Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Peel House Farm Camping And Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > East Sussex > Polegate > Peel House Farm Camping And Caravan Park > Reviews

Peel House Farm Camping And Caravan Park
Ersham Road
Access Via B2104
Polegate
East Sussex   (Browse area)
BN27 2RH
Tel: 07483 329010
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 20
Open: 01/05/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 85 Reviews
                9/10 from 85 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  85 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Wispy 7 reviews from this member

 I rang (after initial e-mail was ignored) to book our holiday for the week of 27th July, but after finding out that we could not make this week, I rang and asked if I could change it to the following week. After 1 voicemail, 1 text, 2 weeks and an e-mail threat of cancellation, I finally got a answer of yes!. And an apology.

Arriving at Peel farm I found the area between the gate and the busy road a little tight if you had a long outfit (ie twin axle caravan) but the entrance was clean and tidy with a short narrow entrance/exit road and a slightly tight bend onto the site ( as this was next to the Toilet/shower block, it kept speed very slow )

For some reason, we were shown through the site, past 2/3 empty hook-up pitches and into the tent overflow and told exactly were to pitch (with hook-up) as we would have a neighbour later that day. But never did.

I was not happy about being put in the overflow when pitches were available in the main sites, and were empty for most of the week, but I'll admit that we had a great view, and the sun all day, but we were put right where there was a large area of cracks (up to 4-5 inches wide and quite a few inches deep) and right outside our door. Fearing this a hazard, I asked John. The site owner. The following morning, if these could be filled in, and was told he would get it sorted. They were still there when we left a week later!. I even had to ASK for the gate code the following morning as well.

The site is small, well trimmed, and fairly quiet, apart from some noisy late night caravanners for a couple of nights. The Toilets are very clean and bright and 2 very new/ free/ spacious/ modern showers, all in a very new, well presented, wooden toilet block, with a very large, central, washing up room. But most of the lights work on movement. A little awkward if your in toilet cubicle for a while at night!

For us, Peel house farm was ideally situated for visiting Eastbourne, Brighton, Hastings etc, and with great weather, we really enjoyed our week.

A nice site, but personally, I think that customer service was a bit lacking 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Captainbiggles 4 reviews from this member

 Just wanted to say a huge thank you to our hosts who from the initial email and contact to the day we left were friendly, welcoming and the perfect hosts, nothing was too much trouble, even getting them up early on the 2nd day as we had to drive cross country to get the ferry to the isle of white!

The campsite was spacious, clean and very very well maintained, with plenty of space between pitches to give some privacy and parking, the little shop on the site was very reasonably priced and there was also plenty of info available on what was on offer in the local area. The toilet and shower block was kept spotless (even caught John giving it a lick of paint late one evening!) We drove a round trip of over 1000 miles from Edinburgh to stay here and we certainly didn't regret it and we will be back.

There is plenty to see and do in the local area and also you are only 15 mins from Eastbourne, and not far from Hastings for a little history lesson. We even managed to get into London for the day, an off peak return train ticket for only 15ish

The only negative on our trip (Which is nothing to do with the campsite) but there is a garden centre near by which looked really promising but failed miserably to impress, however there is a great little craft shop about 1/4 of a mile away, 1 mile away is a petrol station with coop and for those in desperate need of junk there is also a Mcdonalds, Beefeater type place offering low priced ding food and an indian takeaway.

The price was very reasonable. So anyone thinking of it take it from me, it is hugely worth it the best campsite we have stayed in yet. I own a castle hotel in Stirling and am therefore critical of everything I am always comparing everything, now I know you can't compare a castle hotel and a campsite, but I can honestly say this site knocks the socks off the majority of hotels I have stayed in from the service, cleanliness and friendliness offered. So well done guys keep it up and see you again 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: JulieEllenPB 6 reviews from this member

 This was our first trip out with our new to us Eriba caravan which we had over the second May bank holiday weekend. Had problems finding a campsite that I liked with spaces until I stumbled on Peel House Farm, so glad that we did.

The campsite was very nice with lovely views over the South Downs. Dog friendly, with dog walk off site. Access to the Cuckoo Trail from the campsite and we walked to Hailsham and Polegate both a pleasant walk and not too far.

Friendly owners who were laid back but helpful. We stayed in the middle field with easy access to EHU. Pitch grassy with lots of room, units parked around the perimeter of the field.

Shower and toilet block good; showers had plenty of hot water, we only used the new ones. Washing up facilities good too.

Would certainly recommend this site and would visit again as there is lots to do in the area. Went to Seven Sisters County Park and had a lovely walk to the beach.

Rain first evening but then sunny but breezy - should have packed the sun cream! 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: PatriciaM 20 reviews from this member

 Just returned from 3 night break at Peel House Farm. Arrived approx 8pm and had to ring the wardens mobile to get in the gate, as it has a key code for entry. He was with us within a couple of minutes and showed us to our pitch (I think all the pitches are grass). Not a huge site and there was a mix of caravans and tents, but pitches were roomy. Plenty of water points around the site. Toilet/shower block very clean and water always hot. There was also a play area for the younger children. We stayed here mainly because its a few minutes cycle ride from the Cuckoo trail. We cycled both days to Heathfield on the 1st day and Eastbourne on the 2nd. Lovely route. Showers were totally empty as we used them in the afternoon, after our cycle rides. Plenty of leaflets in the reception area, with lots to do, but if you're not cycling or walking you need a car. Very quiet site. Owners were helpful and friendly. Will definitely be going back. Thanks for a great stay 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Susperella 11 reviews from this member

 Lovely little site. Consists of 3 fields, the last one being a tent field without ehu- all of which have views over the south downs. Toilet block is clean with 2 toilets and 3 showers in the ladies with one cubical for washing- similar in the mens. The two new showers were brilliant and free of charge. Washing up facilities are in the middle of the toilet block and are undercover. The shop does sell a few basics, however there is an Asda and Tesco down the road- a few mins drive away. The children's play park is for under 12's only, and very good but there is the Cuckoo walk on your doorstep- so worth taking bikes/ walking boots. Very Friendly owners on a site that attracts a lot of regulars. Only negative is the fact that you have a security gate on the entrance- which whilst making the site secure- also prevents you getting into the site to check-in, blocking the entrance- could do with a buzzer to alert the wardens. Would go to this site again x 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sue Coyle 2 reviews from this member

 I think this has been the best holiday I have ever had. Certainly I was with my youngest daughter whom I rarely see but our quality time together was spent in the best camp site I have ever been on. The owners were wonderful, friendly and very approachable. The site was flat, clean, very safe for young children with a nice little play area and very quiet. Shower, toilet and washing-up block were lovely and clean and part of it brand new with very hot and powerful showers. Lovely area with wonderful walks both near and a short car drive away. I will definitely go back again, if possible with all the wonderful reviews this site is getting. Thank you John and Julienne. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Thebullbok 8 reviews from this member

 Just had a fantastic week at this superb site. The owners are brilliant and very helpful. We liked it so much we are returning for 4 days in September and can't wait. Made a lot of new friends on this very family orientated site. They have regulars come here most weekends and a lot of the campers we spoke to are also regulars.

The showers and toilets are very good and kept clean. They have a shop on site selling a lot of basics should you get caught short and they also sell bottled gas in an assortment of sizes.

This is an ideal base to explore East Sussex with Eastbourne and Brighton not to far away.

There is a fantastic fish and chip shop in Hailsham, which is only just over a mile away. There is also a Marston's Carvery up the road which does a carvery between 12 and 2pm and 5 and 8pm for 5. 99, (7. 25 on a Sunday).

Please note, that unless teenage kids like doing nothing, then this site is geared around younger families.

There is great walking/cycling on the Cuckoo Trail.

My wife and I and my mother along with our 4 month old twins had a great time here and this site will become an annual trip for trip for us, more if we can fit it in. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: JohnRaffles 2 reviews from this member

 We immensely enjoyed our first stay at this small site. The atmosphere is very friendly and the facilities, though simple, are good.

There is an abundance of hot water for washing, showering and dishwashing and the showers work well. The electric hookups providing 16amps, supply ample power.

The owners, who are most helpful and supportive keep everything very clean and seem to be always available to advise and support. They exercise positive management, helping to ensure that there are no problems, without being unreasonably restrictive.

The site is within yards of the cuckoo trail, a great, family friendly trail, for cycling and walking which we made full use of. We cycled to Eastbourne, Mickelham Priory and Heathfield and had lots of fun.

We will definitely return! 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jeanff 10 reviews from this member

 As outlined by previous reviewers the site is quiet, very well kept with good drainage and the pitches are well-spaced. There is a children's play area and dovecote in the upper field which also has a number of fixed caravans and then the next field has a more flexible mix of tents, motorhomes etc. All with hook up which was great and very peaceful.

The cuckoo trail is superb with footpath access from the site itself and cycle access on to it just a short way up the road. There is a arts and craft centre just next door with tea rooms open most of the day.

The site is on the Eastbourne/Hailsham bus route and not far from Hailsham (cycling time only about 10 mins on the cuckoo trail) which has plenty of shops and restaurants. There is a popular farm shop, garden centre and a pub a few minutes drive down the road from the site towards Eastbourne. The pub has wifi. Eastbourne can be accessed very quickly from here too by car or bus.

Owners very helpful and friendly. The site is also very secure with an electronic gate.

There are two toilet cubicles in both male and female toilets - plus a wash basin cubicle and a separate shower room. Mops are available for cleaning the floor. Facilities are very well kept - with adjacent laundry and sinks for washing up and a washing line for drying things 0 all undercover. There is also a small shop for provisions.

We very much enjoyed the peace and quiet and would certainly return again in the future. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bonebiscuits 2 reviews from this member

 Just a short stay of two nights whilst visiting the area - lovely quiet site with a good outlook. We camped in the meadow and woke up to the sound of birdsong early in the morning better than any alarm clock, despite the fact it had been raining for several days the pitch was fairly dry. The toilet and shower were very clean and although a distance away from the tent the position made it worthwhile. The owners were very friendly and went out of their way to help. You can access the cuckoo trail from the site which is a lovely walk along a disused railway line. We highly recommend this site very good value for money and we even had electric hook up. 


Previous     85 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Peel House Farm Camping And Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Peel House Farm Camping And Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Peel House Farm Camping And Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Polegate      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in East Sussex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3859 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement