Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Oakdown Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Sidmouth > Oakdown Holiday Park Reviews

Oakdown Holiday Park
Gatedown Lane
Weston
Sidmouth
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
EX10 0PT
Tel: 01297 680387
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 150
Open: 20/03/2021 to 06/11/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 88 Reviews
                9/10 from 88 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf On Site   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  88 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: CK+B 39 reviews from this member

 A very mature, well laid out site, lots of different areas which makes it feel smaller than it is. We had a large hard standing pitch with grass on either side, which meant you could make the most of the sun or shade.

The site facilities were very good and always clean. There is a shop and cafe on site. Plus you can order chinese or pizza to be delivered to site.

You can walk from site to the Donkey Sanctuary. Weston Beach is 2 miles walk away (pebbly doggie friendly beach - all up hill on the way back!).

The only downside our pitch was next to the busy road and the noise was quite intrusive, pitches near the back of the site where much quieter.

We enjoyed our stay. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Daboafies 2 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely site with very large pitches. The moment you arrive you are greeted by several friendly staff, who will show you to you pitch and advise the best way to pitch. The pitches are very large and private, as there are well kept grounds, with hedges and bushes. The facility block is very clean with ample hot water. There is a specific area for motorhomes to empty waste water and an excellent recycling point for all rubbish. There is also a very large play area for children.

There is a golf course across the road and a small shop and cafe with a small selection of pasties, teas and coffees.

This site is an excellent location for the Sidmouth Donkey Sanctuary, which is a short stroll away, through a field track, which is also kept in very good order. Along the track are many benches, dedicated to staff, families and furry friends, so a rest can be taken to enjoy the peace and quiet. The Donkey sanctuary is free to enter, but donations are gratefully received.

I would certainly use this campsite again. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tonybriers 3 reviews from this member

 We had a fantastic weekend. Site was spotless. Well mown grass. Really friendly wardens. Hot showers. Good size pitch. Brilliant, keep up the good work. Also glad you recycle. Dogs are so welcome with the walk to the donkey sanctuary at hand. In our opinion you are underrated at five star, should be 10 star ! 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Kevinsheldon 33 reviews from this member

 Once again we chose a site where we could reach local towns using public transport. Oakdown fitted the bill as there was a bus stop about 300m away – though it meant crossing a busy road two or three times to get there because there wasn’t a pavement. The cost of two return tickets to Sidmouth came to £7.50 – roll on 2011 when I get my bus pass!

We could reach all the facilities easily from our large flat hardstanding pitch but unfortunately it was situated next to the road which, although quiet at night, could be very busy and therefore extremely noisy at other times. If you chose to stay on your pitch during the day this could be very annoying.

Papers could be ordered from reception and collected from the shop on the par 3 golf course next to which is a further field for Oakdown campers / caravanners.

The toilet / shower block was always kept clean and the shower cubicles were immense! Didn’t have to fight off the curtain when showering and could change afterwards in comfort.

We had great weather during our 3 night stay and so a late afternoon stroll down to the donkey sanctuary was a must. We were moved to see all the remembrance plaques for both people and pets next to the trees and on benches on our way there. Recommended.

We would certainly return to Oakdown if we could be guaranteed a pitch away from the road. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Elsiekay 49 reviews from this member

 This was our third visit to Oakdown and it never fails to impress. The site is well laid out and the facilities very clean and tidy. It's position next to the Donkey Sanctuary and proximity to the coastal path are all definite plusses.

You can now order newspapers from the shop at the golf range which is very welcome. The shop also stocks basic essentials such as milk/bacon etc. We caught the bus into Sidmouth (the stop is about 10 mins walk) and found it a good service.

The only minus point really is the road noise but this isn't too intrusive.

This is one of our favourite sites. Will be back! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Batman41 11 reviews from this member

 We were lucky enough to go to Oakdown for 3 days in August, and oh what a beautiful site! The wardens were really friendly and you felt like you had been there before. The pitches were very generous and the site itself was immaculate. The golf course was great for my hubby and two sons,which gave me time to relax and watch the world go by. The showers etc were all very clean and the wardens were always checking to make sure they stayed that way.We only stayed there for 3 days as we were moving round to Brixham, but I would have been very happy to stay there for the whole of my 10 day holiday. Sidmouth is a lovely little seaside town but my favourite was Beer, very quaint and picturesque. Cannot fault the site, the very friendly wardens or the area, cannot wait to go back. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED. 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Helen172 2 reviews from this member

 A pleasant well organised site, if not a little too organised for us, no cycling on site and you have to be packed up and of site early morning on day of departure even when its not bus, so unless you pay another nights fee you only get a Saturday if you go for a weekend, I don't mind paying extra to stay on, but thought a full nights fee was excessive. The site is next to a busy road with traffic noise though you do get used to it. The toilets are dated but spotless with plenty of free hot water. They do not have a shop just a few bits in reception so make sure you take everything you need. The children's play area was lovely and well kept as was all areas of the site, nicely mowed grass. The donkey santuary was a real treat with a pleasant walk from the site to it. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Camping Bugs 2 reviews from this member

 What a gem this site is. We stayed on Beech Grove which is just over the way from the other site. Our pitch was level and we were left with enough space by the tent to park the car and set up quite a large badminton net! Our pitch overlooked the golf course which my husband and son played a round - good value for money. Our first couple of days there gave us some pretty heavy rain and the field did become a little muddy but then I would imagine this happened elsewhere. Given the weather the toilet/shower block remained very clean at all times which is a feather in the cap of the lady and gent (I don't know their names)who kept them that way. The laundry block housed two washers and two dryers - £2.40 for a wash and 50p for a 21 minute dry (incase anyone's interested!). Clothes came out cleaner than others I've used. On our last night we ordered a Chinese takeaway from 'Yummy's' which was delivered to the car park at the top of the site, £1.50 delivery charge. We were a bit apprehensive about what we were going to get but I can say that the food was delicious and we would recommend. The only negative I can give is that the gravel path which runs around the site needs to be extended to the toilet/shower block. I think this may make the wardens jobs a little easier keeping the block clean in bad weather and campers feet dry! I would highly recommend this site. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kag315 2 reviews from this member

 Fantastic Site! Staff were very friendly and helpful. Showers and Toilets were always spotlessly clean. Pitches were flat and spacious. Great play area for the children. Short drive to Sidford for local Spar so a shop on site would be a bonus. Great pub food in Sidford also a good fish and chip shop. Lots to do in area: Donkey Sanctuary only a short walk away. Beer, Branscombe and Lyme Regis only a short drive. Small amount of noise from road but that didn't put us off. Will definitely return here next year! 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: KTDorset 1 review from this member

 We have just come back from an incredible weekend at Oakdown, in no small part due to this wonderful site.

The site owners were helpful and readily available, yet unobtrusive. The amenities block was always spotlessly clean, and there was hot water at all times.

The lack of a club/bar etc meant that it was exceptionally quiet at night, great for families with smaller children or those wanting the old-fashioned way of camping.

There is some road noise, but as with other posters, we soon screened it out.

We were in Beech Grove, which has a lovely unspoiled feel to it, please keep it that way!

Our children loved the paly area, and the grassy areas available for games etc. We also made much use of the golf, which was great value for money. We understand that there is to be an extension to the golf shop for a small site shop, which would be very welcome, as milk and bread are a short drive away. 


Previous     88 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Oakdown Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Oakdown Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Oakdown Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Sidmouth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2708 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement