Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Oakdown Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Sidmouth > Oakdown Holiday Park Reviews

Oakdown Holiday Park
Gatedown Lane
Weston
Sidmouth
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
EX10 0PT
Tel: 01297 680387
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 150
Open: 20/03/2021 to 06/11/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 87 Reviews
                9/10 from 87 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf On Site   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  87 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mrsmoo 4 reviews from this member

 Have just returned from a week at this site, with two children 10 &7. Definitely one of the best sites we have stayed at. We were shown to our pitch within 5 minutes of arrival and Pete explained all the site facilities. The wardens were around the site daily. Can recommend the chip shop in Sidford.

Pros:

Really large pitches.

Showers and toilets were really clean, loved the sensors on the taps, lots of mirrors.

Laundry really useful and great sized freezer, microwave also came in handy.

Recycling facilities on the site were good.

The kids loved the play area.

Fantastic walk to the donkey sanctuary.

Cons;

Road could be very noisy but we did get used to it.

Showers very small, if trying to shower with a child and attempt to stay dry!

Although there is a bag to keep clothes dry whilst showering, I would prefer more hooks over the door.

We would definitely stay at this site again. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lewislaw 2 reviews from this member

 Had a Fabulous week here. Pitched on Beach Grove, with a lovely large pitch that was marked out. On our pitch we had a Bear Lake 6, side extension, front extension two cars and there was still plenty of room to walk around! The site cost £200 for the week, which was 3 adults, one 3 year old, two cars and the tent.

The toilets and showers were kept very clean. The dish washing area had continous hot water. There was a laundry room (pay) and a freezer. There was also a 'sharps box' provided too (handy if you are diabetic for example).

The site was level and all grass with the exception of the gravel road.

There was a mixture of caravans, trailer tents and tents.

The wardens were extremely friendly. There was a small shop with a cafe attached (but the range wasn't that extensive!) There was also a snack shack next door which sold fresh orange juice (lovely but at £2 a cup could get expensive!) burgers, breakfast buns etc. If you are coming here, make sure you bring the first nights provisions and next morning's breakfast as they all have very odd opening hours! However, on the positive side, there is a fabulous Waitrose about 5 miles up the road. Just turn left out of the park and follow the road straight and you can't miss it!

There is a walkway which runs right alongside the Grove which was a very pleasant walk to the donkey sanctuary that was next door. You could sometimes hear the donkeys at night but we found it more an amusement 'oh the Donkeys are off again' rather than an irritation.

The site is next to the road, but unless road noise really bothers you, by the second night you won't notice it, and it's especially helpful to drown out the slightly noiser parties!

All in all I would wholly recommend this site and my family and I will definitely be visiting again next year. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: PXProgrammer 1 review from this member

 I have stopped on this site a couple of times and have been impressed. I echo everyone else's comments on facilities, cleanliness etc.

I few points that reduced my enjoyment of the site, hopefully taken as constructive criticism.

The hard standing chipping are the sharpest (flint type) of any site I have been to. Despite even putting lino down they are too sharp to walk on without shoes. They have damaged anything I put on them.

I feel it is unfair to make responsible adults push their bikes from their pitches on / off the extensive site. This encourages car usage which is bad for everyone. I do not know of another site that encourages car usage rather than push bikes.

Steve helped me on to the pitch and was working on disconnecting electrics before I got out of my car. Although meaning to be helpful, I felt he should have asked if I needed a hand. I like to park / disconnect / unhitch / move and level up in my own way and get flustered if rushed.

For me the above slight tweeks would make the site perfect. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Arpaterson 4 reviews from this member

 Stayed here in a tent on an un-serviced pitch for ten nights with a young family.

This is third time in total and the second year in a row that we have stayed at Oakdown and again we were on the original part of the site.

We received the usual warm welcome from the staff and were shown to our pitch, which we had been able to book in advance when making our reservation.

The toilet block has been refurbished this year to a very high standard. Even without the modernisation I think this is one of the best amenities blocks I have seen, especially if you have a young family. There is an area for families to shower as well as baths (albeit you have to pay for hot water for the bath). There is a large chest freezer and microwave in the dishwashing / laundry area and all facilities are kept very clean.

The children's’ play area is located in a secluded spot close to the amenities blocks. While this does mean not all campers are subjected to the noise form the play park you are unlikely to be able to see your children playing from the comfort of your own tent / caravan. The play park is well equipped and the site also has a smaller more modern play park in the ‘new’ part of the site in Beach Grove.

The site does run along the A3052 which while not very busy can seem noisy with cars speeding along it in the evening. Having said that it did not detract from our stay at all.

There is a lot to do in the local area, with lots of information on local attractions and places to eat available in the amenities block, and the site is an ideal base for a holiday. There was plenty to keep our young family amused for ten days as well good places to eat out nearby. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Ian johnson 16 reviews from this member

 Stayed at Oakdown for 7 nights in June and I can only say what a great site this is.

The site fees for this site are very reasonable for its location.

We stayed on the newer part of the site (Beech Grove) which had the biggest touring pitches I have ever seen on a site. This part of the site was being looked after by Pete the warden and his wife and they were absolutely brilliant - they had so much knowledge of the area and the good places to visit and always a pleasant smile and time to stop for a chat.

Amenities in the block were superb and cleaned regularly there was even a large freezer and a microwave that are free to use and we found both of these really useful on a 7 night stay.

There are local supermarkets nearby (Spa and a bit further a large Waitrose). Pete the warden recommended a meal at the Hare and Hounds which is a short drive from the site (Reception gave us a voucher for this pub too) and the carvery at this pub is great value - Gets very busy though so may pay to book.

Sidmouth has plenty of shops and good pubs to walk round during the day.

The only minus point for this part of the site (Beech Grove) is some road noise, the owners have made efforts to cut the noise down which when fully grown will take this small nuisance away.

I will definitely use this site again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: 5shephards 6 reviews from this member

 I love this place, must be our 5th/6th visit in last few years. This time we were 2 other families, tent and caravan and we had an amazing time.

The facilities are top notch, 2 play areas, good size pitches and great walk (esp with dog) to local donkey sanctuary. Family bathroom is great enabling kids to bath and play whilst you shower. Washing up facilities good though sinks bit low in 2nd field.

Staff are brilliant and very friendly.

The only downside is the road, can be a bit noisy but wont stop us going again. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: J bonus 5 reviews from this member

 We have stayed at Oakdown many times any always been delighted with the service, the helpful staff and especially the fully serviced pitches (other sites should take notice).

The refurbished toilet/shower block is superb.

Good access from the main road and round the site.

Well placed for places like Sidmouth, Lyme Regis etc by car, bus, or if you're ambious on foot.

Visit the Fountain Head pub in Branscombe, a superb English pub. Try a pint of Jolly Jeff or have a good reasonably priced meal or bar snack.

The only sad thing is Oakdown isn't open all year. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Muskeym 5 reviews from this member

 An excellent site. We visited this site for 6 nights in our folding camper. The staff were extremely friendly on arrival. We were directed to our pitch and the warden pointed out the facilities. Our pitch was near the golf course on the other side of the lane to reception. The pitch was big enough for our camper and awning and 2 cars if needed and plenty of play room for our 2 children.

Toilets/showers were clean and were cleaned at least twice a day. Campsite was spotless, bins emptied daily and lots of recycling bins. There were 2 children’s play areas which our children loved.

Although there was no pub nearby to walk to there was a lovely walk to a donkey sanctuary which was free.

Beaches at Sidmouth were 10minutes drive, great rock pools and a bit of sand but mostly pebbles. Lime Regis was not too far away.

Pubs within a short drive but were a bit pricey for food so we either cooked ourselves of had fish and chips from the chip shop a short drive away.

We all really loved this site for its space and lovely setting. This site is advertised in Best of British brochure so will try another site in another region. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Colin.Symonds 1 review from this member

 Great Camp Site we have just returned from a weeks break at Oakdown. Our group comprises of two adults and two children one 11 and one 13 we all enjoyed the site we played golf twice and this was great and a good price.

The facilities were very clean at all times I had also seen the wardens cleaning the loos and showers at 12:30 at night WOW. The park is very close to Sidford and Sidmouth where we spent a few nights eating fish and chips on the sea front bliss.

I feel the only things that could make this park a little better would be a better equipped games room and a swimming pool but that is me being picky 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Daisydoo 22 reviews from this member

 Pro's -

Fantastic Playpark - the best campsite park we've come across to date! The main park being suitable for all age groups and the smaller park in Beech Grove I would say was for children 5/6 +

Main facilities were great - really spacious showers, undercover dishwashing, laundry, two family bathrooms (£1 for 15 mins of water). Every where was spotless!

Small shop but what we liked was that they sold 10p/15p packs of sweets which was ideal for our young children.

Lovely off road walk to the nearby donkey sanctuary

Con's-

We were in Beech Grove and felt a little bit like the poor relations

The facilities, although spotlessly clean were very cramped - it would have been impossible to shower a child in the showers (they were tiny) with no where to hide! One hook on the door and a laundry type bag hanging to put all your clothes in - quite an innovative idea but not for me!

Toilet cubicles again were tiny - I struggled to fit in with my daughter who is only 3!

Considering all the families seemed to be pitched in Beech Grove there wasn't a family bathroom so we had to walk up to the main facilities (to be fair this was still only a 3 minute walk).

There was a lot of noisy children running around until gone 10 at night. I do appreciate that this is what camping is about for a lot of families, but while our children are still quite young and can't cope with staying up late it was too loud! Having said that the wardens were about and we did hear them tell a group that they had 5 minutes before they had to be quiet. Prior to visiting and having read lots of reviews we were given the impression that it was a very quiet site and with lots of rules - in reality we weren't aware of a single rule!

Would we go back? yes we would and despite the cons we really did like this site and the playpark well and truly won us and the kiddies over! 


Previous     87 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Oakdown Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Oakdown Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Oakdown Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Sidmouth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest W Midlands and Wales 03/07 to 04/07
Exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4651 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement