Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Oakdown Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Sidmouth > Oakdown Holiday Park Reviews

Oakdown Holiday Park
Gatedown Lane
Weston
Sidmouth
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
EX10 0PT
Tel: 01297 680387
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 150
Open: 20/03/2021 to 06/11/2021
           20/03/2022 to 08/11/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 90 Reviews
                9/10 from 90 Reviews

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf On Site   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  90 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bellybum 7 reviews from this member

 Stayed at this site in September 2012. This site is immaculate in every respect. Very easy to find and very easy to access. Staff very friendly and always stopping for a chat in-between keeping the site maintained. Facilities fantastic. Near to exmouth etc. The dog walk is the best I have seen, it takes you right up to the donkey sanctuary. Local pubs are dog friendly. This site is a very peaceful site. On site shop and small cafe sells all the basics, prices are a little above other sites but well worth every penny. Lots of flowers and shrubs make this site very attractive. Will visit again in 2013 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mr + Mrs G 10 reviews from this member

 Just returned from our second visit to Oakdown and again, what an amazing site! Staff again very friendly and helpful, even accommodating our request to extend our stay with them. Lovely site with a dedicated dog walk. Exceptionally well situated to explore the many assets the south west has to offer. Wonderful facilities, nicely spaced pitches so you don't feel on top of each other, certainly hard pushed to believe that there are 150 pitches at this site plus storage. We can not recommend this site enough, when we returned here, it felt like returning home. This site is superb with excellent facilities and welcoming staff. Looking forward to returning next year. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Wmx20121314 2 reviews from this member

 What a fantastic site. We spent 10 days here last summer in our tourer. The kids playground was fantastic and catered for every age and ability. Which makes a refreshing change. As my youngest has gdd. My eldest particularly loved the games room, fantastic idea. Shower block were lovely and clean, showers weren't too hot for the kids either. We had a super pitch and it really big and private. Nothing was too much trouble, the people who worked there would go out of their way to help you. A really lovely site and fantastic for people with families. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cyclemum 3 reviews from this member

 A really lovely site.

The amenities block was excellent, warm and with gents, ladies and unisex areas. Always near- immaculate with flowers on occasion and radio 2 playing.

Yes the showers are push button but it's a very light press and I found I could lean on it every now and then to maintain the flow, whilst washing our girls hair too. Not a problem.

Playgrounds were lovely, perfect for our children aged 5 and 7 and I think would be suitable for a few years yet.

Wardens were friendly and attentive.

Shop was well enough stocked and had all the little extras we needed.

There was some road noise but it was fine.

You could sometimes hear the donkeys but that was quite sweet.

I understand the cycle ban. As avid cyclists our kids would find the temptation of the flat roads around the park too tempting and would potentially injure themselves or someone else!

The Donkey Sanctuary is a short walk away but everywhere else would be quite a hike on foot. Lovely restaurants nearby. The Bowd was nice with a good play area but portions a little small.

Sidmouth a super little town, lots of shops and cafes etc. Lots of other sweet villages close by too. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Stasaph 2 reviews from this member

 Oakdown is a wonderful site. We only had one week there and it was excellent. The reception staff were very helpful. The lads that worked on the site were also helpful.

Everyone we dealt with were very professional and looked genuinely happy to help us with any problems. The toilet and shower block were second to none.

The play area for the kids looked fantastic. Loads of space for the children to enjoy themselves. Very tranquil.

I recommend The Masons Arms in Branscombe for a relaxing evening and great food and ales. Also The Hare and Hounds was lovely. Will definitely be back.  

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jackiec28 15 reviews from this member

 Well what a lovely site. Very friendly and helpful staff who went out of their way to make sure everything was ok

There are a number of nice small touches that make such a difference to a camping/caravan site.

Firstly the wooden picnic tables that are in the tenting area, what a difference these make, a place to eat or put stuff on. Every camper while we were there was making use of this facility.

Secondly there is a rotary dryer outside to dry clothes. How many sites have we been on that don't allow laundry outside and while away for 2 weeks this is so handy.

Thirdly small hedges between pitches and many having trees near giving some shade. Much needed on our second week.

Now on to the site itself.

The toilets and showers are spotless as has been said on numerous occasions and there are 3 toilets and 3 showers and a baby change cubicle which as previously stated is not sufficient if the site was full. But further down the corridor are unisex shower and toilet cubicles with three more showers and loos. There are also 2 baths which cost 1 to use. We were there for 2 weeks and it was vey busy over the weekends and never waited for a shower.

There are excellent laundry and dish washing facilities.

There is also a games room with a large tv, Internet room and children's park.

There is a well stocked shop and small cafe

There is a walk (off the main road) to the donkey sanctuary where you can wander round. We found this very pleasant in the evenings.

With regards to traffic noise. As someone who hates the sound of passing traffic I admit this could be an issue we were on Evergreen and the passing traffic was obvious but bearable. If I had been closer to the road I would have found it an issue but when booking you could always request a site away from the road. At night it was the donkeys braying I could here and not the road noise.

I would definitely recommend the site and use it again. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Harrys47 5 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a nine nights stay at this camp site.

We travelled from the North using the M5 and it is fair to say that the site suggested using Junction 30 of the M5. This was a good move as our Satnav gave us junction 28, slightly shorter route but not really suitable for caravans along these roads.

Arrival at the site is easy just of the A3052.

Reception was bright and modern and the staff friendly and we were taken to our allocated pitch by Steve who guided us in and before I got out of the car he was in the process of un hitching our caravan, he was very competent but might not suit some people.

The site is flat and our super pitch was flat and had hard standing for the caravan and area for the awning is on chippings, which were a little thin as when it rained which it did a lot while we were there and the ground became slightly muddy. No pitch appeared to have a TV socket, which I expected with a Super pitch, the caravan Digital ariel was fine.

The well cut grass dried out very quickly even after really heavy rain.

The toilet block is very modern and very clean with piped Radio Two and always very warm.

There were three showers in the male and likewise in the female side plus a good sized disable shower room with bath.

The site was not fully booked and my gut feeling is that the toilet block may be inadequate if the park was fully occupied.

There is a great dog walking area out of the site and you can walk for miles, taking in the Donkey Sanctuary.

Sadly the great British weather was not so great, it was extremely windy with persistent rain ( I know this is uncontrollable but it is June )

Good touches on the site, disinfectant dispensers and good recycling in place. Really good play area for young children.

Well worth a stay if you like the area.

The only criticism I would make is that when you come out of the well-lit toilet block across from the reception the lighting is poor and perhaps a low wattage lamp could be installed. ( I was going to mention it to the staff )

All in all a nice site worth a visit.  


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mr + Mrs G 10 reviews from this member

 We chose to go to Oakdown as it is close to the in-laws. It was our first time with a caravan. We hired the caravan (not from Oakdown, but from near us) to see how we got on before taking the plunge and deciding to upgrade from a tent to a caravan. It was great! We thoroughly enjoyed it and we are really looking forward to getting our own caravan and exploring more sites in the near future.

So, what else made us chose Oakdown? The positive reviews was a big contributory factor and the fact that it was dog friendly was essential as it was our dogs first proper holiday with us. We were welcomed to this exceptional site by very friendly staff and were shown to our pitch by one of the lovely wardens who even offered help with reversing the caravan into place when we explained it was our first time with this set up. By the time my husband had taken off his seatbelt and opened his door, the warden had put the legs down and lifted the jockey wheel. What a lovely chap, totally unexpected!

There were a few other dogs on site but not loads. They were all well behaved, kept on leads, friendly and there were no doggy do-do's on the ground so you knew the owners were picking up after their pets. The site is very well situated wth excellent walks and plenty of lovely pubs with gardens where dogs are welcome, especially The Bowd and The Blue Ball (not sure if the latter is dog friendly but a lovely pub we have visited often for food and drinks). The Bowd also has a small but nice play area for the kids. Very nice walk just over the road to the donkey sanctuary, dog friendly, loads of poo bins, all with bags on them so no excuse not to pick up after your dog.

Ok, facilities at the site. Where do I start? The showers and toilets would not have been out of place in a hotel, let alone on a campsite! They were immaculate, clean, modern, fresh, lovely hot showers, well stocked with soap at the sinks and I never found an empty loo roll!

The shower cubicles were lovely and roomy with hooks and a bench behind a partition wall to keep your clothes and towels dry. Oh yes, and the showers are free so no faffing around with 20p halfway through your shower ladies! There is a free hairdryer located in the shower block as well. If I was to be really, REALLY petty, and I mean really petty, there was no hook for the bath scrunchie. This was the only thing I would change because these facilities were amazing! Been on sites with mouldy showers, filthy floors, spiders everywhere and this was the absolute opposite, so well lit, everything, they even had radio 2 playing in there!

The washing up area again, very clean, well laid out with plenty of hot water, lots of sinks, draining racks etc.

We never ventured in to the TV room so cannot comment on that. We were close to the play area which was lovely, there is even a climbing wall. We do not have children (the dog is enough!) but it was well maintained and inspected by the staff in the mornings for safety which was refreshing and reassuring.

Although we had no need to use them, there were laundry facilities, a FREE microwave and FREE freezers for freezing ice blocks etc.

There is also a golf course at the site, again, not used by us so not able to comment on this facility.

The shop is well stocked but it is worth asking about opening times on arrival as it is not open all day!

The staff we met were all very helpful, polite very friendly, definitely hard working to ensure the site stays looking its best and the facilities are clean and bins are empty etc etc without being over bearing or appearing as though they were watching you.

The site strives to be as environmentally friendly as possible and has facilities for recycling many items. The grounds are beautiful and very well maintained. The butterfly area was near our pitch and very colourful. The morning chorus from the birds was stunning!

We were lucky enough to have enjoyed brilliant weather on our stay so we could sit outside every evening and afternoon and the variety of birds around the site was lovely, a real treat. We did not experience any of the noise from the road until the road works started up then we heard the heavy machinery beeping as it was backing up etc etc but that was unfortunate and not avoidable and by no means a bad reflection on the site.

The pitch was a lovely size, we didn't have an awning as we were only hiring our caravan, but the people who did have awnings had plenty of space, plus you can park at your pitch regardless of what type of unit you have so no lugging tons of tent etc across half a mile to your pitch! Even though there are 150 pitches plus caravans in storage, it did not feel like it because the site is so well laid out with small hedgerows dividing each pitch.

My advice, if you are going to south Devon and you want a site with superb facilities and helpful friendly staff, regardless of whether you are a couple, a family, with or without a dog, whatever unit you have, go to Oakdown!

Would we return to Oakdown? YES! We can't wait to get our own caravan and come back, maybe use it as a short stop-over on our way to and maybe also from Cornwall in the next couple of years? Who knows, but we will certainly come back.

Thank you to all the staff at Oakdown for all your help, cheeriness, advice and making our stay memorable for all the right reasons. You deserve every award that you have received. 10 out of 10 from us 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: KatMat 8 reviews from this member

 This was our maiden voyage as campers, so nerves and emotions were running high!

We took a punt on 'Oakdown' as it was close to home in case A. We couldn't get the tent up B. Had a massive argument and went our separate ways or C. Realised we really aren't cut out for camping.

Luckily none of the above happened, and we found Oakdown to be a cracking campsite. As our experience was limited every little step was a new adventure. Our pitch was large and had the added bonus of a picnic bench, which we made good use of day and night. The wash areas were next to be explored and wow, better than home. Nearly, really clean and catered for all our washing needs.

Staff wise very good, though we did encounter a slightly grumpy lady when we asked to play pitch and put, clearly she wasn't a golf fan but this didn't sour our great game of golf, which I won on count back.

The campsite is ideally placed for exploring Sidmouth, and the surrounding areas, Beer a must visit if you get the chance. Another nice bonus was the dawn chorus of donkeys braying, no need for alarms with our friendly neighbours to wake us up in the near-by sanctuary.

So to sum it up, as a first time camp experience this ticked all the right boxes. We both agreed right from the start we would return again, so that says it all really, even though it's so close to home.

Quite simply we had a cracking time, a lot to do with the campsite and atmosphere, and that's all we wanted from our camping trip!

So visit Oakdown, you won't be disappointed, and if you see a grey Vango tent pop in for a brew and a game of frisbee. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Mrmiball 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely camp site. Good size pitches. Lovely walks down local lanes' or to donkey sanctuary near by. Lovely beaches within easy drive- plenty to do locally, on bus route, buses run to Exeter and nearby coastal towns reasonably late. Small cafe and shop nice-is more than you have on many sites, and is plenty of alternate cafes and large supermarkets a very short drive if you are desperate for more. Staff friendly and helpful. 1030 leaving time a little early, but means an earlier check in time, and its your last day any way, why put it off, get on and enjoy the coast on the way home. To be honest, only the petty minded could pick fault here. 


Previous     90 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Oakdown Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Oakdown Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Oakdown Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Sidmouth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2986 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement