available so that was disappointing but the food that we did eat was fine.

The local ducks were very entertaining including one duck that sounded like it was constantly laughing.

The staff were very helpful and seemed to be constantly emptying the bins and tidying up.

This site was recommended to me by a friend and I will also be recommending it to other friends too. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Iwillis1 2 reviews from this member

 Very well managed site. The reception guys show you to your pitch and there is a barrier in operation. Toilet facilities top class and regularly cleaned (underfloor heating). Only minor issue was that the temperature in the showers was variable. Swimming pool was great and was open from 10am until sundown.
One of the great thing about this site is that there are not many signs saying don't do this whatever, it is pretty laid back. Reception staff were always friendly although opeing times were very restricted. On site Cafe was of a good quality and did nice take away food. The site was very quiet after 11pm. Pitch size was good. Television reception was poor but who cares when you are on holiday.

Nearest pub is in the village Furzehill (1/4 mile away). They did nice food. Numerous nice alehouses in Wimbourne which was beautiful. Also visited the Royal Signals Museum (fantastic, kids loved it). Nearest beaches are Sandbanks and Studland (both in Poole) and were both beautiful beaches. Would definitely return. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bates 13 reviews from this member

 Had a great weeks break even in the bad weather.

Facilities very good.

Tents were in one field total of 30 pitches, they were on the small side and marked out.

Still enough room for Children to play games in front of the tents.

Some flooding due to the bad weather a couple of pitches did flood (don't have pitch 23) but it did drain quickly.

Caravans on the main park close to pool and play area etc. - seemed to be quite close together)

Showers ok but did run hot and cold - Family room good which could be booked 1 for 1/2hr, had shower and bath.

Shop on site - open couple of hours in the morning and one in the afternoon

Pool, BMX track, play area very good.

Small dog paddock which you could let your dog off the lead.

Cafe very nice - basic menu but very good and good value - they do a takeaway service as well.

Would recommend this site as very central

We will return in the near future. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Claire6274 3 reviews from this member

 Well - lots to say. The site is great. We spent a week here, and were lucky with the weather - we did have some rain, but not too much. The site seemed to drain very well, which is always useful! Reception is welcoming, although they could be open for a few more hours a day.

The toilet block was very well maintained, and never had to queue to use anything. However, the door is on a code system, which is very annoying. Because the lock was so high, and the handle was so difficult to turn, our children couldn't take themselves to the loo, and it was like have toddlers again having to go with them. This was frustrating because our children know how to behave in campsite toilets.

The swimming pool is fantastic - safe, clean and warm(ish!) Perfect and we used it every day, even in the rain and slightly colder days. Also, the adventure playground is really good and the field which it is on is huge so there's somewhere for children to let off steam.

The pitches are a bit small and also on a slight slope, although we did get used to it. It was helped by the fact that although small, there was a large grassed area in front of the row of tents which the children could play on. It was a reasonably noisy site during the evenings as there seemed to be a couple of large groups of families altogether and their children were up late.

A good site, which we would consider returning to - although we don't tend to return anywhere, too many great places to visit! 

Advertisements

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: JELLY.BELLY 2 reviews from this member

 A lovely clean well maintained site with a fantastic field for the children to play in with a playground at one end and swimming pool at the other end. The shop was very small and had very limited opening hours. The shower block was very clean but the cubicles are far too small which often resulted in wet clothes (take a carrier bag with you to put your clothes and shoes in) and the temperature of the water was terrible, goes from warm to very hot and then cold.

The cafe/takeaway was excellent and even had live music one night.

There is lovely countryside and plenty to do in all the surrounding areas, if you have young children the Wimborne model village is a must and Honeybrook Farm, just up the road, is also very good, but don't waste your money on the Bournemouth Aquarium.

We will definitely return to the area but will try a different campsite. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mikast 8 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for a week at the end of July to the beginning of August. Weather was good, so that always helps when you are camping!

We found the site to be of a very high standard. The site was attractive with it's olde world buildings and it was well maintained. The grass was well mowed and decorative flower displays add a lovely touch. The owners were helpful and friendly without being in your face! The shop sold the bare essentials and you could order fresh bread for the following morning.
Our children enjoyed the games room and because of a security system in place, you felt more at ease at letting them go there and also to the play area. The play area was great for children from 4-5 years on, but for tots there is only the swing and the slide, so long as they don't mind high slides. There is a good BMX track which made bringing bikes popular although we nearly all had a near miss with the older children whizzing round corners without a care for pedestrians.
The football pitch was great and the pool fabulous. It has recently been done up( so it looks different to the pool in the brochure) and on hot days you could easily have been abroad. One thing lacking was something to sit on(except for 2 benches!).

The tent area was nice but we felt a little crammed in. However your plot is ample for a large tent and is clearly marked out so no one should have more space than you. We were pleased we had our wind shield as it offered us more privacy.

The toilet block was good. They looked nice and were never cold inside. Showers were small and didn't have much of a wall inside to protect your dry clothes from the wet area. Also whilst the mens showers seemed to continually provide hot showers the ladies showers were a lot more temperamental. They were kept as clean as you could expect at the height of the season when a campsite is full.

Overall the site was excellent and has alot of returning visitors and if we ever visit that region again would most definitely consider this site. As for the surrounding area. Plenty of pubs and places to eat. Wimborne centre is 5 mins away. We spent most of our time in Poole and Bourmemouth due to the lovely weather, however getting there and back could be horrendous in traffic, often taking 40 mins or more to get from A to B. Parking a nightmare too especially if you have a roof box as you can't use the multi storey ones. Both lovely places with gorgeous beaches. Poole Quay is great and gardens in Bournemouth are nice too. Overall a great holiday for a family. 10/10! 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sharonb623 2 reviews from this member

 Have just got back from a very wet 5 nights at Wilksworth Farm. Lovely campsite, shown personally to our pitch by very friendly owner. Lovely toilet block with under floor heating. Showers did run a bit cold. Very nice outdoor pool. Shop opening hours were a bit limited. Very relaxed and pleasant atmosphere even with the awful weather and owners were very good at trying to keep the Tent field as mud free as possible.

The best campsite we have been to and we will definitely return. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sue and frank 2 reviews from this member

 Just enjoyed the mayday weekend here, even though park was full it still seemed relaxing .

Greeted nicely upon arrival shown to our pitch personally with a smile

Shower block was tidy and clean only issue is quite small cubicles and water ran a bit hot and cold

Other than that this a site well worth going to. We

Will return in the near future 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Duffnut 30 reviews from this member

 We stayed at Wilksworth for the end of August and had a great 2 weeks there. Although we were in a tent we were pitched right next to the swimming pool which is in the Caravan field, this was because there had been so much rain that he had lost 4 or 5 Tent pitches. ( don't think there is a problem with drainage, this was just an excessive amount of rain ).We were quite happy apart from setting up in a downpour. But he couldn't help that, he got drenched walking us to our pitch. Being next to the pool wasn't a problem as far as noise went which was surprising. There are also tennis courts to use near the pool.

The site is really nice with a good shower block ( entry by code number on a pad by the handle ) that is a good size and I never had to queue ( could do with new shower heads though ). There is card entry on the gate in and out of the site which is just next to the duck pond. There is plenty of room for games with a large field with a couple of goals in it and a volleyball net that doubles as an extra sandpit for the kids. There is a separate dog walk, and a great little swimming pool. The cafe is pretty good and we found it most useful to get fed in before we set out for home. It also has a nice family bathroom ( deposit ). They have a games room which I didn't look in and a small shop in reception which I could never remember the hours it was open.

Having the site split into tents and caravans areas is a little odd and the caravans are nearer the pool and play area but at least the tents are nearest the showers and washing up area.

Wimborn Minster is just down the road, it is a great little town with a nice church and everything you need, I suspect you could find.

Great site and I hope we get back there one day. 


Previous     78 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Wilksworth Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Wilksworth Caravan Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Wilksworth Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Wilksworth Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Wimborne      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5749 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisements


Advertisements