Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Oakdown Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Sidmouth > Oakdown Holiday Park Reviews

Oakdown Holiday Park
Gatedown Lane
Weston
Sidmouth
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
EX10 0PT
Tel: 01297 680387
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 150
Open: 20/03/2021 to 06/11/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 88 Reviews
                9/10 from 88 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf On Site   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  88 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Daisydoo 22 reviews from this member

 Pro's -

Fantastic Playpark - the best campsite park we've come across to date! The main park being suitable for all age groups and the smaller park in Beech Grove I would say was for children 5/6 +

Main facilities were great - really spacious showers, undercover dishwashing, laundry, two family bathrooms (1 for 15 mins of water). Every where was spotless!

Small shop but what we liked was that they sold 10p/15p packs of sweets which was ideal for our young children.

Lovely off road walk to the nearby donkey sanctuary

Con's-

We were in Beech Grove and felt a little bit like the poor relations

The facilities, although spotlessly clean were very cramped - it would have been impossible to shower a child in the showers (they were tiny) with no where to hide! One hook on the door and a laundry type bag hanging to put all your clothes in - quite an innovative idea but not for me!

Toilet cubicles again were tiny - I struggled to fit in with my daughter who is only 3!

Considering all the families seemed to be pitched in Beech Grove there wasn't a family bathroom so we had to walk up to the main facilities (to be fair this was still only a 3 minute walk).

There was a lot of noisy children running around until gone 10 at night. I do appreciate that this is what camping is about for a lot of families, but while our children are still quite young and can't cope with staying up late it was too loud! Having said that the wardens were about and we did hear them tell a group that they had 5 minutes before they had to be quiet. Prior to visiting and having read lots of reviews we were given the impression that it was a very quiet site and with lots of rules - in reality we weren't aware of a single rule!

Would we go back? yes we would and despite the cons we really did like this site and the playpark well and truly won us and the kiddies over! 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jsw1 18 reviews from this member

 We booked this site after reading all the good reviews. Welcome on arrival was a OK but we weren't given any information at all, which is unusual these days.

Our pitch was on the other side of the road and the warden that met us there was good and told us about the facilities. The pitches were huge and although the facilities were spotless they were very small, the bruise on my elbow bears that out, as I caught it on the metal shelf in the tiny shower!

The facilities on the main site were very good and can't be faulted, as is everything else. We felt that the area we were on was like and 'overflow' and all the tents/caravans with children were pitched there, making it very noisy and busy.

I'm not sure we would return to this site if pitched in the same area again. A space for children to play away from the pitches would make a huge difference. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Vack4 3 reviews from this member

 We spent the Whitsun week here with our friends and camped in Holly Grove. We all agreed that this was a great site and are booked up for next year.

We weren't affected by any road noise at all and the sun came across in to the grove in the afternoon so it was perfect for bbq's!

The facilities are probably the best we've come across in 4 years of camping, they even provided cloths in the dishwashing area for you to wipe down the sinks with when you were done. Little touches like this make a real difference!

We thought the amount of showers/toilets was adequate, I only had to go in to the overflow shower room once and we were there in a peak bank holiday week.

Our kids, a mix of boys and girls with ages ranging from 7 to 10 practically lived in the main play area. We would not have been happy at letting them wander over to the other playing area as you do have to cross a small road (albeit not very busy). This is also where the pitch and putt golf course was, which we all tried and really enjoyed.

We spent most of our week visiting along the coast heading for beer and seaton but next time we intend to spend more time over Exmouth way as we love the beach there.

The staff were always very friendly and helpful, we asked for some bricks one night for our bbq and they brought them to us in their little on site buggy with trailer and even carried them over to where we wanted them!

If I had to think of something that could make it just that little better for us (this is being picky though) it would be to have a ball playing field as the open play areas are restricted and our kids love to run wild! This however, would not stop us visiting again, it was a great week and we can't wait for the next visit! 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: RoaminNL 3 reviews from this member

 Decent toilet and shower facilities, always clean when we were there.

A large enough pitch if you are on a hard-court.

Reception starts only at 08:30 in high season and 09:00 when we were there. As there is a locked low bar at the entrance in non-office hours you can only have a late start to your journey when leaving with the caravan.

I didn't notice any shop on the site but there is a supermarket less than 10 minutes away in the car. Owner's comment: Site shop is open through Mid and High season

We'd possibly return to this site if we return to that area.

Their internet charges, they sell it by the minute, only available in one room and at their rates would cost 504 a week Owner's comment: The cost is 0.50 for 20 mins. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tn104 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed here in August with my family boy 6 girl 3. This is a top site. We read all the reviews and they were all right! showers very clean. The washing room has a microwave in it which was a god send as my 2 children still like warm milk in the mornings.The large freezer is free to use too. GREAT

We will be back next year for sure. Sidmouth beach is lovely when the tide is out. Loads of sand and rock pools. Great for the kids. Waitrose not far just past sidmoth itself on the way to Exmouth. Spar shop in village too.

Only 2 moans, the ground is very stony and we bent loads of pegs. The donkey sanctuary I just down the road. Its a good trip and its free. You do hear the odd donkey in the middle of the night going mad about nothing. We found it quite funny after a while. The site is by a main road but the traffic noise stop about 11pm ish.

All in all very good site. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Shorty blokey 1 review from this member

 What a fantastic site. All the facilities were fantastic, clean and very tidy. The whole site area was kept immaculate, the staff on our part of the site were so friendly, what a great husband and wife team. The shop was very well stocked and it has a coffee shop. The pitches were Large and you didn't make you feel cramped at all. Sidmouth is a gem of a place with great beaches and rock pools. We will be back to this great site but don't tell too many people 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pablo123bikes 3 reviews from this member

 This is what a camping site should be!

Upon arrival the staff are helpful taking you to your pitch and asking if you need a hand with anything.A great start.We had taken our large tent with electric hookup,one toddler,1x8 1x14 and 2xadults not forgetting 1 black Labrador!

The pitch was very large and well drained,with short grass.Spot on.

Having erected the tent off to the loos,superbly clean for our entire stay,warm and plenty of soap. The only downside is the shower cubical is a little tight with no shelve for clothes.

There is a smashing tumble dryer and washing machine along with an ironing room,which also has a spotless free of charge microwave which made it so easy to warm the bottle for the baby in the early hours.

A small shop which was reasonably priced,a cafe which did tea and cakes. Also there is a small golf course.

You can take a walk each evening along a lovely grass path towards the donkey sanctuary which is worth a visit. Sidmouth isnt far away for a visit too and there are many local pubs.

As you can tell we really enjoyed our visit and will be going again next year. The only down side is the noise from the road

Nearly forgot two play areas for the kids that they loved! 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Daisytent 14 reviews from this member

 This is an excellent site. They have obviously been running it a long time and listen and implement suggestions from their customers. It seems they have thought of everything. Some particular highlights were the local radio in the toilet block-great for weather checks. An enormous chest freezer free for use and accessible 24 hours. A free microwave. The shop open in the evenings. A picnic table on our pitch.

Uncrowded spacing of pitches, privacy, friendly staff, all great :) Everything you would expect from a site and more.

However, and it's a biggy nobody else has mentioned, it is right next to a busy, noisy road. We were 2 rows of pitches and trees away from the road and every time a car went past it was as loud as sitting in a layby. You had to raise your voice to speak to someone right next to you. Such a pity as the site is perfect in every other respect.  


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Steve+lisa 1 review from this member

 Just returned from a five night break at Oakdown. The site truly surpassed our expectations and was easily the best site we have stayed on to date.

From the moment we checked in, you can't help but be impressed by the friendly, helpful nature of the wardens (particularly Pete). Nothing was too much trouble for them.

The site itself is pristine, we stayed on Beech Grove which we were lead to believe was an overspill field, however it has been laid out with laurels bordering the large flat pitches, almost all having power.

Water (drinking and waste) as well as rubbish points are plentiful. The showers, toilets and pot washing facilities are new and immaculate. There is a large children's play area in beech grove (along with a larger one on the main site just over the quiet road). There is also a small 9 hole golf course, shop and a cafe.

Oakdown's attention to detail is superb, the laundry rooms have microwaves and feeezers for campers to use free of charge, they even leave small sponges by all the sinks (including the pot washing area) to wipe down after use.

Whilst you do need a car to get out and about there are some really pretty villages nearby (Branscombe, Beer, Sidmouth). There is also a new waitrose about 10 minutes drive away in Sidmouth.

When we return to East Devon, Oakdown will be top of the list. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Smay6789 1 review from this member

 Just returned from a weekend at this site and what a great site it is. They really have thought of everything.Loads of sinks for those wishing to do their washing up with hot water too! washer / dryer,iron and board, internet room and even a communal chest freezer.

Toilets and showers are clean. The shop is open daily for basics but only for 2hrs at breakfast time and at tea time which is ok if you haven't forgotten anything for lunch but local shop is only 5mins in car. The staff are friendly and a warden shows you to your pitch on arrival.

All pitches have hook up. Footpath down to donkey sanctuary is 5min walk.2 pubs 5mins drive away. Beach only 10mins by car. Clean and quiet site unless your pitch is near the road. Would recommend. We will be returning soon. 


Previous     88 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Oakdown Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Oakdown Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Oakdown Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Sidmouth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5645 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement