Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisements

Reviews of Wilksworth Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Wimborne > Wilksworth Caravan Park Reviews

Wilksworth Caravan Park
Cranborne Road
Wimborne
Dorset   (Browse area)
BH21 4HW
Tel: 01590 648333
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 85
Open: 01/04 To 31/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 78 Reviews
                9/10 from 78 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (12)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   No Bar   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis On Site 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  78 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilet / shower facilities will be open. Some communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Floss2109 1 review from this member

 We have recently returned from a glorious week at Wilksworth Farm. We will definitely return in the future. There is a lovely separate play area for the Children,with tennis courts, volley ball court, bmx track and goal posts for footie lovers.The swimming pool area is great and was popular with the children.
We did use the cafe on a couple of occasions and the food was fine.The jacket spuds went down well with my 10 year old, and the staff were very friendly.
The toilet block was kept nice and clean.There are plenty of toilets and there are private cubicles with sinks in.The showers were nice and hot and the only criticism I have is that the dry area in the shower didn't stay dry and the shower heads are fixed and need de-scaling.
The rubbish bins were emptied at least twice a day if not more,which was just as well as the weather was very warm.Our unit was next to the bin area and we had no problems with bad smells.
The park is situated in a good location for visiting Poole and Bournmouth. It is also a good base to visit the New Forest.
We enjoyed our stay at Wilksworth Farm Caravan Park very much. 


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chocolate monster 5 reviews from this member

 As a family new to camping, we have always relied heavily on campsite reviews when choosing our sites, so I was a little concerned to see that there had been no reviews on Wilksworth Farm since last summer. However, within a short time of arriving I realised why . Those who have already discovered this gem of a campsite are keeping very, very quiet in the hope that their secret will be safe! However, I have always been terrible at keeping secrets and am more than happy to spill the beans!
This is camping as we had hoped it would be - just 30 pitches round the perimeter of a field leaving lots of room for cycling and ball games, with 3 drinking/waste water and bin areas. Bearing in mind how appalling the weather has been, the field was very well kept - on the one dry day the grass was cut, and after 24 hours of constant rain, we were asked to leave our cars in the car park which I thought was fair enough as the ground was getting quite boggy.
There was lots of smiling, nodding and chatter amongst the campers - mostly of the "how much is it going to rain today!" variety, and most people I talked to had been coming here for years, often with friends or family staying in a caravan in the well kept static park. We only used the pool and the cafe once, both very enjoyable experiences, and the boys amused themselves for hours with their new found friends and the rest of the play facilities.
The loos and showers were always kept clean - no mean feat bearing in mind how much mud we all trod in on our crocs and wellies! My only minor critisism would be that the partition in the cubicle between the shower and the area where you leave your clothes and towel wasn't really big enough and it was quite hard to keep everything dry while you were showering.
Sadly, we ended up abandoning our holiday after 5 days when the inside of our tent resembled Glastonbury - the first thing the boys asked as we drove off was - when can we come back? The answer - a resounding "As soon as we possibly can!" 


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Jenfer 7 reviews from this member

 Have just returned, (prematurely) from this wonderful site. THe weather, put it this way, was not our friend. The field we were in was on a slope, which wouldn't be a problem in normal conditions, but as the ground was waterlogged, any rain seemed to fall as mud.
The staff were very friendly, telling us the site had never been this bad before, willing to help if needed. The little tea room, was very handy, though opening hours a bit erratic. Pool lovely, but as solar heated, better late afternoon. Play area great, a little out of the way for the tent field though.
Everyone generally well behaved, and very typically British (even the Dutch) in that we all discussed theweather non-stop! Pitches a good size, and well maintained. We loved it, and were heartbroken at having to leave early, but the mud really had become a problem. Showers and toilet block clean and plentiful, yes the shower heads do need replacing, but the water was HOT and not limited. Lovely, will definitely be back.This is how I would run a camp/caravan site. So sad that this rotten weather got the better of us. Lots of people left early this week, I believe, so it is not just us. 


Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Peter Houghton 1 review from this member

 Even though we had a few rain showers our first stay at Wilksworth Farm was excellent. We were pitched on the touring park and found the other campers very friendly and sociable, not necessarily always the case with the lady in reception.

The facilities were spotless and the play area for the kids including the outdoor heated pool was constantly being used, what ever the weather . Our children (7yrs,4yrs,3yrs and nearly 2yrs) enjoyed the freedom and open space and we were happy watching them play and use their bikes ( I would recommend taking them). The site felt very safe for children and we really felt we had a lovely break.

Would highly recommend this site and aim to go back soon 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Wittyfour 3 reviews from this member

 We visited the site last year when the site was full and we still had loads of room to put up the awning, park our car (which isn't small) and play games.We had lovely weather and used the swimming pool and tennis courts.We never had much to do with the owners as we were too busy enjoying ourselves.The site is in a brill position for everything in Wimborne, Poole and Bournemouth. We enjoyed a free night with a live band outside the cafe bit where everyone took their own booze(the site doesn't have a license but doesn't mind you bringing your own)It was a lovely night and everyone sang and danced under the stars. The only down side I saw was the state of the toilets after everyone had used them first thing in the morning. I think this was mostly because of the amount of people from the tents. (People in the tourers have their own bathroom facilities)However saying this they were cleaned quite quickly.I am happy to say we rate this site very highly and we are returning again this year, where they are celebrating their 35th anniversary. 

Advertisements

Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Michelleshelly 7 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a lovely holiday at Wilksworth Farm. I picked this site because of all the other good reviews it has received and I must agree that it is a wonderful place to stay. We were welcomed onto the site and taken to our pitch which was great.
We stayed on a hardstanding all service pitch which had plenty of room around it for our awning, car, picnic table etc. The other pitches were also spacious and were laid out around a central grassy area where the kids loved playing football. The site was great for families. We have 3 children aged 8, 5 and 2 and they were all well catered for with the outdoor swimming pool, BMX track, playground, sand pit, tennis court and plenty of room for playing football or cricket away from the caravans.
The showers were always very clean, but the water was very hot so maybe not best for little kids. There were also good clean toilets and washing up facilities. They have a small shop, a games room and a brilliant restaurant which served nice freshly cooked food for very reasonable prices. We loved the cheesy chips and Wilksworth Whoppers.
The site is in the middle of loads of beautiful countryside. It's about 5 minutes drive from Wimborne town centre where the nearest supermarket can be found. The new forest is about 10 miles away and the beach is probably about the same. We all loved Moors Valley which was only a few miles up the road.
Although the weather was very,very wet and windy the site stayed pretty dry and wasn't really muddy which was amazing.
We didn't want to leave and would love to go back. I would recommend it to anybody. 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Yates Clan 2 reviews from this member

 This was our first visit to Wilksworth and we loved it!  The camping field is not too big (about 30 pitches) and the pitches are a good size and took our large tent with no problem.There is a great space in the middle for all the kids to play. This made it very sociable and by day 3 we knew everyone on the field!
 
This is not a site for people who want lots of entertainment, but it is a perfect for those who want their children to learn how to play in open space, play together and to use their imagination - our 2 boys (aged 5 & 10), absolutely loved it. The site is very safe and we were happy to let the boys go off on their own.  I do recommend taking bikes for the children if you can (everyone has them).
 
The facilities were great, always hot water, always clean and never a queue for the shower. Do be aware that the cafe/take-away does not take cards (but they do make great chips!) . We will definitely be going back again. 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mathewellis 5 reviews from this member

 Have just got back from our 2nd visit and enjoyed ourselves very much, we found the pitches tight on our 1st visit so asked to be placed in the middle of the site which gave us a bit more room but there were a lot of big twin axle vans that only just fitted on plus they were meant to put their cars in front of the vans which was never going to happen. 
The facilities were very well kept and the food in the take away / restaurant was very reasonably priced and good quality (wilksworth whopper being a great hit).  Even though the site was full we never had to queue for the toilets and it was surprisingly quite at night as the kids tend to hang out in the pool room which is quite a distance from the pitches. 
On the whole the staff were polite but not over friendly which was possibly due to how busy they were, we did over hear on of the male staff talking to someone who had just arrive and found his tone quite aggressive but again this could have been down to how busy they were.  Site is very central for lots of activities. 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jolly johnos 1 review from this member

 Just spent a fantastic week here! The weather wasn't on our side, but apart from that it was great.

The toilet and shower block was extremely clean to say how busy the site was. There was a family bathroom you could hire too. Laundry facilities were also good. 
 
The owners were really friendly and helpful, (we had to borrow an electric cable as ours wasn't quite long enough to reach, leaving a deposit).
 
We had a problem with our swipe card we needed to enter and exit the site, but that was soon sorted. My tip is leave it in the car door so you don't get it too close to your mobile phone as this wipes the information off the card.
 
The play area kept the children entertained, and the swimming pool was great (even in the rain).
We had live entertainment one night, which was brilliant!
 
The site was quite, even though it was near enough full.
 
There isn't many shops close to the site, you need to travel 10 minutes to get to them. The site does sell many items and you can also order a morning paper.
 
All in all a fantastic place to stay. We will  definitely return. 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Robinson5 2 reviews from this member

 Firstly I would like to say that I did enjoy my holiday there and it is a good site.
 
Upon arrival I was informed that the £20 I had paid for an additional car for the 10 nights I was staying had to be parked in a car park away from my tent. When questioning the owner he was very rude and argumentative about the fact.

The shower block was clean-ish but the drains in the mens showers kept blocking up and flooding all the shower cubicles. The owner did, and I saw him try, try to rectify this problem. All the shower heads need replacing  as water squirted everywhere and they soak your clothes and towel!
 
The site is adequetely kept, hedges and trees need trimming and weeds are abundent.
 
The takeaway restaurant was ridiculusly slow in serving people and after trying it once we didnt use it again.
 
On a lighter note,
The outdoor pool was great, with an additional splash pool for the toddlers. The tennis coursts were great, the laundry machines were ok and not silly prices. There is a family bathroom which you can book for a fee of £1 per half hour which is very convenient if you have little ones like us, beats getting funny looks when you wash a baby in the wash up area!
 
They had a live band there one night which was good but that is the extent of the entertainment. They dont have an alcohol licence but are happy to allow alcohol on the site.
 
I found this site acceptable and would recommend this site to someone who just wants a queit campsite and wants to spend time away from it all the time.
 
I wouldn't return there as I prefer a campsite with more activities on site for the children and a bit of entertainment, it is not a bad place but just not for me. 


Previous     78 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Wilksworth Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Wilksworth Caravan Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Wilksworth Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Wilksworth Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Wimborne      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4537 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisements


Advertisements