Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisements

Reviews of Wilksworth Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Wimborne > Wilksworth Caravan Park Reviews

Wilksworth Caravan Park
Cranborne Road
Wimborne
Dorset   (Browse area)
BH21 4HW
Tel: 01590 648333
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 85
Open: 01/04 To 31/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 78 Reviews
                9/10 from 78 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (12)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   No Bar   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis On Site 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  78 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilet / shower facilities will be open. Some communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Juniorbump 3 reviews from this member

 I can understand why there are not many reviews about this site, people want it kept quiet because it is that good.

We have just returned from 8 nights there and loved every minute of our time. We may have been fortunate enough to have been positioned in the bottom field next to the entrance so we had a big pitch and whilst the field was full, did not seem over crowded.

The shower block was immaculate and there were plenty of showers / toilets. We did not have to queue very long despite it being the summer holidays.

The playground was very well maintained with very good quality and equally importantly safe equipment.

We did not use the pool so cannot comment on that but the appearance of same was beautiful.

The cafe on site was very good. We only ate there twice but were met with big smiles on both occasions like we had been known for years.

This was our first time to Dorset and had a brilliant time exploring Poole, Bournemouth and further afield. We will definitely be returning to Dorset and will definitely consider this site again. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wissymo 8 reviews from this member

 We have just returned home from wilksworth farm and had a lovely time! this site is perfect for families with lots of open space for kids to play, fab playground and pool, with a very safe feel about it. 50/50 mix of caravans and tents so not one of these caravan parks with a few tents shoved in the corner as an after thought.

Only gripe would be cars. Too many campers leaving their cars next to tents which make it seem cramped when it wouldn't otherwise!

Hopefully the site will go car free at some point and enforce cars to stay in the car park. Still, we will be going back next year regardless as we loved it there! 1 week wasn't enough , don't forget the kids bikes  


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jo p 6 reviews from this member

 What a fabulous site this is. The shower and toilet blocks were spotlessly clean and the underfloor heating was an added bonus. We had a lot of to'ing and fro'ing before we arrived and the owners were more than accomodating and soo helpful. The dog paddock was great as it kept dogs away from the kids play area which is also lovely. My children loved the pool even if was a bit too cold for them they still refused to get out always a sign that they were havng fun I have tried to re book for this year but have yet been unsuccessful but I will keep trying it really was that nice that I feel we should go back x 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mystique430/5 1 review from this member

 This was our 4th visit to this site. It is local to us and the facilities are excellent.

The shower and toilet are modern, clean and in good condition with underfloor heating (sheer luxury) they are always immaculately clean with plenty of hot water, hairdryers and paper. Unlike some reviews we have never found the toilets or showers dirty.

Our children love the BMX track and the play area, but the crowning glory is the excellent outdoor pool, which in sunny weather feels like being abroad.

The couple who run the site are very friendly and obliging, to te extent of saving my bacon by lending a tv ariel(FOC) to allow my wife to see Kate's dress.

We will be back in July and highly recommend this site. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Nelmo 23 reviews from this member

 Spent the BH weekend at this site and had a great time.

Pro's

1. Very pretty site.

2. Good play area with football field and excellent little BMX track.

3. Nice cafe with good (but not amazing) food at reasonable prices.

4. Shower/toilet blocks spotless and strangely not busy, even with a full site on a BH.

5. Staff very helpful and friendly. They opened the pool earlier than normal because the weather was so good.

6. Toddler pool is great because it does seem to be heated and little kids were very happy. Main pool much colder but still bearable.

Con's

1. Full service pitches round the edge of the main caravan field are just about big enough. However, centre of the field is a free-for-all with just a stake to mark your pitch. Gets very crowded, with no privacy whatsoever. Looks like a caravan rally, which you may have no problem with. Personally, we were glad we weren't in the middle.

Wimborne is the nearest town and has a Waitrose and enough shops to waste an afternoon wandering around.

Overall, lovely site which could just do with making the pitches bigger and maybe planting the odd hedge. 

Advertisements

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Upapalmtree 12 reviews from this member

 First trip to Wilksworth in September and we had a great time. Having previously camped for the first time ever at Shamba we wanted a site with a nice tent pitch area and this has it. Entry is restricted through a gate card system, shown promptly to our pitch.

Pro's : big pitches, pitches around the perimeter of the field giving a lovely safe environment for the children to play up and down in front of the tents, huge feeling of space, our pitch was flat at the bottom end of the field (about 25 pitches in total I think) but others near the top where slightly sloping, good shower and toilets, nice little coffee shop, great play area and pool, never waited for showers or loos, good washing up area, felt lovely and open - no jamming in with caravans and tents all over the place.

Cons : office wasn't open as early as I though for papers etc, pool was FREEZING!, play area was away from the tent pitch meaning you had to leave your set up all the time - would be real bonus to have a small play area in the tent field, toilets and shower area could have been cleaned a bit more often, showers splash violently - all our clothes and towels got saturated!

We would definitely go back purely because the pitch layout was great with the space around us and it had all the facilities we wanted - maybe not the best in the business but good enough. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Aris24 1 review from this member

 We have also just returned from 7 days at Wilksworth. The lovely location is perfect for the nearby resorts of Poole, Bournemouth and Sandbanks.I agree that the facilities are excellent.Toilets and showers are immaculate and we never had to queue once.

The Pool was superb and playing facilities including the BMX track were ideal.

Our only negative was as mentioned, was more the layout rather than the size of pitch. With a 5 star park we expected 5 star privacy which we did not get. The layout is such that people seemed unsure of where to walk so everybody seemed to cut through the pitches, including as previously mentioned kids on bikes.

Well recommended for Couples and families. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Suemaryon 7 reviews from this member

 Just returned from 16 days in this site. It is in a lovely location with excellent facilities and all very clean. Toilets and showers are immaculate and only short queues for showers but it was peak season.

Pool is great and playing facilities for kids are excellent.

Now for the downside:

The pitches are way too small and we felt very overcrowded and had no privacy at all. The pitch was near a cut through and our car was scratched by kids on their bikes as there was so little room between caravans/awnings. We had no room to sit outside of our awning without feeling like we were in the pathway. Everyone had windbreaks to try and mark out their territory and add privacy.

The site seemed quite noisy too in the evenings although it was always quiet after 11.

All these gripes were probably due to it being peak season but the pitches are very small and squashed in.

It cost us 560 for just over two weeks and I don't think this was value for money considering the overcrowding aspect.

Nevertheless, it is a lovely site near a lovely town with lots to do. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Amanda Norman 2 reviews from this member

 What a fantastic site! The facilities are kept to a very high standard, never had to queue for a shower, only niggle would be yet again the fact the spray from the shower - be sure to use hooks for towels etc or they will get wet,but toilet block always clean and plenty of toilet roll and lovely handwash.

The playground and pool were fantastic, again very clean. The cafe / takeaway superb, surrounding area easy for access to Bournemouth, Poole etc, didn't walk into Wimbourne as a bit too far, but would be an easy cycle ride. Wardens very helpful and pitches generous and well kept. Will definitely be back. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Pauline49 10 reviews from this member

 Visited May Bank Holiday weekend with my brother's family. Campsite is exceptionally well run, with a card to both get in an off the site. The owner was very friendly and helpful. We got there a day after my brother and the owner made sure that the pitch was kept free for us.

There are 2 camping fields, one seemed to have more caravans and one more tents, but both have hook-up. There are also statics on site on a separate field. The fields were very well maintained.

There is a non-licensed cafe where you can eat and take your own drink. It looked very clean and welcoming. There is a play area, short tennis court, volley ball court, football field and an open-air heated swimming pool. We did use this, even in the cold and rain. It looked like a European swimming pool in decor and set-up.

The shower and toilet facilities were fantastic, one of the best I've been to. They had under-floor heating which was marvellous as it was cold when we went.

I highly recommend this site. My brother is going again at the end of June with some other families as he liked it so much. 


Previous     78 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Wilksworth Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Wilksworth Caravan Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Wilksworth Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Wilksworth Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Wimborne      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5834 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisements


Advertisements