Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Peel House Farm Camping And Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > East Sussex > Polegate > Peel House Farm Camping And Caravan Park > Reviews

Peel House Farm Camping And Caravan Park
Ersham Road
Access Via B2104
Polegate
East Sussex   (Browse area)
BN27 2RH
Tel: 07483 329010
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 20
Open: 01/05/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 85 Reviews
                9/10 from 85 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  85 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Samhan 3 reviews from this member

 We booked this site as it sounded perfect for our 2 families, with children aged between 3 and 10 years.

The couple who run this site are very friendly. We often saw them around with their own 2 young children, and they were always available to help out with anything we needed.

The site is quiet and peaceful. There is a small play area which was adequate for our children. The shop has the essentials you require, but it is only a short drive to a large supermarket. There are 4 showers in total, one in the ladies toilets, one in the mens toilets and 2 which can be used by anyone. One of these also has a baby changing table and baby bath in the room.

There is a washing machine and tumble drier available to use, as well as an iron and ironing board, and a covered washing up area. There was always hot water freely available.

We were in the end field and had electric hook-up, with tent 2 adults and 2 children we paid 20 per night, which I thought was extremely reasonable. The children had loads of room to play ball games or ride their bikes.

It was only a 15 minute drive to the beach.

There is a great farm shop down the same lane, which has a children's play area outside which was greatly enjoyed. Well worth going to.

Only downside is the entrance, don't go down Sayerland Lane as it is a single track road and we had trouble turning around with the trailer!

All in all I would definitely recommend this site. 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Melvin44 1 review from this member

 We stayed only 1 night at this site,as we were trying somewhere not too far from home,and we couldn't have found anywhere better.

We loved the secure entrance to the site, and it also looked welcoming,and was by the young owner we met eventually a little later,after we had set up,he was very friendly and helpful and told us they had only owned the site for 2 years.

There were a mixture of people on site,some older,and some families too, the play area with swings & slide etc was adequate for the children,and the camp size of 20 pitches plus a few static vans. It seemed a friendly site, and we were told lots of people return time and again,that's a good sign.

We hope to use the site again,and try out there facilities to the maximum,and also look around the area,as there seem to be many places nearby to discover. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bexhillchiropody 1 review from this member

 Just returned from Peel House campsite. I was very pleased with the welcome and help freely offered.

The showers were excellent and washrooms and toilets were clean. The site was neat and tidy and the small play area can be seen easily from most of the park so the children were very well occupied.

I would suggest using the written instructions for locating the site though as my Sat Nav (programmed with the full postcode) took me to Sayerland Lane which is very narrow. The main entrance is actually on the B road between Hailsham and Stone Cross. The sign for the site is easily visible when travelling from Stone Cross but not so obvious when travelling from Hailsham. The security gate is not far from the road. Our three cars all ariving at the same time had caused an obstruction in the road for several minutes.

All in all a very happy and friendly site that I would recommend. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Labellefrance 1 review from this member

 We stayed for a fortnight. Excellent site, huge pitch, lovely helpful people in charge. Lashings of free hot water, clean toilets. Only one shower in ladies but never had to queue, also a hairdryer 20p a time, lasted ages. Family shower room and unisex one available too. Small shop, with freezer facilities for cool box (essential when you're in a tent without electricity)Plenty of hookups if you want.
Very reasonable prices. Well maintained, with sheltered pitches. Numerous water points. Security gate. Close to Eastbourne, great base for exploring South Downs,easy access to cycle routes and a selection of nearby supermarkets within 5-10 mins by car. Easy access from A22, but no traffic noise - countryside setting. Highly recommended, relaxed and quiet.My husband says 'Spot on'. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cresswells 2 reviews from this member

 We've just spent 10 relaxing quiet days in August 2009 using a tent in the meadow with a beautiful view, at Peel House. The site was well draining, and full of sun, but remember to use all the guy-lines as it can get windy at times.

John and Julieann really make you welcome, they are friendly, supportive and nothing is too much trouble. They learn your name, and are regularly seen around the camp and happy to stop for a chat.

The facilities are spotless throughout the day, I even caught John cleaning them at 2.30am! As stated in other reviews limited facilities are not a problem as it is a small site, even in high season, I only had to briefly wait once around the peek time of 8am, and compared to some camp showers, this one is great and free.

The washing up area comes with bowls to use and was always clean and tidy. The bins around the site were empted regularly and there was an area for recycling. There was a washing machine and dryer but I didn't need to use it, however it was working.

My nephews enjoyed the well stocked play area, and soon made friends with other children. I would recommend this site to families. All dogs on the site were well behaved friendly types and on leads at all times.

The surrounding area was beautiful and with instant access to the Cuckoo Trail walking or biking was easy. Its not far by car to the A22 which can take you anywhere. Shops in Hailsham can provide all you need, however the shop on site has the essentials. We can recommend the Chip shop and Christian Heritage Centre Coffee/Tea/Cake shops in Polegate, an easy Cuckoo walk of 30 mins, or 5 min trip in the car! and Coopers Carvery 3.59 during the week take car turn right and keep going its on the right.

We walked to Polegate, Hailsham, Abbots Wood and Eastbourne from the site using trails. Spent a day at Druscillas and the Seven Sisters Country Park and just spent time relaxing on site.

If you want to stay in this area, then I would highly recommend this site. I'm sure we will visit again soon. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Rosemarie 2 reviews from this member

 We have stayed at this site on several occasions, the owners are lovely helpful people (John and Julieann) and they are always willing to help if you need a hand with anything. Loads of free hot water for washing up and washing, the showers and toilets are cleaned twice a day. There is a washing machine and tumble dryer on site and a place to hang clothes to dry. An Iron and ironing board are also available. There are several bins and recycling bins on the site and large bins by the front gate.

The prices are very reasonable compared to other sites in the area. The site is well maintained, with several sheltered pitches for tents. There are lots bricked water points. The security gate is very good and keeps the site secure and safe. The site is not far from Eastbourne and a bus stops very close to the site, it is a lovely base for walking on the South Downs and is adjacent to the cuckoo trail where you can walk to Hailsham or Polegate in about 20 mins. There is a small shop on the site which sells all the essentials and there are several supermarkets 5-10 mins away by car.

There is a playground for smaller children and organised hand painting on most days for the older ones.

Highly recommended, relaxed and quiet a very happy and friendly site. 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Baddogblue72 1 review from this member

 We chose this site as it was less than 90 minutes from home & wanted to test out our first tent. Having tried to put it up in high winds at Easter & failed we were slightly concerned but found it easy. This was certainly in part due to this excellent site which is very friendly, extremely well tended & beautiful. The amenties are very very clean & the small play area was sufficient for our 7 year old. Our 12 year old loved the goats & ponies & we as adults loved the view of the South Downs. We are already planning our next visit. I only hope that by recommending this site it doesn't get too busy & lose it's charm. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Leclosmartel 1 review from this member

 We stayed the last week of May 2009 for 4 nights and chose this site because it had no negative comments, it was only our second ever camping trip. We were pleased with our choice.

The site is really well run with a young family working very hard to ensure everyone has what they need and has lots to offer all ages, our 8 year old made friends easily and played on the playground, there is also enough grass space for all the children there to play ball and racket games as well as room for our small puppy. For the adults if they just want to relax and have peace and quiet they can or there is a lot of walks and cycling nearby(check the cuckoo trail website) as well as being close to Eastbourne and Brighton.

The showers and toilets were clean and cleaned regularly as was the washing up area. The shop offers loads of leaflets for days out as well as an extensive supply of books to borrow. On the one inclement day the tv lounge offered a haven. The site was really tidy and clean and it had a really friendly atmosphere. It has electric keypad entry which was a real safety bonus.

Excellent value for money too. We will be returning for sure and heartily recommend it to anyone, tent or tourer, novice or seasoned camper. 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Wilsont1 1 review from this member

 Great weekend here with two children (2yrs and 5yrs)

Nicely arranged site with the trees far more developed than it shows in the photos. Nice back field for those not needing hookup , with bats flitting about much to the joy of my kids.

Playground one year old and really nice for my kids age, only 4 showers but they are clean hot and powerful. Good washing area with hand soap provided.

Really helpful owners, who helped restart the van when the battery died.

Nice little shop for milk etc with plenty of old books on the bookshelf.

No wifi on site but the leisure centre in Halsham (~3mile away) had an excellent soft play area and free wifi once you had bought a coffee and paid for the kids, perfect! (also had a nice new pool and slides but couldn't get to those due to it being term time)

Pevensey Castle close by and worth a visit , Herstmonceaux Castle also not far away but overpriced at 14 for a family ticket that does not get you access to castle , and garden not looking that great for that price.

All and all highly recommended site. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Marion ferra 5 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a 4 day break at Peel House Farm Site. It was our second year at this time and yet again we were not disappointed. It is such a peaceful and quiet site. There were lots of young children running about and in play area (including ours), but by 9pm there was barely a whisper.

The owners are very friendly and helpful, and on the very rainy day we had he opened a room for us which had telly and comfortable chairs.

The play area is small, but our 6 , 5 and 3 year old were very entertained in it. The toilet block was very clean. There is one female, one male, one unisex and one family shower room, all with plenty hot water coming out nice and fast. It doesn't sound like many showers , but I never had to queue.

Some of the units are statics, and a lot of the tourers were caravans. That, added to fact it is a small site, meant that the number of showers is adequate. There is small shop selling essentials, but we didn't use it this time.

About 5 min up the road by car is Coopers Inn which does a carvery for 3.50 adult and 3.25 child. It was great. There aren't many big supermarkets close by, but it was less than 15 min to big Sainsburys at Hampden Park (nearer Eastbourne). This also has a cafe open 8am to 6pm if it is wet and need a cheap breakfast or dinner!). There is also Waitrose in Hailsham.

We visited Knockhatch ( great day out for younger children!) which is only a 10 min drive away and has indoor play areas as well as outdoor activities, so great when weather not certain. We also visited Paradise Park in Newhaven, which again had indoor parts. If your kids like dinosaurs they will love it here.

Wouldn't dream of criticizing this lovely site - if you like a quiet site this will suit you. 


Previous     85 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Peel House Farm Camping And Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Peel House Farm Camping And Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Peel House Farm Camping And Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Polegate      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in East Sussex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3495 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement