Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Oakdown Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Sidmouth > Oakdown Holiday Park Reviews

Oakdown Holiday Park
Gatedown Lane
Weston
Sidmouth
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
EX10 0PT
Tel: 01297 680387
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 150
Open: 20/03/2021 to 06/11/2021
           20/03/2022 to 08/11/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 90 Reviews
                9/10 from 90 Reviews

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf On Site   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  90 in total, now showing 81 to 90                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Haulfryn 5 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a weekend at Oakdown, which we enjoyed immensely.

We were personally shown to our pitch and were shown all the key facilities en route - ie showers, washing up, playground,etc. The showers, toilets and washing up area were spotlessly clean, warm and more than adequate. I liked the fact that the radio was always on. There was a free hairdryer in the ladies which was great, however no points to plug your own in, so there could have been a queue at busy times.

The playpark was fantastic and there was also lots of room to play on the camping fields themselves. Pitches were spacious and mostly flat. Some had picnic benches. There is a path from the site to the Donkey Sanctuary (bit far for little legs though) or it's a 2 minute drive. Well worth a visit.

Sidmouth, Beer and Branscombe are beautiful but traffic would be difficult in high season in the latter two. The Masons Arms in Branscombe serves lovely food - a bit pricey for a pub but well worth it - especially the haddock and chips if you are very hungry!

Overall, we have only praise for the site - it's easy to see why it has won so many awards. One slight down side - it's next to a main road which doesn't seem too busy but seems to attract the odd boy racer. Take earplugs if traffic noise bothers you. That said, we were close to the road and it didn't spoil a wonderful stay. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Elsie1 6 reviews from this member

 Myself and my family have stayed here every year for the last 4 years. It is a lovely site, with fantastic amenities which are kept very clean. There are plenty of showers, vanity cubicles and 2 bathrooms with a shower bath and toilet. These are ideal for families. There is also a unisex shower room.

They have washing up areas inside the amenities block, along with 2 wasing machines and tumble dryers and a spin dryer. Washing lines are available for use outside.

The playground is well kept, and safe for kids, and a small games room for the older ones.

The grounds are very well kept, split into areas. They are large enough to feel part of a community, but small enough to keep your holiday personal and private.

Opposite the site is the donkey sanctuary, which offers lovely walks, and Sidmouth is just a short drive. Lyme Regis is also close.

In all the years that we have stayed, we have experienced nothing but a first class service, excellent facilities and like minded respectful fellow campers.

They offer electric hook up, and drainage, hard standing and grass stands as well as tent pitches.

Storage is also available. 


Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: ApolloSwallow 6 reviews from this member

 Just been here last week-end and†cannot praise this site enough. Very well organised, very clean, very relaxing. The hubbie and I like to steer clear of the sites which have tons of kids / family†facilities as we like peace†& quiet, we found it here - i.e no pool, clubhouse etc. There is however a play area for kids but we didn't really look at it so can't comment.
Good size pitches so you aren't on top of each other. Fab! 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Rochnia 14 reviews from this member

 Stayed at this site during Sidmouth Folk Festival week.† Only 4 miles from Sidmouth but has a real rural aspect.†The pitches are of a good size and very well laid out.† The facilities are amongst the best we have used.† Staff very helpful.† We have booked again for next year. 


Date of Visit: April 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mfb02 1 review from this member

 Spent the weekend after Easter at this site. We were very impressed by the overall standard of the facilities - everything was spotless and well maintained. Particularly liked the free communal freezer and microwave, brilliant when you don't have hook-up. We arrived late and the warden was really helpful, giving us a choice of pitch. The pitches were a decent size and pleasantly landscaped.

Some noise at night from nearby road (and donkeys!).

Great walks from the site, not far from the coast path. Its steep and close to the cliff edge in places, so maybe not suited to younger children. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: October 2005
Reviewer: Dymomch 2 reviews from this member

 This site was fantastic in every way... clean, safe, and child friendly.
All the staff were very friendly and very helpful. All the facilities were immaculate and all the little extras went a long way to making a great stay even better. The storage facilities were also fantastic. We would highly reccomend this site. 


Date of Visit: August 2005
Reviewer: Jo B 1 review from this member

 We camped at this fantastic site in our tent, without making use of the hook up points, a thing that we regretted afterwards, however. The excellent facilities consisted of showers and toilets that were cleaned twice daily, hot water on tap for washing and washing up, comercial sized washing machines at an extra very reasonable cost of £2.40 per wash, the driers however could have done with a slightly longer drying cycle.

The surrounding area is full of so many things to visit that we only managed a fraction of what was available in the 5 days that we were there.We hope to return to the site again as soon as possible. Will also be reccommending it to friends and family. 


Reviewer: Janehd 3 reviews from this member

 Aug 2003 & May 2004
A great site, immaculately maintained. Loads of space, even at peak times. Good central amenity block with spotless facilities. Plenty of hot water for showers and washing up. We really appreciate the extras - freezer, microwave, free local paper, low-level lighting around site at night, and CCTV for security. They well deserve all their awards. We'll be back!
 


Reviewer: Shirley 8 reviews from this member

 August 2003
Brilliant site! Extremely well kept with very friendly and helpful staff. Nicely landscaped with well defined pitches. Spotlessly clean amenity block including not only gents and ladies toilet and shower areas but also a unisex area which is great as I have 3 sons who still need some supervision. Free showers and hair driers. Bathrooms for £1.00 - great for young children who don't like showers. Washing up areas have draining racks. There is free use of a microwave and freezer. Washing machines, driers and laundry handwashing facilities including spin drier and irons and rotary clothes lines. Pleasant play area for children plus TV/games/reading room. Very relaxed and friendly feel to the site. Very quiet at night. 


Reviewer: IanF

 2001
Some of the tent pitches are seperated by hedges, the toilets are very good. Its obvious that the owners have put a lot of thought into the place, its very nice. One of the good things about Oakdown is its location next to the donkey sanctuary. I wasn't really interested in this until we went. Its marvelous, there's an excellent walk from the campsite through fields of donkeys (you are separated by fences but they all wonder over for a fuss) to the sanctuary. My kids loved it, you do get the odd eeh-oorh but the donkey walk has an odd kind of magic about it. 


Previous     90 Reviews in total, now showing 81 to 90     Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Oakdown Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Oakdown Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Oakdown Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Sidmouth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3543 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement