Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Oakdown Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Sidmouth > Oakdown Holiday Park Reviews

Oakdown Holiday Park
Gatedown Lane
Weston
Sidmouth
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
EX10 0PT
Tel: 01297 680387
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 150
Open: 20/03/2021 to 06/11/2021
           20/03/2022 to 08/11/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 90 Reviews
                9/10 from 90 Reviews

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf On Site   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  90 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gary99 2 reviews from this member

 This is a great site in many ways and I might return but there are quite a few negatives which I'm surprised haven't been reflected by other reviews. Yes I am a bit fussy but I don't think overly so. We stayed as part of a 5 family group. We had 3 touring pitches and 2 statics. Pros and cons as follows

PROS.

Really friendly wardens (apart from 1 major upset - see below).

Spotless site. One of the best with respect to maintenance. Grass meticulously maintained. Showers well maintained etc.

Pretty peaceful if you get the right pitch as quite a lot are close to a busy noisy road.

Excellent kids play area and a pretty small games room.

Donkey sanctuary is a nice place you can walk to and also has a maze for the kids. Can't walk or cycle to much else though.

There is a great par 3 course for practising your golf on the site (it's an up market pitch and putt)

CONS

You have to be off your pitch by 10. 30am - even if you have had 5 pitches over the past 2 weeks and they haven't got new arrivals on the pitch. Even though our little boy (6 years old) was very ill resulting in us going to hospital when we were trying to leave, my wife was still hassled for payment showing no concern at all for our son. Be aware that if your late leaving you will be charged (and hassled for it!)

If you have young children and you want to bath them it's £1 extra for a bath each evening.

The showers in the mens area are small and the shower head points to the door drenching everything so drying yourself and putting on dry socks is pretty difficult.

You have to press the shower button roughly every 15 seconds to keep it going. That's quite a hassle.

It says it now has a cafe. If you call a cafe, coffee from a machine and panini heated in a microwave then it's a cafe but don't expect to meet friends here for any sort of decent breakfast.

Can't ride your bicycles anywhere on the site. If you have kids take their scooters!

Difficult to get a good pitch as many are seasonal so book well in advance.

Not much to walk or cycle to from the site.

SUMMARY

It is a nice site that's well maintained and such a shame that the issues above exist as we would otherwise go here often. I would return for a short stay but be very hesitant with kids if it's more than a few nights. 
Management response: We are sorry that you feel you need to use the term hassled, we certainly don’t intend on hassling our guests, but we have to have strict policies across the board and the reception team have to adhere to these policies for all guests. We have a very high return rate of guests all of whom respect our policies and many of which stay for an average length of 2 weeks. Unfortunately we were not informed of your son’s situation until later and certainly not told that your son was taken to hospital. We have always respected our guest’s needs, which reflects in our awards and reviews, if we were informed of the severity of your situation we would have made arrangements for you to stay late. We do genuinely hope your son is feeling better and apologise again for your disappointment.

Regarding the showers, the heads are directional and there is a screened seat in each cubicle with plenty of hooks to hang belongings. You have to press the shower button roughly every 15 seconds to keep it going. This time length is the standard button press length of time, which is intentional as part of our ‘green’ approach to the recent refurbishment.

We are very confident in the quality of the coffee produced by our machine, it is a genuine roasted bean machine with fresh milk and a hard coffee to beat from what the locals tell us. We do offer 6 types of coffee, tea and hot chocolate as well as cold refreshments, cakes, confectionary, pasties and pies. The Paninis are what many coffee shops supply, they have had fantastic reviews and are a very high quality product which we did considerable research into to find a ‘self-service’ high quality product. Unfortunately we do not have a license to cook foods on the premises hence why we cannot offer breakfasts except the breakfast panini.

We introduced the no cycling rule as a result of an incident a few years ago to eliminate any risks, scooters are welcome however as children have a little more control and can step off of them quicker than a bike should they need to in a hurry.


Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Trevor + Jo 109 reviews from this member

 A fantastically well organised campsite. Possibly the cleanest and tidiest we've stayed at. Excellent facilities throughout and very reasonable end of season rates.

The pitches are large, level and come with a picnic table. All the staff were very helpful. Well done to all.

The only possible draw back if you're a light sleeper was some road noise during the evening and some donkeys braying overnight.

Ideally situated for Beer and Sidmouth. Good selection of pubs nearby too.

Plenty of information available at the campsite and local restaurant reviews etc. Would recommend this site and will visit again sometime. 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Mustang75 22 reviews from this member

 We arrived to the campsite under a shroud of thick fog and then rain that had descended upon the area for the afternoon, so we had no idea what the place really looked like until the next day!

The campsite receptionist was extremely welcoming and then the site caretaker walked us over to our pitch, stopping to point out all the facilities on the way. We felt very well attended and comfortable after a rather scary drive!

The site was immaculate and our pitch was a lovely flat hardstanding with hookup and a tap and bins adjacent to us. The campsite is laid out in little 'closes' that all link up to each other. The loo / shower/washup / laundry facilities are warm and comfortable with lots of hot water!

The other additional benefit of this site is that there are also 2 private bathrooms (£1 to fill up the bath), so if you fancy a nice soak after a long walk or drive, this is just the ticket!

I take the point about the main road but we did not notice the noise at all - even with the windows open the second evening.

We had a walk along the coat path to Sidmouth via the donkey sanctuary the next day in beautiful sunshine. I would well recommend the walk - there were a few hills to climb but it was well worth it - and the beach at Weston (en-route) was really peaceful and secluded. As a bonus there is a free hopper bus back to the donkey sanctuary for those with tired legs (like us and our dog!)

All in all it was a lovely place to stay and the campsite was top notch! We may well be back! 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mrsmoo 4 reviews from this member

 Have just returned from a week at this site, with two children 10 &7. Definitely one of the best sites we have stayed at. We were shown to our pitch within 5 minutes of arrival and Pete explained all the site facilities. The wardens were around the site daily. Can recommend the chip shop in Sidford.

Pros:

Really large pitches.

Showers and toilets were really clean, loved the sensors on the taps, lots of mirrors.

Laundry really useful and great sized freezer, microwave also came in handy.

Recycling facilities on the site were good.

The kids loved the play area.

Fantastic walk to the donkey sanctuary.

Cons;

Road could be very noisy but we did get used to it.

Showers very small, if trying to shower with a child and attempt to stay dry!

Although there is a bag to keep clothes dry whilst showering, I would prefer more hooks over the door.

We would definitely stay at this site again. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lewislaw 2 reviews from this member

 Had a Fabulous week here. Pitched on Beach Grove, with a lovely large pitch that was marked out. On our pitch we had a Bear Lake 6, side extension, front extension two cars and there was still plenty of room to walk around! The site cost £200 for the week, which was 3 adults, one 3 year old, two cars and the tent.

The toilets and showers were kept very clean. The dish washing area had continous hot water. There was a laundry room (pay) and a freezer. There was also a 'sharps box' provided too (handy if you are diabetic for example).

The site was level and all grass with the exception of the gravel road.

There was a mixture of caravans, trailer tents and tents.

The wardens were extremely friendly. There was a small shop with a cafe attached (but the range wasn't that extensive!) There was also a snack shack next door which sold fresh orange juice (lovely but at £2 a cup could get expensive!) burgers, breakfast buns etc. If you are coming here, make sure you bring the first nights provisions and next morning's breakfast as they all have very odd opening hours! However, on the positive side, there is a fabulous Waitrose about 5 miles up the road. Just turn left out of the park and follow the road straight and you can't miss it!

There is a walkway which runs right alongside the Grove which was a very pleasant walk to the donkey sanctuary that was next door. You could sometimes hear the donkeys at night but we found it more an amusement 'oh the Donkeys are off again' rather than an irritation.

The site is next to the road, but unless road noise really bothers you, by the second night you won't notice it, and it's especially helpful to drown out the slightly noiser parties!

All in all I would wholly recommend this site and my family and I will definitely be visiting again next year. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: PXProgrammer 1 review from this member

 I have stopped on this site a couple of times and have been impressed. I echo everyone else's comments on facilities, cleanliness etc.

I few points that reduced my enjoyment of the site, hopefully taken as constructive criticism.

The hard standing chipping are the sharpest (flint type) of any site I have been to. Despite even putting lino down they are too sharp to walk on without shoes. They have damaged anything I put on them.

I feel it is unfair to make responsible adults push their bikes from their pitches on / off the extensive site. This encourages car usage which is bad for everyone. I do not know of another site that encourages car usage rather than push bikes.

Steve helped me on to the pitch and was working on disconnecting electrics before I got out of my car. Although meaning to be helpful, I felt he should have asked if I needed a hand. I like to park / disconnect / unhitch / move and level up in my own way and get flustered if rushed.

For me the above slight tweeks would make the site perfect. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Arpaterson 4 reviews from this member

 Stayed here in a tent on an un-serviced pitch for ten nights with a young family.

This is third time in total and the second year in a row that we have stayed at Oakdown and again we were on the original part of the site.

We received the usual warm welcome from the staff and were shown to our pitch, which we had been able to book in advance when making our reservation.

The toilet block has been refurbished this year to a very high standard. Even without the modernisation I think this is one of the best amenities blocks I have seen, especially if you have a young family. There is an area for families to shower as well as baths (albeit you have to pay for hot water for the bath). There is a large chest freezer and microwave in the dishwashing / laundry area and all facilities are kept very clean.

The children's’ play area is located in a secluded spot close to the amenities blocks. While this does mean not all campers are subjected to the noise form the play park you are unlikely to be able to see your children playing from the comfort of your own tent / caravan. The play park is well equipped and the site also has a smaller more modern play park in the ‘new’ part of the site in Beach Grove.

The site does run along the A3052 which while not very busy can seem noisy with cars speeding along it in the evening. Having said that it did not detract from our stay at all.

There is a lot to do in the local area, with lots of information on local attractions and places to eat available in the amenities block, and the site is an ideal base for a holiday. There was plenty to keep our young family amused for ten days as well good places to eat out nearby. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Ian johnson 16 reviews from this member

 Stayed at Oakdown for 7 nights in June and I can only say what a great site this is.

The site fees for this site are very reasonable for its location.

We stayed on the newer part of the site (Beech Grove) which had the biggest touring pitches I have ever seen on a site. This part of the site was being looked after by Pete the warden and his wife and they were absolutely brilliant - they had so much knowledge of the area and the good places to visit and always a pleasant smile and time to stop for a chat.

Amenities in the block were superb and cleaned regularly there was even a large freezer and a microwave that are free to use and we found both of these really useful on a 7 night stay.

There are local supermarkets nearby (Spa and a bit further a large Waitrose). Pete the warden recommended a meal at the Hare and Hounds which is a short drive from the site (Reception gave us a voucher for this pub too) and the carvery at this pub is great value - Gets very busy though so may pay to book.

Sidmouth has plenty of shops and good pubs to walk round during the day.

The only minus point for this part of the site (Beech Grove) is some road noise, the owners have made efforts to cut the noise down which when fully grown will take this small nuisance away.

I will definitely use this site again. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: 5shephards 6 reviews from this member

 I love this place, must be our 5th/6th visit in last few years. This time we were 2 other families, tent and caravan and we had an amazing time.

The facilities are top notch, 2 play areas, good size pitches and great walk (esp with dog) to local donkey sanctuary. Family bathroom is great enabling kids to bath and play whilst you shower. Washing up facilities good though sinks bit low in 2nd field.

Staff are brilliant and very friendly.

The only downside is the road, can be a bit noisy but wont stop us going again. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: J bonus 5 reviews from this member

 We have stayed at Oakdown many times any always been delighted with the service, the helpful staff and especially the fully serviced pitches (other sites should take notice).

The refurbished toilet/shower block is superb.

Good access from the main road and round the site.

Well placed for places like Sidmouth, Lyme Regis etc by car, bus, or if you're ambious on foot.

Visit the Fountain Head pub in Branscombe, a superb English pub. Try a pint of Jolly Jeff or have a good reasonably priced meal or bar snack.

The only sad thing is Oakdown isn't open all year. 


Previous     90 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Oakdown Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Oakdown Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Oakdown Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Sidmouth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2872 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement