Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Oakdown Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Sidmouth > Oakdown Holiday Park Reviews

Oakdown Holiday Park
Gatedown Lane
Weston
Sidmouth
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
EX10 0PT
Tel: 01297 680387
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 150
Open: 20/03/2021 to 06/11/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 88 Reviews
                9/10 from 88 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf On Site   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  88 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jenny James 5 reviews from this member

 This is our 3rd or 4th visit to Oakdown we used to stay in the statics years ago but now have a touring caravan. It is a fabulous site so quiet and well kept. The facilities are second to none always spotless and I never had to queue for shower and we came over the Easter holiday. The staff could not be more helpful and nothing was too much trouble. We have booked to come back again this October and can't wait. When we can no longer tow we will store our caravan here and stay at this site all the time love love love it. Sidmouth is only a short drive down hill and has lovely shops and cafes, we also go to Lyme regis which is not too far away. The hare and hounds towards honiton down lanes does a fabulous carvery and is a ten minute drive away. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jayntaf 7 reviews from this member

 Firstly, what a lovely well kept place.

Lovely flat, level camping site with excellent facilities, the amenities block. Well. Excellent, as well as mens and ladies toilets and showers there were family rooms too with a bath and a shower which I thought is a good touch, and always been cleaned, with good washing up facilities, and laundry too. Each pitch is protected by bushes and trees and you have your own space.

Very small shop on opposite side of park, it only sells essentials and the nearest shop must be about 2 miles away (but don't quote me on that).

You are about 2 miles from sidmouth and about 5 from seaton and both towns are really nice places.

For the kids there is a small play area and a tv room with pool table and books to read.

The only thing I can fault on is you hear road noise, but that was where we pitched, I cant speak for anyone else I would recommend this site and I would come here again just not by the road. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Purl76 10 reviews from this member

 We stayed here late for the late May bank holiday weekend. We booked in advance as we were meeting up with friends from lots of different areas of UK. We were a party of 6 tents (10 adults and 7 children).

The booking procedure was quite lengthy and complicated as we didn't want EHU but were initially booked with it and then the owner decided that we couldn't pitch together on the EHU sites as we weren't using it so we had to pitch in a corner of the site. This was fine but he then said that he could only put 4 tents there and 2 would have to be EHU so our group was separated. This took two weeks and several phone calls to sort out! On arrival we were disappointed to find that there would have been plenty of room for two more tents in the non-EHU area. As it turns out the weather was cold and windy at night so the EHU became very handy as we had heaters.

We were pitched in the newer area of the campsite (Beech Grove) and this was reasonable enough but very open plan with little shelter (just a horseshoe of pitches in a field with little hedge cover) it was exposed and characterless. The wash block was clean and functional but having wandered to the older part of the site I felt like we were the poorer sister (excuse the expression).

The pitches are level but the ground hard so don't forget your mallet. There is road noise in the newer field but this is barely noticeable once you are settled in. The older site had lovely sheltered pitches with good hedges for privacy between pitches. The feel of the older site was calm and idyllic in contrast to the feel of the new site which was exposed and bare.

There is plenty of lighting and the toilets are well lit. The water is nicely warm. There aren't enough hooks but there is a bag for you to put clothes in to keep them off floor. In comparison, in the older wash blocks there is underfloor heating and a bench in the shower cubicles. They are also situated in a lovely warm amenities block. There are laundry facilities, a freezer and a microwave in both areas. The newer wash block feels more open to the elements but it is clean and I wouldn't have been bothered if I hadn't seen the others! There is a family wet room with a shower and changing table in the newer block and a disabled room and family bathroom with baths in the older block. They could have done with a bit more frequent cleaning when we were there (or a mop and cleaning stuff left for campers to do it). One woman kindly left her used bath water in for us and there were no cloths for us to clean it out after her- eughh!

There are two playgrounds. Again the newer one is not as nice as the older one and the newer one is more suited for older children. The older one is brighter and more friendly for Under 5s. Good to have a choice I guess. If you like to stay at your tent and see your children at the playground rather than go with them to the park then the newer field would be the right choice for you.

There are wardens on site and they are very friendly and helpful.

The donkeys braying in the morning was lovely to hear and the donkey sanctuary is well worth a visit. As well as the donkeys it has a lovely shop selling gifts and local produce.

The nearby beaches are great. Sidmouth is well worth a wander around the shops. We tried to day trip to Lyme Regis as it has a sandy beach but the parking was really busy. There is a park and ride but with a 4 month old who doesn't travel well we decided to give this a miss and ended up parking for free at Seaton Hole. The local beaches are all pebbles (or grey sand as I read in one review online!). You can park for free at Seaton Hole near the clifftop cafe and walk down to the beach. Beware though, the steps are steep. At low tide there is a small area of sand to play on and great rock pooling which my 3 year old loved! Take your net and bucket and spade. Ice creams at the cafe before heading back to camp was a nice treat.

There is a country pub 'Hare and Hounds' on the way to Honiton which does an all day cavery for a 10 and has amazing beer garden with fab play area and views over rolling hills to the sea. Great for food, chat and getting tispy!

We usually visit North Devon but were really taken aback by the prettiness of South Devon and the red cliffs. We would definitely return and would use this campsite again but would make sure we were in the older part and not the new. 


Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Travelling Annie 2 reviews from this member

 This was our first holiday away with our new (and first) caravan and everyone at Oakdown helped to make it a wonderful stay. The facilities are excellent, the site very well presented and laid out - groves of about 6 to 8 caravans which gave a private and relaxing feel to the pitches. All the staff were friendly and helpful, the shower/loo block was spotless all the time - plenty of hot water and great attention to detail. Loved the conservation aspects and even a dog walk through to the nearby Donkey Sanctuary. We've booked in again for later in the year so that speaks for itself. Highly recommend this site and look forward to returning there. 


Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: RIMMER 190 reviews from this member

 As others have said nice picturesque site, friendly staff and clean toilet block, asked for a pitch away from the road so didn't hear any road noise only the donkeys pleasantly woke me up every morning. Not a lot to do around the area, no pub within reasonable walking distance. We caught the bus to Seaton and next day Sidmouth, thought Seaton a bit drab and run down as opposed to the quaint and classy Sidmouth, nearest bus stop turn right on main road and walk 200yds. Paid just over 37 for two nights with ehu 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: SteveandBelinda 7 reviews from this member

 We stayed for a weekend after being 'wowed' by the website and reviews on UKCampsite.co.uk. Found the site to be pleasant enough just a bit lacking in character, trying too hard to win these awards perhaps?

We found the site is a bit isolated, we walked down to the donkey sanctuary, and had a wander around the lanes to the South. Everyone else seemed to be glued to the telly for entertainment.

Visits to Beer, Sidmouth etc had to be by car, buses are available but didn't tie in with our plans.

All in all, a well run site with good facilities but sadly not very memorable and it has no soul. 


Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ascsbe 10 reviews from this member

 Visited this site over the Easter weekend. Our second visit and thankfully although cold the weather was dry.

The site is well presented with a very nice toilet block, although I think it could be a bit stretched in high season. Staff were very helpful.

We stayed on the mature part of the site where the pitches are in small groves and the site has a very pleasant relaxed feel. They are expanding across the lane and this is very different with pitches just in long rows, not really to my liking but everyone likes different things. Nice little shop on site. Not really much to improve but Wi Fi around the site would help people who need to keep in touch, and I dislike the green astro turf that is on some pitches, looks tatty in my opinion, otherwise a very nice site. 


Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: MANDYH01 10 reviews from this member

 Nice little site, staff were always on hand to help us. Sidmouth is a nice beach not far away from the site. You could use the bus to get there or use the car.

Our Static caravan was nice, well laid out and spacious and very beautifully presented and furnished and also very high standard. Our dog loved to go along the dog path with us to see the donkeys.

Also the guestbook in the caravan was very handy for other holiday makers to get to know about the caravan, site and area.

Also as well as this info Sidmouth has a very nice indoor swimming pool and also a play area for your youngsters to enjoy.

We also enjoyed the quietness of the site no shop on site but a supermarket just a 5 mins drive from the site. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bellybum 7 reviews from this member

 Stayed at this site in September 2012. This site is immaculate in every respect. Very easy to find and very easy to access. Staff very friendly and always stopping for a chat in-between keeping the site maintained. Facilities fantastic. Near to exmouth etc. The dog walk is the best I have seen, it takes you right up to the donkey sanctuary. Local pubs are dog friendly. This site is a very peaceful site. On site shop and small cafe sells all the basics, prices are a little above other sites but well worth every penny. Lots of flowers and shrubs make this site very attractive. Will visit again in 2013 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mr + Mrs G 9 reviews from this member

 Just returned from our second visit to Oakdown and again, what an amazing site! Staff again very friendly and helpful, even accommodating our request to extend our stay with them. Lovely site with a dedicated dog walk. Exceptionally well situated to explore the many assets the south west has to offer. Wonderful facilities, nicely spaced pitches so you don't feel on top of each other, certainly hard pushed to believe that there are 150 pitches at this site plus storage. We can not recommend this site enough, when we returned here, it felt like returning home. This site is superb with excellent facilities and welcoming staff. Looking forward to returning next year. 


Previous     88 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Oakdown Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Oakdown Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Oakdown Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Sidmouth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2996 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement