Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Oakdown Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Sidmouth > Oakdown Holiday Park Reviews

Oakdown Holiday Park
Gatedown Lane
Weston
Sidmouth
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
EX10 0PT
Tel: 01297 680387
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 150
Open: 20/03/2021 to 06/11/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 88 Reviews
                9/10 from 88 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf On Site   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  88 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Barneydog 6 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this site in Late May 2009 for three nights. We ended up on the new site next to the golf course.

Upon arrival we were shown our pitch by the site staff, the pitches on this side are large and flat, the toilets / showers are new and very clean and tidy. This area has a new play area for kids.

The road around this site is now gravelled so you should not have any trouble with mud in bad weather (we had lovely weather for our stay).

The golf shop is also a café serving coffees. The golf (pitch and put) is also good value and fun, even for us non golf players.

We had a lovely time; the kids loved the play area and spent most of their time there. We would stay again.

The site is very well run and the staff are very friendly and helpful and they added to the enjoyment, nothing was too much trouble. 


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Elsiekay 49 reviews from this member

 This is a fabulous site in a lovely position just outside Sidmouth. The facilities are excellent and spotless and the staff very friendly. It's next to the Donkey Sanctuary and we spent a couple of pleasant evenings walking round and patting the donkeys still out in the fields. There is a nice children's playground and even an internet room if you can't bear to be parted from your emails.

There isn't really a pub within walking distance but there was plenty of room to park motorhomes in the coach / long stay car park in Sidmouth opposite the Connaught Gardens, a few minutes walk into town. I believe there is a bus service into town from the main road but we didn't use it.

The only down side is the closeness of some parts of the site to the main road but that said it didn't keep us awake at night and we are light sleepers.

Nice one Oakdown. We will be back! 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Com_lag 3 reviews from this member

 We had a fairly disastrous stay in Sidmouth, but it had nothing to do with the staff or facilities at Oakdown.

It rained almost every day, work interrupted our holiday and then our campers engine gave out.

Despite this we actually had a great time and the staff at Oakdown were a significant factor in this. They were all so friendly, so helpful and when, on the last night our camper had to return home on the back of a recovery truck they even loaned us a tent for a night so that we could collect our car and continue with our holiday.

The toilet block was spotless and facilities excellent. Despite the rain the children enjoyed the playground and a decent bacon sarnie in the morning and fish and chips in the evening meant that on arrival we didn't have to worry about getting the shopping in.

There's a Riverford shop in the garden centre down the road which also sells lovely bread from the Lyme Regis bakery.

This will certainly be a site we'll revisit again and again. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Hitchngo 2 reviews from this member

 Very attentive staff on arrival when we were personally shown to our pitch and given a quick talk through the amenities available.

Pitches were all generally level and quite private with small hedges between you and the next pitch but not so much that you couldn't chat with your neighbour.

The site was immaculate and the staff seemed to be on the go all day, cleaning, taking rubbish away and carrying out general maintenance. The toilet facilities were always very clean and all visitors are encouraged to leave the showers and sinks clean after use. Mops and sponges are provided for this. There were good washing up facilities all under cover and warm which was great as we chose the wettest week of the year to visit! Lots of people were using the washers and dryers to get clothing and towels clean and dry and although there was a charge for the machines,it was minimal. Also in the block was a communal chest freezer for food and ice blocks, a microwave, and family bathrooms which incurred a small charge.

There is a lovely play area suitable for most children. Ours were 8 and 10 and enjoyed it.

There is no shop. Sweeties, ice creams and long life milk were available from reception but that was all.

Pitches on the northern side of the site (Oakdown and Oakmead) are quite close to the main A3052 and it is a very noisy road even at night so if it's peace and tranquillity you are after then ask for a pitch on the south side (caravans only) if you have a tent then accept that there will be road noise as tents only seem to be able to pitch on that side of the site.

The site has been expanded and now the recreational area adjacent to the golf course has been developed for further pitches, this is called Oakmead. Visit the website and download the brochure for a full park map. The week we visited the field was a quagmire due to the heavy rain although the site staff were dealing with the situation as well as possible.

Oakmead is not as developed as the Oakdown site and therefore does not have that degree of privacy and is also more exposed, although in time this will improve as the planting matures. The golf course looked nice but we did not try it as it was rather soggy. We did however try a cream tea in the coffee lodge which was disappointing as it was just lifted out of a fridge (chilled scones are not very nice). There is a mobile catering facility in the oakmead car park offering breakfast and take away suppers. We had fish and chips one night and it was lovely.

Overall we enjoyed our stay despite the rain and the only thing that would put us off going again is the road noise. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Vixen123 6 reviews from this member

 My family and I stayed at this site week commencing 9 August 2008. We arrived at the site in torrential rain and heavy winds and had to pitch our tent in this rain. (We also left the site a week late and had to pack the tent up in exactly the same weather!) We were on the 'new part' which is basically a field with no tarmac road through it and with all the heavy rain they had there, there was a mud track around the field which we had to continually walk through to get to the toilet block. They cannot be blamed for the weather, but I do think if they want to continue using this field for this purpose they really need to act to get it so that it is suitable for the purpose, ie lay tarmac or concrete for a roadway. We could not park our car next to our tent it had to remain at the very top of the field.There were caravans and cars actually being towed off the site by a tractor.
This was the only negative thing I can say. Overall if the weather was better the site would be an excellent standard. The toilets, showers and laundry room were all kept clean constantly by the onsite wardens. I must say they work extremely hard.

Our children were always at the play area and although not very big did not seem to get bored there. They did not want to leave and wanted to stay another week camping.

The area itself was great with plenty to do, although we only visited beaches at Sidmouth, Beer, Branscombe, Seaton, Lyme Regis and Exmouth. The majority of those are pebbly but Lyme Regis and Exmouth are Sandy.

We are planning our next holiday and will definitely revisit this site at some time in the future. The experience of the weather has not put us off in any way. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Wigster26 3 reviews from this member

 Our second visit to this site in 12 months, this time with our own caravan.

The staff on site are all very helpful and friendly.

The site is very pretty and well laid out. The pitches are nice and spacious so you don't feel on top of your neighbour.

We had a super service pitch with it's own fresh water supply and grey water drainage direct to and from our van.

The main toilet block is clean and tidy but could you with revamping to bring it bang up to date. This block also houses washing up stations, ironing board, iron, baby changing and washers and dryers.

The reception is small and only stocks some of the more basic day to day items.

There is also a internet cafe with is pay per use type and is very reasonable.

Directly across the road there is a nine hole approach golf course with is immaculate. There is also a small coffee house here and it's nice to sit outside during the summer months with a cappuccino.

Overall this is a lovely park which services as a great base to visit east Devon and Dorset. 


Date of Visit: March 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: A Chudley 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed here twice now at easter 07 and 08. Its a lovely site with very clean facilites and very friendly helpful staff. Showers are warm and kept very clean. Unfortunately no real shop just a couple of things for sale in reception area. Has pitch and putt golf course attached which is good for a laugh.

One slight disapointment was the power kept blowing this easter, this was a park problem. I would assume due to early easter (everyone using heating) and a full campsite that the site didnt have enough power.

Playground looks good for kids but thats an assumption as we dont have them. If you are looking for a site near town this isnt it you will need to drive to get to any shops pubs etc. Site is also next to busy road the second year we backed onto road it didnt bother us but may bother some.

This site has a dog walking trail to the donkey sanctuary which is well worth a visit. 5 minute walk to bottom fields of sanctuary 15-20 minute walk to main sanctuary.

This site has won awards and you will be able to see why. Would recommend 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: V1a3w 21 reviews from this member

 Just returned after spending 2 nights here. Very friendly staff (& other campers!) Spotlessly clean & warm which was a blessing as the whole area was shrouded in fog when it wasn't raining or blowing a hooley! The bus stop is not far away & coming back from Seaton(in the rain) the driver dropped me at the site. Will certainly return when I can be sure the weather will let me walk the coast path. 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Haulfryn 5 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a weekend at Oakdown, which we enjoyed immensely.

We were personally shown to our pitch and were shown all the key facilities en route - ie showers, washing up, playground,etc. The showers, toilets and washing up area were spotlessly clean, warm and more than adequate. I liked the fact that the radio was always on. There was a free hairdryer in the ladies which was great, however no points to plug your own in, so there could have been a queue at busy times.

The playpark was fantastic and there was also lots of room to play on the camping fields themselves. Pitches were spacious and mostly flat. Some had picnic benches. There is a path from the site to the Donkey Sanctuary (bit far for little legs though) or it's a 2 minute drive. Well worth a visit.

Sidmouth, Beer and Branscombe are beautiful but traffic would be difficult in high season in the latter two. The Masons Arms in Branscombe serves lovely food - a bit pricey for a pub but well worth it - especially the haddock and chips if you are very hungry!

Overall, we have only praise for the site - it's easy to see why it has won so many awards. One slight down side - it's next to a main road which doesn't seem too busy but seems to attract the odd boy racer. Take earplugs if traffic noise bothers you. That said, we were close to the road and it didn't spoil a wonderful stay. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Elsie1 6 reviews from this member

 Myself and my family have stayed here every year for the last 4 years. It is a lovely site, with fantastic amenities which are kept very clean. There are plenty of showers, vanity cubicles and 2 bathrooms with a shower bath and toilet. These are ideal for families. There is also a unisex shower room.

They have washing up areas inside the amenities block, along with 2 wasing machines and tumble dryers and a spin dryer. Washing lines are available for use outside.

The playground is well kept, and safe for kids, and a small games room for the older ones.

The grounds are very well kept, split into areas. They are large enough to feel part of a community, but small enough to keep your holiday personal and private.

Opposite the site is the donkey sanctuary, which offers lovely walks, and Sidmouth is just a short drive. Lyme Regis is also close.

In all the years that we have stayed, we have experienced nothing but a first class service, excellent facilities and like minded respectful fellow campers.

They offer electric hook up, and drainage, hard standing and grass stands as well as tent pitches.

Storage is also available. 


Previous     88 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Oakdown Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Oakdown Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Oakdown Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Sidmouth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2695 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement