Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Oakdown Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Sidmouth > Oakdown Holiday Park Reviews

Oakdown Holiday Park
Gatedown Lane
Weston
Sidmouth
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
EX10 0PT
Tel: 01297 680387
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 150
Open: 20/03/2021 to 08/11/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 86 Reviews
                9/10 from 86 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (21)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf On Site   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  86 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Angela 1 review from this member

 Spotless clean camp site. Very polite staff.

Lovely and quiet no noise at night. Handy little cafe come shop close by. Good position to travel to different beaches etc.

Having 2 donkeys myself made it feel like home as the donkey sanctuary is close to site.

Will definitely come again! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dudstud 5 reviews from this member

 The site is very clean and well organised with modern well maintained facilities. They have adapted very well to the restrictions and regulations due to covid virus.

We really enjoyed our stay here though the weather wasn't brilliant. All the staff are very friendly and do an excellent job.

The only thing I could fault, and it is very minor, was the road noise we experienced, usually in the morning. This only occurs in the pitches adjacent to the main rd, so if I visited again I would probably try for a different pitch. The pitch otherwise was very nice and private with a small separating hedge. 


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Dougla 1 review from this member

 No cycling ! I wished I had read the small print if there is any, before I loaded all the kids and adults bikes blah blah blah spoilt our stay was shortened because of this 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jdore1964 2 reviews from this member

 Second visit to this site, really immaculate, well maintained site, fantastic amenities, friendly staff, great location.

Café shop is really good with takeaway pizza cooked fresh in evening. Will visit again! 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ouncy2 25 reviews from this member

 Just had a three night stay on this lovely site which was recommended to us by our friends who are locals. From the impressive reception area and slick booking in procedure on arrival, the lovely shop & cafe also the amenities block all were first class.

A couple of niggles which we found not to our liking were:

1. The traffic noise when pitched on Oak Row was annoying first thing in the morning and early evening.

2. We only found one grey and black waste disposal area which was a fair walk for someone of limited mobility (if there were others then we were not told of them).

3. Finally and this is not directly aimed at the site owners, but the food we purchased from the visiting fish & chip van we found to be of a poor standard.

Finally we always ask this question, would we stay there again and the answer most certainly is YES but would ask to be pitched away from the road. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: MrsHaze 4 reviews from this member

 A lovely well located site with excellent full service facilities and a super on site cafe and shop and a playarea for the kids. Location was great - about a 10 min drive from Sidmouth and also close to Seaton and other seaside towns. We also cycled to the Donkey Sanctuary. Would certainly recommend. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Geb0205 2 reviews from this member

 Stumbled across this campsite via UKCampsite and it fitted in with where I was intending to go so booked it. The staff couldn’t be more friendly, from first ringing and making the booking, right through to saying goodbye they were lovely. Nothing was too much trouble. A warm welcome was followed by a quick tour of the site whilst being shown to our pitch. The amenities block has everything you can think of from single toilets to a full disabled and family room complete with bath! Freezer, washing up facilities, laundry and ironing facilities available. Big play park for kids. It’s quiet at night, and all pitches are within small groves so you’re not overlooked by lots of other guests. The only negative for me was the distance to the toilet block from our pitch, a 3 minute walk when timed. Not much to the average person but as someone with reduced mobility and chronic fatigue it made trips to the loo in the night somewhat difficult. Undoubtedly this could easily be resolved by asking for a pitch close to the loo on booking ( we did but maybe didn’t discuss our needs enough). Absolutely no complaints otherwise, a great site and well worth a visit. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lindy0185 1 review from this member

 Fantastic campsite, we felt we were very spoilt with amenities compared to some campsites we had visited over the summer. Pitch sizes were plenty big enough and flat. Staff always so helpful and accommodating. The showers were always hot and we took full advantage of the family bathroom and used The bath a couple of times for The kids. The electric hook up point was easy to access and so to was the water. The washing up/kitchen room was great as we were able to store our stuff in the freezer and an added bonus of a microwave if needed. The children loved the play area. The shop was well stocked and the cafe on site served the best cream teas. We didn't have to cook 1 night as the campsite has a fish and chip van. Perfect! Can not fault this site at all will definitely return. Seaton Jurassic is definitely worth a visit if you have children. And don't forget the donkey sanctuary! You can even hear them from the tent at night. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Pombear 5 reviews from this member

 We have just begun using a seasonal pitch at Oakdown.

This is our first time owning a caravan and having a seasonal pitch. We've previously been tenters!

Such a lovely quiet site. Considering there are also a number of lodges on the site it doesn't feel like a huge site.

We are on the main site, rather than the adjacent field across the road where the café and golf course is situated.

The toilet block is excellent and always clean. There are only 3 showers in that block but never had to queue. Not sure what it would be like in the summer holidays but the site was fairly busy due to the good weather.

There is a family bathroom which for £1 you get 15 mins of hot water, which if you've got small children like us is worth it. This has a bath and separate shower cubicle, which for £1 you could wash the whole family!

The café is brilliant and very reasonable we thought, you get discount if staying on the site.

The children's play park we used was excellent. They have a great mix of equipment for older and younger children, often we go to places and the play equipment isn't suitable for our 2 year old so this was a major draw for us choosing the site.

The only place nearby we have visited so far is Sidmouth, which is a pebble beach unless the tide is out, the beach was quite quiet as there are a lot of older people who seem to visit Sidmouth as it is very flat when you are in the town and by the beach. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Windowman 5 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for 2 weeks in September 2016, had wonderful time. Site was all we could ask for, well kept and toilet block very clean. Dog walk up to Donkey Sanctuary was lovely - poo bags provided if you had forgotten your own. Shop was good and fish and chip van called to site. Golf available if that's your thing. Wardens always helpful. We plan to return in the summer - its a favourite location. 


Previous     86 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Oakdown Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Oakdown Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Oakdown Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Sidmouth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet New Forest Caravan & Motorhome Show 21/05 to 25/05
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4789 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement